6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Mazda CX3 Finally here, For potential Mazda CX3 buyers

honyosan
post Dec 9 2015, 08:03 PM

39 posts

Wow... dec car means next month it becomes 1 yr old car. I rather wait for next yr lor
MichaelJohn
post Dec 9 2015, 08:13 PM

Pan Paka Pan <3
2,514 posts

QUOTE(honyosan @ Dec 9 2015, 08:03 PM)
Wow... dec car means next month it becomes 1 yr old car. I rather wait for next yr lor
yup

wait for the 2K booking to finish and hopefully they consider to CKD it

better pricing, better deal laugh.gif
EnergyAnalyst
post Dec 9 2015, 09:49 PM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Dec 9 2015, 03:12 PM)
Nope I did not take any pics, but in the showroom the car does standout and have more premium feel, especially the 18inch tire. Maybe because of the lightning and newly polished. Yes you are right, CX5 2.0 CKD is lower price, but no soul red colour yet. If got, I may consider CX5 2.0 CKD indeed.

Currently, according to my sales guy, CX5 CBU no more taking in orders due to AP being used for CX3 (also I suspect they want to push CX5 CKD).

Upon more research, CX3 CBU interior is almost the same as the Mazda 2 CBU from Thailand. In fact CX3 is based on that platform and in the showroom it looks almost the same. So at 88k vs 135k, you get a "higher" (by a bit) car, sunroof (small and useless to me), 18 inch tire and 2.0 engine if you get CX3. Otherwise it is almost the same. So indeed based on this cost analysis, CX3 may not be that good for value.

Last thing for potential CX3 buyers, SA said they will be doing CX3 CKD if demand is good, price around 10 to 20k less than CBU.

I already put deposit, but maybe I might change my mind next year for the new Mazda 2 or CX5 CKD. CX3 is expected to be delivered after CNY, again depending on demand.

Peugoet 408 new model (based on 308 interior?) will be out around Mar to April timeline and costs around 130k++... Not sure if included the 5 years free maintenance or not though...

A lot of choices, seriously lost.

To Ipohlad, the one in Permas Jaya. smile.gif
It is very interesting that you have placed the deposit and at the same time still thinking about the options

Peugeot was mentioned two times as your options : firstly 2008, than the new 408.

I am really curious and intrigued over your short listed choices , are you also considering Renault Captur by any chance?

TSjoeblow
post Dec 9 2015, 10:49 PM

1,147 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Dec 9 2015, 09:49 PM)
It is very interesting that you have placed the deposit and at the same time still thinking about the options

Peugeot was mentioned two times as your options : firstly 2008, than the new 408.

I am really curious and intrigued over your short listed choices , are you also considering Renault Captur by any chance?
Ya, Peugeot was my first choice actually. But find the current 2008 and 408 not as tempting as I initially thought.

The deposit is refundable, since there's a queue for the car, I thought no harm to place the deposit. I am looking to change my car early next year, so currently still considering options especially if experts in this forum can tell me if CX3 indeed is a good buy (though subjective).

Nope, not looking at Renault brand.
SportyHandling
post Dec 11 2015, 07:54 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Dec 9 2015, 03:12 PM)
Nope I did not take any pics, but in the showroom the car does standout and have more premium feel, especially the 18inch tire. Maybe because of the lightning and newly polished. Yes you are right, CX5 2.0 CKD is lower price, but no soul red colour yet. If got, I may consider CX5 2.0 CKD indeed.

Currently, according to my sales guy, CX5 CBU no more taking in orders due to AP being used for CX3 (also I suspect they want to push CX5 CKD).

Upon more research, CX3 CBU interior is almost the same as the Mazda 2 CBU from Thailand. In fact CX3 is based on that platform and in the showroom it looks almost the same. So at 88k vs 135k, you get a "higher" (by a bit) car, sunroof (small and useless to me), 18 inch tire and 2.0 engine if you get CX3. Otherwise it is almost the same. So indeed based on this cost analysis, CX3 may not be that good for value.

Last thing for potential CX3 buyers, SA said they will be doing CX3 CKD if demand is good, price around 10 to 20k less than CBU.

I already put deposit, but maybe I might change my mind next year for the new Mazda 2 or CX5 CKD. CX3 is expected to be delivered after CNY, again depending on demand.

