NETFLIX OFFICIALLY AVAILABLE IN MALAYSIA, Finally. No DNS needed

Andrewtst
post Apr 20 2019, 12:45 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 20 2019, 10:41 AM)
right... that's how they do biz, get enough subscribers for high squeezed streaming.
qualitywise, only the less discerning can't tell.
which is why i don't even want to watch on netflix when i get get a better alternative for certain titles.
netflix is great for convenience and easy use for the whole family.
not the best choice if u go for high quality video and audio, assuming u have the equipment, of course.
correct.

now compare that to a 4k hdr atmos/dtsx bluray disc or equivalent of 80gb.
the bit rate works out to be 88 mbps - 5-6 times higher - u can already imagine the diff.
in other words, u r doing a disservice to yr tv (and good audio system) if u rely on netlfix! tongue.gif
Actually I only watch Netflix for TV series (origin or not origin) and some Netflix origin movie, others movies not origin from Netflix is all HD and 5.1 DD+ only where I don't watch either. Haha!

Maybe one day will be able to stream quality of 4K UHD blu-ray when everybody is on 5G. Haha!

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Apr 20 2019, 12:47 PM
Andrewtst
post Apr 20 2019, 01:36 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 20 2019, 01:33 PM)
I completely agree.. Keeping my account for donkey years is primarily due to their original production, the ease of access to titles and navigation. Waifu is able to navigate Netflix and YouTube apps on the TV far easier than even UnifiTV remote.. Android box? Despite the years.. Never seen her fire it up for use.. Only time it's in use is when I'm around and then we can watch stuff.. Else, nope.. TV apps strictly. As long as she happy.. Pay lor..  laugh.gif
Netflix originals are god sent.. Truly what media should be. Collect and pump into good original content and next month. I'll throw my money at you again.. Haha

The day is here actually.. No need wait. TIME 1GBPS got.. Wait 5G? Later we all cancer.. tongue.gif  I'm quite torn about the whole 5G saga.. To install or not.. How about they focus first on completely supplying stable and fast 4G everywhere?
Yup, Neflix origin is god sent.

Hahaha! 5G already tested by all telco now, high possible releasing coming 2021 in Malaysia. Soon we all get microwave heavy and die faster! oops...

TIME very less place have, mostly in commercial area only. So it got nothing to do with me as I can't have it.
Andrewtst
post Apr 20 2019, 01:42 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 20 2019, 01:38 PM)
I guess hit by truck or die cancer.. All die is die.. laugh.gif
Hahaha! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif
Andrewtst
post Jun 1 2019, 12:30 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ May 31 2019, 06:08 PM)
VCD not most failed lah. Most failed is LD. VCD was very popular here and in some Asian countries.

Last time Pasar Malam openly sell porn VCDs like sell vege...lol...right in front of police station somemore.
Hahaha! Agree LD is fail everywhere. VCD is format fail not the product fail. tongue.gif
Andrewtst
post Jun 28 2019, 11:13 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Jun 28 2019, 10:53 AM)
VCD didn't really fail in terms of popularity at that time. It was very popular for pasar malam movies 😁. When it was out the only available practical storage medium was CD. Quality of course wasn't good due to the low capacity of CD (650mb) . Must use 2 disc for one low quality movie.

However it did help pave the way for DVD which appeared later which was a big improvement because of the capacity 4.7gb single layer/ 8.5 gb double layer.

Then came Blu-ray of course 25gb single/50 gb double layer.
The VCD itself not fail. I mean the format. smile.gif
Andrewtst
post Feb 18 2020, 12:56 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Feb 18 2020, 12:25 AM)
Yeh , I did search for some famous movie like avenger , those are not available even at US but available at other country.
I wonder , it is because Malaysia company like astr0/cinemas CSG/TVG doesn't allow those movie to play on netflix or Malaysia didn't buy from netflix copyright? or the studio like Marvel Studios doesn't allow netflix to play their movie on Malaysia ?
Lastly or Malaysia Film Censorship Board block them ? but avenger is like a normal movie.
Thank you notworthy.gif I can search the movie I want to watch knowing which country available , so it follow singapore ?.Thanks.
Avengers is Marvel and Marvel is bought by Disney. Anything bought by Disney is start leaving Netflix when license expired, 1st country leaving is USA, others slowing follow when the license is ended.

