Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

gsc
post Dec 23 2015, 01:09 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(matow @ Dec 22 2015, 04:26 PM)
I just received a call from Hong Leong Bank sales person. She claims to be offering a new type of Savings Account whereby they can guarantee interest rates of 7 to 8% per annum but with some terms and conditions applied. She requested for a meeting with me tomorrow for a presentation at my office.  I also clearly asked her if this was investment link type of savings but she said no, this is pure savings (almost like FD type) and no risk. I'm intrigued and said that I'll meet her and listen without obligation.
Anyone else got such telephone call from Hong Leong Bank?
Think is insurance cum saving plan....7 to 8 % per annum is not on the principal amount but the sum insured...Am bank has something similar
gsc
post Dec 25 2015, 10:14 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(matow @ Dec 24 2015, 11:33 PM)
Sorry for the late update.

I have met up with the SA from Hong Leong Assurance, they are pushing a 6 year savings plan called "Gain Wealth".
You choose an amount (10k or 20k or any amount you are comfortable with) and you have to deposit each year that amount for 6  years. Each deposit they will give an interest of 20%, let me illustrate:-

Let's take for example the deposit amount is 100k each year:-

Year.    Deposit amount.    Interest given
1.                100k.                          20k
2.                100k.                          20k
3.                100k.                          20k
4.                100k.                          20k
5.                100k.                          20k
6.                100k.                          20k

Total.            600k.                          60k

Only on the 7th year can you touch the deposit amount. The interest you can use after year 1 (I think so).anyway, if you decide not to take out the interest, the interest amount will earn 5.25% pa interest.

They tell me that the principal and interest given is guatanteed and if case of any unfortunate circumstances before the plan is finish, they will guarantee the whole 6 year principal amount to the nominated beneficiaries.

They also indicate that the interest amount will written black n white on the policy.

So...any comments or advise?

Wishing all those celebrating a very merry Christmas and a happy 2016 new year to all forumers!
I know you have mentioned you are not interested. I still think it is not the principal nor interest which we used in FD terms. The principal should be the amount you want to insure or save, example 100k, the cash return is 20k. The actual premium which you have to place yearly is definitely more than 100k

gsc
post Dec 28 2015, 12:58 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Dec 27 2015, 04:52 PM)
Convert to USD still need to through bank right?  eg: Public bank Foreign FD?

I worry scenario like Greece... where their citizens not able to withdraw any money from their own country bank.
PBB foreign FD will pay you in RM when withdraw. Same as other banks. But you can open US or Sin $ account in PBB. Interest is very low but you may have the adv if malaysia currency keep dropping. I did that few years back and luckilly did not withdraw the money. I think Citi and other banks may have this similar products
gsc
post Dec 30 2015, 11:34 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Dec 30 2015, 08:36 AM)
Ok thanks. Next month have a few fd  for deposit short term.
One of the local newspapers mentioned today banks are short of fund for loan, competing for FD. Looks like the rate may go up in Jan. This is purely banks competition but in the near immediate term, I still think BNM will need to reduce rate to boost the slowing down of economy. GDP next year projected 4-4.5% down from current 6+%, currency expect to drop further to 4.5 to 4.9 range due to dropping oil prices, political scandal, high national and household debt. Property sector would expect to face near zero growth next year.

gsc
post Dec 31 2015, 12:19 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(tomry @ Dec 31 2015, 11:20 AM)
Dear all, just to share my experience i just had with putting FD @ CIMB . i withdraw my normal FD with 3.15% and then 3 days later i plan to put into UnFixed Deposit with 4.3% @ CIMB , however the PIC told me is not a Fresh Fund and only can giv 4.2 % for 12 months instead ...
Fresh fund is defined by most banks money coming in from orher banks. That is the purpose of banks provide promote rate. If you withdrew FD and placed in the same bank but different account. No matter how long it is still not considered as not fresh fund as it is not from other bank.

However some banks, some officers some mgt level can waive that on the day of maturity with some top up or even the fund was in the bank for sometimes. Some members have that experience and I have done that with HL and public.

gsc
post Jan 11 2016, 11:29 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(safilo @ Jan 11 2016, 05:41 PM)
From bbgoat earlier post ...At the moment, it seems to me the best ones are HL/MACH 6 mths 4.5%, UOB 12 mth 4.4% and RHB's 15 mth eff rate 4.4%.

Beside the tenure of 6/12/15 months, the following factors may influence your choice

HLB/Mach interest are credited monthly
If you open at HLB branch, you need to go back to the same branch to redeem your FD
If you use Mach, can perform withdrawal via online - do note that Mach limit is 250K per day for FD placement/withdrawal

UOB - Interest is credit at the end of 12 month term.
Need to confirm whether FD can be redeem without go back to same branch or can do withdrawal online
(Any one know?)

