Microsoft Windows 10 (V.2)

starry-starry
post Jul 7 2016, 01:31 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 7 2016, 12:09 PM)
1. which software are you using to edit images? the built-in paint or windows photo viewer, or anything else?

2. not sure about this one. i removed most of them when i optimized my os.

also, if you haven't already, use ssd as os drive.
use media creation tool or techbench. they are updated when new releases come out.

note that there is a new iso coming up (w10 anniversary update scheduled in august 2016).
1. I was using "Photo"and I know it's no longer supported in Window 10 or smt, I followed some instructions I found online and installed Window Photo Viewer to open & view my photo. Sad thing is I can't perform any editing using this window photo viewer like I did with Photo programme.

2. How to remove? U mean they're actually useless? I've signed with with my email accounts but sadly I can't even access now. Even simple thing ie calculator is not workable!

AlexisStarZ
post Jul 7 2016, 02:54 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 7 2016, 12:09 PM)
use media creation tool or techbench. they are updated when new releases come out.

note that there is a new iso coming up (w10 anniversary update scheduled in august 2016).
oo, I thought media creation tool is old one as I found its setup is end with 10586.117 laugh.gif

btw how do I remove my C drive that exist in my hdd ?
since my C drive that in my hdd is my OS, so when boot in usb, use the windows 10 setup to wipe C then install ssd ? for my D drive unchanged
but is it possible to extend my D drive ? since I wipe the C drive, definitely got unused storage, so can I extend the unused storage and extend it once finished install windows 10 in ssd ?
horns
post Jul 7 2016, 11:05 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Jul 7 2016, 01:31 PM)
1. I was using "Photo"and I know it's no longer supported in Window 10 or smt, I followed some instructions I found online and installed Window Photo Viewer to open & view my photo. Sad thing is I can't perform any editing using this window photo viewer like I did with Photo programme.

2. How to remove? U mean they're actually useless? I've signed with with my email accounts but sadly I can't even access now. Even simple thing ie calculator is not workable!
1. that's one of the apps that i removed. never used it before.

2. they're not useless. it's just that i don't need them. i use dws in pro mode to remove them.

also, it's better to use local account rather than microsoft account.

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ Jul 7 2016, 02:54 PM)
oo, I thought media creation tool is old one as I found its setup is end with 10586.117 laugh.gif

btw how do I remove my C drive that exist in my hdd ?
since my C drive that in my hdd is my OS, so when boot in usb, use the windows 10 setup to wipe C then install ssd ? for my D drive unchanged
but is it possible to extend my D drive ? since I wipe the C drive, definitely got unused storage, so can I extend the unused storage and extend it once finished install windows 10 in ssd ?
that's the latest i think. the rest are in cumulative updates which will be downloaded automatically via windows updates.

yeah you can just do what you described (i.e. wipe c and system partitions to avoid potential issues). it's however better to make a full data backup first. for much better experience a clean install is much better.
TSstasio
post Jul 8 2016, 02:57 AM

18,505 posts

Windows 10 Insider Preview build 13383

https://blogs.windows.com/windowsexperience...Cj3mw5JAlzqJ.99
AlexisStarZ
post Jul 8 2016, 03:05 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 7 2016, 11:05 PM)
that's the latest i think. the rest are in cumulative updates which will be downloaded automatically via windows updates.

yeah you can just do what you described (i.e. wipe c and system partitions to avoid potential issues). it's however better to make a full data backup first. for much better experience a clean install is much better.
yeah installed successfully and extend the volume using computer management > disk management

but I accidentally delete it, all my files in D gone, luckily most of them are games, only some photo and video are there
now using recuva to restore back, took ages to finished scan it cry.gif
btw since ssd is not for torrent, so can I install torrent software in ssd (since I used it frequently) and set download location in hdd ?
horns
post Jul 8 2016, 03:51 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ Jul 8 2016, 03:05 PM)
yeah installed successfully and extend the volume using computer management > disk management

but I accidentally delete it, all my files in D gone, luckily most of them are games, only some photo and video are there
now using recuva to restore back, took ages to finished scan it cry.gif
btw since ssd is not for torrent, so can I install torrent software in ssd (since I used it frequently) and set download location in hdd ?
oh :/ it's important to do data backup first. it's lucky for you that there were no important stuff in the hdd.

