Technical Do you notice textures flickering/graphic glitches, Symptom of GPU overheating?

TSDothan
post Dec 20 2006, 01:46 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(Microsuck_360 @ Dec 20 2006, 12:20 AM)
still have that problem?  sweat.gif
Not sure, tonight will be full Las Vegas to stress test my latest "mod" - polished heatsink + uber thin artic silver layer. Yesterday night i played 30 min of dead rising, the result is positive so far. Cannot eliminate but minimize the glitches.

Caution : Please check the X-clamp is tighly clamped your heat sink. Any loose clamp will result hardware failure. sweat.gif
Microsuck_360
post Dec 20 2006, 04:09 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Dec 20 2006, 02:46 PM)
Not sure, tonight will be full Las Vegas to stress test my latest "mod" - polished heatsink + uber thin artic silver layer. Yesterday night i played 30 min of dead rising, the result is positive so far. Cannot eliminate but minimize the glitches.

Caution : Please check the X-clamp is tighly clamped your heat sink. Any loose clamp will result hardware failure.  sweat.gif
orait good luck sweat.gif
aegis`-
post Dec 21 2006, 07:00 PM

1,480 posts

the rod is like some sort of big disease like cancer or hiv omg this is scary
TSDothan
post Dec 21 2006, 11:49 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(aegis`- @ Dec 21 2006, 07:00 PM)
the rod is like some sort of big disease like cancer or hiv omg this is scary
Yes... sad.gif
Actually I played RS:Las Vegas and still see the glitches but for Dead Rising, it is minimized.
acougan
post Dec 21 2006, 11:52 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Dec 21 2006, 11:49 PM)
Yes...  sad.gif
Actually I played RS:Las Vegas and still see the glitches but for Dead Rising, it is minimized.
this glitches thing is really weird. maybe try playing in different resolutions like 480i & test it?
TSDothan
post Dec 25 2006, 10:29 AM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Dec 21 2006, 11:52 PM)
this glitches thing is really weird. maybe try playing in different resolutions like 480i & test it?
I am usig VGA cable. Resolution max out at 1280x1024 tongue.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Dec 25 2006, 08:51 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

hey guys..was wondering if u had any graphical glitches with GRAW?

i was playing GRAW and i completed a few levels..so abt 1 hour playin i guess..then at one level..there were oh so many graphical glitches..like..most of the car models were rendered as multiple flat planes, and it stretches as i turn the camera around. then certain areas, buildings were rendered similarly.

i thought my 360 starting to overheat..but when i checked the rear of the console..it was shooting out normal heat. touched the console, and it was warm..but only towards the back fans.

so i just went back to dashboard, then replayed the game and it was ok.

so..is this graphical glitch caused by heat..or it's just a game/software glitch? please enlighten.

p.s: worried cos i just shifted my 360. previously it was on the table open space. now i put it on the middle rack of a 4-tier tv rack, but the tv rack has an open back, no sides even. just a flat rack. only thing is tht the height of this middle rack gives about 2.5 inches space on the top of the console (i lay it horizontally), and the back is 10 inches away from the wall. is this well ventilated enuff? if no, maybe gotta put it back to open space. sweat.gif
ionStorm
post Dec 31 2006, 05:49 PM

*nyan*
3,350 posts

I'm playing GoW. Getting occasional glitches too. I'm sure its a heat problem, 'coz once I let it cool down, it'll work fine.

Don't think its designed for our kind of climate. sweat.gif
TSDothan
post Dec 31 2006, 06:35 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

Hi Guys,
Happy new year tongue.gif
As promised, I uploaded the graphic glitches (which occur on dashboard also). This pic was taken when I browse the Video Marketplace. Hopefully you can notice it.