RHB is a step up FD which give effectively 4.4% pa.
Placement need to done at branch, interest are credited every 3 months
FD can be redeem at any branch or via online banking
(The menu option for withdrawal/upliftment is at the investment option not the account option )

In summary, HLB Mach, placement and withdrawal can be done online without concern of fresh fund etc and you get your interest credited to your saving a/c monthly.
For RHB, although the promo is suppose to require fresh fund, the officer usually allow existing maturing FD to be used.
Thanks for your effort...that guy was throwing out his money weight and expect forum members to serve him
gsc
post Jan 14 2016, 10:58 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 13 2016, 06:57 PM)
guys, my mom misplaced her PBB FD cert.

managed to dug out earlier post by gsc, as above.

to-date, does PBB still need the Cert to uplift the FD? is the policy still stand?
Yes...PB is certificate based and it is still required. I have misplaced two certs and still couldn't find them. But PB still send the statement update quarterly.
gsc
post Jan 14 2016, 11:14 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Daphne.M @ Jan 13 2016, 09:30 AM)
Any new promo? Tired waiting
Citi bank has started to move down the FD rate. Effective 22 Jan, 12 months is 2.75. 1 and 2 months 2.95%. The general trend will be lower interest rate. Most likely BNM will exercise the monetary policy reducing interest rate either in Q1 or Q2 to boost economic activity. Oil price has dropped below 40 and this year GDP is forecasted downwards too. Ringgit is expected to move towards 4.5. The current Higher interest rate promo by HL and others do not reflect the medium and long term interest trend
gsc
post Jan 15 2016, 12:04 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 14 2016, 06:51 PM)
As long as use banker's cheque, your FD should start on the day itself. No need to wait like normal cheque.
Not true, personal cheques are accepted in UOB and effective the same day
gsc
post Jan 15 2016, 12:09 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 14 2016, 08:03 PM)
Is not changing topic. Is I really don't know. Cause people tell me cheques need few days to clear. But banker's cheque is instant. I thought banks treat personal cheque (like the type you write and sign/some print) different from banker's cheque? Personal cheque should be more stringent compare to banker's cheque. No?

My question on the scenario is still not answered. So I am right or wrong in the above scenario? rclxub.gif

I have never received a cheque before nor have I wrote a cheque before.

And yygo Since you know so much, teach me la. I really don't know this cheque stuff or you just NATO? laugh.gif
Please dont answer people's question with hearsay. Not sure or personnally not experienced it yourself, try count 1 to 1000 and let other answer.

gsc
post Jan 15 2016, 12:58 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 15 2016, 12:33 AM)
As said, the contention is why ppl use chq, online banking cater for smaller amount FD placement. Ppl use chq because online banking has daily limit.
If you want to do OTC IBG, RENTAS, you need to go to counter and it defeat your intention to "skip one step".
OTC IBG and RENTAS have vague fresh fund policy. Chq is clear cut fresh fund.
Chq FD placement gets immediate FD commencement upon presentation of chq before 4pm cut-off time.
Chq clearing time has no bearing to FD commencement date. The FD commencement date is either before 4pm cut-off time or after 4pm cut-off time. If after 4pm cut-off time, FD commence next business day.
A couple years back, i did IBG OTC at Ocbc and was told over the limit and has to split into two days, not sure about the limit now. You are correct to use BC when there is a limit. The other reason I use BC too is because I dont have the saving and I dont intent to open one because too many SA. Ocbc, RHB, Cit, Public, Am, HL, HSBC....just closed Std Chart SA
gsc
post Jan 15 2016, 01:53 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Jan 14 2016, 04:03 PM)
FYI
Latest UOB FD Promo (Fresh Funds)
23-11-15 till 31-1-2016 (subject to sudden change)

3 mths - 4.15%
6 mths - 4.2%
12 mths - 4.4%
Received message from Ocbc

9 mth 4.15%
15 mth 4.3%

Just need to top up 10k fresh fund onto existing fund.....that is rare from Ocbc
gsc
post Jan 15 2016, 06:52 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jan 15 2016, 06:13 PM)
bro, ocbc 15 mth 4.3% until 31/1.
The Ocbc staff told me offer end of April
gsc
post Jan 15 2016, 06:57 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 15 2016, 06:23 PM)
Oh, so confirmed that OCBC BC is free ?  rclxms.gif

You guys have long discussion on using of cheque.  biggrin.gif I use combination of cheque, ibg, IBFT, Rentas depending on the situation. Rentas fee is typically higher than BC. But it has the use when not all the fund will go into next FD. i.e. half to FD, half stay in the acct for other use.

