Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

squallx840
post Apr 19 2020, 09:16 PM

QUOTE(sniffsniff @ Apr 17 2020, 11:42 AM)
Hi everyone, I would like to know whether you have any recommendation for Coffee Maker (as in drips). I tried searching for the Bonavita BV1900TS in Malaysia but doesn't seem to have any local sellers.

Am currently using Aeropress only, but sometimes when I just need a big serving of a few cups, I would prefer a drip machine to help me out. Thanks.
Technivorm Moccamaster.

https://theroastthings.com/product/moccamaster/

QUOTE(safinaj @ Apr 18 2020, 11:18 PM)
I am looking for an AeroPress. Is anyone selling AeroPress here? The ones on Shopee and Lazada aren't original.
https://103coffee.com/product/aeropress-go-...l-coffee-press/
squallx840
post Apr 26 2020, 08:23 PM

QUOTE(aaronwky @ Apr 25 2020, 01:42 AM)
From which source you guys get your china made hand grinder like 1zpresso or ACE? Taobao?
Yes, Taobao.

ACE 48 grinder: (preorder - https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....ucket=16#detail )
ACE 40 grinder: https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=2013.1...id=607852139229

1zpresso:

https://1zpresso.tmall.com/category-1431263...%A5%B6%B9%BB%FA

squallx840
post May 29 2020, 02:53 PM

QUOTE(joshua_chin @ May 29 2020, 01:50 PM)
Thanks for your feedback. After some readings still thinking to get a metal burr instead of ceramic burr. Anyone has experience with Cafede Kona manual coffee grinder? Was looking for Chestnut C Slim but the price is kind of out of my budget.

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a220m...48c60d5df9d9e15
looks like cast iron burr. the burr design is similar to the ceramic burr where the burr sort of "crushes"(generates a lot of fines) as opposed to the sharpened steel burr that "cuts".

Maybe consider something like Timemore Chesnut grinder? Easily available locally via Lazada/Shopee.

I recall Scott Rao getting pretty good extraction using a Timemore hand grinder in one of his instagram post.
squallx840
post Jun 5 2020, 05:50 PM

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jun 5 2020, 09:20 AM)
cant find much review on timemore grinder,
I am thinking to get either
1zpresso K-plus (about 700-800 from taobao)
or get a timemore cheaper grinder but with decent quality and upgrade later
or a comandante c40 mk3

Anyone has any idea on it?
The 1zpresso is definitely much better in terms of built quality compared to Timemore. no doubt about it.

Much better machining, additional feature, etc. But cup quality,not sure if it that much difference since its depends on the quality of the burr.

Commandante C40, I would skip because, I know I can get better grinder at the same price.

I would also recommend this grinder - https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=2013.1...id=567667604867 (check the comments section for the current picture since the seller keep upgrading the grinder)

This and 1zpresso Z-PRo is what I am using currently.

squallx840
post Jun 8 2020, 04:57 AM

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jun 6 2020, 12:15 PM)
quality of a cup depends on the burrs, which everyone use or buy from the same manufacturer?
the rest depends on the build quality and ergonomics?

Is that what you are trying to say?

On this seller there are

ACE40 RMB499 (smaller burr)
ACE48CS RMB349 (bigger burr but cheaper)
ACE55 RMB899

the big 1 seems interesting
Can't really comment much on the ACE55, coz I dont want to spend to too much on a hand grinder, the seller used to manufacture a manual grinder using Mazzer Kony burrs (also used in Niche Zero)
ACE40, it could be a good bang for buck grinder but I have no personal experience with both ACE40 and ACE55.

