blacktubi
post Feb 3 2016, 11:51 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Feb 3 2016, 11:00 PM)
Any cheap AP or repeater to recommend?

My poor Smart tv and ps4 can't seems to get full speed from the current distance.
Never a fan of repeater. laugh.gif

Use powerline.
blacktubi
post Feb 4 2016, 07:35 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 4 2016, 06:20 PM)
I just really appreciate their routers for the price and what it can do. Wouldn't want fellow LYNers to miss out on something good and it's easy to have not heard of it since they don't advertise, period.

Me too, waiting for the HAP AC. Are you going for the MUM (Mikrotik User Meeting) in KL next month? They're giving away free routerboard but dunno what it'll be. In 2014 in Istanbul, the freebie was an RB951G-2HnD.
They are great for the price but it is incredibly hard for most people to configure it.

Powerful little device but I believe their Wireless AC hardware is still quite weak?
blacktubi
post Feb 11 2016, 12:20 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(cheekian @ Feb 11 2016, 12:17 PM)
Today I plug my RT-N12HP in and adjust channel,when I open hypptv,all gadgets except hypptv are connected but very very slow with open hypptv.so what I want to adjust?
So you mean everything works except HyppTV?

In that case, you probably plugged your HyppTV port to the wrong port. It needs to be on LAN4 if you did not change the default settings.

http://www.blacktubi.com/unifi/setup-asus-router-for-unifi/
blacktubi
post Feb 11 2016, 01:00 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(cheekian @ Feb 11 2016, 12:40 PM)
No I mean hypptv work,the other gadgets work,but gadgets are in very very slow speed but hypptv full speed
PS:I do not adjust any settings.
I guess something is wrong at TM side for this case. hmm.gif

Try reboot and using the old router as well.
blacktubi
post Feb 11 2016, 01:06 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(cheekian @ Feb 11 2016, 01:05 PM)
I plug back to stock router(DIR-615) and everything works even hypptv...
Later try again but if problem exists,what I want to do?
Use Asus support thread here.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2651405/+4300

I do not have the new HyppTV box but I heard a lot of things are changed.
blacktubi
post Feb 11 2016, 01:08 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(romeo57 @ Feb 11 2016, 12:38 PM)
Does placing router beside the TV contribute to the problem? I read somewhere it does.
I detected 3 (including myself) wifi signals only in my neighborhood.

When i use the TM router (Dlink DIR-615), the connection is not that stable, sometimes slow, sometimes fast.
While Asus' router keeps on disconnecting, then re-connects.  icon_question.gif
I saw a reset button on the "white" box (forgot the exact name) before the router, would resetting it solve the problem?
I surveyed for routers, and found out Asus routers is one of the best.
It is fine unless your TV produce 2.4Ghz which will interfere with the Wireless connection.

What is your signal strength when that happen?
blacktubi
post Feb 11 2016, 11:11 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(romeo57 @ Feb 11 2016, 11:01 PM)
The disconnection happened on the router itself. I had full strength.
No matter how many times i reboot, still the same.

I'm using an extender too, TP-Link.
Try remove your extender and observe.
blacktubi
post Feb 15 2016, 06:42 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(sherz88 @ Feb 15 2016, 06:27 PM)
Guys, I am relocating to new place where there is no coverage unifi or streamyx. But i just upgraded to 30mb last year causing my contract to restart. Can I temporarily suspend my account until got coverage? I call CS they say cannot. I still have to pay even without services during no coverage
You are relocating to a location without TM coverage, there shouldn't be any penalty. Just proceed to TM Point and let them know. smile.gif
blacktubi
post Feb 15 2016, 09:00 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(doublef @ Feb 15 2016, 08:48 PM)
anyone know what best MODEM i can use to replace unifi modem (Huawei HG-655m)?

not router. because my modem always hot and disconnect. restart then ok.
Complaint and have them replace it. That thing come with lifetime warranty.

Or just get a USB fan. smile.gif
blacktubi
post Feb 15 2016, 09:05 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(doublef @ Feb 15 2016, 09:03 PM)
i lazy to have fight with telekom. because they will convince me that modem is ok.
and i dont have any prove on the spot.
this is aztech with unifi support box

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-Kf2HAw1y41c/U8KN...00/IMG_2462.JPG
Interesting, try and let us know if it works well. biggrin.gif
blacktubi
post Feb 16 2016, 12:23 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(ongw @ Feb 16 2016, 12:06 PM)
Hi guys,

Need your advice here from all the sifus.

My Unifi package is 30mbps / 5 mbps.

