QUOTE(TongCN @ Jan 10 2022, 01:42 PM)
then get LG C2 42"  icon_idea.gif (If price less than 4k)  rclxm9.gif
At that price, it would be a steal. lol
zzzz52
post Jan 25 2022, 11:22 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(chtan @ Jan 25 2022, 10:30 AM)
Bought my LG C1 48" week ago to replace my Viewsonic 32" 4K monitor. RM4488 with RM200 T&G rebate. I think its quite worth it. Love the 4 HDMI2.1 port can cope with my Xbox Series X, PS5 (coming in later), gaming laptop and Switch OLED. Also, LG ticked all the box of advanced features such Dolby vision, HDR10, Dolby Atmos and many more.

Any have problem redeeming the RM200 from LG? I have already submitted the redemption however still yet to get a reply from them.
Wow, nice price you got it for. I got mine last year around Aug, RM4888 from Sen Heng. lol
zzzz52
post Jan 26 2022, 10:42 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Jan 26 2022, 09:45 AM)
Watching Hellbound (Netflix) last night episode 6.

The scene mostly dark and the ABL once again hit in ... making the scene more dark than usual sweat.gif lolz...
Sometimes this ABL is just abit too aggressive. It is annoying. Like when I'm playing overcooked with my kid, the whole screen will dim by itself during play, and brighten up again when escape to menu.

Somehow disabling it seems to be a no no. hhmm
zzzz52
post Jan 27 2022, 07:59 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 26 2022, 04:50 PM)
Yes you need a service remote.
It is hidden away in a service menu which on first glance indicating that it is not an option to be disabled for the average joe.
But, by disabling it, do it affect our warranty in anyway? I mean is LG gonna find out if we changed that setting previously?
zzzz52
post Feb 16 2022, 01:01 PM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(dkcheong1127 @ Feb 16 2022, 10:09 AM)
not sure whether the speaker power output is your concern, A80J 65" is total 30W and 50W for 77" while C1 every size having 40W output...both brand are 2.2 channel...the bass output from my C1 enough to impress me (at the moment  biggrin.gif ) after some EQ tweak...

BTW, have any C1 owner notice that power on / off the TV will have the mechanical / click sound from the tv like older tv sound? my 5 years old samsung dun have this click sound.
QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Feb 16 2022, 10:46 AM)
Yes, there's a faint mechanical sound when I switch off the telly.

I always have it in standby mode because powering it off means cutting off the background "cleaning" (pixel refresher function in the background during standby mode - after 4 hours of use cumulatively) of the telly? Correct me if I'm wrong.
Yup. I actually like that clicky sound. It is like a que that I have turn on/off the TV. lol
zzzz52
post Feb 17 2022, 09:41 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Feb 17 2022, 09:17 AM)
LG C2 42 & 48 price out according to Vincent (HDTV) and same price for both, nani!?
what is the price?

zzzz52
post Feb 18 2022, 09:07 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

But s there any use case that 40gbps would not be able to support for the current gen OLED which the C2 with 48gbps will be able to?
zzzz52
post Feb 24 2022, 10:24 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Feb 24 2022, 08:36 AM)
hdtv just out a 42" youtube video
not sure when in M'sia we are gonna get this 42"
zzzz52
post Feb 24 2022, 03:33 PM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 24 2022, 03:08 PM)
Not this year. Wait for C3 42" instead.
Then I will continue to use my 48 C1 as my monitor. 42 is the perfect fit on my desk
zzzz52
post Mar 7 2022, 07:57 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(bofuri1234 @ Mar 6 2022, 06:03 PM)
Salesman told me that LG C1 warranty does NOT cover burn-in from pc use. Is this true?
I asked LG previously and they said the burn-in is covered within the warranty period.
But on the safe side, we can slightly change how we use the TV on a PC. I would put in a display off and screen saver within certain minutes.
zzzz52
post Apr 4 2022, 11:12 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(bofuri1234 @ Mar 31 2022, 06:20 PM)
Can someone recommend a good HDMI cable to link LG C1 with PC?
I'm using the UGREEN HDMI 2.1 cable. Getting 4K 120Hz without any issue,
zzzz52
post Apr 11 2022, 03:17 PM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

Nothing compares to OLED for the image quality.
zzzz52
post Apr 14 2022, 07:44 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(kitsunegeisha @ Apr 13 2022, 04:14 PM)
oled vs led..which one better
OLED is totally different vs LED. LED is essentially a LCD with LED backlighting.
So it would be the same as the question of OLED vs LCD.

zzzz52
post Apr 14 2022, 08:36 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(kitsunegeisha @ Apr 14 2022, 08:24 AM)
so OLED doesn't have backlight
That OLED pixel itself is emitting light. No backlight.
That is why you can achieve that total black pixel when that pixel is turned off
zzzz52
post Apr 14 2022, 01:17 PM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 14 2022, 12:46 PM)
Brought a LG C1 65" OLED last week.

