Mazda CX3 Finally here, For potential Mazda CX3 buyers

TSjoeblow
post Dec 8 2015, 07:50 PM, updated 11y ago

1,146 posts

Hi there,

This is my first post! smile.gif

To all potential CX3 buyers, it is finally here. Today I went to the showroom in JB to view it... looks really GREAT. Interior however is indeed quite cramp as per the reviews on youtube.

There is only one spec available (CBU) and the OTR price is around Ringgit 135k++.

The lowdown is it doesn't come with navigation system and no Bose sound. Also it is only half leather with no iActivSense.

I notice the specs for the car is very similar to the most high end specs for HRV Honda.

So the price diff is around 17k ringgit, but you get a bigger engine with sunroof for Mazda CX3. Too bad test drive is not available.

I actually looked at Peugeot 2008 (119k ++), Honda (HRV 119k++) and Mazda CX3, my heart wants to order the CX3...

So for potential CX3 buyers, what's your take on this car? Comments please and do let me know if indeed CX3 is a car worth owning. Cheers...

ps: This car sure looks very stylish...

gahpadu
post Dec 8 2015, 08:08 PM

1,438 posts

the finishing interior far better than hrv ...if got moneh....surely i buy if as 2nd car compare to hrv or other rivals
zweimmk
post Dec 8 2015, 08:20 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Dec 8 2015, 07:50 PM)
Hi there,

To all potential CX3 buyers, it is finally here. Today I went to the showroom in JB to view it... looks really GREAT. Interior however is indeed quite cramp as per the reviews on youtube.

There is only one spec available (CBU) and the OTR price is around Ringgit 135k++.

The lowdown is it doesn't come with navigation system and no Bose sound. Also it is only half leather with no iActivSense.

I notice the specs for the car is very similar to the most high end specs for HRV Honda.

So the price diff is around 17k ringgit, but you get a bigger engine with sunroof for Mazda CX3. Too bad test drive is not available.

I actually looked at Peugeot 2008 (119k ++), Honda (HRV 119k++) and Mazda CX3, my heart wants to order the CX3...

So for potential CX3 buyers, what's your take on this car? Comments please and do let me know if indeed CX3 is a car worth owning. Cheers...

If it was fully loaded, the pricing could probably be justified but as it is, it's just too pricey for what you are paying. Unfortunate, it would kill the competition if the pricing was better.
honyosan
post Dec 8 2015, 10:00 PM

39 posts

Not worthy this price. Wait for ckd
SportyHandling
post Dec 9 2015, 08:05 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Dec 8 2015, 07:50 PM)
Hi there,

Did you take some photos of the new CX3 in the Mazda showroom that you have visited? How is the interior (and exterior) of the car when compared to the CX5? Almost the same or more premium-looking?

Whether the price is reasonable, that is entirely up to the individual expectations. The CX3 can be considered as expensive when compared to the CX5 2.0 CKD where the price is RM129k compared to the 135k of the CX3 2.0 CBU. Realistically, the larger SUV will cost higher than the smaller SUV, CX5 > CX3 but in this case, it is the other way round. Only when you take the CX5 2.5 CBU which costs RM172k only then the CX3's pricing looked "better".

If compared to other brands in the same segment such as the Honda HRV, I would choose the Mazda anytime. As usual it depends on priorities. I value interior quality and performance more than anything else, and the interior quality of the HRV and CRV is poor to my standards which is at Proton's level. If you want space or other aspects such as resale etc., then the HRV will be the right choice.

If judging based on the value of the CX3 alone taking into consideration all factors, whether the vehicle is value for money or overpriced, the valuation will be based on the buyer's criteria and level of expectations. I have not seen the car in real life (especially the interior quality and performance which are the top 2 criteria that I value most) but CBU vehicles especially from Asian (not Asean) countries usually cost quite a bit. If I am guessing correctly the CX3 is assembled in Japan? If that is the case, the higher premium may be warranted. CBU vehicles will almost always have higher quality and better fit and finish than CKD vehicles although it is ia generalisation. The only issue is whether potential owners consider the higher premium of CBU vehicles worth it. MOST people just want cheap, hence CKD is preferred, but there will be some who would want CBU vehicles, unless of course the difference in the price between CKD and CBU isn't too large.
rcracer
post Dec 9 2015, 08:09 AM

