Get rejected from EY,PWC & Crowe Howart, is there any problem with my resume?
Babizz
Jan 25 2016, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(Manada @ Jan 24 2016, 06:52 PM) Why pdf? What is wrong if I use words? I googled and some said that the APS, or Application Tracking System works better with Words rather than PDF. PDF 1. More professional 2. Formatting can't change even if diff Word being used 3. Looks nicer Good Luc
TSDanielyo
Jan 25 2016, 03:49 PM

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jan 25 2016, 02:37 PM) Personality cannot be "improved" 1... The real trick is to find out where can you really excel, not trying to fit into somewhere where you can't excel. Give you an anology, fish are not built, and thus will never be able to climb trees. Why I can't fit in?its just some unproven bullshit that stand in my way,I believe my years of involvement make me stand out from the rest and record speak itself
oOoproz
Jan 25 2016, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(Manada @ Jan 25 2016, 05:26 PM) Thx bro. Time for a revamp! Do you know how to convert words to pdf? Any software that you use? My Microsoft Words is in 2007 so I dont think I can change to pdf that easily Just google it and there are websites to help you convert for free and no need to dl any software This post has been edited by oOoproz: Jan 25 2016, 04:28 PM
ComingBackSoon
Jan 25 2016, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(Danielyo @ Jan 25 2016, 03:49 PM) Why I can't fit in?its just some unproven bullshit that stand in my way,I believe my years of involvement make me stand out from the rest and record speak itself LOL. The analogy so simple but you still don't understand. Fish are meant to swim, not meant to climb trees. The recruiters (if they have been around for some time), would have recruited hundreds or thousands of people, and will know what kind of traits would make a person more likely to be successful in the firm. Outgoing people who cannot sit long infront of a computer WILL be miserable in a Big 4. There might be exceptions, but why take a chance on you? What you believe is irrelevant, what the recruiters believe is relevant. If you really stand out from the rest, why are you not getting interviewed? Answer: even if you stand out, you might not be what they are looking for.
TSDanielyo
Jan 25 2016, 05:26 PM

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Jan 25 2016, 05:02 PM) LOL. The analogy so simple but you still don't understand. Fish are meant to swim, not meant to climb trees. The recruiters (if they have been around for some time), would have recruited hundreds or thousands of people, and will know what kind of traits would make a person more likely to be successful in the firm. Outgoing people who cannot sit long infront of a computer WILL be miserable in a Big 4. There might be exceptions, but why take a chance on you? What you believe is irrelevant, what the recruiters believe is relevant. If you really stand out from the rest, why are you not getting interviewed? Answer: even if you stand out, you might not be what they are looking for. bullshit,partners in big 4 also need to be outgoing to bring clients in does that mean they suck as auditor or can't spend whole days at their desks doing paper works,things don't always go 1 way
cannyeo
Jan 25 2016, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(Danielyo @ Jan 25 2016, 03:08 AM) Getting into big4 is like a dream to me and no matter what it takes I wouldn't let it go You'll soon to realize its not as it seems.
deepan84
Jan 25 2016, 07:58 PM
Opportunity is everywhere bro. I applied to big4 and BNM. Both failed. I then got the opportunity to enter MOF which is on top of BNM.
So although u don't get ur first choice, u might get something better in the long run. Also big4 is not all roses.
TSDanielyo
Jan 25 2016, 08:04 PM

whats the chance im gonna make it if i start working at small firm for couple of months and study for acca?by then,should i apply as fresh grad or experienced hire?
SUSfuzzy
Jan 26 2016, 02:30 PM
Most people looks to leave the big 4 rather than to join it after a couple of years there  But personality is important, especially in the context of culture fit.
ComingBackSoon
Jan 28 2016, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(Danielyo @ Jan 25 2016, 08:04 PM) whats the chance im gonna make it if i start working at small firm for couple of months and study for acca?by then,should i apply as fresh grad or experienced hire? With your attitude, not much chance.
believe92
Jan 28 2016, 06:33 PM

QUOTE(Danielyo @ Jan 25 2016, 12:03 AM) where my wrongs at?cuz i cant see no screw up in my english Either you are treating this as a joke and trolling us, or you are so wilfully ignorant that it makes sense for Big4 to reject you.
believe92
Jan 28 2016, 06:49 PM

