28 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Uber Partner Resource Centre & FAQ, Partners welcomed to share!

TSieian81
post Feb 1 2016, 09:59 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 1 2016, 09:56 AM)
cannot do franchise for them in KK???
No, it doesn't work as a franchise.
TSieian81
post Feb 2 2016, 08:32 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Feb 1 2016, 11:33 AM)
When you're online & you "off" your phone screen, would you still get notified when a request pops in? For me even when I plugged my cable to my car's USB port, it's still draining my phone battery (it's using more power than its charging). So I was thinking to turn off the screen to save power, but worried my acceptance rate will drop if there's no notifications lol.
Uber did discourage us from putting the phone in standby mode when we are online, as there is a chance you won't get the notification.

I didn't try so far, but I know it does come in when the Partners app is running in the background.

Strange that your phone draws power faster than it charges. Try lowering the brightness of the screen?
TSieian81
post Feb 3 2016, 09:55 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(joey2000 @ Feb 2 2016, 12:43 PM)
TS, can you share what car are you driving and fuel consumption?
Thank you.

Am presently using a Perodua Axia for Uber driving purpose.

On the average, petrol cost is about 20% of the income. I.e To make RM250 I will need about RM50 worth of petrol. But that's according to my driving style - I don't wait around, always on the move.
TSieian81
post Feb 6 2016, 06:29 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(K24 @ Feb 5 2016, 06:53 PM)
Rm50 petrol per day?
Give and take, about RM50 per day to get about RM250

TSieian81
post Feb 7 2016, 07:38 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Feb 6 2016, 07:51 PM)
Assuming the evening peak hour is 4pm-8pm.So you only need 1 trip to activate this block.

Assuming the Peak hour guarantee Tier 2 is RM 18 / hr so thats 18x4 = RM 72

Lets say the trip that you did is RM 15 nett , so Uber will do this calculation.

RM 72 -RM15 = 57

Out of the RM 57 , uber takes 20%

So you get RM45.60 top up 

So assuming u did 1 trip in that 4 hours, switched off your engine , and then stayed online for that 4 hours without getting anymore requests, u will get the 45.60 topup for practically doing nothing.

So the trick is to do minimal number of trips in that 4 hours. But you also have to make sure your trips to hours online ratio is 0.75.

So you take your number of trips you did for the whole week( Mon - Sun) , divided by the number of hours you online.If you get 0.75 and above you are safe.

BTW, i am not a partner. I just did some analysis on their incentive scheme.
One of the requirement to hit Tier 1 rates of PHG is you need to gross RM600 in fares per week, so you can't really sit around and do nothing
TSieian81
post Feb 10 2016, 08:48 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Ryan Chong @ Feb 9 2016, 10:58 PM)

May I know normally how far is the rider pick up location will be from where I online?Within how many KM?
Also,is there any possibility if I would like to do more airport trips?To airport or from airport.

Many thanks in advance. smile.gif

As far as I understand, you will get the hail if you're within a 3.5km RADIUS of the rider. A 3.5km radius covers quite a long distance, i.e. I have gotten hailed from Hartamas Shopping Centre when I was at Bangsar Shopping Centre.

There's no way of doing more airport trips which doesn't violate Uber's rule on 'pre-arranged' trips. Unless you drive to the airport everyday and only go online when you are at KLIA.
TSieian81
post Feb 10 2016, 08:49 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(fatcat @ Feb 9 2016, 09:30 PM)
hi guy i am new here... today very lucky got 2 trip to klia2 and 1 trip kila2 back to ampang.. from 11am online untill 6pm can get rm267
That's very good! RM267 for 7 hours work is considered a 'good day' for Uber drivers.
TSieian81
post Feb 10 2016, 08:58 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Feb 9 2016, 06:06 PM)
TS,

Can u explain more on PHG? Just received my statement and quite confused with it. FYI, newbie here.
From.  What I understand, if u online within that hours, u wont get the guarantee hours if u hv no trip within it? Is it?

I have actually written a post on PHG earlier which you can refer to for a deeper understanding.

I can address your issues as follows:-

1) PHG are divided into blocks, typically on a weekday 6am to 10am is considered one block, 11am to 2pm is considered one block, 4pm to 8pm is considered one block.

2) You will need to be in the core service area 70% of the time during a particular block to qualify for the PHG

3) You will need a minimum of 1 trip per block to qualify for PHG i.e. For 6am to 10am, you need to have minimum of 1 ride.