yes, you can do that. just point all write-intensive operations for torrents to hdd. i usually create several folders to store seeds, incomplete and complete torrents for this in hdd.
AlexisStarZ
post Jul 8 2016, 04:30 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 8 2016, 03:51 PM)
oh :/ it's important to do data backup first. it's lucky for you that there were no important stuff in the hdd.

yes, you can do that. just point all write-intensive operations for torrents to hdd. i usually create several folders to store seeds, incomplete and complete torrents for this in hdd.
yea but who knows I will accidentally delete it doh.gif
luckily managed to recover pictures (took around 2 hours to finished scan), now recovering
later scan deleted video, other stuff not important laugh.gif

and I only put 1 folder to download all torrent stuff, if create a lot folder looks messy biggrin.gif
TSstasio
post Jul 8 2016, 05:33 PM

18,505 posts

Windows 10 Build 14372 Insider Preview - official ISO

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-do...siderpreviewiso
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-do...previewadvanced

This post has been edited by stasio: Jul 8 2016, 05:38 PM
Frimake
post Jul 8 2016, 10:07 PM

Guys tell me, I have low laptop (asus k53sv), might i install W10, or should stay on W7?
StuartLee2015
post Jul 8 2016, 11:16 PM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(Frimake @ Jul 8 2016, 10:07 PM)
Guys tell me, I have low laptop (asus k53sv), might i install W10, or should stay on W7?
Install windows 10. it's better than Windows 7, 8 and 8.1 aside from the metro styles.

SyathibiyMegat
post Jul 9 2016, 05:54 AM

Linguistics
2,634 posts

So I finally received an update to Win 10 after registered last year, I think. But when I tried to install it, at first it didn't tick 2 things, space and disk installer. Now that I've freed up enough space, I'm left with this disk installer which I have no idea how to solve. It says "Disk installer: The current active partition is compressed". Can anybody help? I've been waiting to update since the day of registration. Thanks
horns
post Jul 9 2016, 08:21 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ Jul 8 2016, 04:30 PM)
yea but who knows I will accidentally delete it doh.gif
luckily managed to recover pictures (took around 2 hours to finished scan), now recovering
later scan deleted video, other stuff not important laugh.gif

and I only put 1 folder to download all torrent stuff, if create a lot folder looks messy biggrin.gif
well it's up to you smile.gif

QUOTE(stasio @ Jul 8 2016, 05:33 PM)
thanks a lot!

QUOTE(Frimake @ Jul 8 2016, 10:07 PM)
it should work fine. however if you still use hdd, it's better to change to ssd first. you will have a better user experience with that.

QUOTE(SyathibiyMegat @ Jul 9 2016, 05:54 AM)
So I finally received an update to Win 10 after registered last year, I think. But when I tried to install it, at first it didn't tick 2 things, space and disk installer. Now that I've freed up enough space, I'm left with this disk installer which I have no idea how to solve. It says "Disk installer: The current active partition is compressed". Can anybody help? I've been waiting to update since the day of registration. Thanks
i think that's caused by the partition being set to compressed partition. you can reset it to standard partition by right clicking the partition, choose properties in the popup menu, and uncheck the option that makes it a compressed drive.

alternatively, as long as you have a legit key for current os, i think it's easier for you to do a clean install with that key. (use it after installation when you activate it online)
ricstc
post Jul 9 2016, 08:58 AM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

anyone running the latest build no
14383 that is having any problems?

eg MS Edge always freezing?

