8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

TStimothyy
post Dec 21 2006, 05:43 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 20 2006, 09:36 PM)
Yeah, but 1930 is still using Faroudja solution but it's only RM1200  so shouldn't expect much for this price. Yeah, the 2930 has the new Teranex chip but 3930 is the main star, using Silicon Optix Realta chip, that chip is totally flawless and was highly rated by most Hi-Fi magazines but it costs about RM5K plus, I wouldn't mind buying it if it plays either Blu-Rays or HD-DVDs or even better, both.  wink.gif For a hefty price to play standard definition dvds, that's an overkill I guess.

RM1200 for Denon 1930? Tell me where? I'll cancel my Oppo and go for Denon... pls pls...

TStimothyy
post Dec 22 2006, 09:32 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 22 2006, 01:59 AM)
I thought it is easily found in KL, I just know the Hi-Fi shops in Penang. Can you try asking CMY Audio since they do carry Denon products or maybe those Hi-Fi shops in Low Yat Plaza? Seriously, Denon 1930 is not suitable for playing back those DTS 9 ahem dvds. Don't say I didn't warn ya, it's a tad more sensitive than Pioneer dvd players and the Faroudja solution has some marcoblocking issues (no matter how much they have tweaked it, it is still present especially if you watch animes or movies like Monster Inc, Toy Story, etc). If you're playing mostly originals, then, just forget what I have said, just go ahead and buy it but if your collection consists more on those ahem ones, you better think twice, don't say I didn't warn ya. Just a friendly advice.  sweat.gif
I guess this is the problem with Malaysia. We have only 1 choice... and that is ahem DVDs. Non-ahem DVDs will only be sold in places like Speedy Videos or Ezy Videos. The price is OK but HECK!!!! They censored it.!!!! What the fun of it? Quality wise... it is still bad. Unless we buy overseas DVDs... real original DVDs. Again... Custom Malaysia will be eyeing on your product.

Anyway, so, you mean you got your Denon in Penang? OK... I will try and shop around in KL/PJ. Get some really lousy DVDs and ask them to play. laugh.gif laugh.gif

Hey... sunauto... wht is macro block?

TStimothyy
post Dec 22 2006, 01:58 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 22 2006, 09:49 AM)
Nope, not me, my friend bought his Denon in Penang, I accompanied him, the price he paid was RM1190 actually but selling is around RM1200, we nego for more than half an hour for the 10 bucks.  sweat.gif 

Well, not all original dvds are censored, the latest Berjaya HVN, Warner, Sony Pictures dvds sold in Speedy Videos are not censored, I can personally assure you that and even the folks from Speedy Videos said it out loud, if they're censored, they'll refund my money or allow me to choose another title. The government has relaxed the censorship thingy these days, you can even watch The Passion Of Christ without a scene cut from the movie. Even Date Movie Unrated Version, V For Vandetta, Supernatural Season 1, etc are all uncut. They're only RM29.90 to RM139.90 for all region 3 titles, they're imported from Asian countries and are as good as region 1 titles, minus the special packaging only. I'm still buying those original region 3 titles as they're of good quality and slightly cheaper too so if you're mostly buying those, then don't worry about which dvd player to get but if you're also interested to watch ahem dvds which I think all of us do too, be careful as the quality of our ahem dvds are becoming from bad to worst, most discs are warped and have fine scratches on them, our ahem dvds were much better 5 years ago and ever since they have reduced the prices, the quality takes a hit and some new movies including serials are even burnt on poor quality dvd-rs which have compatibility problems with most dvd players, it's not because of your player, it's because that these dvd-rs are inferior, probably the surface is not that reflective, causing the picture to freeze or skip because some players are unable to read and play them properly.

With prices of original region 3 titles dropping fast, I guess it will be pointless to buy ahem dvds anymore. I'm happy with most of the imported region 3 titles sold in Speedy Videos, so far, so good, just wished that they could bring in Narnia and King Kong Extended Editions asap, I'm waiting for them impatiently.