4) You will need to have 0.75 trips for every hour you are online throughout the entire week to qualify for the PHG. i.e. Let's say you were online for 20 hours for the entire week, but you only did 5 trips, you won't qualify for the PHG.

5) Let's say you got RM150 in gross fare from 6am to 10am, you won't qualify for the PHG as the amount that Uber underwrite is only RM30 x 4 = RM 120. If you earn more than that, you won't qualify for it, which is why I said earlier its more of a safety net, not so much an incentive

6) My advice to you is to drive where the rider brings you, and trust the Uber system to find you a rider and keep driving. Aim for a figure you can see in your partner app, and any PHG you receive at the end of the week you consider it as a bonus. It's pretty demotivating if the net figure in your partner app is low and you are depending on the PHG to come in by the end of the week. This is my personal opinion.

Will be happy to address any further questions you have on this.

TSieian81
post Feb 10 2016, 09:01 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Feb 9 2016, 08:24 PM)
These are the conditions;

1) Half of the request must come from the hotspot aka core areas. So if you have 1 trip in core area & 2 trips in non core area in that particular time block, you won't qualify.

2) At least 4.3 rating (pretty easy to achieve this, so it's negligible).

Personally I've been trying to benefit from the guaranteed fares, these are my findings;

1) If you're in the hotspot area, you'll generally earn more than the guaranteed fare. Hence like TS said, it's NOT an incentives, it's merely a safety net. For instance, 11am to 2pm for Tier 2, it's guaranteed RM18 per hour but usually you can earn more than RM54 by being online 11am to 2pm in popular areas like PJ, Bangsar, Mont Kiara etc.

2) You'll get trolled somehow. I got a trip at PJ around 4pm. So after the trip, I quickly drove back home (far from hotspot area) thinking of staying online until 8pm to buta buta earn the guaranteed fares. My kampung area hardly has any Uber drivers/riders, but this 1 fine day....the moment I reached home, I got a request.........to KL.

So in conclusion, don't bother with the so called "incentives". It's a safety net, just be online at your convenience.
Thanks for the explanation.

Yes, the 'Incentive' is actually just a 'Safety Net'.

I always drive by aiming for a net figure in the Partners App, any PHG that gets calculated in at the end of the week I consider it as a bonus. If you get used to driving this way, then you can manage your income better and it actually trains you to be hardworking, rather than trying to 'game' the system and just aim for the PHG.

TSieian81
post Feb 10 2016, 09:03 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Feb 7 2016, 11:15 AM)
U go all out during non peak hours.

10am-11am
2pm-4pm
After 8pm

Plenty of time to do loads of trips
Yes, the IDEAL scenario will be super busy during the non PHG hours, and not so busy during the PHG hours. That's when your earnings will be super high, but realistically this doesn't happen that often.
TSieian81
post Feb 10 2016, 09:04 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Feb 9 2016, 01:57 PM)
Hello guys. Do Uber available in Sungai Nibong Kecil, Penang?
Im going to that place but have problem with transportation.
Really hope if any uber driver is available at that place.
I believe getting there from the island shouldn't be a problem since Uber is available in Penang.

Getting a ride from Sungai Nibong Kecil may be a little difficult.

Perhaps a driver from Penang can assist?
TSieian81
post Feb 16 2016, 12:35 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(destiny6 @ Feb 15 2016, 10:14 PM)
that's why i'm asking here if someone more experience in this....after taking Uber i do understand why taxi drivers do reject their passengers coz ain't worth it
I feel it's a matter of perspective.

As long as we are online, we should pick up all riders and send them to wherever they want to go.

I believe a trip to Rawang should nett the driver RM30-RM40. That's good money for 90 mins of work.

If toll is an issue, then drive back through Selayang, may pick up riders there also.
TSieian81
post Feb 16 2016, 12:37 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(suketidosiag @ Feb 15 2016, 03:35 PM)
uber recently reduce incentives for partners & seems many of them going to boycott uber by not driving for a week. should we join them?
Don't depend on the incentive and just drive and earn the fare. Trear the incentive as a bonus.

If we approach it like this then we won't always feel victimized. Feedback can be given to Uber Malaysia through proper channel, I don't think boycott is the way to go.
TSieian81
post Feb 16 2016, 11:40 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Feb 16 2016, 10:01 AM)
Alright, Uber sounds like good for Rider, but not for Driver. doh.gif
I have a good habit by calling them about their exact location and where they are going to next.
Wait, if you haven't start the trips, how they going to give bad rating? hmm.gif but I know Rider can file complain against you.
Talking about tolls, how does the tolls systems work on Uber?

