It seems typical japanese toyota and honda still win in yerm of maintainance cost
Car yearly maintenance cost
Dec 5 2015, 07:34 AM
2,525 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
It seems typical japanese toyota and honda still win in yerm of maintainance cost
Dec 5 2015, 07:41 AM
219 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 4 2015, 02:18 AM) Just gathered the receipt in my car's glovebox, for this year (2015) maintenance alone.. average service for a Mercedes for the cheapest a/b class can cost up to rm1700 ![]() After all these there are still parts that needs to be replaced such as the wheel bearings, aircond cooling coil and condenser, absorber. This is only a 4 year old Peugeot. An average bread and butter european car. I wonder how much do premium european car owner (BMW, Mercedes, Audi etc etc) spend on yearly maintenance alone? Any owners would like to share theirs? oil change , oil filter , pollen filter , alignment & balancing |
Dec 5 2015, 10:13 AM
1,765 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 5 2015, 12:53 AM) tyre and major parts such as engine mounting should not calculate into this graph. as you are not changing this year every single year. Tyres shouldn't be calculated as maintenance cost as it is a consumable item and depends on how much you use. It's like the toner you put into your photostat machine. There is also a wide variation in prices according to personal choice. However engine mountings should definitely be under maintenance as a wear and tear or failure part even if it isn't necessary to change every year. Your real cost per year should be averaged over a few years.this data is invalid to be calculate as maintenance cost. This post has been edited by KennyKB: Dec 5 2015, 03:23 PM |
Dec 5 2015, 10:23 AM
5,697 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: A Place Where God And Master Of TroubleMaker Exist |
Dec 5 2015, 10:25 AM
5,697 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: A Place Where God And Master Of TroubleMaker Exist |
Dec 5 2015, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 5 2015, 10:25 AM) no doubt. Japanese cars..10 years old car the major part changed were just alternator and the engine top cover seal thats all.... all service done outside actually I thought korean maintainance caught up with Japanese already? seems Japanese still have the upper hand. Wonder how is Proton's maitainance at 10 years |
Dec 5 2015, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Dec 5 2015, 10:53 AM) Japanese cars.. kimchi not sure......it have more complex system than sushi.actually I thought korean maintainance caught up with Japanese already? seems Japanese still have the upper hand. Wonder how is Proton's maitainance at 10 years proton? at scrapyard ady how to maintain? |
Dec 5 2015, 01:30 PM
13,469 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Dec 5 2015, 10:53 AM) Japanese cars.. Koreans are cheaper to service since they dont really check much. Just simple oil change. Of course, Im saying this based on Hyundai Sonata which I sent to authorized SC to service. actually I thought korean maintainance caught up with Japanese already? seems Japanese still have the upper hand. Wonder how is Proton's maitainance at 10 years As for parts, they are still slightly expensive for common parts like bumpers, headlight, tail light, etc. However when it comes to rare parts like windscreen, sunroof, etc, the figure start to fly over the roof. Sonata windshield cost 1.8K while Camry cost RM900 (IIRC). One might argue that some Koreans part are higher quality like with DRL, projector headlamp instead of reflector on common Toyota and Honda or windshield that came with rain sensor. However you do find rare occurrence where Koreans are cheaper to maintain when it comes to accessories. Usually if you had problem with Honda/Toyota side mirror LED etc, you had to change the whole unit. Koreans had the LED only module. |
Dec 5 2015, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 5 2015, 01:30 PM) Koreans are cheaper to service since they dont really check much. Just simple oil change. Of course, Im saying this based on Hyundai Sonata which I sent to authorized SC to service. So if wanna jaga pocket...japanese still best bet la.As for parts, they are still slightly expensive for common parts like bumpers, headlight, tail light, etc. However when it comes to rare parts like windscreen, sunroof, etc, the figure start to fly over the roof. Sonata windshield cost 1.8K while Camry cost RM900 (IIRC). One might argue that some Koreans part are higher quality like with DRL, projector headlamp instead of reflector on common Toyota and Honda or windshield that came with rain sensor. However you do find rare occurrence where Koreans are cheaper to maintain when it comes to accessories. Usually if you had problem with Honda/Toyota side mirror LED etc, you had to change the whole unit. Koreans had the LED only module. |
Dec 5 2015, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Dec 5 2015, 01:35 PM) Not really. Koreans are cheaper and have better specs. Now also come with 5 years warranty. If you are lucky, like now, KIA comes with 3 years/60K free service.Japanese are better for those who change car regularly, like every 3-4 years. |