ACE48CS RMB349 is the price for booking, I paid RMB599 for the standard version(carbon steel burr), You probably need to wait for this and pay the remaining balance once the stock is ready.

squallx840
post Jul 11 2020, 02:25 AM

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 4 2020, 06:16 PM)
got myself a linglong grinder, wow that feels like a major upgrade over my hario skeleton.
also got myself a pikamoka
Nice. Which model did you get?
squallx840
post Jul 26 2020, 10:46 PM

QUOTE(ja_guor @ Jul 26 2020, 06:12 PM)
Is there a consensus on how the Chinese Taobao grinders compare to each other? I'm looking to upgrade from my Rhinowares compact grinder, and happen to have relatives in China that can fortunately purchase one there for me.

I've seen people discussing these ones:
1. 1Zpresso grinders
2. Timemore grinders
3. Linglong ACE48
4. Anonymous 2nd generation
5. Wonderful grinder small

There's also these ones that I can't find much discussion about:
1. Apparently 3rd generation of Anonymous 2
2. Hero grinders
3. MAVO grinder

I'm aware that the Helor 101 and Helor 108 are better than these grinders, but it's also more than I would like to spend.

My impression from reading through this thread are that the 1Zpresso ones are better than the Timemore ones, but otherwise I haven't seen any direct comparisons between the grinders.
Any of the grinders that you listed are way better than your current one. Any one of those is good, no need to overthink it. In terms of build quality, i would put timemore the lowest in terms of build quality, its not bad, but not as good as others.

If you can read chinese: ( I cant)

https://m.mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=640&t=5747652&p=56
squallx840
post Oct 10 2020, 10:28 PM

QUOTE(reinloch @ Oct 9 2020, 12:49 PM)
Anyone can share a good recipe for V60?

Tried to follow James Hoffman's recipe, but have a hard time swirling the mix as the water drained too quickly, so now just stir a bit with spoon.

Right now, I am dosing 12g and pouring out 250g in about 2 minutes, with 40s of blooming. The taste is OK but I wonder if it can be improved?
should be 12g to 200g of water / or 15-16g to 250g,(1:15 . 1:16 ratio) and grind finer if the flow is too fast
squallx840
post Oct 21 2020, 01:55 PM

QUOTE(Lord Flak` @ Oct 21 2020, 09:17 AM)
hi, pipu wanna ask if there is other way to make drip coffee less sour? other than buying different origin
Try:
1-Grind finer
2-Brewing with higher temp water (off the boil water) , make sure the dripper is properly heated (if its not plastic, if its plastic, no need to pre-heat)

squallx840
post Feb 1 2021, 01:30 PM

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jan 31 2021, 07:57 PM)
Thinking to head closer to espresso land.
Yea i like coffee, haha. I scout around for good local type coffees from kopitiams around and mark them. And if im at home i just do a pour over through filter. But it's still off taste sometimes(mostly tend to get sour when i did it wrong). Still learning. Possibly due to many factors but definitely my cheap cheap hand grinder that spits out inconsistent grind size is a factor as well. =P

Nespresso is having a high recurring cost hence it feels kinda  mega_shok.gif
Maybe a good compromise would be an Ikea Moka Pot + grinder update, while saving up for a 1k+ espresso machine?
For hand grinder, you can consider this instead:

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10....id=567667604867

It used to be around MYR 400 when the manufacturer using imported Italmill burr (similar to Kinu M47 burr), but now you can get it @ MYR220~ before shipping since it is using locally made burr.

Can easily choke any 58mm espresso machine.

Not a big fan of Moka pot, I have an unused Bialetti Brikka which I hardly used.

At the risk of sounding like lowkl if you want to venture into espresso, do consider Flair espresso maker.
squallx840
post Apr 5 2021, 08:49 PM

QUOTE(eltaria @ Apr 5 2021, 07:07 PM)
!! Lol, I'll stick to my Aeropress if this is true.
Anyway, I am going with the Gemilai la, I still believe pre ground is not that bad, compared with a lot of setup I see where the self owned grinder is of questionable quality also.
A not so fresh (maybe couple weeks old, but perfectly sealed until unpacking) but properly grinded by your roaster will be better than a fresh beans, but grinded with subpar grinders....

