8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Car yearly maintenance cost

TSBoy96
post Dec 4 2015, 02:18 AM, updated 11 months ago

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Just gathered the receipt in my car's glovebox, for this year (2015) maintenance alone..

After all these there are still parts that needs to be replaced such as the wheel bearings, aircond cooling coil and condenser, absorber.

This is only a 4 year old Peugeot. An average bread and butter european car. I wonder how much do premium european car owner (BMW, Mercedes, Audi etc etc) spend on yearly maintenance alone?

Any owners would like to share theirs?

This post has been edited by Boy96: Dec 4 2015, 02:21 AM
gahpadu
post Dec 4 2015, 04:14 AM

1,438 posts

Wow...quite expensive to own Pug.

So far ,my 4 years old ford cost around rm1k this year and it already clocked 140k km

This post has been edited by gahpadu: Dec 4 2015, 04:14 AM
Darren
post Dec 4 2015, 08:37 AM

1,324 posts

What tires were you using anyway? 1.4K++ for a pair?

Anyway, prepared to bear the consequence for the so-called premium ride. I think most of the time, you can get away without doing the unnecessary maintenance but if you really like the car and wish to keep it in really good condition, this is the price to pay.

Not sure how much pricing has changed, but I was usually asked to drive the car back after servicing. Normal oil change already >1K 2-3 years ago. Speaking of which, I do noticed that even the Japanese marques had price increase for official sc servicing.
rcracer
post Dec 4 2015, 08:44 AM

?????
3,772 posts

all SC works of course expensive,

toyota also easily reach that fiure
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 4 2015, 08:47 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Battery RM320 fuuuuuuu can tahan up to 5 years?
theanswer
post Dec 4 2015, 08:54 AM

1,024 posts

yep sc price is expensive. unless u'r still under warranty.
yongtan
post Dec 4 2015, 08:57 AM

60 posts

Does the front brake disc and engine mount need to be replaced so early at 77k? Is this a normal routine maintenance for peugeot cars?
speedywinger
post Dec 4 2015, 09:01 AM

33 posts

Wow 3k for tires? That's pretty ex
TSBoy96
post Dec 4 2015, 09:30 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Darren @ Dec 4 2015, 08:37 AM)
What tires were you using anyway? 1.4K++ for a pair?

Anyway, prepared to bear the consequence for the so-called premium ride. I think most of the time, you can get away without doing the unnecessary maintenance but if you really like the car and wish to keep it in really good condition, this is the price to pay.

Not sure how much pricing has changed, but I was usually asked to drive the car back after servicing. Normal oil change already >1K 2-3 years ago. Speaking of which, I do noticed that even the Japanese marques had price increase for official sc servicing.
Goodyear Asymmetric 2 225/40/18

QUOTE(rcracer @ Dec 4 2015, 08:44 AM)
all SC works of course expensive,

toyota also easily reach that fiure
only the oil change was done at SC (for record keeping ), other repair works are done at an outside specialist.

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 4 2015, 08:47 AM)
Battery RM320 fuuuuuuu can tahan up to 5 years?
1 year only

TSBoy96
post Dec 4 2015, 09:32 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(yongtan @ Dec 4 2015, 08:57 AM)
Does the front brake disc and engine mount need to be replaced so early at 77k? Is this a normal routine maintenance for peugeot cars?
My front and rear brake disc was badly scratched and I was told not to skim it (all specialist I went told the same thing). So for cost purposes I only did the front ones first as the rear ones are way more expensive than the front.

Yes my mounting crack already

This post has been edited by Boy96: Dec 4 2015, 09:36 AM

subaru555
post Dec 4 2015, 10:03 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 4 2015, 09:32 AM)
My front and rear brake disc was badly scratched and I was told not to skim it (all specialist I went told the same thing). So for cost purposes I only did the front ones first as the rear ones are way more expensive than the front.

Yes my mounting crack already
to change the engine mount at 77k kms is pretty early. Usually engine mount would fail at 100k - 150k depending on how you drive. Nevertheless, Peugeots are not well known for reliability. Thus, you would spend more than usual to upkeep your ride.

Also, why was your disc brakes badly scratched? Didn't you use the original brake pads? Or was it aftermarket ones?

TSBoy96
post Dec 4 2015, 10:06 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(subaru555 @ Dec 4 2015, 10:03 AM)
to change the engine mount at 77k kms is pretty early. Usually engine mount would fail at 100k - 150k depending on how you drive. Nevertheless, Peugeots are not well known for reliability. Thus, you would spend more than usual to upkeep your ride.