You won't get movies from Marvel, Fox Studio and also Disney because Disney is releasing Disney+ and refusing license to Netflix anymore especially main target on USA. For others country that depends on whether Netflix want to continue the license or not. Disney still license to Netflix for country others than USA because Disney+ only release in USA. Once Disney+ release worldwide then anything related to Disney will not appear at Netflix.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Feb 18 2020, 01:06 AM
Andrewtst
post Feb 19 2020, 08:32 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Feb 19 2020, 06:06 AM)
I heard before last year where disney wanted to form their subscription tvshow+.I didn't know they did all of it within a year.Wonder how most smart tv able to update and get Disney+ channel added into the list.I am sure netflix will come out a solution worst come , like pay to watch disney on netflix apps since it would be best solution not to subscribe extra disney+. Whether disney allow is another story.
Soon , we need to get another service for extra subscription channel sad.gif
hope in future , having 2 is more than enough splitting it into disney+ , apple tv ,netflix ,iflix , Google play TV and etc. Wonder how we manage to subscribe all of it. sweat.gif
Disney had this idea for quite sometimes already. It is consider very slow compare with what Apple did. Within a year complete Apple TV+ for worldwide subscription. Also now Samsung, LG and Vizio since year 2019 TV already added in support of Apple TV+. LG even promote in main page (popup row) of it smart apps.

Disney+ won't appear at Netflix apps. Also may not so fast appear worldwide.

In future Netflix is leading or not, not sure as Disney+ is something, Apple TV+ wise still need sometimes to increase the catalogue. For the moment Netflix still leading. Netflix had plenty of Netflix origin TV series and movies which make people subscribe to it. It is also obvious Netflix is towards Asian catalogue now which is good. smile.gif

For iFlix, the quality still bad and they need to improve on that. But it is freaking cheap though.

Google Play TV is same as Apple movies (not the Apple TV+), paid/rent per movie. No subscription for all movies. In this case they is no impact.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Feb 19 2020, 08:40 AM
Andrewtst
post Feb 19 2020, 05:20 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 19 2020, 12:43 PM)
Which region plays parasite?
Parasite is too new to be available in Netflix. No region have it.
Andrewtst
post Apr 17 2020, 10:55 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ Apr 17 2020, 07:48 AM)
Hi netflix members, may I know whether i can get atmos sound in certain movies? What I know, movie such as 6 underground come with DD+ atmos but my AVR only process it as DD surround.
Did your AVR support Dolby Atmos? If not then you won't get Dolby Atmos.
Andrewtst
post Apr 17 2020, 01:41 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ Apr 17 2020, 11:07 AM)
Sure support atmos. If i play mkv file use zidoo media player, it process as atmos track. Is it because HDMI ARC or tv itself must support atmos? I set my HDMI to ARC bitstream.
QUOTE(capoi @ Apr 17 2020, 12:54 PM)
Thank you for the info. Last night i just read about netflix on Kodi. Will explore and see whether can work or not if i run kodi from my player.
KODI Netflix if not wrong support up to HD only, you will lost 4K and HDR (maybe).

In short - both side must support to get Dolby Atmos.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Apr 17 2020, 01:42 PM
Andrewtst
post Apr 17 2020, 01:46 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 17 2020, 09:05 AM)
Alot content not here.. now use vpn also cannot.. anyone still using expressvpn? Wanna watch code 8 but dont have..
I watch it last time around December, 2019. Shocking why it became No. 1 now at Netflix USA.

Ok la, can watch but not perfect, 3 Star.

Andrewtst
post Apr 17 2020, 08:17 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 17 2020, 06:49 PM)
ya now is no.1 netflix USA lol.. cant find 4k release lol, wait netflix MY release..
Lol. You won't find 4K version as this movie had not release in 4K yet.
Andrewtst
post May 2 2020, 11:23 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 30 2020, 11:29 PM)
wanna check the netflix bitrate for 4k is like 7.6mbps only.. but max i see is 25mbits they say right? and also at reddit i saw ppl saying 15mbps like tat for 4k.. is it due to covid-19 they reduce malaysia punya bitrate?
Default is around 15mbps bitrate and yes Netflix had reduce the bitrate worldwide include Malaysia during this Covid-19 period.

25mbps is minimum speed recommended by Netflix for stream 4K film, not means their 4K film is 25mbps bitrate.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 2 2020, 11:24 PM
Andrewtst
post Jun 5 2020, 01:46 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jun 4 2020, 03:05 PM)
Can ask.  Is there any place to setup hdr?  Or is it automatic
Automatically switch if the film is HDR.

