Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

TSRegentCid
post Feb 21 2016, 12:46 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(numblink @ Feb 21 2016, 11:39 AM)
Thank you,  rclxms.gif  I plan to overnight at Kansai Airport and travel to Kyoto next morning . How much does it cost ? the 6.30 am . Kinda budget trip blush.gif
Please to the Homework
Page 1 Used Hyperdia
http://www.hyperdia.com/en/

TSRegentCid
post Feb 21 2016, 02:06 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Feb 21 2016, 12:13 PM)
Hi Guys

Sorry to ask this question but I did search on page 1 regarding JR Pass. However, understand that JR pass can't ride Nozomi shinkansen from Tokyo to Kyoto. Can I know which website to search for the ticket price and can I book online?
I did some research on Ryokan in Mt Fuji area for Dec but all fully book. Anyway have any idea?

Japan Hotel only Open 3 month earlier Reserve. If you want to stay at Dec means you only can start booking at October.
Online Booking only for JR East Train. Tokyo to Kyoto are Tokaido Line which was under JR Central; This means no online booking option available. You have to buy at Ticket counter.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 21 2016, 02:07 PM
TSRegentCid
post Feb 21 2016, 04:16 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 21 2016, 03:06 PM)
Same as Uber.
Hang between illegal and legal.

Coming Olympics games, room demand will high. If govt want ban it also wait after the games.
TSRegentCid
post Feb 21 2016, 06:29 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 21 2016, 05:15 PM)
Is it possible to ask for cash-back in Japan?

Like when buying things in grocery store and pay with debit cards. Say it's 5000¥. So they charge to my card ¥10k so that they give me cash ¥5k.

In this way, I don't have to withdraw money from ATMs.
No Such Thing. And Grocery Store don't take Credit cards payment.
Card payment only Pasmo or Suica
TSRegentCid
post Feb 22 2016, 12:28 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 21 2016, 05:33 PM)
I did this in the UK and some European countries. It worked.
but it must be debit cards lah, CC sure cannot.
Big grocery stores (like those as big as Tesco or Carrefour in M'sia) also cannot use CC/debit cards?  rclxub.gif

then where can use CC??
Very high End Store only accept CC. Fine Dining Restaurant with payment 30,000 Yen above.
Very High End store in Ginza accept with spending 30,000 Above.

Japan cash note until 10,000 Yen. For them big amount money are starting 100,000 Yen. 30,000Yen below for them was small amount of money only which still no need using Card.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 22 2016, 12:31 AM
TSRegentCid
post Feb 22 2016, 05:37 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 22 2016, 01:34 AM)
I see, so is it better to change money here or wait until I go to Japan and exchange there?
Change at Malaysia much better. Malaysia give better rate
TSRegentCid
post Feb 22 2016, 04:04 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Feb 22 2016, 12:12 PM)
any1 know which restaurant should i go to try long leg crab in osaka? i know shinsaibashi there got a lot but which is the best and worth to try in Osaka? and price wise? is Kani Doraku the best? Thank You.
Those long Leg Crab sure very expensive.
Most Powerful are Alaska King Crab. One leg need around 7000 Yen (Market Price) Restaurant Price around 10000Yen
2nd was Fukui Crab ((Echizen)). 3 Crab Leg around 6500 Yen (Market Price) Restaurant price around 8000 Yen
3rd will be Hairy Crab. Almost same as Chinese Mitten Crab. This one one whole crab course meal around 4500 - 7000Yen
That the Huge price gap diffrence.

Kanidoraku honten Osaka still the best but alot of people. Price most wise with most variety of crab meal.
One person around 5000 Yen.
Most people going Kandoraku eating thier set meal. Most price wise but comes with hairy crab. Still very delicious.