Also, why was your disc brakes badly scratched? Didn't you use the original brake pads? Or was it aftermarket ones?
All original, not a single aftermarket part in this car

Well, worse still my Proton had its engine mounting failed at 30k KM, luckily its under warranty

This post has been edited by Boy96: Dec 4 2015, 10:07 AM
janggutbiru
post Dec 4 2015, 10:10 AM

162 posts

damn espensip.
guanteik
post Dec 4 2015, 10:29 AM

2,656 posts

Great sharing. To be frank, your maintenance is a little at the high side. Of course the maintenance takes into consideration based on the distance traveled too.

I'm driving a 3 year old CC, I spent around 1K for maintenance + brake pads changes for this year alone. I would say newer car needs to maintain less.
kww
post Dec 4 2015, 01:10 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 4 2015, 02:18 AM)
Just gathered the receipt in my car's glovebox, for this year (2015) maintenance alone..

After all these there are still parts that needs to be replaced such as the wheel bearings, aircond cooling coil and condenser, absorber.

This is only a 4 year old Peugeot. An average bread and butter european car. I wonder how much do premium european car owner (BMW, Mercedes, Audi etc etc) spend on yearly maintenance alone?

Nice sharing. I'm also in the mid of clearing all papers in my 7 year old vw polo. Here is breakdown money spent:
- normal service: filter, oil, plug seal rm378
- radiator leak: rm498
- backside itchy, change absorber to Bilstein B8: rm3200
- major service: timing belt, water pump, normal service, all bushes, gear oil, DV, vacuum hoses, spark plugs, 4x Michelin PS3, etc rm7800 rclxub.gif eat ping pong biscuits for few months.
Total in 2014: rm11,876

- normal service: rm550
- change battery (Trane) after 3 years of use: rm404
Total in 2015: rm954
andrekua2
post Dec 4 2015, 01:34 PM

13,469 posts

QUOTE(subaru555 @ Dec 4 2015, 10:03 AM)

Not really. My previous vios also change engine mounting less than 100K. I do admit I 'FLY' over bumps like rally.

I think in Malaysia hot and humid weather, even rubber products are not spared. They tends to harden after few years especially if you left it to baked in the sun a lot.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Dec 4 2015, 01:34 PM
rcracer
post Dec 4 2015, 01:36 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Dec 4 2015, 01:10 PM)
Nice sharing. I'm also in the mid of clearing all papers in my 7 year old vw polo. Here is breakdown money spent:
- normal service: filter, oil, plug seal rm378
- radiator leak: rm498
- backside itchy, change absorber to Bilstein B8: rm3200
- major service: timing belt, water pump, normal service, all bushes, gear oil, DV, vacuum hoses, spark plugs, 4x Michelin PS3, etc rm7800  rclxub.gif eat ping pong biscuits for few months.
Total in 2014: rm11,876

- normal service: rm550
- change battery (Trane) after 3 years of use: rm404
Total in 2015: rm954
remove the absorbers and tyres, wayyy cheaper than TS
subaru555
post Dec 4 2015, 01:42 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 4 2015, 01:34 PM)
Not really. My previous vios also change engine mounting less than 100K. I do admit I 'FLY' over bumps like rally.

I think in Malaysia hot and humid weather, even rubber products are not spared. They tends to harden after few years especially if you left it to baked in the sun a lot.
yup... definately it depends on the way you drive. My scooby bought brand new to date never had any engine mounting problem. Mileage is now 90k. My previous ride, Alphard can go 130k before I had to change the mounts!

subaru555
post Dec 4 2015, 01:44 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 4 2015, 10:06 AM)
All original, not a single aftermarket part in this car

Well, worse still my Proton had its engine mounting failed at 30k KM, luckily its under warranty
then it's a surprise that the disc is badly scratched. What's more worse is that it's not advisable to skim it. rclxub.gif

Like all continentals, Peugeot are nice to drive but when maintenance kicks in... rclxub.gif
Ginny88
post Dec 4 2015, 02:03 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 4 2015, 02:18 AM)

If this is what you have to pay to maintain a Pug then maintaining a BMW or Merc is less expensive. My brother spends about RM6K a year to maintain his Merc. A BMW owner (3 series) also told me about RM6K. Not sure about Audi.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:10 PM