437 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Uber Partner Resource Centre & FAQ, Partners welcomed to share!

K24
post Jan 27 2016, 12:00 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Jan 26 2016, 11:45 PM)

Glad to share.

As mentioned, so far no issue with any SPAD or roadblocks. I think it has been generally accepted that Uber is here to stay.

I think most taxi drivers have accepted that Uber is now a viable option for the public, and hopefully this will spur them to improve on areas that have been raised by riders.

How I have avoided conflicts so far:-

1) I don't linger around active taxi areas, i.e. shopping malls, KLIA, KL Sentral. If I get hailed to pick up a rider from these area, I will just go and pick up and go. If I'm dropping a rider at these areas, I will just drop the rider and drive off. Especially at KLIA, I know that a lot of taxi drivers depends on airport trips, so every time I drop off a rider at the airport, I will just go off and not linger around to wait for another rider.

2) When I pick up a rider from public places like shopping malls and hotels, I usually call the rider way in advance to ask if they are ready to go, and will only drive up to the pick up area when they are ready to hop onto the car, instead of waiting around at the drop off area for a long time.

I think the KLCC Taxi Driver - Uber incident is already water under the bridge. Someone from Uber Malaysia told me that the police actually reprimanded that few aggressive taxi drivers, and that they have been warned to not behave like that again.
Thanks for sharing
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 27 2016, 03:20 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Jan 26 2016, 09:38 AM)
Hi all,

I realized that there has been a lot of questions asked around the Kopitiam forum on signing up as a Uber Partner (Driver), with many people keen to sign up as a Partner, be it full time / part time but not getting the answers to their questions.

The purpose of this thread is to share my experience as an Uber Partner after driving full time for the last two months. Hopefully this will answer some of the questions you will have, and I will try my best to answer any questions you may have before you decide to take the plunge and sign up for the Uber Partner programme.

Firstly, some credentials:-

- 609 and counting UberX trips so far in 2 months.
- 4.81 rating
- Full time

I started driving on 23rd November 2015.

First and foremost, there's no short cut to easy money being a Uber Partner. You have to put in the hours if you are intending to drive full time. On a typical day I start driving at 6am, and I leave it online and drive until:-

1) A target net income of RM250 is met everyday, excluding the incentives.

2) When I get tired. It's not a stressful job, and you won't be busy all the time, so typically I clock off at about 10pm at night on the average.

My day usually begins at PJ (where I live), and there are typically certain type of riders depending on the time of the day:-

6am - 7am : 1) Riders who stays far away but working in PJ area. They usually take the LRT from somewhere and they will require a 'last mile' ride, which is from the LRT to their place of work    2) Riders who's catching a flight and needs to go to the airport.

7am - 8am : 1) Riders in PJ who typically takes a LRT to work, so it's usually pick up from home and to send them to the LRT station.

8am onwards: Riders who take Uber all the way to their work place from home. Typically after sending a rider like this, you will end up in KL city centre.

9am to 12pm: 1) Short rides in KL city centre. People going for meetings.  2) Tourist

12pm to 2pm : Lunch crowd

2pm to 5pm : 1) Riders going for meetings 2) Expat wives going / coming from hi-teas / grocery shopping

5pm to 8pm : After work ride, a mixture of 'last mile' rides (to LRT stations), or all the way home.

8pm till late: A mixture of riders who worked late, after happy hour, dinner appointments

The above is just a guide, a typical day. So with the above, you can more or less decide where to drive to in order to maximize the chances of getting a rider.

On the average, driving from 6am to 10pm will yield about 23 riders. This is an average over a week.

This it the first post, and I believe the above answers the first question everyone will have in mind - Is it possible to be an Uber Partner full time?

If you put in the hours (about 15 hours online AND driving a day), and you drive only 5 week days a week, you can easily gross about RM1,500 a week INCLUSIVE of incentive. You can work out the net yourself as that depends on your car's fuel consumption and maintenance cost. My petrol cost to get RM250 net a day is about RM50.

In my next post, I will share on the Incentive Scheme, which in actual fact isn't so much an incentive scheme, more of a safety net.

