27 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V150

Cubalagi
post Jan 10 2021, 10:53 AM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(lauwenhan @ Jan 10 2021, 10:36 AM)
I put money in Bitcoin and this is so fucking stupid. Keeps going up wtf
If u think it's stupid, why don't u take profit?
Cubalagi
post Jan 12 2021, 02:56 AM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(KahiSun @ Jan 12 2021, 02:00 AM)
Looking to enter chinaetf via bursa. Is buying overseas etf via bursa generally recommended? Or do sifus prefer other method for overseas exposure such as unit trust and/or direct foreign broker, etc
There are 3 China etfs on bursa. 0823EA, 0829EA, 0829EB.The first one by Principal (used to be Cimb Principal), the second and third by Affin Hwang Asset Management. 0829EA and EB is the same except EA is in RM and EB is in USD.

I have 0829EA n I'm very happy with it. I have held this since 2019, but have added and reduce depending on market situation. If I held it from beginning (slightly less than 2 years) and didn't trade in and out, I would have made 55%+.

Biggest advantage is low transaction costs. Pay normal bursa brokerage, no forex costs since buy in Ringgit and ETF is exempted from stamp duty. Also it's a Malaysian fund manager, easy to contact for queries and regulated by Malaysian regulators.

But a trick is to make sure that you buy/sell during Hong Kong market is open. HK opens at 9.30am, lunchbteak at 12pm-1pm and closes at 4pm. Outside those hours, bid and ask can be very big. And of course, if HK holiday, also don't buy.

Currently, the biggest risk for this ETF that I see is it holds the US China listed stocks like Baba, Bidu, JD..com and there is worry US decide to delist them because of this trade war. However, maybe this won't happen under Biden and if so, a lot of upside still.

PM me if you want to ask any questions. This is glove stock thread.. 😆
Cubalagi
post Jan 12 2021, 02:57 AM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(westernkl @ Jan 12 2021, 02:40 AM)
Can we retailer to play RSS?
As far as I know, no broker has offered RSS to retail investors
Cubalagi
post Jan 12 2021, 09:48 AM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 12 2021, 09:22 AM)
This is a glove stock thread ah?   ohmy.gif

Cuba, You love those ETFs?   biggrin.gif

Thanks for sharing. Only ETF i have ever bought was GLL.
Yes.. Love them. My core portfolio consist of ETFs. Stocks are side dishes.

Singapore STI, China tech, Vietnam equities and gold etf being my core positions going in 2021.

U have GLL.. Short gold? .. Wow.. So sophisticated..

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jan 12 2021, 09:49 AM
Cubalagi
post Jan 17 2021, 12:17 PM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 16 2021, 10:35 PM)
glove shareholders, below is a new writeup from BenTan about glove shorts.

i have been following the subject very closely myself and have come to a similar conclusion for now.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/bursainve..._Short_Over.jsp
I guess this is typical analysis from a retail mind..

Motivations of insti short sellers may not be the same as retail.

I actually suspect a large part of the short positions were actually hedges.

For eg it could be, a few months back at glove peak, one of the substantial shareholder decided to protect his profits and buy a put. The only people that can offer a large put position will be one of these large international IB's.

The IB's will have to hedge the position, but since shortselling was not allowed last year, they hedged using their internal position. This is not ideal for these IB's.

Once RSS was allowed again this year, the IB's quickly moved the hedge from internal to on market. This could explain that big so called "short sell attack" early this year. The IB's moving their hedge on market. Once that's done, it's a matter of maintenance of the position.

Of course there could be some directional play as well, but looking at the huge early RSS numbers, I do believe these were due to pent-up demand for hedges by the IB's.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jan 17 2021, 12:21 PM
Cubalagi
post Jan 20 2021, 07:52 PM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Jan 20 2021, 07:12 PM)
If anything can represent Bursa, it is probably this.

In the face of an OPR cut risk, banks went up today morning.
Upon confirmation at 3pm that the OPR maintains without a cut, Maybank and PBB dipped.

Just Bursa things.
U never heard of buy the rumor sell the news before?
Cubalagi
post Jan 24 2021, 08:37 AM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 23 2021, 10:48 PM)
how will local O&G be affected?
Tougher regulation on shale cowboys is a good thing for rest of the world OnG. Already US shale is facing a lot of debts problem, several have gone bust. But the rest have ramped up drilling in the last few months of Trump administrationn.

I have added to my Hibiscus position, the only pure E&P play on Bursa, last Friday.
Cubalagi
post Jan 28 2021, 09:58 AM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Jan 28 2021, 09:31 AM)
My broker offers to pay for borrowing my shares but I am not savvy to take offer
Why u don't take up?

If u long term holder then u can just lend the shares, you get free interest
Cubalagi
post Jan 28 2021, 10:24 AM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Jan 28 2021, 10:02 AM)
Will see how but I keep not much share in short durations.
Lending is good for long term investor. If you are short term maybe not worth the effort.

The interest u get is not very high, maybe around 1% per anum,.depend on stock. However, u still earn the dividends from the stock you lend. So that 1% is like free money u are getting.

When I was approached about a year back, broker wanted min RM100k value per counter. I couldn't take up coz I already reduced my holdings. This year maybe I will.

Cubalagi
post Jan 28 2021, 12:10 PM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Jan 28 2021, 12:05 PM)
why HSI freefall this morning.
anything happen in china?
US big drop last night...