Any comment? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Dothan: Dec 31 2006, 06:36 PM
Microsuck_360
post Dec 31 2006, 07:08 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Dec 31 2006, 06:35 PM)
Hi Guys,
Happy new year  tongue.gif
As promised, I uploaded the graphic glitches (which occur on dashboard also). This pic was taken when I browse the Video Marketplace. Hopefully you can notice it.

Any comment?  hmm.gif
wow never seen someting like that be4... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Microsuck_360: Dec 31 2006, 07:10 PM
aegis`-
post Dec 31 2006, 07:18 PM

1,480 posts

so far i never kena any artifacts and glitches
my aircond 24/7 whenever my xbox is on
16deg and ionizer activated and blasting max power
double_agent
post Dec 31 2006, 10:42 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(aegis`- @ Dec 31 2006, 07:18 PM)
so far i never kena any artifacts and glitches
my aircond 24/7 whenever my xbox is on
16deg and ionizer activated and blasting max power
aegis sees his bill and goes shocking.gif cry.gif rclxub.gif
marauderz
post Jan 1 2007, 01:14 AM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Dec 25 2006, 08:51 PM)

p.s: worried cos i just shifted my 360. previously it was on the table open space. now i put it on the middle rack of a 4-tier tv rack
Wat's underneath and above the 360? check the floor and ceiling wood blocks, aare they hot or not? Example, my amp cooks anything ontop of it. luckily my 360 is underneath it
TSDothan
post Jan 1 2007, 12:01 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Jan 1 2007, 01:14 AM)
Wat's underneath and above the 360? check the floor and ceiling wood blocks, aare they hot or not? Example, my amp cooks anything ontop of it. luckily my 360 is underneath it
I would suggest to use the chinese chess pieces to lift up the console for better ventilation.
I will upload in-game glitches soon ohmy.gif
ionStorm
post Jan 1 2007, 12:37 PM

*nyan*
3,350 posts

But there are hardly any holes on the bottom. No point lifting it up for ventilation??
acougan
post Jan 1 2007, 12:51 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Jan 1 2007, 12:01 PM)
I would suggest to use the chinese chess pieces to lift up the console for better ventilation.
I will upload in-game glitches soon  ohmy.gif
ok, i'm alos curious to know more abt this glitch thingie, considering u have cleaned up the heat sink & paste.

QUOTE(ionStorm @ Jan 1 2007, 12:37 PM)
But there are hardly any holes on the bottom. No point lifting it up for ventilation??
if u put in in tower (vertical) configuration, touch the left side of the casing after a few hours. very hot, eh?

lifting it up while in horizontal config. can help with heat dissipation, i guess

This post has been edited by acougan: Jan 1 2007, 12:53 PM
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Jan 3 2007, 09:41 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

EDIT: Deleted post

This post has been edited by Sd-RawK-Cab25: Jan 3 2007, 10:28 PM
TSDothan
post Jan 5 2007, 12:09 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jan 1 2007, 12:51 PM)
ok, i'm alos curious to know more abt this glitch thingie, considering u have cleaned up the heat sink & paste.
if u put in in tower (vertical) configuration, touch the left side of the casing after a few hours. very hot, eh?

lifting it up while in horizontal config. can help with heat dissipation, i guess
You can see my "sample" glitch on this thread.
TSDothan
post Jan 7 2007, 12:30 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

Hi guys,
I tried to capture the texture glitches on my xbox 360. Condemned is the game occur most (due to lighting effect?).

I captured 2 pics and 1 video (sorry for the poor resolution, but you still can see how it was and a change of angle may eliminate the glitches)

Youtube Video
ionStorm
post Jan 7 2007, 01:28 PM

*nyan*
3,350 posts

Btw...just to let you guys know, I changed for a new unit...and NO MORE GLITCHES! None. Not a single one...at least not yet. Hehe...

The previous unit I had was manufactured in April. This unit is manufactured in August. The old unit they gave me was actually packaged with the Gears of War pack previously. They hadn't sold it so they packed it with the new DOA pack.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0188sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:38 PM