1,144 posts

QUOTE(szecheng @ Jul 1 2020, 01:38 PM)
Noted on your advice, atmost on 2 drivers worst
Up firing better
Speaker at ceiling best

Sk8 comes free with C8 TV. I just use.
Not buying.
Wow how much you paid for C8 to get a SK8 free.... sounds like a good deal.
joeblow
post Aug 11 2020, 06:02 PM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(szecheng @ Aug 11 2020, 03:59 PM)
My 55 C8 got screen replacement twice but still got dead pixel
this time i request for tv replacement they rejected. only can pay me 80% of my purchase price.
i will jump ship to sony a8g oled if LG cant give me tv replacement
Oh I thought after they change last time no problem? Anyway I tried using YouTube to try to spot the dead pixels, but I can't and find my eyes painful. Changing oled screen process quite painful. Need to move the TV out then reconfigure everything attach cables etc.

So I just don't care as long as nothing too annoying. If you want to change to Sony, be warned. Sony harder to claim warranty for dead pixels.

This post has been edited by joeblow: Aug 11 2020, 06:03 PM
joeblow
post Oct 14 2020, 06:59 PM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 12 2020, 05:05 PM)
Since they have offered to rectify the situation it's case closed for the moment. But let's just say it is a major retail chain in Malaysia.
That's the danger when you buy a TV that's like one year old. I bought my C8 at the launch of C9, naturally cheaper. But this C8 spoils after 6 months, I wrote about it here the whole experience. Support came to change twice, first backpanel then front panel (they claim have to be this way and cannot order both parts together). I have learnt the lesson since parts material will deteriorate on its own.

So next time if I buy another end of cycle TV, I will get additional 3 years warranty. Hope my C8 with less than 1 year warranty left does not spoil again.
joeblow
post Dec 22 2020, 01:28 PM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Dec 21 2020, 05:51 AM)
It is , the professional here means the OLED panel has extra work done [customized heatsinks] to more quickly dissipate heats generated from OLED pixels .
Speaking of heat, I notice for a while every time I switch off my C8 after several hours of running, there will be some tik tik sound coming from the TV panel. Sometimes after a min still got this sudden tik tik sound. Quite loud as my room is very quiet. Is this normal? I have the feeling the OLED won't last...
joeblow
post Dec 22 2020, 04:35 PM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Dec 22 2020, 02:51 PM)
doh.gif

The ticking sound is the TV's relay switch, when you put your TV in stand-by it is NOT off. It goes into a different power state where the screen remains off BUT it is doing its auto pixel refresh (cumulative of every 4 hours usage). The feature is designed to help your OLED last LONGER, not kill it. Without it, you'll have a lot of temporary image retention and banding.

After the auto pixel refresh is done, the TV will tick again because it then enters its proper standby mode.
Good knowledge Sir... I am beginning to think you are from LG... LOL...
joeblow
post Jan 8 2021, 10:56 PM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 8 2021, 03:18 PM)
You can watch anything with OLED, the problem is you forced HDR on an SDR image. So the TV is doing its tone mapping, which drives up the pixels to maximum luminance. The hearthstone board is entirely static and it is also a color which unfortunately, is most prone to burn in.

Sorry to see you've suffered burn in though. You could go LCD yes (QLED isn't actually a thing) since your habit of watching content are mainly of static images. But of course I'm sure you're aware that LCDs has their own set of downfalls too.
Hmm, I have C8 too and have the whole front and back panel changed after only 6 months. Now I have used about 4700 hours and warranty only left until June this year. May I know what you mean by force HDR on SDR image? I watch tons of youtube and netflix, youtube mainly 1080 resolution. So am I right to say I am also forcing HDR on SDR?

I don't know how long more my OLED can last, but I plan to buy Sony one after this because I watch sports a lot. I think the motion flow got difference. Truth be told, I can't tell the diff between dead pixels or static image. Meaning before my warranty ends I might already have these issues.

I on TV mainly more than 10 hours a day, and mostly youtube (news, games) and netflix. So my next TV should be LCD? I have a feeling netflix and youtube can't really bring out oled tv beauty too.
joeblow
post Feb 6 2021, 07:53 PM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(apekpro96 @ Feb 6 2021, 01:03 AM)
hi guys ,need ur opinion ,
is desa home good place to buy 65 inch cx ?
does their after sales service good?
lg malaysia warranty cover burn in right?
thinking to buy from them  and post it to kedah since their cny saving promotion is good enough for me
I bought from Desa home online a couple of times and other online shops too for TV. One spoiled DOA (not desa home) and one within one year. Truth be told what kind of after sales service you looking for? Most of the time after delivery then you have to claim warranty. For delivery Desa home is good. I believe they use their own appointed courier based on the last couple of times I ordered from them.
joeblow
post Mar 7 2021, 06:46 PM

1,144 posts

LG youtube having issues now?

Youtube on PC works fine. But clips cannot load if on LG C8 TV.... Any other LG users having this problem now?
joeblow
post Mar 7 2021, 09:38 PM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Mar 7 2021, 07:29 PM)
C8 right ? I just logged on and found nothing unusual . Both webOS and app updated to newest firmware .

