Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Bonescythe
post Feb 26 2016, 07:59 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 26 2016, 05:50 AM)
I am looking for eFD for rm1k.  biggrin.gif tongue.gif Time period 1-2 months. Anything more than 3.15% is good value. thumbup.gif
There is no significant in 3% and 3.15% for a 1k fd in 2 months.

You shud spend more time in thinking how to make 100k by year end instead of cracking head for 1k fd for 2 mths searching high and lows for 3.15%

The 2 month difference is rm 0.25... is pointless

This post has been edited by Bonescythe: Feb 26 2016, 08:03 AM
Bonescythe
post Feb 26 2016, 01:52 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 26 2016, 11:20 AM)
Precisely. Even IBG fees of RM0.11 also I count.
Yikes... it irks me out when seeing people going high and low trying to save anything lower than rm 1..

Really tak boleh tahan.

Focusing to save from an operation cost of rm 100k will be more feasible to spend your time on than spending time cracking head on how to save rm1 and lesser, wad more to say, rm 0.25 (your fd case) or rm 0.11 (your ibg case)

Maybe you are still a student for now, got many time... haha.

It will come a time when u realize these are really wasting time.. haha..

Sorry if i oT.. but i really tak boleh tahan..
Bonescythe
post Mar 8 2016, 09:22 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 7 2016, 09:23 PM)
Gone are the days of 12 mth 4.5%/4.6% of SCB, OCBC, Affin, Ambank ..................... cry.gif

Big Bones, are you still waiting for 5% ?  hmm.gif  tongue.gif
While my money is already in fD... yeah, i am still looking forward for 5%.. year end.. lolz smile.gif
9 mths to go...

Bonescythe
post Mar 8 2016, 10:28 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 8 2016, 10:08 AM)
I sure will be very happy with 5% by year end. But I doubt that. Will be happy if the 4.5% 1 year can be kept until year end.  thumbsup.gif
The current 4.5 that is being offered is good enough to keep the extra $$$ till next year already biggrin.gif

Now gold keep going up...

Need another wave of shocker in the money market.. then interest rate might see some upside gua...

just my 2 cents
Bonescythe
post Mar 18 2016, 08:42 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Myr so strong... looks like my 5% dream is very thin already..
On the side note.. good thing i didnt rush to change usd at 4.3 4.4.. haha..

This post has been edited by Bonescythe: Mar 18 2016, 08:43 PM
Bonescythe
post Mar 21 2016, 10:32 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 21 2016, 12:04 PM)
Called UOB PB centre, confirmed that new FD promo 12 mth 4.5%.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif Till end of March, min 10k fresh fund.

Goodie from UOB. Originally thinking no more 4.5% thingy.  biggrin.gif

That changed my coming plan. However as part of diversification plan, will still nego with BR for higher rate.  biggrin.gif

Big Bones should be happy as 5% target not lost yet ! tongue.gif
Lets see 2bd half 2016 only make decision.. hehe
Bonescythe
post Mar 21 2016, 11:09 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 21 2016, 10:37 PM)
But I still think OPR likely to go down after 2nd half of 2016.  biggrin.gif
This crude oil rebound send some relief to oil producing country.. well, i dunno wad will happen to the economy in the next 1 year, but as u know, i am a bear bear for now..

Gold is still maintaining its composure above 1200..

Since UOB still can offer 4.5%, it could mean something later on.. brows.gif who knows ? Soon most bank will revert back to 4.5 offer again..
Bonescythe
post Apr 3 2016, 08:33 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 3 2016, 11:30 AM)
Their 2 yrs 4.55% offer ended on 31st March. Only left 1 yr 4.28% promo.  biggrin.gif
My heart started pounding also.

For:
"Wat is their current offer for 12m n 24m?"

Oh, 12 million, 5%. The dream of Big Bones !  brows.gif
Argh.. my dream is sailing further... RM see strength towards the greenback.. now rm 3.8x to 1 usd..

9mths to go... but looking at this state, USA is not going to paint a bad picture on Obama, expecting a rosy end to his tenure... so is a bit susah already sad.gif

Approx 40 grand left rotting in saving acc sad.gif wad am i doing.. zz

Need to go back hLB and hide in their 3mths FD..

