Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

bbgoat
post May 25 2016, 08:27 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 24 2016, 11:07 PM)
4.5 % is history now. Luckily Im still enjoying it, Going to end soon though. sweat.gif
Luckily, I still have AmBank 2 and 3 yrs 4.6 and 4.5% still running. Even AmBank 5 yrs 4.55% still running. rclxms.gif

Please note above is talking about 2015 AmBank FD promo's. All FD promo already over/expired ! Please don't ask about it ! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 25 2016, 08:29 AM
bbgoat
post May 25 2016, 08:43 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ May 25 2016, 08:32 AM)
woah ! why put for long period of time?... 5 yrs...
Still staying in M'sia ma ............... tongue.gif

Just joking. thumbup.gif

Actually only small quantity and 1 FD into that. That time, Oct 2015, itchy itchy and only AmBank has the 4.55% promo. Then 2 weeks later AmBank came out with 2 yrs 4.6%. Then pumped in much higher amt in there. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post May 25 2016, 09:45 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 25 2016, 09:06 AM)

Next month's rates going to be better... icon_idea.gif
Your wish list ? Looking towards a brighter future ? tongue.gif

More likely to stay at 4.3% 12 mth. Lets see. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post May 25 2016, 11:00 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 25 2016, 10:52 AM)
4.55% just to pawn you.  tongue.gif
They got small fish with the pawn. laugh.gif With bigger pawn, they got bigger fish. laugh.gif
bbgoat
post May 25 2016, 01:41 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 25 2016, 11:02 AM)
I think the market is still on shortage of cash flow. So the banks will need more funds and hence the higher interests rates for fd, but then again, the banks are so strict in giving out loans because of NPL and defaulters.  rolleyes.gif  rclxub.gif
Interesting to see that banks are short of cash as reported in the news. But recently the FD offer has been capped at 12 mth 4.3% vs the 4.5% offered about 2 months ago. Then again bank has tightened loans requirement, car sales plunged. Anyway lets see how FD promo plays out next week, June month ! biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post May 25 2016, 02:00 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 25 2016, 01:47 PM)
lucky u already stated clearly it's 2015 FD promo. if not sure some newbie go visit branch & ask about it  blush.gif  bruce.gif
Some forummer just look at the 4.5%/4.6% and ask which bank. Never look at expiry date of offer. So have to be clear, if not kena this question for sure.

(Please don't ask about 4.5%/4.6% FD offer, expired !) tongue.gif
bbgoat
post May 25 2016, 06:27 PM

6,614 posts

My MBB GIA-i step-up 7th month 4.5% interest today (finally sweat.gif ) settled. The add'l interest credited to my account.

Was told several people affected in the same branch as well, maybe a bundle ! Hahaha. The officer said it is some coding issue of the GIA-i making it go to normal GIA-i with 4% payout.

So for next 5 months, they will have to manually credit the difference to my SA. I just hope no need for me to remind them for next 5 months. The officer said they have set up a chart for those affected. biggrin.gif

bbgoat
post May 25 2016, 08:25 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ May 25 2016, 03:31 PM)
is it ok to break 100k into 10 x 10k FD placements? so that if need to premature withdraw, no need lose too much?
Instead of 10 cert, try 10k, 20k, 30k, 40k. 4 certs. You can withdraw any amt that u need in multiples of 10k. Less certs to take care of. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post May 26 2016, 06:39 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 26 2016, 06:25 PM)
so far it's available at Affin Bangsar, Cheras & Subang Jaya only as shared by fellow forummers. so if really want the 4.5% FD, better go to these branch.
Interesting ! So Affin similar to HL (around Sept 2015), they are having FD promo which only some branch are carrying ! biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post May 26 2016, 06:46 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 26 2016, 06:43 PM)
guess so..

as u can see some went to affin branch & failed to get.  among the branch is klang bukit tinggi, bdr baru ampang, kepong & serdang  icon_rolleyes.gif

now waiting for wil-i-am update on where he did?
Ya, the Penang Affin branch that I called also has no idea about it. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post May 27 2016, 11:12 AM

