4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Uber Partner Resource Centre & FAQ, Partners welcomed to share!

greeny88
post Feb 17 2017, 03:27 PM

187 posts

Hello all...

Uber driver registration seems easy.

But if I got outstanding samans under my name, possible to start this job?

Honestly, can't pay the samans now as under financial crisis, would like to earn more with Uber...

Any advise here?
greeny88
post Feb 20 2017, 10:22 AM

187 posts

Hello all Uber drivers...

I'm a new Uber driver here and started my journey yesterday (Sun) and I drove more than 10 hours.

Got few questions wanna ask any experience driver here :-

1) I fetched 4 customers (Arabians) from KL-Sunway (fare RM24 exclude Uber fee), after a few mins, they plan to go back KL to the same location I picked them up. The question is, is it okay if I ask them whether I don't use the Uber app to drive them back to KL and charge them same rate (RM24)? Because no need pay Uber fee. Probably this is not legal from Uber point of view, right? In the end I asked them to use the apps again and I got the booking as well.

2) Did you guys experienced long-trips booking? As far as I know, we wouldn't know where is the destination once the booking is ringing in our apps, right? For example, you plan to drive around Klang Valley today, but once you picked up a customer, the destination is Melaka or Penang, what will you do? Can we set driver's route criteria for example, that we drivers only planning to drive around Klang Valley on that time?

3) For fare, some of them are using online payments but majority are using cash payment now...my question is, for example :-

SUNDAY (19/02/17)
Estimated earnings : RM150
Cash collected : RM130
Estimated bank deposit : RM20

Does this mean my credit inside Uber Driver apps (from online payment riders) is enough to pay for the Uber fee, am I right? If the "Estimated bank deposit" is negative, means Uber will charge my credit/debit card the negative amount which I've inserted in the apps, am I right?

Hope pros can help a novice here!
greeny88
post Feb 20 2017, 11:33 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(xane @ Feb 20 2017, 11:20 AM)
1) Ethically and theoretically, should ask riders to book again using apps. However, alot of drivers do it offline.

2) You can try talk to riders nicely to explain your difficulties and concern for driving inter-state. They might understand and cancel the booking ?

3) if Uber owe you, they will bank-in to your bank account. If you owe uber, they will charge you via credit card payment.
Therefore, you need to update both bank account and credit card information.

By the way, RM150 earnings for 10 hours + is quite little from my point of view. Drive more then u know how to drive smart.
Hey bro, thanks so much for your reply!

1) If you say a lot of drivers do it offline, how they estimate the fares? By experience?

2) Fully understood your idea. But have you tried that far? What is the pros and cons?

Yeah dude...I'm still inexperienced and would learn more as time goes on. Actually I haven't decided to go Grab or Uber as my main part time job, any bros here sharing before the pros and cons for Grab and Uber? As far as I know, Grab charges 20% and Uber charges 25%.

Yesterday I've completed 15 trips, online for 6 hours and on-the-road with customer is 3 hours.
greeny88
post Feb 20 2017, 11:47 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(ublackdriver @ Feb 20 2017, 11:42 AM)
Suggest you park at some place closest to a McD and wait for pings. Make sure you are parked at a busy location of course and can get to your car very quickly. Also bring an Ipad or tablet device to utilize the free wifi while you wait. Alternatively, park and wait at a kopitiam will also do the trick.

No point driving around and burning fuel in search of the ping. But I think UberX drivers will get pings much faster and quicker compared to Black drivers. Biggest problem is the sheer number of grab drivers you got as competition. When I on the grab driver app last weekend, I couldn't even get a single ping at all even when I'm in the KL area, Midvalley area, KL Sentral and even Kepong area! Is really sad die me.
That's a very good point well noted!

Wow that was what I'm thinking, is Uber market much bigger than Grab? I asked many of my passengers, they said they use Uber only, not Grab. If you couldn't get a ping at these KL, Midvalley and KL Sentral area with Grab apps, it's really surprising dude!

But I shall try both and evalute, see how!

This post has been edited by greeny88: Feb 20 2017, 11:48 AM
greeny88
post Feb 20 2017, 11:52 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(xane @ Feb 20 2017, 11:47 AM)
1) easiest is based on fare shown in apps at that point of time.
or based on experience/ fares agreed by driver and riders..

2) different people got different view, you need to find out more. Both have their own pro and cons. For me, i prefer grab more than uber but i using both as a driver and dont wish to give up either 1. For example, uber set destination is very useful. U need to try both only u know.

Suggest u join any uber/grab whatapps group to get more information or assistance.
Thank you very much for your reply again!

Bro, you prefer Grab is because the lesser fees or any other reason? So far my experience with Uber apps yesterday is kinda good, just some awkward moments when I was fetching a passenger and another ping came in for the next job and the next guy kept calling me, I was in a total mess. I kept saying sorry to my current passenger and lesson learnt sad.gif sad.gif

And I realized once I received the next job during my current job, the Uber and Waze apps will be "cacat" abit, like the alignment will run-off abit, I dunno anyone experience this before?

Bro if you have any whatsapp group please PM me? If you can! Thanks a lot!

This post has been edited by greeny88: Feb 20 2017, 11:53 AM
greeny88
post Feb 20 2017, 12:08 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(xane @ Feb 20 2017, 12:05 PM)
Grab fare is slighthy higher than uber i believe and fees is lower..

So far no issue for next job as the job will coming in near to first rider drop off timing and usually next job is near to current rider drop off point.
You can just ignore the next ping next time or go to top left and click stop new request so no ping will coming in and u can drive peacefully.
Waze no issue so far..
Probably it's my phone, I'm not really sure but it is off-aligned when I clicked on my job. I also dunno why lol.

1 last question, did you guys carry any weapon in the car? I mean, will the customer rob you when they ask you drive inside lorong lorong like that?

Yesterday I fetched 2 banglas with RM0.99 promotion...they asked me to go inside a dark road with no lights, I was afraid sensing something, but in the end the Banglas gave me RM4 instead LOLLLLLLL
greeny88
post Feb 20 2017, 02:07 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(TypeR @ Feb 20 2017, 01:00 PM)
It happened to me I was going to pick up A Passenger, using Waze to go that place, I was looking at the Waze map then suddenly out of no where Uber app auto accept the next passenger without my knowledge...So the Waze map changed...Then the Waze App completely blank like hang...

Uber driver app need an update seriously...

I got one of my Uber passenger complained about this problem too...She requested a ride...So got the female Uber driver accepted it...Then later another male Uber driver with a different car come and pick her up....

Seems like Uber is fucking mess up here... There trying to see which driver is the nearest to the passenger to pickup...
Hey dude...sama sama like you man. But mine it didn't auto-accept, I was the one pressed it, but the Waze and Uber apps gone abit retarded (mis-aligned off the screen, etc). There was once like you, the Waze went black, so I tried to stay calm, closed it and opened it back and it was working (relieved lol).

Probably some bugs Uber need to update the apps....

This post has been edited by greeny88: Feb 20 2017, 02:08 PM
greeny88
post Feb 20 2017, 02:11 PM

187 posts

Anyone know for example, Waze goes off and can't online, can we use PAPAGO instead (key in manually the address) as an emergency?

Sometimes we go to those areas we really don't know the routes...if something happen like this will be shitty.

And did someone experience before, after you pick up your passenger, your phone data finishes or phone data malfunctioning (Maxis technical error, etc)???
greeny88
post Feb 20 2017, 03:10 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(TypeR @ Feb 20 2017, 03:09 PM)
If Uber still want us to pickup 2nd customer please fix this bug...You almost get me into accident...Or else I'm back driving for Grab...
Their Uber driver app is getting worse..

Look at Grab they got 2nd tab for second customers as for Uber not show...Very shit for a big international company...
AGREED! LOL
greeny88
post Feb 20 2017, 03:31 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(TypeR @ Feb 20 2017, 03:14 PM)
FYI,

GrabCar = 25% commission not 20%
  Uber= 25% commission
Ehh...ya meh?

I saw from their website :-

4. GrabCar will collect a 20% commission from your gross fares, including the guaranteed portion (i.e. 20% commission will apply to both your collected fares AND the top-up portion).
greeny88
post Feb 20 2017, 05:04 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(achocho @ Feb 20 2017, 05:01 PM)
25% for new driver?
When you registered grab?
I just registered last week and it was clearly written there 20%.

Based on what I saw, Grab really hate Uber and want to dominate them lol.
greeny88
post Feb 23 2017, 10:20 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(peter.hue @ Feb 23 2017, 09:45 AM)
Guys, I am referring my friend to register Uber, he asked a question that I not able to answer, hope can get your advices here, questions he asked:

1) Currently driving a 9 years Toyota Vios 1.5S (A), can this car still qualify?
2) For part time, he might drive only on weekend, is Uber required minimum fare collect per month?