Any questions I will gladly answer when I have can. If you think that I have been of help to you in taking the first step into signing up to be a Uber Partner, all I can ask is (without obligation) is that you list me as a referral when you sign up. This thread will be maintained as a resource centre and also to answer all FAQ.

p/s: If any of the existing Partners attended the Uber Townhall event last week on the reduction of fees at the Partners Support Centre on Monday 18th January 2015, I am the gentleman who voiced out the most during that session. The one with the tattoos. wink.gif
excellent !

if I use this Honda City does it consider under Uber X class?

thinking to get one and mengisi masa lapang. LOL. summore this City fuel consumption is quite good!

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Jan 27 2016, 03:21 PM
TSieian81
post Jan 27 2016, 09:04 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 27 2016, 03:20 PM)
excellent !

if I use this Honda City does it consider under Uber X class?

thinking to get one and mengisi masa lapang. LOL. summore this City fuel consumption is quite good!

Yes that's a UberX car!
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 27 2016, 11:28 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Jan 27 2016, 09:04 PM)
Yes that's a UberX car!
Allritey mate. Thanks for the info rclxms.gif
nVidiaFX
post Jan 28 2016, 09:45 AM

you can't handle the truth.
4,880 posts

Then if über black can earn?
TSieian81
post Jan 28 2016, 09:50 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(nVidiaFX @ Jan 28 2016, 09:45 AM)

I am unsure on the Uber Black rates. i think its about double of the UberX rate, however the demand for Black is not as high.

The requirements to drive for Black is also different, I believe you will need a Commercial Driving License.
cracksys
post Jan 28 2016, 10:22 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

I just noticed that I've been deactivated.

Does their CS office open in weekend?
TSieian81
post Jan 28 2016, 08:00 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Jan 28 2016, 10:22 AM)
I just noticed that I've been deactivated.

Does their CS office open in weekend?
Saturday yes. Sunday I am not sure, I think not.

They have moved to PJCT, Jalan 222 Petaling Jaya.
NightHeart
post Jan 29 2016, 02:08 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(nVidiaFX @ Jan 28 2016, 09:45 AM)
If your car qualifies for Uber Black, you would be less likely to think of earnings. Probably more towards passing time productively.

You have to complete 100 trips on UberX before you can apply for Uber Black. So yea, you need to use your Lambo for UberX first.

For those worrying about taxi, yes they're upset at Uber drivers for "stealing" their business & intruding their area. So with that in mind, just be a lil more tactful;

1) Don't hang around taxi areas waiting for requests. You'll still get requests if you're chilling at the housing area or under the trees near the mall.

2) Don't display your Uber Partner app obviously in your car. Just leave it running online at the background.

3) When drop off at taxi area, just drop off, wave your hand to your riders like buddies & quickly drive out. End the trip few minutes later when you're on the road.

4) When pick up at taxi area (malls), call the rider & see if it's possible to pick up at a "safer zone". You need to be familiar with the malls to do this. A lot of experienced riders would be more than happy to comply as they wanna avoid incidents too.

5) Once in a while, you'll get ignorant or new riders. So it's alright to educate them on how to avoid incidents with taxi drivers eg sit in front, avoid taxi areas etc. Do this for the sake of our brother in arms out there.
coo|dude
post Jan 29 2016, 02:36 PM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

Are Msia Uber partners really insured as mentioned in this article? If so, who is the insurer and how does it work?

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/321850

“We work with a very well-known insurance company and they cover all the rides. This is (third party) contingent liability which covers up to RM1 million," he said, but declined the reveal the insurer.

TSieian81
post Jan 31 2016, 10:44 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Jan 29 2016, 02:08 PM)
If your car qualifies for Uber Black, you would be less likely to think of earnings. Probably more towards passing time productively.

You have to complete 100 trips on UberX before you can apply for Uber Black. So yea, you need to use your Lambo for UberX first. 
For those worrying about taxi, yes they're upset at Uber drivers for "stealing" their business & intruding their area. So with that in mind, just be a lil more tactful;

1) Don't hang around taxi areas waiting for requests. You'll still get requests if you're chilling at the housing area or under the trees near the mall.

2) Don't display your Uber Partner app obviously in your car. Just leave it running online at the background.

3) When drop off at taxi area, just drop off, wave your hand to your riders like buddies & quickly drive out. End the trip few minutes later when you're on the road.

