Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

kopifan
post Mar 2 2016, 03:20 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Feb 22 2016, 02:10 PM)
only for islamic only same rate too.
i thought 6 months Term Deposit-i 4.5% p.a. promo has expired on 29 Feb? Can't seem to find this on their website anymore?
kopifan
post Mar 2 2016, 03:41 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Feb 23 2016, 12:34 PM)
Would like to ask anyone here with experience with HSBC Advance current account. Did you need to close your Advance account to avoid paying the RM10 per month account fee after withdrawing the 5% promo FD?

I transferred all my money out from the account after the maturity of the 3 months 5% promo FD meaning the account balance is RM0 now. So, would the account be automatically closed after a while or do I still need to go to the branch to close it manually? Would I still be charged the monthly fee if I leave it as it is currently. Thank you.
is this 5% promo comes with investment requirement, i.e. FD-i type? Still available?
kopifan
post Mar 2 2016, 03:54 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(owodog91 @ Feb 24 2016, 02:52 PM)
RHB giving out 4.45% p.a. is worth too...
still available?
kopifan
post Mar 2 2016, 06:15 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(ytan053 @ Mar 2 2016, 04:22 PM)
When I call up HSBC yesterday, the sales rep stated that in order to enjoy this 5% promo, you must have an HSBC advance account. HSBC account holder must have a minimum RM30k combination of deposits and investment. If you fail to fulfill this requirement, you will be charged a fee (not sure is it RM10) monthly. This 5% promo is for 3 months FD. I see it as minimum amount of RM30k FD to enjoy this interest rate.
then no point liao
kopifan
post Mar 2 2016, 06:23 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Mar 2 2016, 06:16 PM)
hmm.gif
minumum RM30K for fd only, but for the advance account need to keep funds too?
need at least 30k in the advance a/c, to enjoy 5% p.a. FD for 3 months only.
kopifan
post Mar 3 2016, 02:17 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Mar 2 2016, 06:31 PM)
sorry one more questions!

Total Relationship Balance consists of

1: Advance Acct balance + FD = min 30k
OR
2: Advance Acct balance = RM 0.00, FD min RM 30k

if i choose only no: 2, can enjoy 5% p.a. or not ..... notworthy.gif  thanks
i think the adv acct must be >=30k, then u can place a separate FD for 5% pa for 3 months
kopifan
post Mar 3 2016, 02:22 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(shizuko87 @ Mar 3 2016, 12:06 PM)
i done my 100k at HLB FD promotion last month on 4.5% - 6 months.
offer no more liao?!?
kopifan
post Mar 3 2016, 02:24 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Mar 3 2016, 12:11 PM)
now best FD is BSN? 4.5% 12 months
but i check on PIDM, bank simpanan is not a member?!?!
kopifan
post Mar 3 2016, 03:01 PM

196 posts

Are all the banks' promo rates subject to change when the Overnight Policy Rate changes? I saw the footprint on several offers like Maybank, PBB etc etc.
kopifan
post Mar 3 2016, 03:27 PM

196 posts

I am looking for conventional over the counter FD (i.e. not eFD etc etc) with following features
1) straight forward rate (don't want those effective rate as a result of step up, roll-over, what + what type because save me hassle in case the real rate differs from the published effective rate)
2) any that is not subject to downward revision as a result of revised OPR? Not sure this is available since OPR is bank negara rate
3) PIDM insured
4) tenure >=12 months (+/- 3 months can consider)
5) no requirement to park a stipulated funds in another a/c like CASA etc

Which bank has the best promo rate currently that fulfil the above? Tq

This post has been edited by kopifan: Mar 3 2016, 03:29 PM
kopifan
post Mar 3 2016, 08:12 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 3 2016, 04:41 PM)
rhb 4.45% 12months...