Brw, 12m on 5% is freaking awesome if true.. argghhh
600k of interest per annum!!!

Bonescythe
post Apr 19 2016, 05:37 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(Xaphier @ Apr 19 2016, 09:55 AM)
Hi guys, beginner here. I have been saving under Maybank FD and have never take out my funds before (I let it auto renew and roll over the interests). Anyway, I want to put my FD into Hong Leong Bank for a promotion that needed fresh funds, but I have no idea how to do it.

First, I assume fresh fund is something that is not from their bank account, so I think I passed that criteria.

Second, how do I send the fresh fund over? I have no cheque book. Do I use IBG or some sort? Bank draft?
Thanks in advance!
Just ibg over. Is considered fresh fund.
Just did it today. No issue
Bonescythe
post May 3 2016, 07:22 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Australia cut interest rate from2 to1.75

Malaysia will ? Cut or remain ?

Looks like my 5% is slim chance almost goner liao
Bonescythe
post May 3 2016, 10:32 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 3 2016, 10:16 PM)
Finally, your hope come true, 5% under saving account.  biggrin.gif

https://www.pbebank.com/pdf/Promotions/tc-50thanisave.aspx
Rm 250k to rm 300k

Zzzz
Bonescythe
post May 4 2016, 11:04 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

RM slipping again... 1 usd to rm 4.0x

Got chance 2nd half of the year ? Lolz.

Bonescythe
post May 5 2016, 09:09 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 5 2016, 08:05 AM)
Look into your crystal ball for next year !  brows.gif
No more Zeti in charge..
This time need to look to Sammo Hung crystal already..

Will he change the OPR within 1 year on the seat ?

This post has been edited by Bonescythe: May 5 2016, 09:10 AM
Bonescythe
post May 5 2016, 10:19 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 5 2016, 09:27 AM)
Good one, Sammo Hung !  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

He should be cautious as Zeti. All depends on economic situation and other factors.  biggrin.gif
Japan play the "do nothing stand" and got punish severely in equity market..
Bonescythe
post May 30 2016, 04:45 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 30 2016, 01:40 PM)
exactly. and again he is posting 1-2 liner of FD info without details. then other confused readers all swarming asking the same question.  mad.gif

p/s: if 5% FD, Bonescythe's dream came thru  laugh.gif
Wow.. suddenly see my name summon here.

Looks like my vision of 5% still got some practical chances of success in 2016.. hehehehe

If By June Fed raise rate, then my vision will be closer.
Bonescythe
post May 30 2016, 06:50 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ May 30 2016, 05:33 PM)
sure can leh. now already has the 5% (with ut, casa?) laugh.gif
So far is just pbb saving acc offer with min cash requirement of 250k if not wrong.. and need to register.

Fd not yet appear yet... but soon i will proof my skeptics wrong when 5% emerge. Kikiki

Now keep quiet first and hiding..
Kikiki
Bonescythe
post May 31 2016, 11:05 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ May 30 2016, 07:30 PM)
that one just over 3 months period leh.

statement recorded.  tongue.gif so if 5% not there, also hiding still?  brows.gif
Now already hiding inside a deep hole... can barely see light already. Lolz.

But i dun think bank will be offering high FD rates for long tenure of time frame. Most will run around 3 to 6 mths. So dun expect a 12mths 5%... unless magic happen ????????? Can that ? But i dun believe in this magic yet la. Haha.

Bonescythe
post May 31 2016, 11:07 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 30 2016, 10:26 PM)
Fed will only raise max 0.25% by June, and possibly halt from that point, aka the Fed fund rate will be 0.5% (if there is a raise on June, which is high possibility), which is still light year away from the 5%.  laugh.gif

In fact, 3months KLibor has soften from about 3.8x% to 3.6x%, which make FD promotion rate become "softer" across as well as compared to early in the year.
Is coming... is coming..... i can smell it nearer n nearer already.. lolz...

Another 7mths to go in 2016. Time flies so fast..

4 weeks saw heavy fund going out.. almost 4b
Bonescythe
post Jun 1 2016, 10:34 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Looks like some share the same guts as mines.. biggrin.gif

Kikiki...

0.0556sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:02 AM