Compare to Echizen....still far off...LOL ~~~

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 22 2016, 04:20 PM
TSRegentCid
post Feb 23 2016, 08:49 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 23 2016, 06:46 PM)
Is easter celebrated in Japan?
No. It was not a Public Holiday at Japan plus it only celebrated by christian only and Japan mostly are Buddha.
TSRegentCid
post Feb 23 2016, 10:44 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 23 2016, 09:39 PM)
aiya..was hoping to see some girls in bunny suit  tongue.gif
Go Shinjuku Kabukicho. Alot
TSRegentCid
post Feb 24 2016, 09:55 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(big1 @ Feb 24 2016, 08:49 PM)
hello sifus,

just booked ticket to tokyo for 1 week , taking off in april. decided after discussed with my wife last night, yea, i am an impulse buyer laugh.gif .

so i am pretty noob at this. can you guys please advise any must go place ?

1 week in tokyo, enough? or too long? was thinking maybe go mount fuji for sight seeing.

below is what i can think of,

- disney ( wife )
- some garden in tokyo, hopefully still got sakura for my wife to see.
- akihabara ( electronics stuff and gundam )
- some shrine around tokyo ( not THAT infamous one )
- mount fuji ( the only place which i will travel , osaka is too far i reckon)
- tokyo museum

my wife doesnt want the capsule hotel, so i will look for cheap hotel with double bed, any tips? typically rm300 a night.( checking in agoda/booking.com as well now)

sorry bro, did not go through all the thread. cry.gif
Here will be different from others. At here you do the homework first and I do the add-on and correction.
If you ask direct advise and answer like this way, I won't give you any answer.

Go Page 1 and start do the homework. Still got 2 Months of time for the homework.
TSRegentCid
post Feb 24 2016, 10:09 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(big1 @ Feb 24 2016, 09:00 PM)
first quick question,

should i go straight book 7 night of hotel? or split it out to different location? more fun to stay at different part of the town?
7 Night under one Hotel at Tokyo no problem. Don't forget Japan Hotel are Check in at 2 Pm and Check out at 10 Am. Between 4 hour you need drag your luggage around or spend money put at train Station locker.
If you like to try difference hotel then go ahead.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 24 2016, 10:10 PM
TSRegentCid
post Feb 24 2016, 11:58 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 24 2016, 10:33 PM)
My booking.com for Toyoko Inn is under Pay Later and Free Cancellation option. However, I received SMS stating that the full amount has been charged by Toyoko Inn. This is weird because authorization checking will usually stated agoda.com, booking.com but this one states the Toyoko Inn name. Is this their policy? I have since cancelled my booking (free cancellation) and re-booked under Agoda (due to lower price).

Anyone know what is the email address for Toyoko Inn? unable to find at the website. Also, can we store luggage at the front desk if arrive before check-in time?
Only have tel inquiry

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 24 2016, 11:59 PM
TSRegentCid
post Feb 25 2016, 07:16 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Today KLCC Isetan got Ehime Fair.
Selling Ehime product and food.

Dont forget to try Ehime 2 most famos food.
Udon & Orange.
TSRegentCid
post Feb 25 2016, 11:54 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Problem been found solution. Toyoko Inn topic should put into ends. No futher discussion been needed.

QUOTE(midnightsunray @ Feb 25 2016, 10:53 AM)
Is RM2000 enough for 10 days in Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto? This is just for Suica/Passmo card, food, minor shopping. If no shopping, RM1500 okay?

JR Pass is another expenditure which is not included in the RM2000.
Rm2000 per person? That alot. Can have few luxury meal.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 25 2016, 11:57 AM
TSRegentCid
post Feb 25 2016, 01:44 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Feb 25 2016, 11:46 AM)
So you are saying RM2000 worth of cash is a lot for transportation and f&b for that 10 days?? When Im doing my itinerary (still revising it), I am so afraid that RM2000 will not be enough. I dont have any credit cards as i dont really use it so to ready a decent amount of cash is really important. If u say so, i feel so relieved.

Of coz, not included hotel.