?????
3,772 posts

based on comments, the pricing is quite sore point for most
SportyHandling
post Dec 9 2015, 08:14 AM

623 posts

I forgot to mention about navigation and BOSE sound system of the CX3. So the CX3 doesn't come with navigation. Interesting. My wife drives the CX5 2.5 and although the car comes with navigation, she does not use it even if she needs navigation. She will use Waze on her mobile device. She once used the navigation on the vehicle and it took her to somewhere else instead of the destination. Sometimes, the location cannot be found on the map of the vehicle. In summary, the navigation / maps on the vehicle may not be too reliable when compared to those on mobile or standalone GPS devices.

And for the Bose sound system. I find the stock Sony sound system in my Ford Focus to sound better than the Bose sound system in the Mazda CX5. The Bose system sounds cleaner than the Sony and is flatter sounding, more neutral. The Sony system sounds more 3-dimensional and enveloping with better bass quality which goes deeper. The bass of the Bose system doesn't go as deep as the Sony's system in the Ford Focus. In my view, the Bose sound system (in the Mazda CX5) is over-rated. It is better than most stock sound systems in other cars though. It is just that the Sony sound system (stock) in the Ford Focus is exceptional, the best that i have experienced so far when compared to the Proton and most if not all Japanese vehicles. (not Lexus or Infiniti level which I have no experience with)

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Dec 9 2015, 08:57 AM
theanswer
post Dec 9 2015, 08:46 AM

1,024 posts

wait for ckd..or else cx5. nway mazda always look a bit premium (interior) compared to other jap brand.
Glau
post Dec 9 2015, 09:09 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Dec 9 2015, 08:14 AM)
I forgot to mention about navigation and BOSE sound system of the CX3. So the CX3 doesn't come with navigation. Interesting. My wife drives the CX5 2.5 and although the car comes with navigation, she does not use it even if she needs navigation. She will use Waze on her mobile device. She once used the navigation on the vehicle and it took her to somewhere else instead of the destination. Sometimes, the location cannot be found on the map of the vehicle. In summary, the navigation / maps on the vehicle may not be too reliable when compared to those on mobile or standalone GPS devices.

And for the Bose sound system. I find the stock Sony sound system in my Ford Focus to sound better than the Bose sound system in the Mazda CX5. The Bose system sounds cleaner than the Sony and is flatter sounding, more neutral. The Sony system sounds more 3-dimensional and enveloping with better bass quality which goes deeper. The bass of the Bose system doesn't go as deep as the Sony's system in the Ford Focus. In my view, the Bose sound system (in the Mazda CX5) is over-rated. It is better than most stock sound systems in other cars though. It is just that the Sony sound system (stock) in the Ford Focus is exceptional, the best that i have experienced so far when compared to the Proton and most if not all Japanese vehicles. (not Lexus or Infiniti level which I have no experience with)
Totally agree with the above.. i drive the cx5 2.5 too. the navigation and bose system is overrated... either than that a great car!!
honyosan
post Dec 9 2015, 09:10 AM

39 posts

Most of ur money is paid to gomen as tax for cbu but not the car, go ahead if u are rich
Chinoz
post Dec 9 2015, 09:29 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Dec 9 2015, 08:09 AM)
based on comments, the pricing is quite sore point for most
Has there ever been a car launched in Msia where pricing was not a sore point for most? laugh.gif
KennyKB
post Dec 9 2015, 10:05 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Dec 9 2015, 08:14 AM)

The CX3 can be upgraded with navigation functionality for RM1200+ but owners shouldn't bother. Judging from the Mazda 3, maps are not very up to date and searching for landmarks is a problem due to the scarcity of them.

I see no reason to pay more than the CKD CX-5 for the CX-3 just because it is CBU. You may expect CBU quality to be better but this may not be true. There are many complaints from Japan sourced CBU Mazda 3 owners of annoying interior sounds just like our local CKD cars (not referring to CKD Maz3 where such complaints are very few). Incidentally my CKD Mazda 3 has no such odd sounds and fit and finish looks very good.

