245 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

LG OLED TV Discussion Thread, OLED TV

bluey88
post Oct 20 2016, 04:08 PM

58 posts

To those who choose to buy LG OLED tv pls beware that their TV break down easily and their repair service SUX.
I bought a 55EG910T from Harvey Norman Paragon in June this year. By early September the smart TV conk out making
most the TV functions inaccessible. A visit by their technician made the problem worse and after he did some service setting
the TV just brick and stuck at the service setting screen.
This matter is still not solve until today (more that 1 month) and is causing me much grievance.
And they have so far refuse to do a 1 to 1 replacement for me.

VeeJay
post Oct 20 2016, 08:02 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(bluey88 @ Oct 20 2016, 04:08 PM)
To those who choose to buy LG OLED tv pls beware that their TV break down easily and their repair service SUX.
I bought a 55EG910T from Harvey Norman Paragon in June this year. By early September the smart TV conk out making
most the TV functions inaccessible. A visit by their technician made the problem worse and after he did some service setting
This matter is still not solve until today (more that 1 month) and is causing me much grievance.
Oh my that is bad! just write an official letter to LG and inform them if its not resolved swiftly you are going to consumer tribunal
SSJBen
post Oct 20 2016, 08:21 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Unfortunately for you and everyone, webOS isn't very stable and has never been stable. A problem with the OS can happen to any TV, not just LG. Android TV is just as bad, Samsung's Tizen or whatever is equally as bad. And don't get me started on the firefox OS on panasonic TVs.

So please be specific here, the hardware is fine. The software isn't. Your TV didn't break down, the OS just failed for whatever reason and is made worse by the technician.
babyevil82
post Oct 20 2016, 09:02 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Sgt_Pepeer @ Oct 20 2016, 10:58 AM)
yes both are smart tv, using LG’s own WebOS system, more detail here : http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/lg/smart

930 is a older model ( some country call it 9300 ), feature & performance wise almost identical, except :
- 930 have 4 HDMI input, 910 only have 3
- 910 have better remote control ( more buttons )
- most obvious different is the TV stand, 930 have a organic curve stand, 910 have more conventional design stand

if you can find a older 930 in much cheaper price, maybe it’s a good buy since both almost same, but if you have extra money I would suggest you skip both and get the latest 4K model.
Thanks for the information, if i use to watch astro, can say both provide the same quality?
bluey88
post Oct 20 2016, 10:16 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 20 2016, 08:02 PM)
Oh my that is bad! just write an official letter to LG and inform them if its not resolved swiftly you are going to consumer tribunal
I did email both Harvey Norman and LG Malaysia on this matter. Maybe i should do as u suggested.
bluey88
post Oct 20 2016, 10:20 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 20 2016, 08:21 PM)
Unfortunately for you and everyone, webOS isn't very stable and has never been stable. A problem with the OS can happen to any TV, not just LG. Android TV is just as bad, Samsung's Tizen or whatever is equally as bad. And don't get me started on the firefox OS on panasonic TVs.

So please be specific here, the hardware is fine. The software isn't. Your TV didn't break down, the OS just failed for whatever reason and is made worse by the technician.
Im not sure if its a Software or Hardware problem, but the said Technician did open up and change the mainboard of the TV. But that didnt
fix the TV.
kanasai
post Oct 22 2016, 01:57 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(erictanyh @ Oct 17 2016, 10:57 AM)
Hi all;

I'm interested on LG OLED 55" B6T..... Any advice where can i get it with the best price?? Many shop don't have stock due to this is very new model???
The B6 is not available in Malaysia, at least not for now yet, the last I checked. I just couldn't wait and took the plunge and bought the C6 instead. You'll be lucky if you could even find a shop with a display unit for the new B/C/G/E series OLED, much less ready stock for sale right away. Most shops are still displaying either the 910T or the 930T or some with 970T. I had to wait close to a week for my unit to arrive.
kanasai
post Oct 22 2016, 02:05 AM

43 posts

Was your purchase inclusive of insurance? If it comes with insurance, you should be entitled to 1-to-1 replacement regardless of what happened within the 1st year of purchase.

I don't regard LG's TV (its panel in particular) to be very reliable in terms of quality, hence I bought my C6 together with insurance. Not sure if the insurance is being offered and available for purchase together with other models other than the new C/E series OLED TVs.
bluey88
post Oct 22 2016, 05:32 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(kanasai @ Oct 22 2016, 02:05 AM)
Was your purchase inclusive of insurance? If it comes with insurance, you should be entitled to 1-to-1 replacement regardless of what happened within the 1st year of purchase.