SUSg104
post Jul 9 2016, 09:46 AM

657 posts

i personally don't dare to try preview version 1607

currently i updated from version 1511 10586.420 > .446 > .456

literally, i use Edge Blocker v1.2

FYI, no issue with edge browser for my side.
horns
post Jul 9 2016, 09:47 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ricstc @ Jul 9 2016, 08:58 AM)
anyone running the latest build no
14383 that is having any problems?

eg MS Edge always freezing?

i do; in virtualbox 5.0.24. ms.edge is running fine here. (watching youtube vids)

maybe it's just me, but this build is running more smoothly than the previous ones.

edit: a screenshot -

This post has been edited by horns: Jul 9 2016, 10:39 AM
ricstc
post Jul 9 2016, 11:35 AM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 9 2016, 09:47 AM)
i do; in virtualbox 5.0.24. ms.edge is running fine here. (watching youtube vids)

maybe it's just me, but this build is running more smoothly than the previous ones.

edit: a screenshot -

could you pls do me a favor (actually do MS Preview Build insider) a favor

could you pls test in your build these

- open ms edge
- go to low yat net forum eg this page or find a news page where there are paragraphs
of text in sentences ie a news piece where its made up of different paragraphs

- highlight a few paragraphs as if you want to copy the text out

- with the para highlighted, click right mouse button and select COPY

-- this action is done like when one wishes to copy the highlighted text

- take NOTE now if MS edge lets you do a copy or if the tab freezes (don't worry
the OS wont freeze just this particular tab)

try to paste the text into notepad or some editor to verify that you had successfully
copied the text or if you cannot

that's all - this is for me where MS edge will freeze and I would have to close the tab
and reload the webpage - which happens again until I close MS edge itself - which
sometimes give the same freezing effect and sometimes not - ie its intermittent

Begather
post Jul 9 2016, 01:23 PM

That's an amazing thread. I really enjoyed reading this thread.

This post has been edited by Begather: Nov 14 2016, 07:40 PM
horns
post Jul 9 2016, 03:11 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ricstc @ Jul 9 2016, 11:35 AM)
could you pls do me a favor (actually do MS Preview Build insider) a favor

could you pls test in your build these

- open ms edge
- go to low yat net forum eg this page or find a news page where there are paragraphs
of text in sentences ie a news piece where its made up of different paragraphs

- highlight a few paragraphs as if you want to copy the text out

- with the para highlighted, click right mouse button and select COPY

-- this action is done like when one wishes to copy the highlighted text

- take NOTE now if MS edge lets you do a copy or if the tab freezes (don't worry
the OS wont freeze just this particular tab)

try to paste the text into notepad or some editor to verify that you had successfully
copied the text or if you cannot
that's all - this is for me where MS edge will freeze and I would have to close the tab
and reload the webpage - which happens again until I close MS edge itself - which
sometimes give the same freezing effect and sometimes not - ie its intermittent

it appeared that you're correct in idenfying a bug in the case of forum.lowyat.net. when i selected a few paragraphs of text, the tab froze smile.gif and yes, it's intermittent.

this however didn't happen when i did the same at msn news page. i did that many times, with different paragraphs.
skylinelover
post Jul 9 2016, 06:48 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

sorry 4 the big derailing here laugh.gif

QUOTE(stasio @ Jul 8 2016, 02:57 AM)
lucky asian guy got married with white pretty wife envy lorh bangwall.gif innocent.gif thumbsup.gif
SyathibiyMegat
post Jul 10 2016, 12:54 AM

Linguistics
2,634 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 9 2016, 08:21 AM)
i think that's caused by the partition being set to compressed partition. you can reset it to standard partition by right clicking the partition, choose properties in the popup menu, and uncheck the option that makes it a compressed drive.

alternatively, as long as you have a legit key for current os, i think it's easier for you to do a clean install with that key. (use it after installation when you activate it online)
Tried that, got an error. I don't know what the error is. Not a computer guy

Yeah, I think I still have it. How to do clean install tho?

159 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:25 AM