Dec 5 2015, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 5 2015, 01:44 PM) Not really. Koreans are cheaper and have better specs. Now also come with 5 years warranty. If you are lucky, like now, KIA comes with 3 years/60K free service. I tot long term reliability japs better...lets say keeping more than 10 yearsJapanese are better for those who change car regularly, like every 3-4 years. |
Dec 5 2015, 05:10 PM
1,403 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 5 2015, 10:23 AM) outside tukar you can easily save few hundred bucks for the 4 bijik of tyre This post has been edited by cedyy: Dec 5 2015, 05:11 PM |
Dec 5 2015, 06:51 PM
Dec 5 2015, 11:06 PM
1,524 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 4 2015, 02:18 AM) This is only a 4 year old Peugeot. An average bread and butter european car. I wonder how much do premium european car owner (BMW, Mercedes, Audi etc etc) spend on yearly maintenance alone? over 12 years of ownership, average yearly maintenance for my previous audi 100 is around rm4k (divided by 12 years). there is once in a time during the ownership having cooling coil replaced, gearbox overhaul, engine major overhaul. but usually those year having the major repair also the bill wouldn't exceed rm8k for that year.Any owners would like to share theirs? glad that those alternator, aircond compressor, and starter lasts during my ownership, quite reliable for an european car with more than 20 years old... |
Dec 6 2015, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(KennyKB @ Dec 5 2015, 10:13 AM) Tyres shouldn't be calculated as maintenance cost as it is a consumable item and depends on how much you use. It's like the toner you put into your photostat machine. There is also a wide variation in prices according to personal choice. However engine mountings should definitely be under maintenance as a wear and tear or failure part even if it isn't necessary to change every year. Your real cost per year should be averaged over a few years. Coz my maintenance is like things that required a constant Engine mouting does not need everynyear to chg |
Dec 6 2015, 01:03 PM
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 6 2015, 11:21 AM) Coz my maintenance is like things that required a constant Maintenance does not necessary means constant repair/servicing. Everything that incur extra money to repair or replace are all adding up as maintenance cost.Engine mouting does not need everynyear to chg |
Dec 6 2015, 05:19 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
388 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: kedah...fucuk |
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 5 2015, 01:30 PM) Koreans are cheaper to service since they dont really check much. Just simple oil change. Of course, Im saying this based on Hyundai Sonata which I sent to authorized SC to service. my Peugeot front windscreen already rm2900 plus installation rm3390 (ori la) for model 407. if taiwan made one can get it done within rm2k.As for parts, they are still slightly expensive for common parts like bumpers, headlight, tail light, etc. However when it comes to rare parts like windscreen, sunroof, etc, the figure start to fly over the roof. Sonata windshield cost 1.8K while Camry cost RM900 (IIRC). One might argue that some Koreans part are higher quality like with DRL, projector headlamp instead of reflector on common Toyota and Honda or windshield that came with rain sensor. However you do find rare occurrence where Koreans are cheaper to maintain when it comes to accessories. Usually if you had problem with Honda/Toyota side mirror LED etc, you had to change the whole unit. Koreans had the LED only module. recently one of my peugeot 508 headlight the led rosak ,u know how much per side bo.....cannot replace led alone...need whole set...sc asking for rm4k,,luckily under warranty ...change foc. full turbo replacement kit ...asking for rm8k from sc.......hopefully my turbo don't kong so fast after warranty...but sure kong ....wear and tear bearing inside the turbo.but outside got made in china copy version only rm2.5k shja (turbo alone). heard that that the new peugeot 308 lagi jialat,the headlamp no longer use bulb...full LED ...if spoil....buy a brand new headlamps. |
Jan 15 2016, 02:46 AM
3,848 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Ampang |
Jan 15 2016, 08:20 AM
175 posts Joined: Sep 2015 |
Well, my BMWs (F13, F15 and G12) have full warranty and free parts/oil changes/wear & tear (including disc brakes, pumps, filters even windshield wipers etc, excluding only tyres) for 3 years, so maintenance costs are zero. I hardly keep cars longer than 3 or max 4 years, so no major costs incurred for my modest fleet so far. The incoming W222 has $5000 rebates in service vouchers, so that should last at least a year or two... Fingers crossed haha
Jan 15 2016, 08:54 AM
1,167 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 15 2016, 02:46 AM) Starting 2016 with few problems.. #sellpijotbuymazda2In addition to the leaky O rings and TPMS sensor, the aircond compressor/cooling coil/thermostat needs to be checked also, visual inspection todays shows that the coolant level is already at minimum. Lets see how it goes on from here |
| Change to: | 0.0198sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:33 AM |