If you're buying the Denon, bring along a few dvds of your own personal collection to test it, my advice will be using RCE protected region 1 titles like The Patriot, Charlie Angels, etc to test it and a few ahem dvds, local ones or those China made ones for compatibility tests. Never rely on those demo discs from the shop, most of them are using reference quality discs to demo it, imagine those THX and DTS demo dvds, of course the picture will look good especially on those professional authored dvds, don't be fooled by them. Bring along your own movies, the ones that you usually watch and you'll know how good the picture is on the player itself.  smile.gif
Ha! Ha! .. Like this, I need to do Christmas shopping for the Denon already.

Anyway, at the same time, I will go Speedy to check it out as well. Never go in for many years. HA! Ha!

TStimothyy
post Dec 23 2006, 09:55 PM

4,504 posts

Happy Christmas Shopping to u guys.

TStimothyy
post Dec 25 2006, 02:13 PM

4,504 posts

Arrgghhh... All AV shops are closed. Guess I got to go shopping during office hour.... Ha! Ha!...
TStimothyy
post Dec 26 2006, 12:05 AM

4,504 posts

Nope!!! 100% no bonus. My boss follows financial year to give out bonus and usually its not more than 1 month.

I wanna get the player because my house is so messy. Just leaving everything everywhere and unless I finish this project... I know my house gonna look like this... total messy.
TStimothyy
post Dec 26 2006, 09:21 PM

4,504 posts

LH Electrical Shop in Purchong offers me RM1530 for the Denon 1930. Arrgghhh... crazy.
TStimothyy
post Dec 28 2006, 08:12 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 27 2006, 12:42 AM)
Ehhh ...... why so expensive pulak?  rclxub.gif Got any free gifts or things given, ar? No bonus, ar? I guess you're based on 13 month salary thingy, izzit? No lah, just a wild guess but not everyone got their bonus this year, mine is only one month to be frank, if two months good lah, can buy PS3.  doh.gif  Just joking, if I have the money also I won't buy that lah. Waste of money, no good games yet.  cry.gif

Anyway, try asking other shops and see, shouldn't be that expensive ler. So weird. How do they derive to this figure.  hmm.gif
OK... went shop around last few days.
Mideaplex selling it for RM2100 (Denon 1930). A shop in SS2 PJ selling it for RM16xx. and another selling it at RM1550. Anyway, brought 2 of my worst DVD collection to test it in the SS2 shop which were plugged onto a 50" Pioneer Plasma.

Donno whether they did not do the setting but it seems like the picture output was lousy. Then, when they tried my super warped Die Another Day DVD, the picture quality was good. But it stopped playing after few chapters.

I tried the disc again on a Philips (non HDMI) and it finished the whole disc until subtitle come out. So, I guess Philips does earns the King Of All Players title.

I also tried on Samsung 950 HDMI on a Samsung R7 40" LCD. I'd say... what a crap!!!Ha! Ha!...

But after trying on other LCDs using component... comparing frame by frame... This is my conclusion on playing HDMI output using demo DVD.

-->You will notice grainy pictures. Very obvious when it comes to shades of black. The Demo DVD was playing a clip from I,Robot and it was bad. When I switched to component video onto another LVD display, it seems like that particular shade is soften where as for the HDMI, it is sharpen.

But of course, you will notice that component output was more boxy...(notice the pirated VCD) but on the HDMI, u actually get cleaner picture.

Conclusion, overall HDMI does make the picture sharper and cleaner in term of frames, no jaggy edges but I just hate the noise...
I should have brought my camera to take some pics.

Anyway, so, I guess I'll still wait for my Oppo 981. Hopefully I will be able to get it by early next month. And I will do a thorough review here.

By the way, anyone of you using Xbox 360 to upscale DVDs? I mean it has HD-DVD built in and DVI output... how does it perform in upscaling to 720p or 1080i? May be... instead of getting a HDMI DVD, I can get the Xbox 360. 1 stone kills 2 birds...what u guys think?

TStimothyy
post Dec 28 2006, 08:53 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 28 2006, 08:22 PM)
I guess I can answer this question since I have a XBOX 360 and the HD-DVD add on, the answer is no, the XBOX 360 doesn't upscale standard dvds and that's the same goes for PS3 too. I know it sucks but it's true. The XBOX 360 seems to play warped dvds pretty well but just that it doesn't upscale them.

Regarding the Denon dvd player, you need to set it to Auto 1 and do some tweaking with the colours with a DVD Essentials dvd, straight from the box, the colour tones are slightly of but if compared with my Sony 76H, I prefer the upscale picture on my Sony, it's smoother and sharper. You gotta try to give Sony 76H a test drive before getting the Oppo. No lah, I'm not stopping you to get an Oppo, just wanna make sure you won't regret mah since you have already test Denon, Philips and Samsung, no harm giving Sony a test drive lor, right?  smile.gif
Seriously... I am thinking of the Sony 76H. The problem is... I have no place to test it. Arrrgghhh... All the sales staff so sucks when its time to test. They never bother you. Even Sony Wing.

I think this weekend I will go to Sony Wing in the Curve again. If OK, I'll buy it. Its seems like every shop also selling at RM590 and retail price is RM599.00. Why aren't there any shop throwing price for this model? Arrggh... I go KL test tomorrow. Ha! Ha!.
TStimothyy
post Dec 28 2006, 11:28 PM

4,504 posts

Actually, I have not tested Oppo as well. But I have tested Samsung 950 and Denon 1930.

I think any HDMI DVD Player might give my projector a good outcome as long as there is no problem with the player like conflicts and things like that. Yeah... I will go for a try.

TOMORROW.... drool.gif drool.gif
TStimothyy
post Dec 29 2006, 09:24 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 29 2006, 02:49 AM)
From my personal experience, the 92V from Sony has a shifting issue when upscaled to 1080i via the projector and some HDTV panels, the problem has been corrected with the 76H model and picture quality wise, both models are comparable, the only difference is 92V plays SACD and 76H does not, it plays them but you won't get SACD sound quality, if you can live with that, 76H is a good choice but if you want all in one, then Denon 1930 is your best bet but Denon's 2930 is the main star as it pawns most high end dvd players costing twice its price but now worth buying that now, with the price, you can get a HD-DVD or Blu-Ray player, why bother getting such an expensive dvd player, right?  sweat.gif
Arrgghh... cry.gif cry.gif

Talk about Denon again. The problem with Denon is, there is no standard pricing. Their list price for 1930 is RM2350. And those AV Shops just simply bang a price thinking people these days don't do research. But I believe many rich buggers do that. They'll go to an AV shop and say... "oi... I have RM1mil... I want buy home theater. I want big big speaker, big big sub, big big amplifier, and big big TV. "

Then the shop will just sharpen their knifes and start giving you all the craps until you confused and buy everything.

For example... GOLD PLATED HDMI cable. He! HE!.

Anyway... I think I will go for the Sony until better players come out. (only if my testing is good)

TStimothyy
post Dec 29 2006, 05:36 PM

4,504 posts

Guess what guys? I bought the Sony 76H. Ha! Ha! Ha! Went to a Sony Wing in Paramount PJ. Sold it to me at RM575.00 using credit card. So, I guess its ok. I know after new year the price gonna drop. But heck, the guy was accomodating, helping me trying the player with 3 DVDs I brought. Couldn't play 1 of it. Ha! Ha!

Anyway, I believe even if you have HDTV, be careful. Different TV might give different output. And until to date, all LCDs I tried (just now Sony, day before Samsung), they all sux.

So, I am going to try it tonight using my projector. And most prob I will take picture and post it up here. I will compare S-Video and HDMI-Same player, S Video and HDMI-different player and compare each shot. I will make sure it is on the same screen and the picture is taken with the same aperture and speed.

So, no more Oppo.

Anyway, based on the testing at the shop just now, I think Sony is still more sensitive than the Philips. He! hE!
TStimothyy
post Dec 29 2006, 10:48 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 29 2006, 10:25 PM)
Wah, RM575? That's a good price because the lowest I can get is RM590. They gave you discount even you paid it with credit card? That's great.

Huh? Cannot play any of your ahem dvds?  hmm.gif  That's strange, I had no problems with my poor quality ahem dvds. This is something strange but did you test other movies on it? I'm sure you'll love the picture quality especially if it's hooked up on a Sony Bravia (the normal type S or V series). Honestly, the Sony 76H looked nicer on a Sony Bravia, Panasonic Viera, Toshiba Regza than Samsung's R7 LCD tv. That's based on my personal observation.

Yeah, yeah, do post some pictures here. Does your projector support component video too? If yes, do include it as a comparison with HDMI output but do take note that 76H only upscale to 720P or 1080i resolution via HDMI only and you must check the maximum resolution that your projector can support as some projectors only support up to 720P resolution.

Anyway, congratulations for getting a 76H, I have three units in my house, one in the living hall, one in my room and one in my gf's house (she's using it to watch those ahem Chinese and Korean serials on dvds)  tongue.gif
Wah... gila one... 3 units??? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Anyway, tested it and its superb on "Cars". It looks flawless. But on other moview, yeah... I still see the noise. Its not because its not good but because basically 720p or 1080i, the details is higher compared to 480... so, you see the shades in grain instead of a patch...

Anyway... will post the pics later. Still testing it...

TStimothyy
post Dec 30 2006, 12:06 AM

4,504 posts

Red, blue or green...
All the TVs and LCDs and Plamas are calibrated or adjusted to "fool" buyers.
If you really need real color as in the producer of the film intended to show to you, you need to get a calibration disc to help you to adjust all the colors, contrast and brightness. Thats what I understand.

Anyway, on LCDs, what I heard is Sharp has the most winning award for their good LCDs.

When you are spending this money, the best is, dont look at the price first. Surf internet and search for reviews. After that, make a trip to the electrical shop to test it. Try testing using your own DVDs and ask them to put on Astro sports.

Choose the one that suites you most and not people tell you too.
TStimothyy
post Dec 30 2006, 07:47 AM

4,504 posts

I have not done any setting on it yet. Currently put it on Standard.

I still have not go through the manual to see every fuctions in it. Seems a bit complicated compared to my JVC.

About the noise, I will try later today. Now, I got to go to work. Ha! Ha!...

Anyway, about posting pics, I wanted to post last night but the earthquake-Internet speed problem made me gave up. He! He!

Anyway... will try again later today.
TStimothyy
post Dec 31 2006, 12:49 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 30 2006, 10:47 AM)
Yeah, the internet bandwidth is pretty slow, I can't even attach a document with my Yahoo Mail. Tried more than 10 times yesterday.  sweat.gif Doesn't seem like an earthquake to me, probably Godzilla tripped the submarine cables and fell down so we thought it was an earthquake.  hmm.gif  After all Japan is pretty near to Taiwan.  laugh.gif 

Well, from my personal experience, Cinema 1 is the best setting for my display, my friend is using Cinema 2 for his Panasonic Plasma Tv so it's pretty subjective I guess. It has more sub menus than other players but if you want better picture and sound quality, do invest in Belkin's Surgemaster Gold Series, it filters the noise from the power source of our electrical outlets in our house, there was a marked improvement from my unit. It's no audiophile quality stuff but it works to a certain degree. I guess you can get one from All IT Hypermart. If not, if you have the cash to spare, I'll recommend VDH B16A power cord with Wirewold Tundra shielded multi socket connector, both are audiophile grade components and will cost you at least RM1800 (estimated figure). I'm planning to buy but instead, I got a handphone for myself. Have to put it on hold. CNY coming so maybe later I guess.  sweat.gif

If I'm in your shoes, I'll be so distracted and won't feel like working today. I will apply leave and stay at home to watch LOTR on the Sony 76H.  laugh.gif
Ha! Ha!... Well, I've been like that since the day I got my projector. laugh.gif laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway, I don't think I will be investing on the power code but most prob I will put an AVR for my player and projector. Nope... its not because I want to have better quality... I just can't take the risk having my projector bulb blown. It will cost me around RM1600-1700.

Anyway, I noticed that my projector projects a brighter pic with S Video compared to HDMI. Anyway, have purchased my calibration DVD... Will see how.
TStimothyy
post Dec 31 2006, 10:33 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 31 2006, 09:00 AM)
Denon is being distributed by IMS in Malaysia. The price diff might be dealers undercutting each other.
I am not sure. I called up Denon Singapore and hey gave me Wo Kee Hong's shop number.

Anyway, bought my HDMI player and I guess it doesn't matter.

QUOTE("sunauto")
Well, your statement isn't 100% correct as I've 9 HD-DVD titles here, there's still some slight grain and noise too if you observe them carefully but where the HD-DVD excels will be the colours and sharpness, the movie looks more lifelike and 3 dimensional, it's like watching a whole new movie again evenf or older titles too. If you're not sitting that close to your display, you won't notice the imperfections that clearly even for dvds but sometimes, you can put the blame entirely on dvds if you're playing them on a Cap Ayam dvd player bought from Tesco, if the play is only 80 bucks, then even the best authored dvd will still look ugly. Go to CMY Audio, Gurney Plaza and ask them to test your dvd on their Denon 5930 which is connected to their Hitachi LCD, you'll notice that the picture quality is far superior than what you've seen on normal dvd players so sometimes, it's not the format alone to be blamed. Standard dvds don't hold a candle to next gen ones but they're not inferior either, at least miles better than laserdiscs, vcds or video tapes too.

Well, for sure equipment plays a role. That's why there are so much price difference. In chinese saying, 1 sen pay, 1 sen goods.

Anyway, for Audio, sometimes it is pure physics to improve your audio quality. And high end equipment manufacturers make it as if its their technology and engineering that make their equipment sound so good.

My friend/colleague used to help all the "Mat Salleh" to modify their amps and improve their sound quality by simple modifications like changing to better transistors, put dark green masking tape inside the CD player, using 1 sen coin on the wall to get a good sound reflection, squash ball for isolators and many.

Anyway, at the end, you will still need good quality disc to play. At 1 point, I still believe Laser Disc has very good quality output. Just that, it is of analog output. Comparing with normal D9 DVDs, I think LAser disc have better contrast and color. I still have a Laser Disc player and some great titles. But recently hooked it up on my projector, the result was bad. Not because the quality was not good but more like my LD player got problem. Kakakaka tongue.gif tongue.gif
TStimothyy
post Jan 1 2007, 01:03 PM

4,504 posts

Why you want to choose a brand that have doubts all over? Every other forum is talking about Samsung's problem, especially on the HDMI world.

sunauto... guess what... I have yet to watch a full legth movie using my Sony 76H. Ha! Ha!... laugh.gif

Must test it out today.
TStimothyy
post Jan 2 2007, 08:09 PM

4,504 posts

Haiz... back to the Malaysian problem again. I guess its hard for all of us to test the players in Malaysia. My bro in law says when he was in UK, he can go to an AV shop and test everyday and the sales guy will still smilingly help even if you don't buy.

In Malaysia, even if you take out the cash, they still don't bother as if they only make RM10 for a DVD player!!!! And this is what they always claim. Oh PULEEEEEAAAASSSEEEE!!!!!
TStimothyy
post Jan 3 2007, 10:16 AM

4,504 posts

OK... when it comes to component and HDMI... the good part about HDMI is the signal is pure digital. So, you don't have to worry about current interference. I notice this on my JVC. Very obvious. But on HDMI, the screen is like a poster. It doesn't move at all.

As for movies... wow... I love watching "Cars". Every shot is like a poster. No flaws. 120" screen somore. Wowow...

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0403sec    1.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:05 PM