(WTA) BMW E90 320i or 325i, which is better

TSlilfunky
post Jan 22 2016, 09:34 AM, updated 10y ago

56 posts

Hi guys thanks for viewing this post, friend of mine asking that which would be the best for him to go for.

BMW E90 320i N46 vs 325i N52 ?

pre facelift model icon_question.gif
hitz
post Jan 22 2016, 11:56 AM

225 posts

Better go for 320D
theanswer
post Jan 22 2016, 12:23 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(lilfunky @ Jan 22 2016, 09:34 AM)
Hi guys thanks for viewing this post, friend of mine asking that which would be the best for him to go for.

BMW E90 320i N46 vs 325i N52 ?

pre facelift model icon_question.gif
in terms of? fc 320i. power..smooth engine..325i..that's the best straight 6 from bmw.
TSlilfunky
post Jan 22 2016, 12:45 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(hitz @ Jan 22 2016, 11:56 AM)
Better go for 320D
320D only LCI models, plus 320D repair is almost x1.5 or x2 price compared to 320/325 XD

QUOTE(theanswer @ Jan 22 2016, 12:23 PM)
in terms of? fc 320i. power..smooth engine..325i..that's the best straight 6 from bmw.
325i engine much better compared to 320i I believe, but how about the maintenance ?
I heard 320i having alot problem compare to 325 right ?

This post has been edited by lilfunky: Jan 22 2016, 12:46 PM
lovehewit
post Jan 22 2016, 02:24 PM

135 posts

I'm driving E90 320D for 5 years now, fantastic and no major repair yet. Full service at auto bavaria and I never experienced high bills at all yet. Excellent in fc and no compromise on performance. I will not choose 320i at all. 320D's torque is just too superb for its class.

This post has been edited by lovehewit: Jan 22 2016, 02:27 PM
bullshyt
post Jan 22 2016, 03:06 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(lovehewit @ Jan 22 2016, 02:24 PM)
I'm driving E90 320D for 5 years now, fantastic and no major repair yet.  Full service at auto bavaria and I never experienced high bills at all yet.  Excellent in fc and no compromise on performance. I will not choose 320i at all. 320D's torque is just too superb for its class.
how much is the average price per service?
xiper
post Jan 22 2016, 03:14 PM

13 posts

320d is having a well known issue and the repair is not cheap (due to the repair is at the bottom of the engine), you may research more about this in the BMW Club forum.

320i does have an issue with white smoke, which is common in the 4cyc engine but not on the 6cyc 325i engine.

If the FC and the roadtax of 2500cc is fine, go for the 325i.
SUSfuzzy
post Jan 22 2016, 03:33 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Agree with the 325i..
dtna7
post Jan 22 2016, 03:36 PM

456 posts

if E90 325i. Else F30 320i. You will regret E90 320i
lovehewit
post Jan 22 2016, 03:39 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(xiper @ Jan 22 2016, 03:14 PM)
320d is having a well known issue and the repair is not cheap (due to the repair is at the bottom of the engine), you may research more about this in the BMW Club forum.

320i does have an issue with white smoke, which is common in the 4cyc engine but not on the 6cyc 325i engine.

If the FC and the roadtax of 2500cc is fine, go for the 325i.
Don't know what well known issue that is, but touch wood, as I said 5 years down the road no major service yet. The forum doesn't represent the exact amount of users but usually people who has things to complain will go there.
lovehewit
post Jan 22 2016, 03:45 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(bullshyt @ Jan 22 2016, 03:06 PM)
how much is the average price per service?
That depends on what are the parts to be serviced each time. I would say in average about RM600-1000. Labour cost is expensive though. About service charge I was once very worried too as many people said expensive in the forum, but once you are in it and you are going through it, it is ok. My friend is driving a C250, his service is more expensive in general compared to mine, and his car had already repaired 3,4 times. Anyway, I can't guarantee any car is perfect as this is the qc problem, let's be safe to say regardless proton, BMW, or Perodua, it is really depend on your "luck".

dvinez
post Jan 22 2016, 03:58 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(lovehewit @ Jan 22 2016, 03:45 PM)
That depends on what are the parts to be serviced each time. I would say in average about RM600-1000. Labour cost is expensive though. About service charge I was once very worried too as many people said expensive in the forum, but once you are in it and you are going through it, it is ok. My friend is driving a C250, his service is more expensive in general compared to mine, and his car had already repaired 3,4 times. Anyway, I can't guarantee any car is perfect as this is the qc problem, let's be safe to say regardless proton, BMW, or Perodua, it is really depend on your "luck".
if average out about RM1000, that is pretty affordable a BMW

amdxp
post Jan 22 2016, 03:59 PM

239 posts

I'm driving E90 320D for 5 years now, fantastic and no major repair yet.  Full service at auto bavaria and I never experienced high bills at all yet.  Excellent in fc and no compromise on performance. I will not choose 320i at all. 320D's torque is just too superb for its class.
I think his friend does not have to budget to afford 320D LCI. If not mistaken coz I read cari forum someone is asking the exact question and only have about 60k+ budget.

If that is really the same guy asking here, I think he can't afford either 320i or 325i of that old age due to potentially high maintenance cost, and also not enough budget for 320D LCI which is more than RM100k now.
hitz
post Jan 22 2016, 04:05 PM

225 posts

If got the budget better get the 325i, but prepare to standby 10-15k just in case for the maintenance.

