AVFAN
post Jun 7 2016, 02:11 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(dc89 @ Jun 7 2016, 01:37 AM)
hahah Hi Avfan Sifu,  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif

Sorry to make it clear, click on the Devices button on the remote then click the same button for another time there should pop up the audio output configuration biggrin.gif
ok, good to know.
AVFAN
post Jun 7 2016, 09:02 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Jun 7 2016, 07:45 PM)
thanks dc, change audio output to variable. built in disabled.

btw, youtube is still on version 1.0.5.4. no options for video quality like previously discussed.

on smart mode, settings > about > system update is at version 5.1. cant find any newer update.
on tv setup, no option to update anything.

how do you solve this?
i think there is a lag.

just wait a few days, it will either auto update or prompt u to update firmware which will give the new youtube.

i also think it may be dependent on broadband speed - if it detects >20mbps, should be fine, auto update.
AVFAN
post Jun 20 2016, 08:53 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(qwan1101 @ Jun 20 2016, 09:44 AM)
using hola vpn can access us netflix but cannot play the title (proxy ban by netflix)...
getflix also cannot....
kodi app is a must....
if have unifi can get free iflix.....
4k video in YOUTUBE is AMAZING.... even normal hd video looks good....
i think this tv has some sharp-netflix monitoring, can't "cheat". i tried. tongue.gif

kodi - for me, this is the best thing about the tv - with 9gb available, i get a lot of hd stuff from kodi.

iflix, no problem.

youtube 4k content... ya, whenever i get bored, i go there to refresh my eyes. biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Jun 27 2016, 10:54 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Jun 27 2016, 10:19 AM)
I am sitting about 5 feets away from the TV as the TV will be installed at the 1st floor living room which is considerably smaller than my main living room and bedroom. I think the max i can go is 58inches ( I myself always prefer big TV but the viewing distance is not that suitable for big TV, will get dizzy  rclxub.gif )
5 feet... i won't go anything >30in.

i find my 50in good for 8-10ft.

12-13ft, 58in will be good.

too near to too large a screen, and unlikely u have all hd/4k videos 100%, your eyes will find it awful and even hurtful.
AVFAN
post Jun 29 2016, 09:51 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Jun 29 2016, 08:23 AM)
Definitely have to get it delivered to my house, will check out at my local shop this coming weekend.
u surely need to do that if wall mounted. there will be a charge.

remember to ask the guy to set up the android function, internet access and pair the 2nd remote control with the tv.

after that, u read the e-manual, play with it for a week or two to tweak whatever u wish. biggrin.gif

AVFAN
post Jul 6 2016, 10:45 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(bond @ Jul 6 2016, 09:35 AM)
Hi, Does anyone has any idea why kodi reported ue630x is using the mediatek dual core mt5890 soc and not quad core as advertised? When compare between the ue630x with Philips put6800s and the sharp pq is brighter (more detail in dark scene) and skin tone colour is more natural. However, the cheaper dual core Philips is faster when power up from standby and it does support NTFS but only HDMI 1 support hdcp 2.2.

can u provide link to the bolded part?

pic quality, startup time... i think they are not android driven but by the prime tv engine of the tv maker.

usb playback - this is driven by the video&audio codecs installed accordingly to their licensing.

the android comes in only when u select the android apps.
AVFAN
post Jul 6 2016, 01:38 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(bond @ Jul 6 2016, 12:32 PM)
Hi, it is not from any link but under kodi app system tab. I believe Android TV need to start system services upon power up. I suspect the quad core advertised is referring to Mali t645 GPU.

The build in media player is rather weak.
Cheers.
I do not know enough of chipset specs...

Only that the android in the tv is generally faster and smoother than the quad box I have.

As for startup, the time is not excessively long, not longer than a normal hdtv.

Tv native media player.... Yes, poor, we discussed in some detail earlier in this thread. It does not work on some brands of HDD. But there is one good point - using arc or digital output, it can output dts and dd whereas some other tv's can't. HDD that do not work with native player, use Kodi or es file explorer... Will work but can't get dts or dd, only lpcm.