Anyway I think we use what suits us most. Just like we place FD in particular banks not necessary because it has the highest rate.  biggrin.gif
RHB BC is RM5.80. Tomorrow UOB Kelawei branch has some functions...the counter girl gave an ang pow and inside is a coupon for redemption on CNY canned fruits...
gsc
post Jan 15 2016, 09:33 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 15 2016, 08:20 PM)
Thanks !  notworthy.gif

So confirmed OCBC extended the FD offer till end April. But bad news for those waiting for FD promo to go beyond 4.5% for 1 year. Looks like OCBC is confident with the offer and extended it to end April for 15 mth 4.3%. UOB's 4.4% will end this January.

Hesitating on UOB, RHB and now with BSN coming into play. Planning for next week's action !  biggrin.gif

Asking Mr Lim, have you decided yet for the million eggs on 11/2 ??  hmm.gif  tongue.gif
Went to UOB made a FD placement and the staff offered the coupon.

Have tried BSN service long ago. Bought their saving certificates long ago. Service wise just like CIMB, slow and bureacratic but they may have improved.

For those need to pay high income tax, SSPN-i account allowed up to 6000 on income tax assessment

http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/english/sspn-i

This post has been edited by gsc: Jan 15 2016, 09:33 PM
gsc
post Jan 17 2016, 12:38 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 16 2016, 01:08 PM)
Thanks !

So it looks like another people related type of thing. Some branch may have better service than others.  biggrin.gif
My experience with the Macalister Rd was bad. Many people and poor service. The one at Sg. Nibong is better, less people and they are free to provide the service
gsc
post Jan 19 2016, 01:17 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 18 2016, 09:05 PM)
That's true (EPF by rule must give out 2.5% but generally their interest will always be more than FD). But are you wiling to lock in for xx years? tongue.gif. This year interest some say 5+%, some say less 5%.doh.gif

I told my parents dump into ASX FP first than only taruh EPF seeing that we don't know how much they are giving. EPF is not consistent. sad.gif

If I were you, max out EPF, SSPN to get tax relief. Why want to give so much to...?  whistling.gif anymore is up to you to decide tongue.gif
Can you show EPF last 5 years trend interest paid out?
gsc
post Jan 23 2016, 12:55 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 22 2016, 12:29 PM)
"Bank Negara Malaysia just reduced the statutory reserve requirement (SRR) ratio from 4.00% to 3.50%, effective from Feb 1, to ensure sufficient liquidity in the domestic financial system.  The SRR essentially is the amount of funds that commercial banks are required to keep with the central bank, interest-free, and is an instrument to manage liquidity, while the overnight policy rate (OPR) is the rate at which banks lend to each other."
Being so, we could put it as current market downturn, global economic slowdown, depreciating ringgit all contributes to this. Coupled with exceptionally high NPLs, banks, especially local ones are left with no choice but to increase FD interest rates to attract more people to bank in their money to keep their SRR ratio at a level as required by BNM.
Monetary policy used by Central bank to improve money supply in the market is through changing the reserve ratio, interest rate and open market operation through selling and buying of bonds.

With reduction in SSR, bank has more money to loan out, through multiplier effect, BNM want to spur the economic growth. Thus it is incorrect to say bank will increase FD rate to attract more people to bank in money to meet the SRR. The reduction of SRR is a sign that BNM will reduce the OPR in Q2 or later half of 2016. Regional wise, Indonesia central bank has reduced the interest rate to encourage economic growth.
gsc
post Jan 23 2016, 11:53 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 23 2016, 01:41 AM)
Points taken. But the issue is Malaysians have a very bad habit of overspending way over their means and this will increase household debts. When people cannof repay their loans, NPL will be high and thus this will directly affect the reserve ratio.
Reserve ratio is determined and decided by BNM to boost economic activities to encourage investment from both industrial and consumers sectors. GDP is a measure of a nation income. It is the sum of Consumer consumption, firm investment, government spending and net export.

Fiscal policy will aim at government spending and monetary policy focus on the money supply. Decrease in reserve ratio and reduction in interest rate are both aiming at the money supply to increase in investment on capital exenses and consequently on consumer consumption. NPL is caused by individual bank policy on assessing and releasing loan after the risk assessment on the loan borrower. High NPL will not affect BNM's decision on the reserve ratio. High NPL only reflects the banks ' prudence on managing loans.
gsc
post Jan 24 2016, 10:10 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Jan 24 2016, 07:33 PM)
Deposits must be in Ringgit denomination when you place a foreign deposit within banks in Malaysia.

Banks would then convert your Ringgit according to the exchange rate + their premium before placing the deposits in your preferred currency.

Their premiums are usually very high so you loose out instantaneously.
It is wrong info. to state that bank will charge premium on top of exchange rate for foreign currency FD. I have both foreign currency FD account and also foreign currency account. One member already mentioned it is a wrong thread but I could not resist to answer because it is misleading to give people wrong advice.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0439sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:56 AM