AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

stilo10
post May 3 2017, 06:47 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 3 2017, 05:26 PM)
Well for one, the A3050 won't have DV and HLG firmware update eventhough in theory - the hardware is capable of supporting it. So, is DV important to you?

As for the PEQ range going down to 16hz, that was the only significant upgrade over the 2015's model. But understand that you WILL have to buy a better mic that can measure down below 20hz (like an Omni6 or UMIK1), know how to use REW and know how to port the results over. The automated YPAO is still limited at 30hz due to the subpar mic Yamaha refuses to change.

If you ask me, if you have no plans for DV - the A3050 is the wiser choice. By saving near RM2k, you can use that fund to import a minidsp (or an antimode or whatever similar) and buy a good mic, learn how to use REW and you get MUCH more options and capability in how to EQ your system over what YPAO can do. A minidsp and a UMIK1 + import tax + shipping doesn't even come close to RM2k.

I have no experience with the 64bit calculation for YPAO, nor have I seen any concrete test reports on how much better it is. So, no comment on that.
Thanks again for highlighting those points! Seems like a wiser choice for A3050...

stilo10
post May 5 2017, 12:13 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ May 4 2017, 09:53 PM)
Tech keep changing and Dolby vision still very new even 4k material less..better get the best bang of buck avr
thumbup.gif Nice info
Ya, better take your advice Master! biggrin.gif

stilo10
post May 10 2017, 08:55 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ May 5 2017, 01:13 PM)
Don't make me cry biggrin.gif ...
Haha... hifi ghost! biggrin.gif

stilo10
post May 13 2017, 05:04 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 11 2017, 06:27 AM)
Any chance of kastam tax if import minidsp 2x4?

stilo10
I have dspeaker antimode 8033 S-II for sale CLICK HERE. bought it from htkaki (svs distributor) a few years ago.
brows.gif
sweat.gif

stilo10
post Jul 1 2017, 02:21 PM

266 posts

Lower range subs wont be able to digs deep and usually it will cause a lot of distortion on some scenes of a movie with low LFE effects. Thus it will also affect the overall sound effects and this based on my experienced on the difference between the lower and higher range subs. You may go for a demo to experienced it yourself and by using the same movie with low LFE effects on both of the subs...

I wouldn't say SVS is the best but it is a good choice to start with... try to look for a used unit if the new ones are too costly.

This post has been edited by stilo10: Jul 1 2017, 03:19 PM
stilo10
post Jul 1 2017, 07:30 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Jul 1 2017, 07:08 PM)
Well maybe you are right Ben. I might just tahan a bit for the subwoofer while saving money to buy a good quality branded sub. I'm a person who likes to think of resale value. Getting a 5 stars, branded and quality subwoofer would be the best choice for me since I m on tight budget.  icon_rolleyes.gif

As for the Klipsch, I was thinking of it's reasonable price plus it's branded too but not sure if the quality is so so. A user said that the Klipsch R-10SW was a bit boomy. May I know the difference between sealed and ported subwoofer?  :confused:
I have to admit it's true because I owned a JBL SCS 180/230. It sounded like wind instead of bass.  laugh.gif

Well due to budget constraint, I have a choice of not getting any subwoofer first or get a second hand at a reasonable price if any. I'll make sure I'll post in here first before making any decision since you guys are very experience Home Theater kaki guys!  brows.gif
Good decision though bro... mayb now just wait for a moment and when right moment comes or target appears then only whallop la... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by stilo10: Jul 1 2017, 07:31 PM
stilo10
post Jul 2 2017, 12:08 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Jul 1 2017, 08:15 PM)
Yah. Correct. My first priority is the Yamaha av receiver. Of course my first choice would be the 681 model but the 581 model price difference quite a lot leh......any idea ahh?  hmm.gif

RX-V581 = RM2100
RX-V681 = RM2600
RX-V781 = RM ?
As Sifu Ben already highlighted, RXV681 is the better option to go for but you may also consider Marantz SR5011 with higher specs that also comes with preamp outputs. Recently Desa Home are doing raya promo at RM2699 but not sure whether the promo is still on going now but I believe Desa Home will be doing promo for this coming KLIAV 2017. So just tahan till KLIAV 2017 and at meantime just do more survey and when the right time comes you may pull the trigger... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by stilo10: Jul 2 2017, 12:25 AM
stilo10
post Jul 4 2017, 12:59 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Jul 3 2017, 03:08 PM)
Thank you bro. My first HT set bought from Desa HT Kepong. I gave the all set to my bro in law. Time for a change.  tongue.gif

Should I get online?  hmm.gif
good to have in law like you... biggrin.gif

which online shop & is it cheaper?

stilo10
post Jul 4 2017, 05:58 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Jul 4 2017, 02:35 AM)
There's two potential shop. Style Laser and Desa Home Theater. For online there's Mudah, 11th street & Lazada (I think). Actually are shop owners genuinely selling new item or repacking back wan? Last time I went to DHT, they told me to give advance and then will send the goods the next 1 or 3 days. I'm having trust issue here.....  unsure.gif
Personally, I would prefer to buy at the shop for av gears whenever possible and so that you can actually check the condition of it before buying. So, you have an issue with Desa HT previously?

I would go for RXV-681 if you have decided for yammy...

This post has been edited by stilo10: Jul 4 2017, 05:58 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0798sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:57 AM