I have seen a lot of setup, where a subpar grinder is used... and I am almost certain that the pre-ground is gonna be better.
Which model are you planning to get?
Heard good review for Gemilai machine on their price vs performance ratio.

Looking forward to your feedback thumbsup.gif
squallx840
post Apr 17 2021, 01:59 AM

QUOTE(missmataleo @ Apr 16 2021, 04:43 AM)
hi guys, im new in this coffee machine and grinder world.

just want to ask u guys, between raccea 60mm(auto) and 1zpresso jx pro(manual), which one is better ya? the raccea use flat burr while the jxpro use conical burr. the price also different. raccea around rm400 and jxpro rm720.

my budget for espresso machine around rm1k and ive been eyeing for the delonghi dedica. or got other suggestion?

im planning use the grinder for espresso and v60. which one worth the money ya?

thanks sifu
Gemilai CRM3605 is not too bad I guess.

If you want a superior espresso at around 1k budget, can consider Flair classic manual espresso maker. Of course need more manual labor, but manual espresso machine requires ZERO maintenance, compared to machine (aside from normal clean up).

Both Grinders that you mentioned are capable of grinding for espresso and filter. depends on your preference if you prefer manual grinder or motorized one.

So either CRM3605 + Raccea or Flair Classic + JXpro.

But a warning, espresso brewing can be quite frustrating even for those with high end machine and grinders biggrin.gif
squallx840
post Sep 1 2021, 12:25 AM

QUOTE(JoJawJack @ Aug 30 2021, 11:16 PM)
Hi Sifus,

Currently owning Flair Pro 2 and Gemilai CRM 3605 (recently bought). Am using timemore C2 now and looking for better grinder.
My budget is around rm1k ~1.5k.

In my list,
1. Df64
2. JX-Pro
3. Eureka Mignon Manuale
4. Eureka Mignon Silenzio

Am planning to open small business; 10~20 cups per day.

Thank you, Sifus.
Definitely not the JX-PRO / DF64.

I suggest to go for entry china 64mm commercial grinder that starts around 1k+.

Senang bila mau expand business in future.

Durable motor, and does not overheats easily unlike single dose grinder (esp df64)

Checkout Jcoffee selling S60, ad64 , s70 , all around 1k++ If Im not mistaken.
squallx840
post Jan 12 2022, 09:35 PM

QUOTE(slimcrappy @ Jan 10 2022, 05:19 PM)
Hi guys,

Am new around here. I'm not a pure coffee enthusiast but I do like myself a good cup of coffee. I had thought to get into the game by getting a Flair Espresso Maker Pro 2 and 1zpresso JX-Pro manual coffee grinder. Turns out I'm horrible at using the Flair and I've just completely given up and they're just sitting unused for a while now.

Thinking of upgrading by just getting an automatic machine. Looking for recommendations with a budget of RM2-3k - mostly for lattes (double shot if that matters).

Appreciate any help. Thanks

super automatic like the bean to cup thinggy / semi auto ?

If semi auto, for your budget it would Milesto EM19 M3 https://www.carousell.com.my/p/milesto-em19m3-1029791004/

You probably want to get a motorized grinder though.

This machine will NOT make better coffee compared to Flair+JX-Pro though.

If super automatic , then you might as well get a Nespresso machine.
squallx840
post Jan 23 2023, 01:08 PM

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jan 23 2023, 10:08 AM)
Anyone else notice that Starbucks has increased their beans prices? Now even the 'regular' ones are priced at RM48! IIRC, it used to be RM35. sigh what a move from them. hope they revert back to the old pricing (though unlikely), since not many customers are making their own coffee at home anyway.

So to those making their own coffee at home, may want to consider buying from somewhere else - local roasters from Shopee/Lazada, perhaps?
No. Because many of people here probably are into specialty coffee (what Starbucks reserve is offering)
Just search both Lazada and Shoppee, there tons of seller, but pricing wise it depends on the beans, roast date is way earlier compared to Charbucks.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.2108sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:43 PM