Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

patryn33
post Sep 22 2017, 10:16 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(squallx840 @ Sep 22 2017, 01:48 AM)
To be honest, it just looks like a normal conical burr grinder to me.
Maybe the reason its so expensive its the oak wood they used for the grinder's body.
Normal 63mm conical burr that’s has zero retention can be found lower than usd$500? Can share the product?
patryn33
post Sep 23 2017, 04:51 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(squallx840 @ Sep 22 2017, 12:36 PM)
No idea tongue.gif  .

From my beginner's point of view, I can't really tell apart the difference

Noob question: Does the zero retention in the grinder can make huge difference for filter/drip coffee?
take away the coffee retention part.
63mm conical burr under usd$500 for crowd funding prices..

what is comparable and priced lower?
don't tell me BARATZA ENCORE and hario skerton all same same just one electric and the other hand powered.
40mm burr and 63mm no diff.

if U cannot taste the difference no diff certainly.
patryn33
post Oct 1 2017, 12:57 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyCat @ Sep 30 2017, 07:46 PM)
Hi ymeng85 and lowkl thank you for your inputs!

I guess I will go for the Breville Dual Boiler.

And yes, I've been told that a grinder is extremely important in espresso making and this made me much more afraid to make a choice on it.

For an entry level, which grinder is decent for home use?

I've been a barista before, part time and only got to learn to make espresso based drinks, no chance to learn the grinder part since my day job got really overwhelming sad.gif
work a total budget for the setup and plan from there.
Breville Dual Boiler ~6K

u may find some combo deals for example
http://www.finecoffeecompany.com/shop/bezz...ica-with-bb005/

patryn33
post Oct 24 2017, 07:15 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 23 2017, 07:40 PM)
ymeng u know any one ?
They can finish my 200 gram in two day .... really cannot tahan.
U serving espresso drink in your office?
patryn33
post Feb 27 2018, 08:28 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Feb 26 2018, 07:16 PM)
I see, thanks for the informative reply.

Btw, what would be the effect of grinding beans with ‘blade’ grinder?
Uneven size of grinds which lead to poor or uneven extraction.

What’s your budget?

There are such hand grinder but not cheap
http://www.oehandgrinders.com/OE-Manual-Co...inders_c_1.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Feb 27 2018, 08:33 AM
patryn33
post Feb 27 2018, 08:31 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(alvint89 @ Feb 26 2018, 11:32 PM)
If you’re serious with espresso, I would not recommend  a hand grinder because grinding for espresso takes a really long time; you’ll get tired of it and want to upgrade it later anyway. For sub 1k, can take a look at De Longhi Dedica grinder (https://m.youtube.com/watch?t=220s&v=SfQBqOGZPLQ) or a Breville grinder. I think Welhome also has some decent ones.
I hand grind daily doesn’t take that long time vs my MDX.

patryn33
post Feb 28 2018, 01:10 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Feb 27 2018, 09:20 AM)
Agreed. An advantage an electric grinder will have is the capability to let you trial-error calibrate your coffee quickly.
Espresso prep is not a fixed 1-2-3 step cos calibration is very subjective to your taste preference and also changes daily/different coffee

Also, once you have a good recipe, you would hope that the grinder is delivering the same consistency from cup to cup otherwise it may falsely throw you off on calibration causing you to waste alot of precious coffee and arm strength  tongue.gif
Green save the planet with hand grinder
Electric calibration vs hand grinder calibration is faster?
Both turn a knob in my setup. Both need to dose x grams.
Electric need to grind while adjusting may waste more coffee imho
Yes electric is faster but it’s like 5sec vs 40 sec.
Finding a good hand grinder is not easy with limited budget, at lot of write up on the issue.
patryn33
post Feb 28 2018, 01:12 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(built @ Feb 27 2018, 08:11 PM)
perhaps your info has not been updated.

there are quite a few chinese made manual grinders that will
give lido and commandante a good run for half or less than
the prices.

i consider the 600n type an entry level electric grinder and it
is cheaper than many good manual grinders.

fyi... porlex is neither here nor there. more expensive then the
hario by more than RM100 and cheaper than the Anonymous
by about RM70 or so. not worth considering imo.
Any source on the comparison? Or you compared those MIC vs lido.

Come across this but more comparing Taiwan
https://www.home-barista.com/grinders/some-...rum-t36834.html
https://www.home-barista.com/grinders/feldg...wap-t47651.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Feb 28 2018, 01:17 AM
patryn33
post Mar 3 2018, 09:36 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(built @ Feb 28 2018, 06:34 AM)
there was a direct comparison. refer to lowkl post; to nottyKitty and an
earlier posting by squall840...

i did not go to the meet up when lowkl and squall840 did a comparison
between their MICs (1Zpresso and Anonymous 2) with the exact grinders you
mentioned. they probably had a tasting too. lowkl was looking at Lido 3. i
think he is pretty happy with the MIC he now has, especially after the meet-up.
same with squall840.

these MICs built quality is good and grinds really well. among a few forumers
here, we have these MICs... Anonymous, Wonderful, Timemore and 1Zpresso.
one has a Kinu M47 too (and Wonderful). i have not got my hands to try the
Wonderful since it is in Spore but my favorite is the 1Zpresso ZPro with 48mm
Titanium coated steel burr.

do try these MICs out and you'll probably agree with me that they give those
famous brands like Lido, Commy, Helor,... a good run. keep in mind these MICs
are +/-half the price.. a Commy can buy like 3 Anonys.

I seldom trust gwai-lo forums on comparison matter especially when they get
anal and got quantitative. many of them are keyboard and cut&paste warriors.
It’s the forum after all how to trust. Local forum also plenty of keyboards warrior
Those gwai lo forums got some cool products started

1Zpresso ZPro - Taiwanese company
Lido - assemble and QC in Taiwan but some parts also China
Hard to not MIC these days even iPhone MIC

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 3 2018, 09:44 AM

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.0248sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:00 AM