Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only
Human Nature
Feb 26 2016, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(saddient @ Feb 25 2016, 11:57 PM) takes 30 min to absorb but very confusing as well..... understand some bank offering high rates.... but heard some of my friends said not reliable etc..... thats why ask opinion from here.... maybe can follow sifu foot steps haha can have a look at uob bank, direct FD. p/s 1st page is more reliable than hearsay
Human Nature
Feb 26 2016, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(yygo @ Feb 26 2016, 08:42 AM) uob bank direct fd? wats tat? means not linked to any saving account
Human Nature
Feb 26 2016, 06:32 PM
Yup, interested to know which bank too so that can be extra cautious. I will demand a compensation if I need to come the next day.
Human Nature
Feb 26 2016, 07:32 PM
As for me, it is more of a hassle because I normally take annual leave based on my FD maturity dates even though I am on flexi working hours. So if new system said next day, they better print it clearly on the cert.
Human Nature
Mar 1 2016, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 1 2016, 11:28 AM) Called UOB PB centre: 5 mth 4.05%, 10 mth 4.18%, min 10k, till end March  promo rates going down .....................  Thanks for the effort. No 12m promo from UOB?
Human Nature
Mar 1 2016, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 1 2016, 02:46 PM) Ya, no 12 mth promo from UOB based on what I heard. Only 5 and 10 mth FD promo.  So OCBC beating UOB with their 4.3% 12 mth FD. Even MBSB advertising at lower FD promo rates in the newspaper. Trend seems to be lower FD promo rates. Big Bones will be disappointed.  OCBC's 4.3% is 15 months. Will be making a placement here by this week if UOB doesn't come up with 12m promo. Same goes to my SCB 18m 4.25% which will mature end of this month. Was hoping for 4.5% but looking at the trend, i will take that extra 0.05% -------------- The OCBC at my place opens from Monday to Sunday 9.30am to 7.00pm. If I make an FD placement on Thursday but after 4 pm, are the counters (both the service and teller counters) still open? and can they issue the FD cert on the spot? I am okay if the date will start from Friday. This post has been edited by Human Nature: Mar 1 2016, 08:14 PM
Human Nature
Mar 1 2016, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(yygo @ Mar 1 2016, 08:17 PM) Will have to pass as I do not have an existing joint account there. Unable to get the joint account holder to come with me.
Human Nature
Mar 3 2016, 11:47 AM
Damn piss off with CIMB branch here. My dad went to uplift/renew a matured FD and was told that he can renew the FD at the same promo rate of 4.2%. When I checked at cimbclicks, it was actually renewed at base rate. This is a con job.
Human Nature
Mar 3 2016, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 3 2016, 11:50 AM) Did CIMB issued new FD cert/slip which showed 4.2% rate ?  No, the staff told my dad no need. Once i hear this, I know kena con dy, i quickly check cimbclicks.
Human Nature
Mar 3 2016, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 3 2016, 12:06 PM) Should complain on this. Better to get new FD cert/slip when renewed at "special" rate. Like BR agreed to give me 12 mth 4.5% for expired FD, they print out new cert for me. QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 3 2016, 12:08 PM) If no b&w, how to prove? The teller can said I didn't said it. That is the problem when you become friends with bank staff, will just trust and not insist for the print out. Even I wanna go complain my dad said no need. So now will move out the renewed FD.
Human Nature
Mar 8 2016, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Mar 8 2016, 10:52 PM) Wow.. highest interest rates offered so far is by CIMB.  but the effective rate gonna me measly
Human Nature
Mar 14 2016, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 14 2016, 05:46 PM) In PBB to uplift FD which matured on last Sat. The counter leng lui asked me to top up 2k to enjoy the new 4.3% (eff rate) promo. Told her did not carry that amount, then go down to 1k. Said no again. Settled at nego RM500 top up !  So added cash RM500 to get the FD renewed to current promo rate. As to 2 days interest, asked her about it. Paid cash for the 2 days interest. Not bad. So have to ask PBB if your FD matured over the holidays. Earlier called BR, starting on Wed, their new FD promo is 4.28% for 12 mths. Still slightly lower than the 4.3% of other banks. But can nego if your amt is high. Plan next week to go for the 2 years 4.55%. Hopefully they are not cancelling it next week ! The trend is banks are cancelling the 4.5% FD promo !! Be it reach their limit or not, hard to say. BSN, even RHB's 4.45%, all gone. Right now BR's 4.55% really attractive.  Wait for me, BR !  wah, just renewed my BR at 4.10 today
Human Nature
Mar 14 2016, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 14 2016, 06:44 PM) Today BR told me on Wed the new FD promo is 12 mth 4.28%. So if sum is large, may be worth it to cancel it on Wed and get the new rate.  after some calculation..just about a hundred difference..will just maintain.. went to uob and ocbc today too. no new promo.
Human Nature
Mar 16 2016, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(joeman814 @ Mar 15 2016, 11:25 PM) Hi all, a newbie here to ask question... After reading the thread, was wondering if we using a banker's check for FD, what is the payee name to write on the banker's check if you don't have a account for the new bank? Thanks in advance! The FD cert holder name ie. your name assuming the FD is going to placed under your name
Human Nature
Mar 17 2016, 11:09 AM
For those with unpleasant experience with the bank, I suggest you to at least direct proper feedback to them so that they can improve the service. Or else, they will never bother.
Human Nature
Mar 21 2016, 11:49 AM
Wow UOB is upping the game. Would have moved my scb to here but too bad cant make the due date. Hope OCBC counter fast.
Human Nature
Mar 21 2016, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(nitehawk @ Mar 21 2016, 04:05 PM) UOB 4.5% valid until when? stated at BCC's post: Valid until end of March
Human Nature
Mar 23 2016, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(McFD2R @ Mar 23 2016, 02:47 PM) Just came back from UOB Puchong. Placed 12 months @ 4.5%pa. Then went to OCBC to withdraw a matured FD. Took 40 minutes just to conclude an FD withdrawal. I do not understand why I have to go through Personal Banking counters, before proceeding to the normal transaction counter to collect. I blew my top when after waiting for close to half hour, someone who just came in, took a number and immediately his number was called. I went to the girl who was issuing number and asked "Why I do have to wait for a personal banker just to conduct an FD withdrawal?". Straight away she went to a guy colleague who then went to a counter to call my number. WTF service is this. I can't wait to have all my FDs matured in OCBC before withdrawing.  Never experience such thing for FD upliftment. Everything done at the teller side, usually less than 10 mins.
Human Nature
Mar 23 2016, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(blackstar88 @ Mar 23 2016, 04:24 PM) Do i need to have a saving account with them to open a FD account? The correct answer is depends on the bank/promo. Check the terms and condition, some will require.
Human Nature
Mar 23 2016, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(msa9696 @ Mar 23 2016, 09:42 PM) No need open savings account so you just deposit and get the cert? That day the girl kept insisting that I must open a savings account and they must issue an ATM card and online pin to me. I keep asking the reasons and they said now is the standard practice. I told them not all banks required and she insist. So I have no choice but just to open. Opening account took me 45 min but then processing FD at counter only like 5 min. If opening account not necessary then I'm going to write in to them asking why the inconsistency. Kena con. Luckily she didn't lie and insist you to deposit 1500 like Standard Chartered bank. Always refer to the T&C to see whether need CASA or not.