Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

SonnyCooL
post Aug 18 2017, 01:25 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 17 2017, 10:47 PM)
I go through 1kg in about 2+ weeks (about 4 lattes per day) which is not ideal but I've lived with it for the past year or so. The coffee arrives within 1-2 days of roasting so a bit too early, and by the time I finish it, it's past the peak.

The ideal for me would be 500g every week.
wah so much .... i take 4 capo perday, 200 gram last me around 1 week ...... what really costly is i drink 1 ltr milk perday ... tongue.gif
SonnyCooL
post Aug 31 2017, 12:58 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Aug 24 2017, 05:10 PM)
Pulp carries Rocket Espresso
Coffex has slayer and other brands
Then you also have Dankoff

These are some of the big and solid companies

For beans though, get from me  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Today open ?
SonnyCooL
post Aug 31 2017, 01:12 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(taed @ Aug 31 2017, 01:06 PM)
this one is multipurpose

http://www.mudah.my/Grinder+Machine+for+Sp...in-58222046.htm

It can grind coffee, green bean, rice, wheat, sorghum, corn, chili, soybean, walnut, sesame, jujube and pepper etc.

it only take half minute to finish.
grind with other stuff ? worry arbica with tumeric taste
SonnyCooL
post Sep 9 2017, 07:00 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Sep 9 2017, 06:36 PM)
It's a trap! It's a trap!  rclxs0.gif  rclxs0.gif
Better for us drive all the way to qb, giant n tesco to buy milk la .... Worst reach there out of stock
SonnyCooL
post Sep 15 2017, 03:00 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(utraben @ Sep 14 2017, 11:55 PM)
Hi Guys,

Why settle with Welhome, Breville where espresso machines like Nuova Simonelli Oscar 2 still offers better value vs performance than these home appliance grade machine right??
Check out :

www.lamarsacoffee.com for range of quality Italian machines and grinders that suit any budget need.

FB: facebook.com/lamarsacoffee

[attachmentid=9135089]
Pls stop self promote here without contribute.
SonnyCooL
post Sep 15 2017, 04:25 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Sep 15 2017, 06:58 AM)
His oscar 2 MYR 3999 looks quite reasonable. Dont know am i right? Giving u guys option place to get oscar 2. Agree with him, it is good value machine.
My older version oscar bought ~ 2 years ago MYR 3600. I still ❤️ it 😂
same like telling a lot new comer BMW and MERC (OSCARor whatever) is a lot better than PROTON (WELLHOM), but this ain't car and not many understand what is the different ...
SonnyCooL
post Sep 15 2017, 05:22 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Sep 15 2017, 05:20 PM)
A bit harsh, perhaps....

THe main proposal (I think) was that anyone who is in the market for an espresso machine in the RM3k+ to RM4k market should not only consider those models found in appliance shops, which tend to be limiited to DeLonghi and Breville, but can and should seriously consider these higher-end brands as well.

This is not to knock Breville...from my colleague who has a Breville 870XL, it produces very VERY good coffee. However, in terms of construction quality, they are a clear level lower than the "pedigree" brands.

So coming back to the mentioned Simonelli Oscar II: this is a HX machine that is priced very close to the single boiler Breville BES840XL model (less than 20% difference). Yes, the Breville has a number of electronic bells & whistles, but the ability of a HX to generate steam instantly after pulling a shot makes it closer to a double boiler, which in the case of Breville would put it clearly in the RM5k to RM6k region.

See? This thread has once again begun my "upgrade-itis" infection! Dang......
i think that is my first intention saying contribute more right ?
kudos ....
SonnyCooL
post Sep 16 2017, 07:30 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(serigala @ Sep 16 2017, 07:01 PM)
maybe it was mixed with some robusta bean in it...
but nothing beats fresh roasted,fresh ground coffee...
Proberly low class machine as seller mention here..,,
SonnyCooL
post Sep 17 2017, 01:05 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Sep 17 2017, 12:59 PM)
SonnyCooL, be nice....

No matter how low end a machine, it can still deliver decent output, IMHO. However, lower end machines make it difficult to get consistency...it becomes a hit-or-miss affair to get a very good shot each and every time.

I speak from the low end myself: still using a RM 700 Philips Saeco Poemia, albeit depressurised, semi-naked portafilter, and PID installed.

To get consistency, I have to have implement a convoluted process:

- preheat for 20 minutes or more
- a couple of flushes to heat up the portafilter
- weigh out the output while extracting, which requires a juggling act of holding the shot glass up while moving out the weighing scale, and slotting back in the drip tray, all the while keeping track of the time.
I try to learn from here, but some one said those brand is waste n no point for good bean .... That why i reply with possible low BRAND machine cause the bean issue, my info base on EXPERT from here, i know nothing abt coffee other than drink .,, hahaha
SonnyCooL
post Sep 17 2017, 04:59 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(utraben @ Sep 17 2017, 04:57 PM)
Bro , I give you the best steak cut,  but without having correct skill/knowledge and right cooking equipment what do you expect from this beef ?
We all no expert here bro ... choice is always yours . Did anyone here condemning you getting Low brand machine ?
Ok now i know my device is low end ..... Thanks yah.
SonnyCooL
post Sep 17 2017, 11:01 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Sep 17 2017, 08:58 PM)
Whoooahhhh.... everybody take a deep breath. I think the text-only nature of forums is rearing its ugly head. Tons of misunderstanding, on both sides (heh heh to coin a Trump phrase).