320i do have white smoke problems, many car dealer told me this while 325i don't.
TSlilfunky
post Jan 22 2016, 04:14 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(amdxp @ Jan 22 2016, 03:59 PM)
I think his friend does not have to budget to afford 320D LCI.  If not mistaken coz I read cari forum someone is asking the exact question and only have about 60k+ budget.

If that is really the same guy asking here, I think he can't afford either 320i or 325i of that old age due to potentially high maintenance cost, and also not enough budget for 320D LCI which is more than RM100k now.
I didn't post at cari, is do you mind to share the link to me ? biggrin.gif

E90 Underpower shakehead.gif
geforce88
post Jan 22 2016, 04:19 PM

2,841 posts

we need duck v3 here
duck v3
post Jan 22 2016, 04:24 PM

220 posts

n46 is a total wreck of an engine
worst piece of garbage known to man

go for n52, and after buying , pls send to workshop and ask them to check your vanos bolts if they're ok or not.

some n52s have vanos bolt issue, the bolt head putus and fall down into the engine down into the sump. totally fuck up the engine, so better invest in that few hundred bucks have it checked

pretty sure geforce88 got do vanos bolt replacement before on n52s

This post has been edited by duck v3: Jan 22 2016, 04:25 PM
TSlilfunky
post Jan 22 2016, 04:31 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(duck v3 @ Jan 22 2016, 04:24 PM)
n46 is a total wreck of an engine
worst piece of garbage known to man

go for n52, and after buying , pls send to workshop and ask them to check your vanos bolts if they're ok or not.

some n52s have vanos bolt issue, the bolt head putus and fall down into the engine down into the sump. totally fuck up the engine, so better invest in that few hundred bucks have it checked

pretty sure geforce88 got do vanos bolt replacement before on n52s
Waaaaa N46 betul betul so teruk ah the engine ? rclxub.gif

N52 is a alot better I guess, more power more smooth and never back down if someone tail-gated thumbup.gif
duck v3
post Jan 22 2016, 04:42 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(lilfunky @ Jan 22 2016, 04:31 PM)
Waaaaa N46 betul betul so teruk ah the engine ?  rclxub.gif 

N52 is a alot better I guess, more power more smooth and never back down if someone tail-gated  thumbup.gif
one of the best 6 potters from bmw back then

u can also buy an 2015 idrive retrofit kit if u want better idrive on ur e90
but it aint cheap haha

just letting u know the old idrive (with only 1 menu button) sucks absolute cock
TSlilfunky
post Jan 22 2016, 04:53 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(duck v3 @ Jan 22 2016, 04:42 PM)
one of the best 6 potters from bmw back then

u can also buy an 2015 idrive retrofit kit if u want better idrive on ur e90
but it aint cheap haha

just letting u know the old idrive (with only 1 menu button) sucks absolute cock
Wow how much it cost ?
Where to find ?
Gonna be sweeeett!! rclxms.gif

duck v3
post Jan 22 2016, 04:56 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(lilfunky @ Jan 22 2016, 04:53 PM)
Wow how much it cost ?
Where to find ?
Gonna be sweeeett!!  rclxms.gif
wahaha
http://www.germaniks.com/bmw-e60-e61/bmw-n...it-for-e6x-e9x/

1.8k euro

not cheap. somemore need find skilled retrofitters to do the job..
amdxp
post Jan 22 2016, 04:59 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(lilfunky @ Jan 22 2016, 04:14 PM)
I didn't post at cari, is do you mind to share the link to me ? biggrin.gif

E90 Underpower  shakehead.gif
The link is here : Question on used 3er [cari chinese forum]

But the TS already changed his mind after reading all the comments. Dropped the idea.
Vtec(Rock)
post Jan 26 2016, 05:14 PM

500 posts

320D is the best !most reliable and less issue compare 320I and 325i
and have more power compare both 2.
fuel efert power reliable key go to 320D!

This post has been edited by Vtec(Rock): Jan 26 2016, 05:15 PM
teikwing
post Jan 26 2016, 05:48 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(lilfunky @ Jan 22 2016, 12:45 PM)
320D only LCI models,  plus 320D repair is almost x1.5 or x2 price compared to 320/325 XD
325i engine much better compared to 320i I believe, but how about the maintenance ?
I heard 320i having alot problem compare to 325 right ?
Statement in bold. Any proof to back that up? I only spent 2k per annum excluding tires, roadtax & insurance. Drove average 25k km per annum.

Can vouch for the same. No doubt 325i has the awesome inline6 but the FC & roadtax alone killed it. Especially not in today's economic condition.
TSlilfunky
post Jan 27 2016, 10:56 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jan 26 2016, 05:48 PM)
Statement in bold. Any proof to back that up? I only spent 2k per annum excluding tires, roadtax & insurance. Drove average 25k km per annum.
Can vouch for the same. No doubt 325i has the awesome inline6 but the FC & roadtax alone killed it. Especially not in today's economic condition.
If people that bought 320i or 325i if not selling the car ask them convert their engine to 320D good idea? tongue.gif
teikwing
post Jan 27 2016, 06:40 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(lilfunky @ Jan 27 2016, 10:56 AM)
If people that bought 320i or 325i if not selling the car ask them convert their engine to 320D good idea? tongue.gif
Lol transplant not an option lah. Such high costs plus complex electronics. Halfcut itself prolly in range of 15-20k :/
TSlilfunky
post Jan 27 2016, 06:55 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jan 27 2016, 06:40 PM)
Lol transplant not an option lah. Such high costs plus complex electronics. Halfcut itself prolly in range of 15-20k :/
Transplant 1JZ drool.gif XD

0.0203sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:10 AM