Ok in case you aren't trolling, send me your CV/CL and I will have a look at it.
From the info you have given above, CGPA 3.5 isn't bad, it is JUST So-So and it can't make you stand out. Leadership positions is ok, tons of people have that to. You had never done internships before - huge minus point unless you can explain why you never bothered to do internships with companies that you claim to love so much. Sales line experience is good, but judging from your age they will be expecting some basic work experience, so it doesn't add too many points.
Why did you graduate late?
Honestly the outgoing stuff is just kind words as a cushion for your rejection, don't read too much into it.
You talk alot about 'believe my years of involvement make me stand out' - you believe only la, recruiters don't give a fark about what you believe. What do you have on your CV/interview presentation skills that wows them?
'I will improve if chance is given' - how do you convince them to give you the job over someone who is younger with a better CV? This isn't rhetorical. How well did you prepare and plan out your interviews? What examples did you use to show the best side of yourself, how do you market your sales experience to give yourself an advantage over the freshie baby-faced grad stepping into the world for the first time? Did you provide them with a career plan and strategy that makes sense and adds value to their company?
You did sales right? - you are the product, how do you convince them to buy you?
At this point, why not enter a smaller firm, slay it there, and make your way up to the big leagues?
This post has been edited by believe92: Jan 28 2016, 06:54 PM
tatabahasa
Feb 2 2016, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(Danielyo @ Jan 24 2016, 02:55 PM) is it possible for me to reapply for ey n pwc again?i think it might be they are using older version of microsoft word to open my resume which was done using word document 2010 that caused alignments and all out of lines..........just realized that Should always use pdf format, bruh. Btw, which line did u apply for?audit, tax or consulting? All based in penang?
pollahappy
Feb 3 2016, 12:38 AM
Walao! is the age thing true where you get rejected if you're older than the usual graduate age? because I will graduate at the age 25. Does this mean I'm screwed?
chaxiupao
Feb 12 2016, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 24 2016, 03:21 PM) I think so. Because when I graduated 5 years ago, to get into a large oil and gas company you generally had to have flat 4, ace their IQ and other tests and have really good credentials. I spent 2.5 years working for a small company servicing the industry and every since then I've worked at the big players. Trust me you'll learn 10x more things at a small company. I work at my first company for 6 months I learn more than working in my current position for 10 years lol. So, u work in o&g sector? Mechanical engineering?
Babizz
Feb 12 2016, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(Danielyo @ Jan 25 2016, 03:26 AM) bullshit,partners in big 4 also need to be outgoing to bring clients in does that mean they suck as auditor or can't spend whole days at their desks doing paper works,things don't always go 1 way Bro PM me your resume, i see how i can help.. Also if u die die wana go in Big4, maybe cn help. they hire thousands of ppl annualy.
SFF
Feb 13 2016, 01:12 AM

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 24 2016, 03:21 PM) I think so. Because when I graduated 5 years ago, to get into a large oil and gas company you generally had to have flat 4, ace their IQ and other tests and have really good credentials. I spent 2.5 years working for a small company servicing the industry and every since then I've worked at the big players. Trust me you'll learn 10x more things at a small company. I work at my first company for 6 months I learn more than working in my current position for 10 years lol. Can you share your story how do you manage to move from small company to big player?
SFF
Feb 13 2016, 07:34 PM

QUOTE(Danielyo @ Jan 23 2016, 09:00 PM) my cgpa is fine,3.50 out of 4.0,had working experiences in sales line and decent leadership positions in several clubs although i never done internship before and i just graduated and 26 this year.............both ey and pwc pg rejected me thru email after i called them up.........had a tax interview with kpmg thru friend's connection which i talked well and showed good knowledge but got a feeling they aint gonna hire me cuz interviewer said i was more of an outgoing dude who loves to meet ppl instead of sitting in computer all day and i screwed up the tax computation part a bit altho i told interviewer where my mistakes were............should i start from small firms cuz i got few offers with em?but it aint gonna look good if i apply as experienced hire in later stage..............  ..............guess deloitte is the last resort but i gotta find out where the wrongs at 1st b4 applying to them.....anyway bdo still hasnt replied me too How is your job application progression?
empire23
Feb 13 2016, 07:53 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(xiaobaiwm @ Feb 12 2016, 09:32 PM) So, u work in o&g sector? Mechanical engineering? Electrical and Instrumentation. QUOTE(SFF @ Feb 13 2016, 01:12 AM) Can you share your story how do you manage to move from small company to big player? Just work in small company, cover a lot of projects for big companies while being the main point of contact/engineering and learn their internal systems well, then just jump as an experienced hire lol.
zhou.xingxing
Feb 13 2016, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(demetry @ Jan 24 2016, 03:32 PM) and the quality of their hires are still mediocre especially pwc. Pwc mediocre? Thought they are top in msia