I'm able to achieve 30 mbps via LAN however my wifi is constantly stuck at 20mbps. I've bought an ASUS RT-AC55UHP router and once I set it up my wifi speed went above 30mpbs.

After a couple of hours using it, my wifi is again limited to 20mbps. Called Unifi and told them about this and they said change the router!! Told them i've spend a few hundred bucks changing it already and it's stuck at 20 mbps again. They said can't be help as it's wifi but I know for a fact that it can go higher than that as my speed earlier via WIFI was 30 mbps when I first installed it.

Does anyone know how to bump up my wifi speed?

Thanks for your advice guys.
When your WiFi speed dropped to 20Mbps, does it affects Ethernet LAN.

Use Wireless AC and make sure the signal is at least decent.
blacktubi
post Feb 16 2016, 01:09 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Feb 16 2016, 12:40 PM)
What wifi client device are you using?
Macbook Air smile.gif
blacktubi
post Feb 16 2016, 04:45 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(ongw @ Feb 16 2016, 02:25 PM)
I'm using a Macbook 2015 and Iphone 6+

@blacktubi LAN is able to reach 30mbps. Not sure what you meant bout wireless AC but I'm connected via 5ghz channel.

Thanks for the help so far but issue still remains..
Stand beside your router and conduct a speedtest again.

Try 2.4Ghz as 5Ghz is slower than 2.4Ghz when the signal is weak.
blacktubi
post Feb 16 2016, 04:45 PM

-
8,400 posts

Deleted for double post

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Feb 16 2016, 04:45 PM
blacktubi
post Feb 20 2016, 03:42 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(akuinsan @ Feb 20 2016, 11:30 AM)
will got my unifi installation @22 feb, luckily my lower cost apartment (low rise aparment no lift - 4 storey) will get ftth, not vdsl...

I plan to put BTU & router at the top of book rack, then pull rj45 cable to tv table for stb (10meter +), but i don't want unifi installer terminate indoor fiber cable "ngam ngam" at the top of book rack...

can i ask them to pull extra fiber cable  then "gulung" before terminate?

anytime if i want to change or move the book rack, so i can put down or relocate the btu & router.
They normally terminate a wall plate and provide a 5m Fibre cable.

But you should be able to get some extra if you are friendly enough. smile.gif
blacktubi
post Feb 24 2016, 04:14 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Feb 24 2016, 04:01 PM)
So my Huawei EchoLife HG850a stopped working. I came across a post that changing power adapter could resolve it. Tried with another 12V output adapter and bam... working again.  smile.gif  I guess I should cancel my appointment with technician. So overheating issues etc. wasn't really the case when I first believed.
You should get them to change the adapter. smile.gif

The device is TM's property. It comes with a lifetime warranty.
blacktubi
post Mar 2 2016, 10:21 PM

-
8,400 posts

How's the connectivity to Singapore?

It is pretty bad for most IP range to me.
blacktubi
post Mar 4 2016, 12:09 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Mar 4 2016, 11:54 AM)
SHOOT

Yes I did. I mistakenly connected it to 1st port instead of 4th port doh.gif

Now trying to connect to PPPoE. Somehow stuck at Connecting status only.
Do you select the Unifi profile?
blacktubi
post Mar 5 2016, 09:16 AM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Mar 5 2016, 12:47 AM)
Hi all,

May I know what is the correct option for ipv6 on Unifi?

Should I use Native, Tunnel 6to4, Tunnel 6in4, Tunnel 6rd or Static IPV6?  icon_question.gif

What about the 3 other options at the bottom? Those are filled automatically by the router's firmware.

Thanks in advanced!  thumbup.gif

I find HG655m's bright white LED so distracted, so I mod it to various colors, will be use it for a while then only decide which color I like the most, and might change all to the same color.  laugh.gif

Use Native IPV6 and PPP for the interface.

Enable Router Advertisement. biggrin.gif
blacktubi
post Mar 10 2016, 01:48 PM

-
8,400 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Mar 10 2016, 01:31 PM)
I really don't understand why they need 1 to 2 weeks to even act on cable breakdown issues. I have heard many horror stories that UniFi will be down for 1 or 2 weeks if a cable breaks!!!

Thing is, I noticed nobody is working on it for the initial few days. If they could have started working on it earlier, I believe they can resolve it within the day itself, or at most 2 days!!

And I am NOT even referring to the submarine cable. I am referring to the fibre cable and copper cable that connects to customer's premises!!!
The jobs are contracted to external party. TM is not the most efficient company around I afraid.

It is funny that Streamyx support is better since they are still doing it in house. laugh.gif

0.0487sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:49 PM