Peugoet 408 new model (based on 308 interior?) will be out around Mar to April timeline and costs around 130k++... Not sure if included the 5 years free maintenance or not though...

A lot of choices, seriously lost.

To Ipohlad, the one in Permas Jaya. smile.gif
Yes the 18" tyres/rims certainly is a standout for a small vehicle such as the CX3. I can imagine the car to look striking with the 18" tyres.

As usual it depends on what you are looking for in a vehicle. Looking at your choice of selection, it appears that a small SUV or sedan car is also acceptable to you since you mentioned Peugeot 408. If that's the case, you have more choices.

For the Peugeot 408, personally the new model will look much better inside out (other than new technological features). If you are considering the 408, definitely consider the new 408 and not the current model, in my opinion. Current one doesn't look good.

However, the Mazda 3 although a CKD is a much safer choice than the French, and it is a good car as well if comparing between sedans. If you are considering Peugeot 408, why are you considering the CX3 (and Mazda 2) and not the Mazda 3? Mazda 3 looks better than the Mazda 2 and is not too costly I guess around RM100k to 110k+?
lucifal
post Dec 11 2015, 09:34 AM

85 posts

Light Refreshments provided !!!
KennyKB
post Dec 11 2015, 10:20 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Dec 11 2015, 07:54 AM)
Yes the 18" tyres/rims certainly is a standout for a small vehicle such as the CX3. I can imagine the car to look striking with the 18" tyres.

As usual it depends on what you are looking for in a vehicle. Looking at your choice of selection, it appears that a small SUV or sedan car is also acceptable to you since you mentioned Peugeot 408. If that's the case, you have more choices.

For the Peugeot 408, personally the new model will look much better inside out (other than new technological features). If you are considering the 408, definitely consider the new 408 and not the current model, in my opinion. Current one doesn't look good.

However, the Mazda 3 although a CKD is a much safer choice than the French, and it is a good car as well if comparing between sedans. If you are considering Peugeot 408, why are you considering the CX3 (and Mazda 2) and not the Mazda 3? Mazda 3 looks better than the Mazda 2 and is not too costly I guess around RM100k to 110k+?
The Mazda 3 GL is RM105K and high spec is RM120K. If TS has the budget for CX3 certainly he should be looking at Mazda 3 and not Mazda 2. No doubt the Mazda 2 is CBU but it's a smaller car with smaller engine. I don't think being CBU is that much difference to be a deal breaker to influence his choice.

I would recommend to TS to choose high spec if he decides to go for Mazda 3. The extra RM15K is worth the long list of extras.

I don't want to knock any model but going for a Peugeot requires a drastic shift in reliability expectation over a Japanese car or one may be caught shell-shocked.

peter_pj
post Dec 11 2015, 03:29 PM

110 posts

Agreed, I was looking at the new 308 and the new Mazda 3 a few months back. Went and test-drove both the cars at least 3 times before making the decision.

As the 308 will be pretty much the same as the 408, my observations:-
- 308 interior is very very nice. Is very plush and feels very premium. I don't think there is any other car in this class that can match it
- Mazda 3 interior, although feeling cheaper, is much more intuitive and user friendly. I'm not a big fan of the 308 touch-screen
- NVH quality of the 308 is fantastic. Miles ahead of any competition. But the Mazda 3 is still a more of a drivers car
- Not concern to me, but may be issue to most is the back-seat. 308 is much more comfortable place and Mazda 3 which is a little cramp
- Ease of ownership - I'm still worried about reliability of 308 especially the Turbo and its additional stress. However, Mazda 3 also has a very new technology in its SkyActiv engine. Questions on carbon build-up or future problems is still there - but so far have not come across anything.
- Tech, personally, I'm a bigger fan of Mazda 3 High Spec with the Blind spot monitoring, lane watch and city brake. The 308 has adaptive cruise control but unfortunately no blind spot monitoring.

Also was thinking of the CX3 and whether to wait for it. Size is not an issue for me as we do not have kids and only passenger is my dog. So please consider size for your own fit.

But CX3 was crossed out because (i) no Activsense, especially for the price and (ii) the dash and center console feels very cheap like the Mazda 2. Mazda 3 is only slightly better

In the end, we picked the Mazda 3 based on following list of priorities
1. Safety including NCAP and IIHS results
2. Reliability (or perceived reliability)

Even if rechoosing today, CX3 will still totally be off the list as no Activsence for the price being charged. It will still be a close match between 308 and Mazda 3.