PS. I'm on UberIPOH which doesn't have tolls, so I'm curious asking. TQ.
1) Calling rider to ask where they are going next and then to decide whether you want to take the ride or ask the rider to cancel is against Uber policy. FYI.

2) Toll incurred on trip is borned by the rider. Uber actually tracks your route and they have already marked in the system the cost of the toll, though not always accurate. Drivers still need to double check on accuracy of the reimbursement.
TSieian81
post Feb 16 2016, 02:00 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Feb 16 2016, 11:59 AM)
1) Hmmm.. something is not right here during what I heard from briefing. Okay, if that is true, let's say I reach at rider there, and I ask where rider where to go, but I have not yet start the trip, and I refuse to send rider where they want to go, I cancel the trips. It doesn't hurt my rating right?

2) TQ for the info. I do remember told by the guy during briefing that tolls are bear by rider but driver have to pay 1st, correct isn't it?
1) You are not supposed to cancel rides unless there's a valid reason (rider no show, rider rating too low, etc). Don't feel like going to the rider's destination is not a valid reason.

You keep cancelling trip will affect your acceptance rate.

The risk of rider lodging a complaint against you is very high.

My suggestion is this - if you are online means you are prepared to pick up rider and go anywhere. If not prepared to do that, then don't go online.

2) Yea driver pay first and gets reimbursed.
TSieian81
post Feb 23 2016, 07:31 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(iman_girl @ Feb 23 2016, 02:12 AM)
If the driver rate the passenger/customer

How do I see my rating as a customer/passenger?
You won't be able to know. Unless you ask the driver.
TSieian81
post Feb 26 2016, 09:02 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(iman_girl @ Feb 26 2016, 07:16 AM)
Driver is 5 min away. But after 5 min, he is still 5 min away. Can I cancell and do another request?
Will I be charge rm5
You can cancel, but you will be charged RM5 cancellation fee.

Sometimes you have to understand that the ETA is not very accurate, when it says 5 mins the driver may be ngam ngam at the junction turning to your place but when he got the request, he may have just passed the junction, or maybe at the outer most lane can't turn in, and have to make a U-turn in front or something.

Of course there's a chance that the driver may be having his Teh tarik also, which is the driver's fault then.

A phone call is pretty important in such circumstances to prevent misunderstanding.
TSieian81
post Feb 26 2016, 09:05 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Feb 26 2016, 08:58 AM)
perhaps the app is not updating accurately?

i think yesterday someone in i love uber FB group posted about driver cancel his (rider) request when he ask driver to wait 5mins after driver reached at destination... banyak viral n huuhaaa happening inside...

for ur case, why want cancel? bcoz cant wait for another 5 min?
An example is if you hailed from the Taylor's Lakeside Campus at Sunway, the driver may be at the outer most lane heading towards the Sunway toll to Puchong already, so your GPS may report that he is 5 mins away, but it may be too difficult for him to cut 3 lanes to the left so last minute to turn into Taylor's. So he has to pay the toll, make a U-turn at Puchong and pay another toll and come pick you.

This is a very usual thing that happens, which I feel a lot of riders don't understand or know about, but it's something the driver can communicate to the rider in advance.
TSieian81
post Feb 26 2016, 09:09 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Feb 26 2016, 08:58 AM)
perhaps the app is not updating accurately?

i think yesterday someone in i love uber FB group posted about driver cancel his (rider) request when he ask driver to wait 5mins after driver reached at destination... banyak viral n huuhaaa happening inside...

for ur case, why want cancel? bcoz cant wait for another 5 min?
Waiting for rider is also something of a grey area and is actually a lose lose situation for the drivers.

Some riders just abuse it and make drivers wait for 15-20 mins. Haven't event gotten into the shower but called for a Uber already.

Uber will tell you to start trip after 5 minutes, but if we do that, it makes us look petty and upset the rider and give us low rating.

But it's about give and take la, we don't bump into inconsiderate riders all the time.
TSieian81
post Feb 26 2016, 09:13 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Feb 23 2016, 10:54 AM)
What is the Hourly Guarantee in KL? hmm.gif You guys got Surge right?
The Hourly Guarantee changes all the time, highest now is about RM28 I think. Never pay attention to that.

Yes, we have surge in KL, but very seldom riders will take a surge ride, only the expats will mostly. Unless it's a low surge like 1.2x then locals won't mind, especially if short distance.

I will write a post about this Surge when I have the time.

28 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:28 AM