I don't regard LG's TV (its panel in particular) to be very reliable in terms of quality, hence I bought my C6 together with insurance. Not sure if the insurance is being offered and available for purchase together with other models other than the new C/E series OLED TVs.
The LG OLED i bought is with 5 years warranty. But when i contacted Harvey Norman about this matter they try to play "Tai Chi" and said that all
technical problem for the first 2 years fall entirely on LG Malaysia.

Maybe with all the noise and mails and calls i made, LG finally send 3 technician to my house today to try fix the TV.
But after changing more hardware components which doesnt fix the problem, the technicians finally gave up and informs
me that the TV is beyond their scope to fix. He said i should bee getting a replacement set after he report back to HQ.

So now i wait and see.
kanasai
post Oct 22 2016, 07:45 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(bluey88 @ Oct 22 2016, 05:32 PM)
The LG OLED i bought is with 5 years warranty. But when i contacted Harvey Norman about this matter they try to play "Tai Chi" and said that all
technical problem for the first 2 years fall entirely on LG Malaysia.

Maybe with all the noise and mails and calls i made, LG finally send 3 technician to my house today to try fix the TV.
But after changing more hardware components which doesnt fix the problem, the technicians finally gave up and informs
me that the TV is beyond their scope to fix. He said i should bee getting a replacement set after he report back to HQ.

So now i wait and see.
At least they responded, better late than never.

Anyway, what I mentioned was "insurance", not warranty. The 5 year warranty is standard and is included in the purchase price. The insurance on the other hand requires extra payment, more than the price of extended warranty. The insurance premium for my C6 is actually around RM1200 for 5 years coverage. With insurance, i get 1-to-1 replacement within the 1st 2 years, regardless of what happen to my TV, even if i accidentally break it. Now whether that amount is worthwhile or not, it's subjective.

jimmyteng18
post Oct 29 2016, 12:25 PM

669 posts

Saw OLED 55" B6, Flat screen in HN QM, selling rm8888 with free Sound Bar.
kanasai
post Oct 29 2016, 01:08 PM

43 posts

That's a very good price!
Dickong
post Oct 29 2016, 03:49 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Oct 29 2016, 12:25 PM)
Saw OLED 55" B6, Flat screen in HN QM, selling rm8888 with free Sound Bar.
The price u saw at HN is exactly the same price publish at the star paper few days ago, so no discount at all
Escaflowne
post Oct 30 2016, 11:44 AM

279 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Oct 29 2016, 03:49 PM)
The price u saw at HN is exactly the same price publish at the star paper few days ago, so no discount at all
The soundbar will need to fill in a form to order or HN will give it immediate?

I went to Desa Hometheater in Kepong and they said will have to fill in a form and submit to LG then will get the soundbar direct from LG (soundbar model is SH7)
WhySoSerius
post Oct 31 2016, 12:48 PM

24 posts

Hi sifus
Planning to upgrade my old fullHD lcd tv to the new 4k OLED B6 during this promotionm period

I have my old ps3 as a bluray player and only fullhd bluray movies
Asking for opinion whether to get a 4k bluray (looking at the xbone s) or is it sufficient to stick with my ps3 and let the tv do the upscaling
kanasai
post Nov 1 2016, 12:58 PM

43 posts

Upscaling will not be as good as having a real 4K source. The X Box One S is an affordable 4K BluRay player to have compare to an actual 4K BluRay player. I would say get either one if you can afford it. But do bear in mind that there isn't a lot of 4K BluRay titles, although it will get more moving forward.
weikee
post Nov 1 2016, 01:12 PM

12,019 posts

Upscale really depending on the ai of the tv processor.
cablesguy
post Nov 14 2016, 07:18 PM

1,597 posts

Guys,

Any idea if LG bringing in the 77"?

Tx

Just got a reply from LG Malaysia

"Thank you for your inquiry. We have not heard about this product's availability in Malaysia. Do stay tuned on our Facebook page for future official updates.

Warm Regards,
LG Team"

This post has been edited by cablesguy: Nov 14 2016, 09:02 PM
cosmicmeadow
post Nov 15 2016, 09:30 PM

223 posts

Any news on 65 inch for the B6 model?

55 inch on promotion... Rm8888, Best Denki RM8688, Lazada Rm8488.

65 inch not yet?
cablesguy
post Nov 16 2016, 06:49 PM

1,597 posts

http://4k.com/news/angry-gamers-petitionin...oled-tvs-17341/

Anyone experience?

This post has been edited by cablesguy: Nov 16 2016, 06:50 PM

245 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled