25 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Think of trading in your car? Need the value?, Trade in value? Procedures? Docs needed?

TSTOMEI-R
post Dec 24 2015, 09:21 AM, updated 3y ago

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

As per title, I am a used car dealer by profession and I can try to answer any questions pertaining to

1) Your current car trade in value

2) Procedures on dealing with the banks

3) Procedures with transferring ownership of your car

4) JPJ procedures

5) Do's and Don'ts so you would not get conned or get yourself in trouble

6) Any procedures regarding buying a new or used car

You are welcomed to ask anything regarding the above on this thread and I try will answer your questions the best that I can. nod.gif

Or you can pm me if you feel that you need to ask me in private. nod.gif

Faq

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Dec 24 2015, 12:45 PM
teikwing
post Dec 24 2015, 09:27 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

Great job for starting this for educating the general F&F public.

Just an idea -perhaps a A to Z procedure guide for a buyer & seller perspective when buying/selling a used car? From the point of concluding a deal via deposit all the way to banks & JPJ checks?

Hope all can keep spams at minimum by getting trade-in value questions in asked and answered in private.
TSTOMEI-R
post Dec 24 2015, 09:33 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Dec 24 2015, 09:27 AM)
Great job for starting this for educating the general F&F public.

Just an idea -perhaps a A to Z procedure guide for a buyer & seller perspective when buying/selling a used car? From the point of concluding a deal via deposit all the way to banks & JPJ checks?

Hope all can keep spams at minimum by getting trade-in value questions in asked and answered in private.
Thanks.. notworthy.gif

Will do so once I have access to my pc or laptop in the office, Im typing this through my Ipad right now and its not really comfortable to type too long. nod.gif
teeyao888
post Dec 24 2015, 09:47 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 24 2015, 09:21 AM)
As per title, I am a used car dealer by proffesion and I can try to answer any questions pertaining to
1) Your current car trade in value

2) Procedures on dealing with the banks

3) Procedures with transferring ownership of your car

4) JPJ procedures

5) Do's and Don'ts so you would not get conned or get yourself in trouble

6) Any procedures regarding buying a new or used car
You are welcomed to ask anything regarding the above on this thread and I try will answer your questions the best that I can. nod.gif

Or you can pm me if you feel that you need to ask me in private. nod.gif
Hey There

I have a very question that is in need of your help.

I am planing to buy a car directly from the owner, the car is in Miri Sarawak and I would like to transfer that car to KL, so what are the procedures/

1) Bank loan, do I apply bank loan the same way as buying from a car dealer?
2) Car registration, when the car comes to KL, can I register a new number plate for it?

TSTOMEI-R
post Dec 24 2015, 12:21 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(teeyao888 @ Dec 24 2015, 09:47 AM)
Hey There

I have a very question that is in need of your help.

I am planing to buy a car directly from the owner, the car is in Miri Sarawak and I would like to transfer that car to KL, so what are the procedures/

2) Car registration, when the car comes to KL, can I register a new number plate for it?

Shipping is available. Costs is btw Rm2 to 4k depending on mode and type of shipping you want.

Do take note that nowadays, most banks won't do direct cases for loans anymore. Means you have to go through the dealer. If the car your are buying is still under loan by the previous buyer, you or your seller would have to settle the bank loan first before you get another loan.

Yes.

All in all, I would suggest you buy from here as it is costly and there is much hassle buying from Sabah / Sarawak.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Dec 24 2015, 12:46 PM
riezzien
post Dec 24 2015, 02:22 PM

107 posts

Question:
Usually used car dealer profit margin is how much?
Say im selling 2010 Myvi full spec for example

This post has been edited by riezzien: Dec 24 2015, 02:23 PM
tpleong
post Dec 24 2015, 06:19 PM

803 posts

Are you buying 2nd hand car ?

TSTOMEI-R
post Dec 26 2015, 05:39 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(riezzien @ Dec 24 2015, 02:22 PM)
Question:
Usually used car dealer profit margin is how much?
Say im selling 2010 Myvi full spec for example
Or are you rather asking for the trade in price?
ganz
post Dec 26 2015, 05:48 PM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

Bro.. uGPM..
EnergyAnalyst
post Dec 28 2015, 02:45 PM

4,138 posts

Hi TS

Can I ask you a million dollar questions:

Do Toyota STILL has the best resale Value?

Or the rules of 20-25% first year value loss followed by 2nd and third year of further 15% each , then 10% value loss yearly from 4th year onwards still apply across the board?

Or has the current scene change that ratio /rules ?
TSTOMEI-R
post Dec 29 2015, 06:37 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Dec 28 2015, 02:45 PM)
Hi TS

Can I ask you a million dollar questions:

Do Toyota STILL has the best resale Value?

Or the rules of 20-25% first year value loss followed by 2nd and third year of further 15% each , then 10% value loss yearly from 4th year onwards still apply across the board?

Or has the current scene change that ratio /rules ?
I would say the resale value would really depend on the popularity of the car. Even not all models of Toyotas still can command high resale value nowadays. As new and better models of cars are coming out by the buckloads, new car prices getting cheaper and cheaper, market is getting more and more competitive.
EnergyAnalyst
post Dec 29 2015, 06:59 PM

4,138 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 29 2015, 06:37 PM)
I would say the resale value would really depend on the popularity of the car. Even not all models of Toyotas still can command high resale value nowadays. As new and better models of cars are coming out by the buckloads, new car prices getting cheaper and cheaper, market is getting more and more competitive.
Hence the argument. TV is NOt brand dependant and rather model dependant? We can see popularity of certain car models are giving way to competing models, e.g. Honda City is more popular than Vios now (judging by sales number ) , does that mean RV for City wold be better

Some actually argue RV of rare cars hold up value better than common cars, based on your experience, any truth in that argument?

lifeless_creature
post Dec 29 2015, 11:57 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

quick 1, if my current car still have 2yrs loan, I need to settle the loan before I can sell off, correct? Or, can I take the money (or loan) from the buyer first to pay off my loan?
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 30 2015, 12:02 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

I have a Myvi 5 years old and loan 9 years.
If i would to sell it off, would i have any extra cash after finish off the loan?

Or, if i sell to a friend via sambung-bayar, how is the price being calculated?
TSTOMEI-R
post Dec 30 2015, 08:31 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(lifeless_creature @ Dec 29 2015, 11:57 PM)
quick 1, if my current car still have 2yrs loan, I need to settle the loan before I can sell off, correct? Or, can I take the money (or loan) from the buyer first to pay off my loan?
Your buyer or you will need to come out with the cash to settle the loan.
TSTOMEI-R
post Dec 30 2015, 08:33 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 30 2015, 12:02 AM)
I have a Myvi 5 years old and loan 9 years.
If i would to sell it off, would i have any extra cash after finish off the loan?
Or, if i sell to a friend via sambung-bayar, how is the price being calculated?
That you would need to check with the banks. Sambung bayar is a total no no. You know the risks already.
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 30 2015, 08:55 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 30 2015, 08:33 AM)
That you would need to check with the banks. Sambung bayar is a total no no. You know the risks already.
Ofcourse i know, but its a very trusted friend.

I just duno how to count the price for sambung bayar.
Coz im pretty sure the loan balance is higher than the car's worth now.
lifeless_creature
post Dec 30 2015, 01:13 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 30 2015, 08:31 AM)
Your buyer or you will need to come out with the cash to settle the loan.
alright, thanks bro smile.gif
Are_keem
post Dec 30 2015, 03:23 PM

I'm riders, not rempit
2,123 posts

Usually in any advertising site, the seller will put the price for 'body' only, but for the car to going OTR, additional charges can be up to RM5k. Can you explain what are they for?
Ginny88
post Dec 30 2015, 03:43 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 30 2015, 08:55 AM)
Ofcourse i know, but its a very trusted friend.

I just duno how to count the price for sambung bayar.
Coz im pretty sure the loan balance is higher than the car's worth now.
In that case you got to pay the buyer the difference between the loan balance and the market price of the car.

25 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:32 PM