Get rejected from EY,PWC & Crowe Howart, is there any problem with my resume?

SFF
post Feb 21 2016, 04:05 PM

113 posts

Do all Big 4 has a recruitment policy like if you not able to pass the interview or any test, they will screen you out for the next 1 year or so and encourage you to reapply again after 1 year?

Can I have specific details on all Big 4?

zhou.xingxing
post Feb 22 2016, 12:35 AM

:3
1,863 posts

QUOTE(Danielyo @ Feb 20 2016, 10:34 PM)
technical questions,i was losing my mind till i didnt know what i said.............
Means you go unprepared. Improve ur technical first.
Holocene
post Feb 22 2016, 08:35 AM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(Danielyo @ Jan 23 2016, 09:00 PM)
my cgpa is fine,3.50 out of 4.0,had working experiences in sales line and decent leadership positions in several clubs although i never done internship before and i just graduated and 26 this year.............both ey and pwc pg rejected me thru email after i called them up.........had a tax interview with kpmg thru friend's connection which i talked well and showed good knowledge but got a feeling they aint gonna hire me cuz interviewer said i was more of an outgoing dude who loves to meet ppl instead of sitting in computer all day and i screwed up the tax computation part a bit altho i told interviewer where my mistakes were............should i start from small firms cuz i got few offers with em?but it aint gonna look good if i apply as experienced hire in later stage.............. sad.gif ..............guess deloitte is the last resort but i gotta find out where the wrongs at 1st b4 applying to them.....anyway bdo still hasnt replied me too
What the interviewer told you about being outgoing is true. Of your personality us not suitable for the work that you will have to do a majority of the time, you'll be in trouble.

Accounting firms tend to be very structural and hierarchical. Being too vocal, can potentially be a problem unfortunately.

If you are going to specialise in tax, why not go to deloitte. The sentiment is that deloitte is the tax leader in malaysia.

Being an experienced hire only means you'll likely to be demoted when you move to a big 4 later on. The methodologies used, especially audit will be very much different too.
ragk
post Feb 23 2016, 03:38 PM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

Is ur presentation skill good? IMO CGPA and resume is just an entrance ticket, u need to present really well to impress them. I don't have good CGPA but i have no problem interviewing, presentation skill is worth practice, most importantly, show ur confident.
Back in my college time, that's a guy everyone knew he can do no shit, but he is very good presenter, he can bullshit through any interview... ofcoz he never last long in any activity/group assignment in college back thn lol... Presentation skill is really important

This post has been edited by ragk: Feb 23 2016, 04:20 PM
madmoz
post Feb 23 2016, 03:49 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(Danielyo @ Feb 20 2016, 10:34 PM)
technical questions,i was losing my mind till i didnt know what i said.............
and there is the problem lah. many accounting or finance grad are aiming to join one of the bigger firms as it is a good learning experience and stepping stone so why would they hire someone who isn't technically sound. I suspect it doesn't have anything to do with anything else, sadly. Go brush up your knowledge and try again later perhaps?
madmoz
post Feb 23 2016, 03:53 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Feb 22 2016, 08:35 AM)
What the interviewer told you about being outgoing is true. Of your personality us not suitable for the work that you will have to do a majority of the time, you'll be in trouble.

Accounting firms tend to be very structural and hierarchical. Being too vocal, can potentially be a problem unfortunately.

If you are going to specialise in tax, why not go to deloitte. The sentiment is that deloitte is the tax leader in malaysia.

Being an experienced hire only means you'll likely to be demoted when you move to a big 4 later on. The methodologies used, especially audit will be very much different too.
Not quite true la. Plenty of outgoing and fun loving guys working at the big 4. But sadly the demotion thing holds true, I was in audit so the methodology and approach differences will be a challenge. Many of the experienced hires had to start as an assistant, or at best senior assistant. Not sure about tax though, cause i would think that tax is tax, with little room for variations?

This post has been edited by madmoz: Feb 23 2016, 03:55 PM
Blacksheep3888
post Jun 7 2017, 04:38 PM

48 posts

hey guys, would like to ask is anyone out there tried applying Crowe horwath? i just got a phone call from them i think it lasted about 10 minutes plus, not sure whether am i shortlisted? would like to know will they straight offer you on interview when they called you or you need wait fews days for their call or email? hoping someone will replied me thanks!

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0156sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:44 PM