6,614 posts

Did IBFT from CB to MBB this morning, then placed for MBB GIA-i 1 mth placement. Plan to uplift within 2 weeks max. 4% interest. Not a bad idea for short term fund. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post May 30 2016, 01:49 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 30 2016, 01:33 PM)
could be other T&Cs? typo?

investment-related?  hmm.gif
QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 30 2016, 01:40 PM)
exactly. and again he is posting 1-2 liner of FD info without details. then other confused readers all swarming asking the same question.  mad.gif

p/s: if 5% FD, Bonescythe's dream came thru  laugh.gif
I received call from HL this morning. Saying return of 5 to 6%. Even offered to see me in my office ! When pressed further, a saving plan ! Said TQ and bye !

5% unlikely to be straight/pure FD. Curious with the T & C Wiliam mentioned. I bet some sort of UT/investment or CASA tie up. biggrin.gif

bbgoat
post May 31 2016, 08:56 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 31 2016, 08:48 AM)
No CASA
Need to invest same amt with ASNB variable price products
For 12 mth 5% ? Last time I got CB 1 mth 9.18% FD, RHB 6 mth 7.8%. Both with UT/ASNB tie up.

Anyway, most of forummer here more interested on pure FD.
bbgoat
post May 31 2016, 09:33 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 31 2016, 08:58 AM)
If their T&C is fixed price ASNB funds, tis will b a double edge sword
Well, not all share the same opinion. It is still a UT. Depends on people. I did have some there but would not put too much in there. biggrin.gif

But I doubt it is the fixed price one. It most likely is the variable price.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 31 2016, 09:33 AM
bbgoat
post May 31 2016, 05:41 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 31 2016, 11:05 AM)
Now already hiding inside a deep hole... can barely see light already. Lolz.

But i dun think bank will be offering high FD rates for long tenure of time frame. Most will run around 3 to 6 mths. So dun expect a 12mths 5%... unless magic happen ????????? Can that ? But i dun believe in this magic yet la. Haha.
Big Bones, are you saying short terms of 3 to 6 months has high FD promo rate ? hmm.gif

I still think 12 mth will have better rate though it depends on the banks' promo. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 31 2016, 12:38 PM)
5% with UT/ASNB is kinda low I tell u..

so not worth it  smile.gif

if pure FD, then really worth  thumbsup.gif
Ya, based on what I have shown, 5% is kind of low esp the variable price fund upfront charges ! So the additional 0.5% vs the 4.5% of Affin's FD promo is just small sweet deal for the investor. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post May 31 2016, 06:07 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 31 2016, 06:02 PM)
only problem, needed to find those branch offering 4.5% FD  sad.gif
Kind of pain u know where. Not sure how they choose which branch to have the promo ? tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 1 2016, 08:20 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 31 2016, 11:07 PM)
Is coming... is coming..... i can smell it nearer n nearer already.. lolz...

Another 7mths to go in 2016. Time flies so fast..

4 weeks saw heavy fund going out.. almost 4b
I hope your wish comes true ! 12 mth 5% FD ! rclxms.gif I will be VERY happy if that happens ! thumbup.gif

However, my bet is NOT this year, read my lips ! rclxs0.gif

bbgoat
post Jun 1 2016, 10:08 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 1 2016, 09:18 AM)
M awaiting for 5% too  biggrin.gif
Your bet is when ? Like Big Bones ? tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 1 2016, 10:17 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 1 2016, 10:15 AM)
In Q4/2016
Reasons for Q4 ? hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 1 2016, 10:22 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 1 2016, 10:19 AM)
Gut feelings
My "gut feeling" is Q4 2016 4.6% 12 mth as the highest. But if the 12 mth 5% comes true, I will celebrate in big party ! rclxm9.gif

15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Top

0.0502sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:11 AM