AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

ktek
post Aug 18 2016, 12:51 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(kokboon04 @ Aug 17 2016, 09:46 PM)
Hi all sifu here, does anyone have any experience on this avr Onkyo TX-SR343 5.1ch? It's a reliable model? How does it compare with Yamaha 479?
not sure about this particular. u can see onkyo reliability report from members here at least 1 case every month
ktek
post Sep 3 2016, 12:25 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

good time to shopping
ktek
post Sep 15 2016, 05:34 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Sep 15 2016, 04:37 PM)
Pioneer vsx930 or 1131,yammy 679.. so far for now only this model still confused to decide actually 😋
pioneer must demo before buy. the sound has too much treble energy after mcacc calibrate. not intelligent eq as compared to audyssey calibrate.

yamaha ypao i think got intelligent eq.
ktek
post Sep 16 2016, 08:33 AM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ Sep 15 2016, 07:05 PM)
Strongly recommend you to go at least with mcacc advanced, and make sure your avr comes with x-curve (my elite has this and it is very handy).  Once you have calibrated, if you find it too bringht, normalized with x-curve to 1 or 1.5db.
normal version dont have xcurve (treble reducer)
only saw in elite lx.

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 15 2016, 11:57 PM)
Would suggest to stay away from the VSX series of Pioneer. They're as bad as Onkyo in reliability these days.
If you really want a Pioneer, save up for an Elite SC series instead.
qc become abg adik after merge? shocking.gif
ktek
post Sep 17 2016, 04:29 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(zoozooka @ Sep 17 2016, 03:27 PM)
Do I get the benefit of 7.1 speakers and sound upgrade by using AVR like Yamaha RX-V681?

I normally watch netflix HD and downloaded movies .mkv, with audio:

AC-3 640Kbps 6ch
DTS 5.1 @ 1509kbps
Speaker do the major job. Avr just decode only
ktek
post Oct 5 2016, 07:48 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Oct 3 2016, 08:36 AM)
Using bookshelf near the seating need to be careful not to knock your head

i kena this doh.gif hahaha
ktek
post Oct 7 2016, 04:37 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Oct 7 2016, 02:51 PM)
N this dont include Shipping..
Oso dont forget Kastam duties if kena..
N last [but worse] if kena Sirim cert queries..
as i know wireless device sure kena sirim and skmm. normal device not heard of
ktek
post Oct 30 2016, 09:49 AM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Oct 29 2016, 10:44 PM)
Year end sales around the corner.  brows.gif
ya. november liao. school holiday session
ktek
post Oct 31 2016, 11:51 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

real aventage model start from rxa1060 as you see the amp board is totally different from any mid range avr.
left--right channel separation.
ktek
post Dec 3 2016, 04:52 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Nov 8 2016, 11:49 AM)
Bro, they price you listed out for 3XX and 4XX series still valid?  If not do you have the latest price for that?
of course not valid. u can msg sentinel92 for yamaha prices.
ktek
post Dec 3 2016, 05:07 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(hooi @ Dec 3 2016, 12:14 PM)
Hi sifus,
Finally my >15 yrs old AV receiver stopped working.
Sony STR-DB930
I have a pair of Mordaunt Short MS10i as front, B&W CC3 center, and a pair of MS10 as surround.
What is a decent AV receiver below rm2k? Here are my preferred features:
1. Binding posts connections (at least for front RL)
2. USB port on front panel for music playback
3. Optical input for my old tv
4. Coaxial input for old DVD player
5. Wireless BT for the occasional music streamed from phone, or video from kid's tablet
6. Spotify network features would be nice for the missus
I looked online (I am located in Penang) and see a deal on a local shop:
1. Denon AVR-X1200W rm1799
2. Onkyo TX-NR545 rm1899
Having read Onkyo & Pioneer reliability issues in this thread, probably will rule out Onkyo.
Any Sony, Yamaha, Marantz in the same price range or better value?

how much do you like sony sound? kl sony center got sell 7.1 receiver but price forgotten (was it 2.5k ?)
i quite like it too

for audyssey sound by denon and marantz, easily tuned for multiple seats.
pioneer avr is *quite* terrible in music playback which i took half yr to try adjust until give up.
yamaha rxv no kickz

*this year self experienced denon x2200w (not ur model) kena 1 case d.o.a. right after install. shop owner very steady, he replace a new unit no need wait for warranty.
so make sure the amp you buy is local distributor dynamic acoustic s/b
ktek
post Dec 4 2016, 02:56 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(hooi @ Dec 4 2016, 01:22 PM)
Thanks for your advice ktek.
I am located up North, so going KL to survey for AV receiver is too far.