I agree Bose is overrated. From my personal experience Sony equipment usually sounds better than Bose.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Dec 9 2015, 10:28 AM
hihihehe
post Dec 9 2015, 11:51 AM

13,791 posts

does hrv interior/chasis based on honda city too?
IpohLad
post Dec 9 2015, 12:52 PM

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Dec 9 2015, 03:05 AM)
The CX3 can be upgraded with navigation functionality for RM1200+ but owners shouldn't bother. Judging from the Mazda 3, maps are not very up to date and searching for landmarks is a problem due to the scarcity of them.

I see no reason to pay more than the CKD CX-5 for the CX-3 just because it is CBU. You may expect CBU quality to be better but this may not be true. There are many complaints from Japan sourced CBU Mazda 3 owners of annoying interior sounds just like our local CKD cars (not referring to CKD Maz3 where such complaints are very few). Incidentally my CKD Mazda 3 has no such odd sounds and fit and finish looks very good.

I agree Bose is overrated. From my personal experience Sony equipment usually sounds better than Bose.
It will depend on the make really. I personally find that my Hyundai Santa Fe seating material have been replaced with local material is a nightmare and its started to shown wear and tear less than 20k km. And the made in China Sat Nav is crap as it always break when the car driven more than 250km (seriously). And the break making squeaky noise when in slow traffic (Hyundai checked it can't find any solution).

But when I jump in to the Australian Hyundai Santa Fe it's seating and the Sat Nav is in different quality. Everything is OEM in their car and their break don't make funny squeaky noise.

So I can't comment on Mazda cause I never sat nor own 1 before. However I still put my bet on the CBU anytime. If it turn out that the CKD quality of the CX3 is the same as the CBU then bravo to Mazda Malaysia team to put the effort in to retaining the quality.
SportyHandling
post Dec 9 2015, 01:09 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Dec 9 2015, 10:05 AM)

As for whether to go with the cheaper CKD CX-5 or the costlier CBU CX-3, that is a personal question although the current CBU CX-3 may be seen as not particularly value-for-money at the moment with the RM135k price tag. I have not seen the CX-3 in real life so I would reserve comment.

Not sure about the complaints (from Japan) about the CBU Mazda 3, but over here, the soundproofing of the CKD CX-5 is not as good as the CBU CX-5 which is quieter. That has been verified by CX-5 CKD owners who have sat in the CBU CX-5. Somehow it appears that the soundproofing material in the CKD units may have been cut down or compromised. Not too sure about other differences, other than rattling noises in the car which I also hear is more apparent in the CKD than the CBU units.

Good to hear that your CKD Mazda 3 does not have any issues though. Fit an finish usually is almost the same. It is mainly in the quality issues ie. rattling noises and quietness of the car. Or perhaps the material that are sourced in Malaysia that may show sightly different quality or durability.
SportyHandling
post Dec 9 2015, 01:23 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Dec 9 2015, 09:33 AM)
Sporty bro, just want to know so far how is the condition of your Ford Focus MK3? Do you face any minor/major issues?
No major issue with the car other than the replacement of the clutch which requires the car to be in the service centre for about 1 week. Car can still be driven even with the "defective" clutch. Just more jerks during low speed acceleration.

Minor issues include rattling sound from the gear knob when in S mode and mild vibration in the car when stationary at traffic lights especially after some spirited driving sessions at higher RPMs (will get these rectified at the service centre during the next appointment).

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Dec 9 2015, 01:24 PM
IpohLad
post Dec 9 2015, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(joeblow @ Dec 8 2015, 12:50 PM)

Hi Joeblow which branch? Sutera?
TSjoeblow
post Dec 9 2015, 03:12 PM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Dec 9 2015, 08:05 AM)
Did you take some photos of the new CX3 in the Mazda showroom that you have visited? How is the interior (and exterior) of the car when compared to the CX5? Almost the same or more premium-looking?

Whether the price is reasonable, that is entirely up to the individual expectations. The CX3 can be considered as expensive when compared to the CX5 2.0 CKD where the price is RM129k compared to the 135k of the CX3 2.0 CBU. Realistically, the larger SUV will cost higher than the smaller SUV, CX5 > CX3 but in this case, it is the other way round. Only when you take the CX5 2.5 CBU which costs RM172k only then the CX3's pricing looked "better".