Damn, so vivid the color, clear and 4k sharpness.

Wonder should I put a small exhaust fan behind to cool down the electronic component. Weekend watching is long hr.
Enjoy your new toy. It is a new viewing experience, right?
What was your previous TV? Came from a 1080 to 4k?
zzzz52
post Apr 15 2022, 08:19 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 14 2022, 06:57 PM)
Quite a bit of wrong in that image. C9 and CX can share the same settings, but C1 cannot because LG changed the tonemapping on that model. So it's fucking stupid whoever this quantum idiot is to generalize all LG OLEDs into one.

For SDR, LG has broken low level blacks (5-10% IRE) for C9 and CX for nearly a year now. 49 for Brightness will crush shadow details. You actually need it to be at 51, assuming you don't calibrate. Contrast should always stay at 85, unless you can calibrate. Also, gamma should be 2.4/BT1886 because the ISF expert dark mode is meant for dark/pitch black rooms. Of course setting it to 2.2 is not an issue to compensate for brightly lit room, but that would throw off the gamma curve for the mode.

For HDR10, the settings are mostly correct except I'm confused by the 55 on the color (digital vibrance) setting. Again gamma should be 2.4/BT1886 because HDR and DV is meant for dimly lit rooms.
Side note 1; I would suggest leaving Sharpness at the default 10 because contrary to popular believe, the Sharpness setting for LG TVs (yes it also applies to their LCD models) performs edge anti-aliasing from 0-10. It also has a mild de-ringing filter applied within this region. There is NO edge enhancement between 0-10 for the Sharpness setting, which means you are NOT artificially sharpening the image at the value of 10.

Side note 2; Would enable Smooth Gradation to Low on C9 and C1 (CX smoot gradation is broken and has never been fixed).

Side note 3; For those that cannot stand 24p judder which is made more obvious with OLED's almost instant screen response time (not to be confused with refresh rate), you can enable TruMotion User and set it to De-Judder 2 and De-Blur 0. There is next to no SOE with this setup.
Thanks very much for the info. Are your settings suggestion also applied to C1 when it is connected to a PC as a monitor?
I'm generally setting the picture mode to game optimizer with HDR on. I leave it on that setting for gaming, videos...etc. The windows HDR toggle is always set to on.

zzzz52
post Apr 18 2022, 07:59 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 15 2022, 04:05 PM)
No. As said, settings from the C9 and CX should not be used on the C1 because the latter has a different tonemap in comparison to the previous models.

I have not kept up with the C1's firmware progression so I am unsure if LG has changed anything internally or not.
You can do some low level calibration (that doesn't involve CMS tweaking) by yourself by using SDR and HDR slides - Mehanik's HDR10 Test Patterns
Oh, my bad, I thought your settings was for C1.
Thanks very much for the slides. I will play with it.
zzzz52
post May 5 2022, 12:27 PM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(yeh_chiam @ May 5 2022, 11:41 AM)
LG C1 48inch is now less than RM4K, good buy? or should wait for C2? i think alot of ppl have the same question in their mind.
It really depends if you want 48in or 42in. 48in below RM4K is really a good buy in my opinion.
What is you use case for it?

What Tv or Monitor are you using now?
zzzz52
post May 5 2022, 01:00 PM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(yeh_chiam @ May 5 2022, 12:32 PM)
good insight, thank you.
I;m looking at 48inch for me to watch netflix, youtube and mostly gaming on Xbox Series X.

Currently using Xiami TV 4S 43inch.
Then the C1 looks like a good deal for you.
zzzz52
post May 10 2022, 07:42 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ May 9 2022, 03:15 PM)
Finally decided and grab LG C1 48"

My wife gonna kill me later XD
lol... as expected when you splurge on some thing like this..
but enjoy it.

0.0381sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:44 PM