uncle genx reported maybank effective 4.38% 12 months, not sure if it's step up or not.
i know the 8m 4.38% promo during CNY is step up type, but also not sure about the 12 months mentioned by genx
kopifan
post Mar 3 2016, 08:42 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 3 2016, 03:51 PM)
Check first page? Once you placed FD, the rates is fixed regardless opr goes up or down. Unless is those step-up FD.
Keep in mind PIDM protects up to max RM250k in the event the banks bankrupt. Some banks just ask you to open SA so that interest + principal is deposited into the account upon completion. That type is OK cause just ask to open bsa and keep rm20 inside. No need to park any amount inside and it's FOC.
ok tq. i saw the RHB offering FD/CMD-i 4.45% for 12 months. The FD is conventional FD right. I am not interested in the Islamic Commodity Murabahah one
Maybank 12m effective 4.38% pa Any idea if this is a step up type?
Looks like the highest straight forward conventional FD are by
1) BSN 12m (4.5%)
2) Alliance 3-9m (4.35%) but needs 50k
3) OCBC 15m (4.3%)
kopifan
post Mar 4 2016, 09:35 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(starry @ Mar 3 2016, 10:01 PM)
I went to maybank yesterday, staff there's not aware of 4.38% for 12 months.
She showed me the brochure of 4.22% for 12 months and 4% for 3 months. Anyone can clarify on this?
I only saw the 8 months step up type FD/IFD-i CNY :Prosperity Shine Your Way Campaign @ 4.38% p.a. but already expired end Feb
kopifan
post Mar 4 2016, 09:37 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Mar 3 2016, 10:37 PM)
agreed.

no need to bother conventional or islamic fd. in fact can use it to our advantage as both has separate protection of 250k in the same bank.
i m ok with islamic FD just that I want straight conventional FD, not those GIA or commodity related.
kopifan
post Mar 5 2016, 05:35 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Mar 5 2016, 01:23 PM)
Thank you for your support & encouragement. notworthy.gif I just updated my blog with more info. Do check it out at http://ringgitstretch.blogspot.my/
[COLOR=blue]

1: Advance Acct balance + FD = min 30k
is correct.

You do not need a separate RM30K in your advance account to qualify. More info about the HSBC Advance 5% promo can be found on my page on FD promo at
<a href='http://ringgitstretch.blogspot.my/2016/03/...march-2016.html' target='_blank'>http://ringgitstretch.blogspot.my/2016/03/...march-2016.html
</a>
[COLOR=blue]

What do you mean by that? GIA-i is different from conventional FD/TD-i as it is based on profit sharing but murabahah commodity related islamic FD is pretty straightforward. It works pretty much like conventional FD.
This is great info thanks

Once the 3 months up, can I auto renew at 5% pa for another 3 months? of just 1 off 3 mth, then after that follow prevailing board rate?

oic I thought commodity related means it is linked to some commodity investment? If it is just Islamic equiv of straight conventional FD (those non step up 1) then I could consider

This post has been edited by kopifan: Mar 5 2016, 05:36 PM
kopifan
post Mar 6 2016, 01:56 PM

196 posts

looks like for
1) straight (i.e. fixed rate, instead of those effective rate due to x mth @ x% + y mth @ y% and subject to adjustment as OPR revised) and
2) conventional (i.e. pure fixed/time deposit, and not linked to any investment be it business, equity, unit trust, commodity murabahah) and
3) over the counter FD (i.e. not eFD)

the best rate in town r
1) Bank Simpanan (12m@4.5% non-PIDM member but 100% guaranteed by government. Heard a/c opening for new depositor a bit slow?)
2) RHB (12m@4.45%)
3) Alliance Bank (3-9m@4.35% but need RM50k)
4) OCBC (15m@4.3%)
5) CIMB (12m@4.3%)

Any better option please advise tq
kopifan
post Mar 7 2016, 10:03 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Mar 6 2016, 11:14 PM)
HLBank 3months 4.2% p.a extender to this month end? hmm.gif
till end Apr
kopifan
post Mar 10 2016, 09:27 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Mar 9 2016, 08:26 PM)
yea. this is it. so far the best provided by MBB
Subject to changes in OPR, means u may not get EIR after all?!?
kopifan
post Mar 10 2016, 09:29 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Mar 9 2016, 09:34 PM)
can this be done online??
thought no more 4.38% now 12m@4.22%?!?!
kopifan
post Mar 10 2016, 09:33 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Mar 10 2016, 09:12 AM)