Same goes for CX .
Ya it was down for less than 30 mins. Thanks.
joeblow
post Mar 31 2021, 12:13 PM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(blurkia @ Mar 30 2021, 11:58 PM)
Hi bros, just want to get some advice here. I’m torn between the Sony x9000h vs lg cx.. both 55”. I just want to hear on the common issues with oled cx, I’m new to it, but definitely intrigued by it. I’m a casual user, weekdays perhaps 3 hours Netflix , weekends maybe 5-6 hours screen. Will this last me easily 5 yrs ? Also any issues with earc? I’m using Sonos beam btw.. thanks a lot cheers
I am using LG C8, OLED. 2 years warranty almost up, TV up lorry once after 6 months. I use for almost 8 to above 10 hours a day, basically just leaving it on and do my work while occasionally turning my head to watch. For your usage I think LG good enough, but I strongly encourage you to go for 5 years full warranty. I regret not going for it. OLED once spoil is like costs to repair almost same as buying new one.

If you go for motion intensive heavy shows like live soccer etc, I suggest you go with Sony. If not OLED colour display much better, but remember rubbish in rubbish out. Maybe other LG gurus can enlighten you on CX upscaling.

joeblow
post Apr 16 2021, 09:13 PM

1,144 posts

Hi guys,

Appreciate your opinions on this, since this is a LG thread. I may be changing my C8 soon because I am moving house maybe before end of year. I am a TV guy, meaning I can leave the TV on for more than 10 hours a day even if I am not watching anything.

Input mainly Netflix, Youtube, PS4 and PC (RTX3070). I used to like watching soccer live on TV, so my only complain for LG is the motion flow seems not as good as Sony. But then again my Sony is LCD so not a fair comparison.

Based on my input above, do you think I should still get a OLED? Seems like all my inputs to TV doesn't justify a OLED and the long hours mean LCD better? I am used to webos already and find it quite good compared to Android. So do you think I should go for Sony X9000h (or if you know of anything better?) or LG CX? Or even other brands like Panasonic where I read pic best in some reviews? I normally buy TV one cycle slow, meaning the last model after new models come out. Which I think should be around June to Aug this year.

So appreciate your opinion on this. Thanks. Oh I might be getting 65 inch this time for my TV room or master bedroom.
joeblow
post Apr 28 2021, 08:41 PM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Apr 26 2021, 01:10 PM)
Probably around 15k , if you are planning to buy at launch .

If you drive a hard bargain you can lower it to 12k ish , perhaps .

I try not to talk about pricing on TVs too much because I actually know how much profit these retailers make from each unit .
Places like SH , HN makes a crap lotsa money for each high end unit they have sold because they are the brand's favorite customers .
Even more so for those overpriced QLEDs .

Went to 2 electronic stores today (one big chain one neighbourhood). Seems like Sony and LG OLED running out fast... all use chip shortage, freight, etc as excuse. So store operators not optimistic this year June to July older version batch (CX and A8H) price will drop due to shortage.

Like PC and furniture, renovations etc, amazing how during Pandemic things are running out and price increases. Oh aircon too...

If price doesn't drop much, makes sense to go latest version.
joeblow
post May 17 2021, 05:10 PM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ May 17 2021, 04:22 PM)
Too bad I couldn't find any deal on Panasonic at the time and have to settle for the LG. My own preference were, Panasonic, LG and Sony. Well, forget about it and just enjoy what I have. Thanks.

Panasonic have exited the USA and Australia market. One tiny reason I voted against Panasoinc.

Talking about LED. In passing glance, the Sony impresses me but not the Panasonic or LG and I dislike the Samsung's color in store.
Panasonic HZ2000 has very good review, some say best in 2020. However in Malaysia I don't know. Seems not many people selling and definitely not cheap. Also I don't know how's Panasonic support for TV. Not very impress with their other support. Sony in theory better for motion and upscaling. But unless you very picky also hard to tell the difference. At least I can't tell the difference much.

I think I will switch back to Sony for my next TV due to the fact I watch a lot of upscaled stuff. But I think I will miss the WebOS.
joeblow
post May 25 2021, 01:27 PM

1,144 posts

Anyone knows when Disney app coming to LG TV? From June onwards we can subscribe to Disney streaming already.
joeblow
post May 25 2021, 02:11 PM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ May 25 2021, 01:45 PM)
sry stupid question, can you install the disney+ app from content store?
QUOTE(TongCN @ May 25 2021, 01:58 PM)
I think in news got mentioned Malaysia version will only be in Google App store and Apple Store.
LG Content Store and Samsung Smart TV wont get (not sure future)

The name of the app macam is Disney+ Hotstar something

_________________________________________________________________________________________--

Check the malaysia site still showing .16

Australia LG already has the app in its WebOS. I think Malaysia LG can easily port over, just no confirmation on this. Maybe @convael has insider information?
joeblow
post Jun 2 2021, 12:29 AM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ Jun 1 2021, 10:26 PM)
My C1 48 arrives today, but screen won't turn on
the red indicator light is flashing, but screen never show anything
wtf so bad luck?
Did you hear any tact tact sound? I have a similar problem as you for my LG after 6 months. The guys came and change the back panel, same problem then few weeks later changed the front oled. So if you need to call support, ask them for 1 to 1 swop better.
joeblow
post Jun 2 2021, 12:29 AM

1,144 posts

Repeated.

This post has been edited by joeblow: Jun 2 2021, 12:29 AM

0.0237sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:23 PM