** Thanks for help in advance **
I think I can help you...

1) Less than 10 years, ok to drive.
2) No minimum fare, unlike Grab you need to hit target for incentive, for Uber no need...but they take 25% commission (Grab take 20%)
greeny88
post Feb 23 2017, 01:05 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Feb 23 2017, 12:59 PM)
I think it's 8 years old. But better to check with Uber. Borderline. Maybe can maybe cannot.
Dear shifu, from the website it is written 10 years...but I realised Uber driver registration is very very easy, just submit documents online, the next day if after their verification ok, you can drive immediately, I was like WTF, so fast and ez.
greeny88
post Feb 23 2017, 02:45 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(cylon @ Feb 23 2017, 02:18 PM)
Possible making trips, let say around Subang areas during lunch hour 1 - 2pm?
You can but you can't control the time-frame. For example you got a ping from Subang to KL, how? You can't reach back to Subang in 1 hour, if you know what I mean.
greeny88
post Feb 24 2017, 09:12 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(juicyliana @ Feb 23 2017, 05:57 PM)
RM20 after deduction from uber including boost and surge for 1 hr 30 mins drive is marginally below average. with surge and boost you should be getting about RM25 for 1hr 30 mins.

yes, i'm doing part time for these 2 years. so far i only drive after work for about 3-4 hours and i earn about RM15 to RM25 an hour. with uber fix fare, i'm quite selective during the driving period. as my uber commission is 20%, i don't drive for anything that is lower than surge or boost 1.3X.
Dear shifu, got few questions. Why your Uber commission is only 20%? For pioneers only??

And how you selective to only accept surge or boost 1.3X? I found it difficult... Fix fare means those RM0.99 promo trips??

Thanks!!
greeny88
post Feb 24 2017, 09:23 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Feb 24 2017, 09:06 AM)
thanks senior, how would you all gauge whether a ping is good to accept, i'm abit skeptical on accepting ping, as i always in rush to offline, so my acceptance rate is down to 43% now, i think it's a bad sign isn't it? yesterday it was 47% but today this morning, i received a ping which is 12 mins away, my guts being telling me that it's going to be far, so i just let the ping slipped away, and my acceptance rate had dropped another 4%. hmm. perhaps i have to rep up tonight and the weekends.
[QUOTE]

Ya wei bro. Sometimes Uber matches us with the pick up point so far from our location. Maybe less Uber drivers nowadays? Yesterday got a ping 11 mins away and 5km to pick up (no surge), once got there, 4 people RM0.99 promo, ended the trip payout RM2.55... WTFFFFFF
greeny88
post Feb 24 2017, 09:37 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(RedsInHell @ Feb 24 2017, 09:33 AM)
morning bros, i've just decided to try Uber, as my current job has ended & the next one only starts in May.
so much to learn first anyway..

but now considering, which phone best to use with Uber.

Factors like Battery & GPS accuracy / speed.
now looking at lenovo P2 ..

can recommend? tq
I think nowadays majority of the phones GPS quite good, no worries. Battery use car charger la... But use better quality ones.
greeny88
post Feb 24 2017, 10:13 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(juicyliana @ Feb 24 2017, 09:40 AM)
drivers registered before March 2016, their uber commission is 20%.

you can see the boost or surge from the map at home tab. you will still be paid for the boost or surge even though it's RM0.99 promo. anyway, the RM0.99 promo is ending soon.
Yeah shifu I understand, what I mean is sometimes when my position is quite far from the surge area, should I offline and go to the surge area? Maybe not worth it...

But if we're in surge area, it is guaranteed we will get surge, right??

Warh before March 2016 so nice leh.....why treat new drivers like thatttttt cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by greeny88: Feb 24 2017, 10:15 AM
greeny88
post Feb 24 2017, 10:20 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Feb 24 2017, 10:17 AM)
Every time receiving ping you can see it is how many X.
3.X surge for example. or boost also will be shown.
Yah I know what I mean is surge area sometimes is not in our area, should we chase it? I think not worth it, right shifu?

And if we're in surge area, guaranteed we will get surge rate whatever passenger we got from there, right shifu?

Warh 3X surge haven't get before leh...maybe mostly I drive at night (weekdays)...can get 3X surge during weekends????
greeny88
post Feb 24 2017, 11:19 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(wh0cares @ Feb 24 2017, 11:03 AM)
IF haven't drop off rider, why still receive pings ? Should accept ?
That ping means same route after drop off ? Don't understand ..
The ping comes during a ride is nearby your drop-off area, sometimes might need to u-turn or something, I just accept all. If the customer call, please ask them wait for few mins...

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0685sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:31 AM