If compared to other brands in the same segment such as the Honda HRV, I would choose the Mazda anytime. As usual it depends on priorities. I value interior quality and performance more than anything else, and the interior quality of the HRV and CRV is poor to my standards which is at Proton's level. If you want space or other aspects such as resale etc., then the HRV will be the right choice.

If judging based on the value of the CX3 alone taking into consideration all factors, whether the vehicle is value for money or overpriced, the valuation will be based on the buyer's criteria and level of expectations. I have not seen the car in real life (especially the interior quality and performance which are the top 2 criteria that I value most) but CBU vehicles especially from Asian (not Asean) countries usually cost quite a bit. If I am guessing correctly the CX3 is assembled in Japan? If that is the case, the higher premium may be warranted. CBU vehicles will almost always have higher quality and better fit and finish than CKD vehicles although it is ia generalisation. The only issue is whether potential owners consider the higher premium of CBU vehicles worth it. MOST people just want cheap, hence CKD is preferred, but there will be some who would want CBU vehicles, unless of course the difference in the price between CKD and CBU isn't too large.
Nope I did not take any pics, but in the showroom the car does standout and have more premium feel, especially the 18inch tire. Maybe because of the lightning and newly polished. Yes you are right, CX5 2.0 CKD is lower price, but no soul red colour yet. If got, I may consider CX5 2.0 CKD indeed.

Currently, according to my sales guy, CX5 CBU no more taking in orders due to AP being used for CX3 (also I suspect they want to push CX5 CKD).

Upon more research, CX3 CBU interior is almost the same as the Mazda 2 CBU from Thailand. In fact CX3 is based on that platform and in the showroom it looks almost the same. So at 88k vs 135k, you get a "higher" (by a bit) car, sunroof (small and useless to me), 18 inch tire and 2.0 engine if you get CX3. Otherwise it is almost the same. So indeed based on this cost analysis, CX3 may not be that good for value.

Last thing for potential CX3 buyers, SA said they will be doing CX3 CKD if demand is good, price around 10 to 20k less than CBU.

I already put deposit, but maybe I might change my mind next year for the new Mazda 2 or CX5 CKD. CX3 is expected to be delivered after CNY, again depending on demand.

Peugoet 408 new model (based on 308 interior?) will be out around Mar to April timeline and costs around 130k++... Not sure if included the 5 years free maintenance or not though...

A lot of choices, seriously lost.

To Ipohlad, the one in Permas Jaya. smile.gif

This post has been edited by joeblow: Dec 9 2015, 03:13 PM
hihihehe
post Dec 9 2015, 04:37 PM

13,791 posts

3 months for the car delivered?
tpleong
post Dec 9 2015, 04:41 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Dec 9 2015, 03:12 PM)
Nope I did not take any pics, but in the showroom the car does standout and have more premium feel, especially the 18inch tire. Maybe because of the lightning and newly polished. Yes you are right, CX5 2.0 CKD is lower price, but no soul red colour yet. If got, I may consider CX5 2.0 CKD indeed.

Currently, according to my sales guy, CX5 CBU no more taking in orders due to AP being used for CX3 (also I suspect they want to push CX5 CKD).

Upon more research, CX3 CBU interior is almost the same as the Mazda 2 CBU from Thailand. In fact CX3 is based on that platform and in the showroom it looks almost the same. So at 88k vs 135k, you get a "higher" (by a bit) car, sunroof (small and useless to me), 18 inch tire and 2.0 engine if you get CX3. Otherwise it is almost the same. So indeed based on this cost analysis, CX3 may not be that good for value.

Last thing for potential CX3 buyers, SA said they will be doing CX3 CKD if demand is good, price around 10 to 20k less than CBU.

I already put deposit, but maybe I might change my mind next year for the new Mazda 2 or CX5 CKD. CX3 is expected to be delivered after CNY, again depending on demand.

Peugoet 408 new model (based on 308 interior?) will be out around Mar to April timeline and costs around 130k++... Not sure if included the 5 years free maintenance or not though...

A lot of choices, seriously lost.

To Ipohlad, the one in Permas Jaya. smile.gif
Do join us at https://www.facebook.com/groups/507896796016244/

If things go smoothly, I should get the car this month . Booked mine since May

This post has been edited by tpleong: Dec 9 2015, 04:42 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:17 PM