I personally do not use tv for playback as my box has far better audio codecs, can do dtshdma, ddtruehd and ddatmos.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 6 2016, 01:42 PM
AVFAN
post Jul 6 2016, 06:00 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(bond @ Jul 6 2016, 05:06 PM)
It seems the Sony Android TV is also using the same mediatek chipset.
i think the same chipset is used on similar range of tv's for sharp, sony and philips - for google android lollipop.

they likely adopted the same standard/specs to comply with google and app providers like netflix.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 6 2016, 06:00 PM
AVFAN
post Jul 23 2016, 11:06 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Jul 23 2016, 08:26 AM)
Sorry if this is wrong thread for this question. I will post it in other relevant thread too. I felt it appropriate for me to ask this question here because of the detailed and expert opinion it gets from those who reply here..

Background: I have been facing an internal and confusing battle between choosing an excellent Full HD TV (HDMI2.0 + digital audio decoding capable) vs low end 4K.

Question:
1. What will you guys say is an excellent Full HD 50" around RM 1.8-2.3k (must have at least one HDMI2.0 and able to decode audio DTS/DD at least)

Was considering lower end 4K since price range for these two are close to my budget: LG 49UF640T vs Samsung 48JU6000.

Confusion: I don't see it worth getting the lower end 4k simply due to these reasons:  non120Hz true refresh rate + most low end 4K are edge lit backlight + sitting about 8ft away + will not be playing much 4K content anyway.

Now,  my remaining Q:
2. Will I be able to see much difference between 4k and the 1080p at 8ft away? I need your expert help and comments please as I never owned LED TV larger than 40"

3. What features am I overlooking if I buy a Full HD now? I am ok to buy a new 4k TV in next 3years. At the same time I don't want to be disappointed with my current buy.

Please advise guys.
first, u must decide what is impt and not impt to you, middle ground will not help u decide.
do u, will u play mostly SD or HD?
do u see playing 2160p, 10bit in the next year or so?
if sticking to mostly SD or 720 stuff like astro and hypptv, can save the money, buy fullHD.
if mostly 1080p, bluray, may go higher, 4kTV will amaze u with the upscaling.
for that, do not stinge - go for the better ones. if not, don't buy it.
but take note the better 4ktv/HDR tv's typically come with a good androidtv - if not using it, it will be a waste.

dannyop is quite right. 8ft, 10ft, 15ft... how it comes out is about your own eyes. many have said they cannot see any diff between 720p and bluray videos. so, only way is you compare with yr own eyes.

the other thing is there is almost zero chance someone here bought a 4k tv AND a fullHD tv recently to be able to comment on the diff. and tech changes very quickly; every year, significant changes become reality. the only way is to read the comments on specific models in diff threads, then judge with your own eyes in the shop.

AVFAN
post Jul 24 2016, 11:18 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Jul 24 2016, 08:38 AM)
Thanks AVFAN & voncrane - always can rely on your replying.

Does that mean a good 4K TV you will no longer use a STB and rely solely on the in-built Android?
by STB, do you mean hypptv or astro or android box?

hypptv or astro boxes are proprietory devices, dedicated to what they offer.

when i say "a good 4ktv comes with androidtv", i mean it has a built in smart function for online streaming.

premium 4k sony, sharp and philips come with Google's Android TV which is the common system found in standalone android boxes.

other brands come with their own ops sys/apps; no idea if low cost 4ktv's come with anything.

i cannot comment on other systems since i have only used Google AndroidTV.

the android in the tv of this thread (sharp ue630x) is a pretty good one.

i am now using it more than the box that i have - faster, easier, save power.

it can do some things the box cannot do, e.g. uhd4k netflix.

but it can't do some things the box can, e.g. hd audio and some apps blocked by the tv's security feature.

so, it's good to have both.

but in general, i would say for common use, the android in the tv is as good as if not better than a typical box.

however, u will need to know the basics of handling apps, just like u need for a box.

if new to androidtv/boxes, do visit this busy thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3126605/+2260

back to the video quality issue, i was going through my hundreds of old DVDs. biggrin.gif

decided to junk a hundred more of them - too old, poor video, no need for them since i now have better versions.

but in the process, i found some of these old DVDs come out quite good on a 4K tv, better than iflix or some Kodi streams.