To use utraben's metaphor, you can still make a fantastic steak with the cheapest skillet from a hypermarket. On the other side, you can use a thousand ringgit skillet and still have an inedible steak, if either the chef is unskilled, or the meat was poor quality.

Good equipment only makes things easier, not necessarily better.

However there is one truism: you can't make a great coffee with bad or unfresh beans. You can use the best machine and it will still taste bleah....
Hahahahah make it make more fun and also allow other user to see what is Sales & Customer Service .....

just wondering how he know i use cheap machines ....
SonnyCooL
post Sep 18 2017, 10:40 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Sep 18 2017, 10:37 PM)
I would say the intention is right but the choice of examples are not so good

In favor of @utraben, yes, you can't really go cheap if you would like to go for espresso and milk based drinks. There's a minimum price to pay to at least make the experience or cup quality worthwhile.

But Welhome and Breville is far from low end machines though
I've seen grind distribution of a Breville Smart Grinder that actually even beats the EK43. And espresso machine like the BES920 dual boiler is more than enough to even run a pop up stall at events (example: Frank Laurent, Caffeine)

One of my favorite cafe in Penang is also using the Welhome

Anyways, Breville is accessible hence one of the common ones I recommend to home brewers starting out. Harvey Norman is easy to find hence warranty is simple
Pricing, yes, maybe on the higher side though, comparable to an Oscar

For me, these are the only few things I look for (if I'm a home brewer  biggrin.gif):
1. 58mm brass, unpressurized portafilter - simply for the heat balance and 58mm is common size to find accessories later on - tamper, basket, distributor etc
2. Proper steam wand - proper as in long enough to reach into the pitcher, proper holes to deliver the steam. Not some pannarello shit or something lol
3. Single boiler/HX/thermoblock/dual boiler is actually depending on you and what's the amount of cups you're trying to make in a go

What in the end that's most important is the role as a barista is to understand extraction principles. If you know your shit like @lowkl does, see how he can even navigate a tough Saeco  thumbup.gif (which by the way is another popular model alongside the Gaggia Classic/Silvia as a starting machine)
u seriously need to repair eshop link la ...
SonnyCooL
post Oct 23 2017, 04:58 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Oct 23 2017, 03:12 PM)
Welcome! And glad to see another trying to move over to the "cleaner" side  smile.gif

For us to advice you further, can you tell us your drink preference (black, milk) and what budget are you looking at?
bro u know any one selling rm 50 for 500gram bean ? can not tahan my office bean consume .....
SonnyCooL
post Oct 23 2017, 07:40 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Oct 23 2017, 05:11 PM)
Mister Coffee

No roast date, but very fresh. Orders above RM 60 have free shipping.
QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Oct 23 2017, 06:45 PM)
RM50 for 500g probably not but RM100 for 1kg maybe  biggrin.gif
ymeng u know any one ?
They can finish my 200 gram in two day .... really cannot tahan.

This post has been edited by SonnyCooL: Oct 23 2017, 07:44 PM
SonnyCooL
post Oct 24 2017, 03:22 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Oct 24 2017, 07:15 AM)
U serving espresso drink in your office?
yes for my own use .... but i can't said it only for high management only right ? u know kids now day, they need all trendy stuff ......
QUOTE(built @ Oct 24 2017, 01:33 PM)
haha... you have a bunch of workers who know how to appreciate good coffee.
they can do latte art and a lot better than me tongue.gif

This post has been edited by SonnyCooL: Oct 24 2017, 03:23 PM
SonnyCooL
post Oct 24 2017, 04:05 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(built @ Oct 24 2017, 03:49 PM)
tough call, man... when it has already started.
those kids may call you cheap skate when you "downgrade" the coffee beans.
i don't think they can tell the different cause i don't use original packing tongue.gif

QUOTE(lowkl @ Oct 24 2017, 04:01 PM)
Alternatively, as the boss you can institute a BYOB policy.... bring your own beans!
is already there ..... so very hard la, also they work too, just rm50 perpack for 1 to 2 day a bit over ......
SonnyCooL
post Oct 26 2017, 04:11 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(built @ Oct 24 2017, 03:49 PM)
tough call, man... when it has already started.
those kids may call you cheap skate when you "downgrade" the coffee beans.
dah kena dah ...... i forget they do read this thread ... wahahhahahaha kena saya pulak

This post has been edited by SonnyCooL: Oct 26 2017, 04:11 PM
SonnyCooL
post Nov 1 2017, 09:27 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(kuluuluk @ Nov 1 2017, 02:43 PM)
that 300gram roaster look cute.
SonnyCooL
post Nov 5 2017, 04:23 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Nov 5 2017, 04:19 PM)
It's designed to be unscrewed. Go ahead. Maybe round some rubber bands to give you some grip without scratches
There are custom tips as well to change to 4 holes, 1 hole or even blade shape
u not open today ?
SonnyCooL
post Nov 9 2017, 05:18 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Nov 9 2017, 05:16 PM)
how much is this? where u order?
Call or pm la

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top