By the way, I am also looking to replace my MS10i as one speaker's binding posts were previously damaged after my kid tripped the speaker (which was on stand). I have since changed to a hanging tv cabinet, and the front speakers sit on it.

I see online shop selling Q Acoustics Q2020i at rm899 per pair.
I wonder how the sound will be like if paired to Denon X1200W?
i stay pg. similar situation as u.
occasionly ask friends and home relative in kl to help cod.

actually avr cannt really survey. as the shops only connect 1 or 2 demo display. so far the only shop has 8 demo room i went in was ipoh choy hifi. of course he put own carry brands only. mix with all different cable and spk i go back without any catch of idea lol.
so

back to topic. ok qacoustic is a branding of qed cables england (fyi). so 5" wont give sufficient kick unless have a subwoofer.
other concerns of music and movie are not to worry (means quite good) more wide and energetic to ms10.

899 that online shop is s____ laser i guess. i just bought a player from him.

This post has been edited by ktek: Dec 4 2016, 03:19 PM
ktek
post Dec 4 2016, 03:29 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(hooi @ Dec 4 2016, 03:19 PM)
Yes S____ Laser, how is the service?
i not even step in the shop biggrin.gif
self research item, call to reserve. then ask friend go pay and carry only. get a bit discount
ktek
post Dec 6 2016, 03:21 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(hooi @ Dec 6 2016, 11:01 AM)
I am actually referring to the woofers in my front LR bookshelf speakers. Many are 5" or so, but some like Wharfedale Crystal 30.3 or Diamond 10.2 are 6.5".

Yeah I kinda agree 10" subwoofer is the recommended minimum for HT. Probably those 8" subwoofers are meant for 2.1 music where your front LR have smallish woofers like 4" or so.
crystal not sure. never heard the actual unit.
ktek
post Dec 10 2016, 12:28 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(hooi @ Dec 8 2016, 11:32 PM)
Anyone tested / have Wharfedale Diamond 10.2?
i got listen 10.1
not so good from entry avr like yamaha 4 series.
but great when you put quality stereo amp
ktek
post Dec 10 2016, 03:27 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 10 2016, 02:40 PM)
Not much knowledge on this...

Any receiver that cost rm500 or lower? Plan to use back my old speaker...
got. those 2nd hand without hdmi can buy below 500
ktek
post Dec 11 2016, 04:12 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ Dec 11 2016, 02:41 PM)
Guys,
Do you think Yamaha RX-V681 at RM2,499 is a good bargain.
Or just normal price?
is a aventage 760 inside, proof by yamaha.
http://faq.yamaha.com/us/en/article/audio-...0_u/11056/9214/
ktek
post Dec 11 2016, 09:05 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ Dec 11 2016, 08:13 PM)
I am not sure what is the MSRP, but I look up lazada is selling at RM2899. If V861 not worth that money. Can recommend me a AVR that offer similar specs to V663 plus the 4k HDR pass through? Of course not breaking my bank account.
can refer amazon sell 599usd. depend u want convert 4 or 4.5
ktek
post Apr 3 2017, 07:39 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Apr 3 2017, 07:14 PM)
Prices have come down somewhat recently maybe because they are trying to get rid of 2016 models before the 2017 models are launched. At the moment, Denon & Marantz pricing are better compared to Yamaha & Onkyo which are still asking for the same price as when they launched.

i got marantz sr5006 and denon x2000. denon is 1gen newer which support 4k pass thru.

both are same grade 7.1 amplifier with lan network only (i bought them used unit at same price too).
so from my memory of changing marantz -> denon able to produce the same sound in audyssey mode becos i use the exact same method during room calibration. playing movie volume unit same loud. chassis temperature same hot.

slight different in pure direct mode + loud volume. i cannot explain why i prefered the marantz.
both avr provide live feel soundstage, maybe marantz has the edge while denon a bit not natural.

function wise, my denon got video processor (i leave it off anyway). no 7.1 input rca
my marantz no video processor. got 7.1 input rca (only use hdmi anyway)

2sen

why i sell marantz is request from good friend, let go lo.
after up pioneer lx, cannot suit the mcacc, sold it. buy denon and keep using until now.

This post has been edited by ktek: Apr 3 2017, 07:51 PM
ktek
post Apr 3 2017, 08:04 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

given me pick 3. i take sr5011 for below reason.
bigger power supply at 650w vs denon 500w
hdam module
pre in & out rca

but marantz cannot show current sound format (pcm, dolby, dts...) in screen pernamently, also quite small info. where denon can.
x1300 never heard dunno how good or bad.

This post has been edited by ktek: Apr 3 2017, 08:05 PM

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0435sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:12 PM