You won't get HDR and not even HD if your device is not certified by Netflix.
For TV bundle Netflix app, should be 100% certified and no issue.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 5 2020, 01:46 AM
Andrewtst
post Jul 5 2020, 02:30 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(FunkyBass @ Jul 2 2020, 12:03 AM)
I just notice if watch movie / series with 4k ultrahd label in netflix ...my tv picture setting not go for hdr setting...

Why ah..?
Netflix cant play both 4k ultra hd with hdr content?
if you can't find any title label HDR or Dolby Vision, then your TV Netflix apps may not support it. Try check Okja label as HDR or Dolby Vision or not, if not then your TV Netflix or TV box Netflix not supporting it.

Title label as 4K UltraHD is 4K SDR title not 4K HDR title.

If your TV support Dolby Vision in Netflix then you will seen HDR title label as Dolby Vision else it will label as HDR.

Also not all titles in HDR especially not Netflix Original title.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 5 2020, 02:34 AM
Andrewtst
post Jul 5 2020, 11:35 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(FunkyBass @ Jul 5 2020, 09:20 AM)
Yup...i can find title label hdr and my tv picture setting will automatically go for hdr setting....

But if title label 4k uhd...tv picture setting will not go for hdr setting
Because this is what Netflix label.

UltraHD 4K - 4K SDR
HDR - 4K HDR
Dolby Vision - 4K HDR for TV support Dolby Vision.

For HDR, certain show may only 1080p instead of 4K but most is 4K.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 5 2020, 02:27 PM
Andrewtst
post Jul 5 2020, 12:48 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Jun 24 2020, 10:45 PM)
Is it me or the bitrate has increased and picture quality improved?
Nope, just check still same as 7.62 Mbps instead of 15 Mbps.

Netflix didn't return back the actual quality yet.
Andrewtst
post Jul 5 2020, 11:59 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Jul 5 2020, 09:03 PM)
Thank you for the sugggestion bro, i will giv a try on how to get away with murder.

13 reason why was interesting , but up to season 3. I stopped watching season 4 after few episodes.

Damn i just completed season 3 DARK. seriously no idea what i watched. Too much of head spinning, i guess have to get paper and write down to connect all incident and characters. 1 world twist managed to understand, brought in another world to make it complicated, not stopped yet 3rd world confusion. Eventually i do not remember what chracters from what years and from what world. Too much of KNOTS to untie.
What you know is a drop, what you dont know is ocean.
Conclusion is, your past made by future. When you reach future it is goes back to past to find out how it happened.
I do not want to go back to season 1 2 3 again.
FULL STOP.
13 reason why season 4 is final season, why don't just finish it.

For Dark, it is very confusing, i agree. Somebody had did a summary to make you more understand. Haha! Current season is final as well.

https://www.imdb.com/video/imdb/vi2218704409/
Andrewtst
post Jul 8 2020, 10:57 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Jul 7 2020, 10:06 PM)
13 reason why final season not thrill as 1 2 3. Personally i felt so. It was good when the plot behind hannah suicide and bryce murder, aftet that the thrill gone.

DARK cheat sheet ? Its merely looks like summarized video of season 1 and 2. I doubt this going to clear all the confusion hahaha. Season 1 and season 2 still ok but season 3 confused hell of all shit. Probably they purposely made the plot to be confusing so the viewers can keep talking about it or rewatch it.
Sometime too much of confusion also can make audience feel irritatiting as if the story was not organized well.

Hahaha
Haha. Understood.

13 reason why to me
season 1 was freaking awesome.
season 2 is ok
season 3 nah
season 4 better than season 3

Dark I haven't finish season 3 yet, currently pending. Haha!

Andrewtst
post Jul 8 2020, 10:58 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jul 8 2020, 10:52 AM)
Ughh anyone using Minix U9-H for Netflix?

I have:
UBP-X700 - Netflix app doesn't support Atmos
PS4 - Netflix app doesn't support Atmos
Minix U9-H - Netflix app doesn't support Atmos but i heard using Kodi there is?

If Minix U9-H doesn't support Netflix Atmos as well then i might have to buy Nvidia Shield TV / Apple TV sweat.gif
or buy New TV with Dolby Atmos support. tongue.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0538sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:53 PM