SportyHandling
post Dec 12 2015, 09:29 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Dec 11 2015, 10:20 AM)
The Mazda 3 GL is RM105K and high spec is RM120K. If TS has the budget for CX3 certainly he should be looking at Mazda 3 and not Mazda 2. No doubt the Mazda 2 is CBU but it's a smaller car with smaller engine. I don't think being CBU is that much difference to be a deal breaker to influence his choice.

I would recommend to TS to choose high spec if he decides to go for Mazda 3. The extra RM15K is worth the long list of extras.

I don't want to knock any model but going for a Peugeot requires a drastic shift in reliability expectation over a Japanese car or one may be caught shell-shocked.
Usually difference between low-spec and high-spec (for any car brand) is around RM10k. If it is RM15k for the case of Mazda 3, the upgrade must be quite major in terms of equipment. Of course, if one has the money, definitely go with the high-spec even though some (or most) of the features may not be useful to the driver.

The Mazda 2 and 3 are surely going great guns now as the cars as the cars are good and the price is reasonably cheap when compared to the Civic and Altis.
ftan
post Dec 12 2015, 05:45 PM

2,532 posts

I saw this car today at glenmarie showroom. Was curious about this car.

Looks good up close. Much better than the pictures esp the front length of the car. Build wise is quite solid.

the cons - kinda small with the boot space. Back passenger seat still ok to me but other ppl may find it small/cramp.

FishnChipx
post Dec 13 2015, 10:00 AM

988 posts

not worth, underpower car
KennyKB
post Dec 13 2015, 12:34 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Dec 12 2015, 09:29 AM)
Usually difference between low-spec and high-spec (for any car brand) is around RM10k. If it is RM15k for the case of Mazda 3, the upgrade must be quite major in terms of equipment. Of course, if one has the money, definitely go with the high-spec even though some (or most) of the features may not be useful to the driver.

The Mazda 2 and 3 are surely going great guns now as the cars as the cars are good and the price is reasonably cheap when compared to the Civic and Altis.
There is a long list of extra features for the HS over the GL Mazda 3 but not all are necessary.

Addition for HS over GL.

I guess the main attraction for many buyers is the 18" rims/tyres for cosmetic reason. In practice it results in more expensive tyres, higher road noise and slightly worse FC. I think 16" is enough for a C-segment car. The Xenon headlights, blindspot monitoring and smart city brake are other major items. HID headlights are the rage now but in practice there is little difference to the driver in well lit build-up areas. I'm reasonably sure there will be aftermarket upgrade for blindspot minitoring in future. Smart City brakes only works up to 30 km/hr. It may save you a minor accident but on the other hand if you are a careful driver you may never need it. Overall it's a toss up where the HS is worth RM15K over the GL because essentially both have the same engine, 6 airbags and electronic safety features.

hihihehe
post Dec 13 2015, 12:37 PM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Dec 13 2015, 10:00 AM)
underpower? at least better than hrv right?
hihihehe
post Dec 13 2015, 12:37 PM

13,799 posts

underpower? at least better than hrv right?
amad108
post Dec 13 2015, 11:19 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

heard last time it can do 0-100km/h in 8.9s.. quite good actually for mini SUV
irenic
post Dec 14 2015, 07:12 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

I test drive both cx3 and Mazda 2 yesterday and since my car for the past 3 years are all comes with turbo engine, i always had an unpleasant ride especially in terms of the rev sound and slow acceleration when driving cars like swift, honda city, and vios.

However i'm quite impressed with mazda 2's responsiveness. It's way better than cx3 with 2litres engine n definitely better than the other cars i mentioned above.
feizaiII
post Dec 25 2015, 06:20 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

Dilemma here..
I like CX3 style but not price..
I like CX5 space but need to wait CKD facelift
I like Mazda 3 CKD availability now...
@@
bruce07
post Dec 25 2015, 06:42 PM

368 posts

very cool car but pricey for such a size. hopefully mazda will consider CKD for this.
amad108
post Dec 25 2015, 07:36 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

rm135k can say quite expensive.. but its one of the most fast mini SUV, good handling SUV, good looking SUV, good interior finishing and best looking interior too..
kevin10
post Dec 26 2015, 02:10 PM

Validating

I like this car but the price is a bit overpriced

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:30 AM