Any one knows the regular g-shock price there. I heard it's cheap there compare to here but how cheap?
Not really. G-Shock price almost similar to Malaysia. But model number will be different. It will ends with GW-xxxx-1JF
Some model with 1JF will have Multi-Band 6 Function.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 25 2016, 01:49 PM
TSRegentCid
post Feb 25 2016, 05:50 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Wheather forecast just trust them 50%. Based on my exp.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 25 2016, 05:51 PM
TSRegentCid
post Feb 25 2016, 09:55 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Lingthau @ Feb 25 2016, 07:17 PM)
I eventually forgo all my city hopping plans during this golden week. I will be travelling with mother, wife and 2 kids. Now, I will only stay in Tokyo the entire 10 days.

26 April to 29 April - Disneyland
30 April - Surrounding Tsukiji market and Shinjuku (Plan to buy Hakone travel pass in Shinjuku)
1 May - Hakone
2 May - Yokohama (themepark+zoo)
3 May to 5 May - Other places in Tokyo

Will only be staying in 2 places throughout my stay - Disneyland and Grand Palace Hotel Tokyo. Interestingly, I found that Grand Palace Hotel Tokyo offer 35% discount for bookings more than 3 consecutive nights. Unfortunately, due to first time using Expedia, I unknowingly clicked pay now and amount had been charged to my cc.

Anyway of getting cheaper 3-day Disneyland pass than the price advertised in Disneyland website?
Hakone means travel out of City already. It won't works. Will be full of people heading Hakone.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 25 2016, 10:36 PM
TSRegentCid
post Feb 26 2016, 06:16 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Prodigius @ Feb 26 2016, 03:13 AM)
Hi guys, my first maiden trip to Japan. My itinerary as follow, any comments please let me know.

27/3 Arrival 2300hr (Haneda Airport)
28/3 Shinjuku
29/3 Shinjuku
30/3 Shinjuku
31/3 Hakone
1/4   Miyajima
2/4   Miyajima
3-8/4   Kyoto
9-10/4  Osaka then back KL

I know its weird that I am travelling all the way to Miyajima then back to Kyoto, as I booked accommodation at Airbnb much much earlier last year for Shinjuku Kyoto and osaka. Currently filling in the blanks for 31/3 - 3/4 due to one cancelled Airbnb accommodation in Shinjuku.

Anything else I should not miss on this trip?
First time go Japan but go so many city. This is lol.....
End up you only cover 4% of Tokyo , 70% of Hakone , 30% of Hiroshima , 60% of Kyoto , 3% of Osaka only. According to your plan.

My suggestion:
Cut down the Kyoto 6 day to 4 day and put into Osaka.. Forget that Miyajima and put that 2 day to Tokyo.
Tokyo so big why only Shinjuku?

5 days of Tokyo
1 day of Hakone
4 days Kyoto
3 days Osaka

This is more proper way.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 26 2016, 06:38 AM
TSRegentCid
post Feb 26 2016, 05:27 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(AeronBabe @ Feb 26 2016, 04:08 PM)
Disneyland , i went 1 day, completed 85% of the park.. u sure u need so long?  hmm.gif

imo think 2 days is enough unless you take disneysea in account too
Bro, Golden Week ok.
1 day u only can complete 30% consider lucky
TSRegentCid
post Feb 26 2016, 08:04 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Alex Yow @ Feb 26 2016, 05:59 PM)
Hi just wanna ask some comment for this 2 hotel... Sakura hotel hatagaya and Palace studio shinjuku parkside which better and near to tourist spot?
Why dont you just used Google Map and see the hotel location.
Like this also want spoonfeed. Since you dont want do homework how about you give me your air ticket, I go review this 2 hotel for you. Now who going Tokyo?

Want travel without using travel agent but lazy do homework.

By reading your question I very sure you not even do single homework.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 26 2016, 08:13 PM

23 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0733sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:26 AM