All these markets have correlation.
Cubalagi
post Jan 29 2021, 12:33 PM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(lauwenhan @ Jan 29 2021, 12:29 PM)
PSS for market makers only. And with a list of approved securities. But if I am not mistaken, another recent amendment stated that approved securities are no longer necessary for MM to short sell
RSS and PSS different users.

PSS are market makers for ETF, Warrants. So only if u have that product and strictly for hedging those products.

RSS: open and mostly foreign institutional like evil JPM.

Cubalagi
post Jan 30 2021, 12:39 PM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(Sypher @ Jan 30 2021, 12:28 PM)
This is not about that. The subreddit is becoming a great discussion place for more knowledgable members to share their insight and discussion with newbies.
I guess the knowledgeable ones are the trapped ones n want to offload to newbies then..
Cubalagi
post Jan 30 2021, 12:55 PM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Jan 30 2021, 12:51 PM)
Nothing about this makes sense. Topglove only 4% is shorted la, not 130% shorted (how is this even legal lmao) like in GME's case. What are these buggers even doing.

Also knowing malaysian mentality, the ikan bilis when see their Topglove position up even 5% will quick quick sell already, all of them are paper hands
Not even 4%..its 2.95%.

4% is the cap by Malaysian regulators.
Cubalagi
post Jan 30 2021, 01:25 PM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Jan 29 2021, 11:56 PM)
What to do if you put in a sell queue for next week, but you want to really make sure you get in the top selling queue the moment Bursa opens at 9am?

If the share price is currently RM8, can I key in say RM6 queue sell GTD next week? That means it'll automatically match my RM6 sell price with whatever top buyprice when market opens? So when market open and the lowest buy price is RM7, my RM6 sell will be matched with the RM7 buy?
Based on my understanding of how Bursa opening auction works, u should get a match if u put your sell price low enough. You are effectively putting in a market sell order.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jan 30 2021, 01:26 PM
Cubalagi
post Jan 30 2021, 08:03 PM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 30 2021, 06:44 PM)
Currently if not mistaken, the limit has been capped to 3% for each stock. To facilitate market stability after mco.

But anyway price will go up, and some poor soul will need to hold the bag
Net short for RSS is capped at 4%

See bursa PR

https://www.bursamalaysia.com/about_bursa/m...-1-january-2021
Cubalagi
post Jan 31 2021, 01:05 PM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 31 2021, 11:55 AM)
something interesting...

loaded with big profits and cash, IB's, consumer product giants, even Netflix now planning major share buybacks.

why do they not just give huge dividends like many have asked?

more dividend vs SBB - which one works better to shore up stock prices?
For a non US investor investing in US stocks, SBB is better as no witholding taxes.
Cubalagi
post Jan 31 2021, 01:06 PM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(HereToLearn @ Jan 31 2021, 10:07 AM)
Bad only have the chance to buy low, when good, already expensive and chase high
Market is forward looking, but a Value Investor tries to be more forward looking than the market.
Cubalagi
post Jan 31 2021, 01:56 PM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Jan 31 2021, 01:23 PM)
I am ashamed to admit my mistake in believing fundamental analysis must eventaully prevail. I believe the truth will set me free and good fundamental will eventualy prevail. As a result, I did not sell my holdings. About 80% of my holding is Supermax and 20% is Top Glove.

I should have sold some of my holdings ealier. Now is too late to sell because each of them has already dropped about 40% from its recent peak.
http://koonyewyin.com/2021/01/20/price-chart-prevails/
Im a believer that fundentals will ultimately prevail but there are are 3 things I have learned over the years and shaped my investment style :

1. Sometimes it will take a while, so u have to have staying power. There is a popular saying that "markets can be irrational longer than you can remain solvent". I have a set time horizon for my investments, when I think Mr Market will.come to its senses..

2. I might be wrong in my FA. Have to be as objective as possible as I review the facts as it develops. Human bias makes admitting one is wrong very hard. However, this is where I will cut loss.

3. When it comes to investing, there are always doubts. But the the big money is made when one is doing the uncomfortable, not when one is following the herd. Human instincts find safety in numbers, so herd behavior is the natural comfortable state.

Juggling 1,2 and 3 is not easy.

Cubalagi
post Feb 1 2021, 01:57 PM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(HereToLearn @ Feb 1 2021, 01:07 PM)
Not going to copy, but use their change in allocation as indicators.

RD has been selling SPY, China ETFs and buying EM ETFs.

Survey conducted by BofA too shows that fund managers
- increased their stakes in industrial, EMs, materials, commodities, discretionary, banks
- decreased their cash positions, staples, bonds, healthcare, energy and tech
Yup, I've been doing like Ray Dalio n Boa as well.

Exited S&P500, reduce bond at lot, reduce China tech.. Increase cyclical.

But different view on energy.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Feb 1 2021, 01:58 PM
Cubalagi
post Feb 1 2021, 03:15 PM

4,503 posts

QUOTE(HereToLearn @ Feb 1 2021, 02:47 PM)
Me too, I am betting on cyclical, waiting for that growth to value rotation until hair white already

If u white hair then sounds like u jumped too early..

But I see it's already happening, only markets don't move in a nice straight line.. 2 steps forward, 1 step back..

27 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

1.5240sec    0.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:17 AM