Fundsupermart.com v13, Merry X'mas and Happy 牛(bull!) Year

lukenn
post Dec 24 2015, 01:33 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 24 2015, 01:14 PM)
wow,..strong opposite movement of the trends....
hmm.gif does it coincide or affected by a large degree with the MYR to USD movement?
I believe the portfolio performance is due to the owner's high level kung fu... better to get his feedback on the actual performance attribution.

lukenn
post Dec 24 2015, 01:44 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 24 2015, 01:20 PM)
Your initial charts based on equal weighting throughout... hmm.gif
More or less... the system cant do nominal or fractions. ZZzzz
lukenn
post Dec 24 2015, 02:27 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 24 2015, 02:01 PM)
Mind telling us what is the blue and green lines on the chart? And the 5.46 and 1.04

Blue = portfolio returns
Green = KLCI

Ignore the 5.46 and 1.04... that was the performance of the date under my mouse pointer when I screen captured it.
lukenn
post Dec 24 2015, 08:14 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 24 2015, 03:03 PM)
Mine consist of three equity fund (Titties + Ponzi 2.0 + Small-cap) + Money-Mkt
Mine is 12.5% rtn with vol of 4%.  cool2.gif  cool2.gif  cool2.gif

Back testing: worse it ever went south was -3% (during the Q2-2015 China equity fiasco)

Xuzen
Sudah habis makan hari natal boleh berborak pelaburan lagi ...

Those are actually very good numbers. If you don't mind sharing, what is the underlying strategy?

P/s: in still waiting for you to belanja festive fruit cake.
lukenn
post Dec 24 2015, 08:18 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Dec 24 2015, 05:43 PM)
Too canggih for me already tongue.gif

My source code for the file is open, maybe some sifu can add it to my latest version or release the codes then I'll just merge to the file & share laugh.gif laugh.gif
Actually equal weighting is the simplest to calculate and implement.

Position size = Total value/number of funds

But it only works well when the components are lowly correlated and the portfolio well balanced.

lukenn
post Dec 24 2015, 08:28 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 24 2015, 03:16 PM)
Just viewed Ponzi 2.0's November fact sheet. Still ZERO exposure to Bolehland. Shows how negative regional fund managers are on Bolehstocks doh.gif
Actually fact sheets only shows top 5-10 positions. There may be some small positions. But yeah, I think their view is that locals won't do well for the next few quarters. New investments will probably end up held in cash till MYR stabilises.

Anyway, since got a lot of Ms. Lee fans here, can consider the new Kenanga ASEAN fund. She spoke to us during IOP, and she's confident on performing within a 3yr timeframe.
lukenn
post Dec 24 2015, 09:18 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 24 2015, 08:36 PM)
Oi are u really a UT CON-sultan ke shakehead.gif

Top 5 or 10 positions are NAMED, but country exposure are disclosed up to the smallest 1% usually.
Bro don't kantoi me like that la... UT is only part of the business la. But thats probably why I haven't con any sultan yet.

Anyway, not every FFS will show country and sector breakdown la.

lukenn
post Dec 24 2015, 09:49 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 24 2015, 09:20 PM)
reference to your post# 416, is the chart made from Excel file?
if yes,...can you post it up in ZIP file??
polarzbears would like to merge to the existing canggih excel file in post#1 and share....
unfortunately not. to do that you'll need a data stream, or at the very least a lot of historical data. should be quite possible with a Morningstar account.

lukenn
post Dec 26 2015, 01:17 AM

311 posts

Merry X'mas and a Happy New Year, everyone ! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

May you make many many monies in the kambing year. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
lukenn
post Dec 26 2015, 10:14 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Dec 26 2015, 07:08 AM)
U mean asean tactical return fund ? Any promotion for this fund
Yeah, Kenanga ASEAN Tactical Total Return Fund. Might be good for regional exposure, without direct to Greater China and India.

Got promotion onot, you have to ask the almighty FSM.

lukenn
post Dec 26 2015, 10:41 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 26 2015, 10:17 AM)
Dear FSM competitor CON-sultan,

Got any wise words for us on how to start the new year? Investments-wise I mean tongue.gif
Hold more cash! lol

Does the FSM platform allow you to build theoretical portfolios? And track past and live returns?
lukenn
post Dec 26 2015, 03:57 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 26 2015, 03:47 PM)
Can hold bonds? As switch from Equities ma...
You can hold anything u wan bro .... I'm just thinking holding some cash positions, or in you guys case, money market funds. Bonds, especially EM bonds, will probably be a bit rocky for the 1st quarter until the March FOMC, when there is a clearer picture on rates.

MYR0.02 ~ USD0.0045
lukenn
post Dec 26 2015, 04:02 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 26 2015, 03:59 PM)
Right moment is Jan promotion..  smile.gif
How cheap does it get during promotion ?
lukenn
post Dec 26 2015, 04:16 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 26 2015, 04:03 PM)
0.5%
That's actually quite cheap, but that 1.5% savings isn't going to save you, if you're buying at a bad tine.

Maybe can do the kiasu pinky method. On the promo day, buy 100% equities, as soon as transaction goes through, switch all into MMF, and collect points/credits/life/mana/health and hope it doesn't dip below the 1.5% during the transaction period. Also hope FSM doesn't discount the points/credits/life/mana/health that they give for switching out.

lukenn
post Dec 26 2015, 08:00 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Dec 26 2015, 07:51 PM)
right moment means promotion ar ?
I think right moment meaning today buy, tomorrow go up 10%.
lukenn
post Dec 26 2015, 08:07 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Dec 26 2015, 07:51 PM)
right moment means promotion ar ?
QUOTE(Pewufod @ Dec 26 2015, 08:04 PM)
i alos want to know too liddat  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
You have to learn this master's high level kung fu.
lukenn
post Dec 26 2015, 11:09 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 26 2015, 04:50 PM)
Oi! Don't feed me eat dead cat! Ini kiasu method Penjaga Van, bukan aku!!! mad.gif  vmad.gif
Ngiam ngiam ngiam ...

I kinda expected this kind of high level kung fu to come from you !

Attached image(s)
lukenn
post Dec 27 2015, 01:36 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 27 2015, 11:49 AM)
FSM offer two strategies for bond investors to consider.
*Maintain a shorter duration approach when choosing bonds
*Increase exposure to high yield corporate credit

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Investors-6317
QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Dec 27 2015, 01:21 PM)
Liquidation risk is one of the risks to consider.
When the needs arise, the fund manager needs to liquidate or force selling the bonds that making profit at discounted rate, which will affect the performance of the fund

Anyone invest in this fund? What is your take for investing and de invest from this fund?
As a retail investor you have neither control over exposure, duration nor credit rating.

The rule of thumb when choosing a bond funds is : the bigger, the better. Corporate papers generally run at 5mio each. So default and liquidation risk can be minimised by sheer size alone.

If these are your concerns, skip this fund. Move on. There are many other fixed income funds out there.

lukenn
post Dec 27 2015, 03:01 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Dec 27 2015, 02:13 PM)
Thanks for your inputs
In your opinion, what fund size is consider big enough to diversify the risk?
I usually try to find funds that run 250mio and above, but I have purchased Eastspring Bond for a few clients, (about 100+mio) because the client was comfortable with its performance and CIO.

lukenn
post Dec 27 2015, 03:31 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Dec 27 2015, 03:14 PM)
U r financial advisor?
I am a con-sultan, but haven't manage to con any sultan yet. sad.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0400sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:02 PM