the explanation is probably some DVDs were made well, plus good upscaling by the bluray player and TV.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 24 2016, 11:53 AM
AVFAN
post Jul 29 2016, 01:38 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Jul 28 2016, 10:53 PM)
Hi guys, r u all getting software update for the tv? i am downloading version 20100_20160704...but cant seem to install..it says invalid package when it try to install..u guys have this problem?
i noticed a message about update available.

but when i read further saying it will take "317 min", i did not proceed.

some bug in the update?

maybe wait a few days, google to see if any news.

meanwhile, do report here if u find anything new.
AVFAN
post Jul 30 2016, 01:45 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ykgen @ Jul 29 2016, 10:32 AM)
tried this morning. still no luck although the tv showed a message to update. i think as long as the version is the same. it is bugged. let's hope miracle happens soon.

Thank god i finished watching Stranger Things on netflix haha

youtube is updated too. but no more like n dislike option n there is no way to visit the channel now however, it can now play 1080p60fps smoothly
just updated, took about 1 hr.

version 20100_20160704.

all is good.

kodi, iflix, youtube, other pps, all good.

netflix... my subscription is not active, so got to the page "restart membership".

AVFAN
post Jul 31 2016, 02:03 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ykgen @ Jul 31 2016, 01:02 AM)
wow i didn't know it works in such a way.. can i do the same for google chrome?
u should have come and read this thread earlier! biggrin.gif

u can install almost any android app.

but some issues:

.. some apps are consider potentially harmful, op sys security feature will not allow them to be installed. so far, i have come across only two.

.. many apps are built and designed for touch screen, not mouse or keys. so, it will be clumsy to use them.

.. some will only work in vertical position, so u either tilt yr head or the tv by 90 deg. laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Jul 31 2016, 03:20 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(wideawake @ Jul 31 2016, 11:39 AM)
Can I download it with dns proxy enabled?

Somehow it doesn't find the download page.
try anything! biggrin.gif

problem may be simply due to current high traffic volume.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 31 2016, 03:32 PM
AVFAN
post Aug 1 2016, 11:30 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ykgen @ Aug 1 2016, 09:54 AM)
just found out that now my google cast can cast from my pc to tv smoothly after the update.
googlecats wasn't smooth before update?

i only tried yesterday with my new tablet, works fine.
AVFAN
post Aug 1 2016, 02:03 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(susu_capbadak @ Aug 1 2016, 01:10 PM)
I too cancelled it after seeing it took so long.  Now the message to update doesn't appear anywhere, where do i go to update?  hmm.gif
The estimated time is very conservative. Wont take more than 1 hr.

Go to settings, about, system update, manual update, network update.

If new available, it will begin.

If none, it will say its up to date.
AVFAN
post Aug 25 2016, 04:55 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Aug 25 2016, 04:10 PM)
My UE630x unable to connect to my wifi anymore, anybody faced this problem before? Other peripherals all can connect to my wifi ( including pc, ipad, tvbox and handphone )
need a reset.

just reset at settings or off/on power.

AVFAN
post Aug 25 2016, 05:02 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Aug 25 2016, 04:58 PM)
Is pressing the power off and cutting the power considered a reset? Once boot up u will see the sharp logo then is considered reset right? Actually the TV has been unable to connect to the wifi for 3days ( i turn it off everyday )
using remote on/off = standby, not power off.

unplug power = power off.

u can reset under settings, explore the options, impt.

if u still can't get it, then something may have messed up the wifi connection, need to redo at settings -dynamic/static ip, password, dns, etc.
AVFAN
post Aug 25 2016, 05:17 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Aug 25 2016, 05:05 PM)
My wifi connection is confirmed ok as i have pc, ipad and phones connected to it. Will do a settings reset later, suddenly can't netflix and kodi  cry.gif
I mean the wifi settings on the tv messed up.

If u are using unique dns, possible it is dead, need change.

Also, i think it is better to leave tv on standby when unused.

This mode allows it to detect, prepare for system updates when available.
AVFAN
post Aug 25 2016, 05:57 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ykgen @ Aug 25 2016, 05:36 PM)
the only 2 issues i faced with the UE630 is sometimes i could not do the google cast, which i need to do the reset and sometimes the android controller is not responsive so i have to use the conventional controller to restart the tv
Yes, this is true.

Need to reset sometimes for googlecast.

Not a big issue for me since i do very little casting.

26 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0635sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:29 PM