4) When pick up at taxi area (malls), call the rider & see if it's possible to pick up at a "safer zone". You need to be familiar with the malls to do this. A lot of experienced riders would be more than happy to comply as they wanna avoid incidents too.

5) Once in a while, you'll get ignorant or new riders. So it's alright to educate them on how to avoid incidents with taxi drivers eg sit in front, avoid taxi areas etc. Do this for the sake of our brother in arms out there.
Thanks for sharing.

You driving for Uber as well? Part time or full?
TSieian81
post Jan 31 2016, 10:48 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jan 29 2016, 02:36 PM)
Are Msia Uber partners really insured as mentioned in this article? If so, who is the insurer and how does it work?

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/321850
I believe the article states that the driver is insured by his own insurance. The normal insurance you take when you get a car.

Its only when you are on a trip with a rider that the rider will be insured by this insurance policy taken up by Uber.
coo|dude
post Jan 31 2016, 10:52 AM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Jan 31 2016, 10:48 AM)
I believe the article states that the driver is insured by his own insurance. The normal insurance you take when you get a car.

Its only when you are on a trip with a rider that the rider will be insured by this insurance policy taken up by Uber.
So, can the Uber drivers confirm this "insurance policy" exist? Who is the insurer?
NightHeart
post Jan 31 2016, 11:56 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Jan 31 2016, 10:44 AM)
Thanks for sharing.

You driving for Uber as well? Part time or full?
Part time, lack of discipline 😅
My 1 week payout is just slightly over your 1 day payout lol.

It was fun in the beginning when we're chasing trip counts. But now it's kinda dull already.
TSieian81
post Jan 31 2016, 12:51 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Jan 31 2016, 11:56 AM)
Part time, lack of discipline 😅
My 1 week payout is just slightly over your 1 day payout lol.

It was fun in the beginning when we're chasing trip counts. But now it's kinda dull already.
That's pretty decent. You still get >RM1000 a month, enough to pay for a decent car and also subsidize some petrol.
TSieian81
post Jan 31 2016, 12:54 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jan 31 2016, 10:52 AM)
So, can the Uber drivers confirm this "insurance policy" exist? Who is the insurer?
I will direct this question to Uber and get back to all of you.

Anyway, most of the riders understand its like being fetched around by a friend, so this whole insurance thing is not really something they are concerned about, at least none were raised to me.
max_cavalera
post Jan 31 2016, 04:22 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

Sounds like a tough job

U deserve ur pay bro 😊

Also we havent calculate the wear and tear depreciation repair cost and servicing the car...

Definitely gonna be twice to triple times faster...

All this is borne by the driver.
NightHeart
post Jan 31 2016, 06:33 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Jan 31 2016, 12:51 PM)
That's pretty decent. You still get >RM1000 a month, enough to pay for a decent car and also subsidize some petrol.
You're really hard working la, 1 days >RM300

I've been getting slightly below RM1k cause I'm not doing 100% in hotspot area. I've been relying on the incentives, that kinda shows my area is still lacking in riders.

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jan 31 2016, 04:22 PM)
Sounds like a tough job

U deserve ur pay bro 😊

Also we havent calculate the wear and tear depreciation repair cost and servicing the car...

Definitely gonna be twice to triple times faster...

All this is borne by the driver.
Yea, gone are the days you can get big bucks easily la. Uber reduced the incentives a lot & also the rates. So I see more like extra pocket money only. Those doing full time have to pour in long hours to get the big pay cheque.

Another thing to look forward to are the "interesting" passengers brows.gif
coo|dude
post Jan 31 2016, 09:44 PM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

QUOTE(ieian81 @ Jan 31 2016, 12:54 PM)
I will direct this question to Uber and get back to all of you.

Anyway, most of the riders understand its like being fetched around by a friend, so this whole insurance thing is not really something they are concerned about, at least none were raised to me.
When a real accident happens, your own insurance may not be so understanding......... anyway, just wanted to know more about their 3rd party insurance statement, so if any of you taikor here can enlighten, that would be really great. smile.gif
TSOM
post Feb 1 2016, 08:11 AM

2,145 posts

Uber doesn't exist in KK. How to start one??

437 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:01 AM