6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Huawei Mate 8 forum discussion V1, The truly premium flagship?

xperiaDROID
post Mar 8 2016, 05:13 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 8 2016, 05:09 PM)
Is a great buy ...I rate it my second best buy after LG V10 . Nexus 6P is in third place
However many new users are always sceptical of HW name!!"
Never used a Huawei phone before, but I have been admiring and trusted them since the good old Ascend P1. I don't know why some people are still skeptical about Huawei, since Huawei is a big company (world's no.3 smartphone manufacturer) and not some cheap China brand like Vivo, Leagoo etc. Hope Huawei will advertise more, they seriously need to get more attention and convince people to give their phones a try.

Mate 8 will be my first ever Huawei phone. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Mar 8 2016, 05:16 PM
xperiaDROID
post Mar 8 2016, 07:36 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(x88yunkw @ Mar 8 2016, 07:32 PM)
The price is actually standard for Huawei mate series when u look back...
Mate 7 16gb rm1799 before gst
Mate 7 32gb rm1999 before gst

I really don't know why suddenly come out a Mate S with that crazy price tag.
- Weak currency
- Huawei went retarded
- 'S' makes it special
- Force touch...oh wait nevermind

Mate S without force touch is just an epic fail, plus that underpowered Kirin 935 SoC for RM 2699 when I can get Honor 7 for way cheaper price.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Mar 8 2016, 07:37 PM
xperiaDROID
post Mar 9 2016, 02:05 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Mar 9 2016, 11:43 AM)
yes, but i read a review somewhere said it doesnt come with a fast charge cable...not sure why they said so...
Cuz reviewers got review units, so the accessories inside the box are different from what we consumers get.
xperiaDROID
post Mar 9 2016, 11:14 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(samsungXP @ Mar 9 2016, 10:17 PM)
Mate 8 or mate S better
Mate 8 beats the Mate S hands down.
xperiaDROID
post Mar 10 2016, 02:54 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(iSmart @ Mar 10 2016, 11:56 AM)
4GB 64GB Champage Gold Rm2299

4GB 64GB Mocha Gold Rm2399

3GB 32GB Both Colour Rm2099

Come Lowyat Huawei

Find Me

My Name Is Jian
Is that the Huawei shop beside the Vivo shop?
xperiaDROID
post Mar 11 2016, 01:22 PM

K
3,966 posts

Anyone here queuing for the Mate 8 with free Talkband B2?

Even if the Talkband B2 is useless to you, you could just sell it off in Garage Sales for RM 600+. Untung lah wei.
xperiaDROID
post Mar 11 2016, 06:08 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 11 2016, 05:58 PM)
HW actually make very good quality phones. I was very impressed with my first Mate 6.1 n had since than purchase X1, Mate 7, P8max n now Mate8
HW network n 3g/LTE are very stable n strong as they are world largest manufacturer of telco infrastructure and equipment
They do not end up as world 3rd largest mobile manufacturer after Apple n Samsung if they make poor quality stuff.
Is a pity many users view HW branding poorly n think they are one of the many cheap China makes
Remember how people used to view Korean products back in the days? It's similar to what China products are receiving right now. Give them some time to gain reputation.

Can't blame them though, cuz there are many cheap China crap being spread around.
xperiaDROID
post Mar 12 2016, 01:24 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Mar 12 2016, 01:18 PM)
Oh no.... I remember hw p8 has the feature
Wait for the next EMUI version, I guess?

Even the fingerprint scanner gestures from the Mate S are absent on the Mate 8.
xperiaDROID
post Mar 12 2016, 05:17 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Mar 12 2016, 04:39 PM)
i check my box inside no vip card... i see ppl do unboxing got vip card.

1st world problem... lol
The "VIP card" is only for the China version.

It's useless for us outside of China.

xperiaDROID
post Mar 13 2016, 02:25 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Mar 13 2016, 02:21 PM)
huawei already stated very clearly..they think QHD is wasteful...FHD is good enuf..
Unlike Sony, said QHD is useless and then straight away jumped to UHD on Z5 Premium.

Kudos to Huawei for sticking with what they said before.
xperiaDROID
post Mar 13 2016, 07:03 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(samsungXP @ Mar 13 2016, 06:47 PM)
Huawei no 2nd value
Yeah, all Android phones don't have resale value, only iPhones do.

End of the world, oh noes! dry.gif
xperiaDROID
post Mar 13 2016, 09:57 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Mar 13 2016, 09:08 PM)
Sony I not sure. But HTC quite true. The HTC One M9 still selling for quite high at the moment compare to S6 etc.
Are u sure, HTC One M9 in Malaysia? We only have the M9+ here.

Btw, I think Sony and HTC are similarly low when it comes to resale value.
xperiaDROID
post Mar 13 2016, 09:58 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Crystal2 @ Mar 13 2016, 09:56 PM)
There are 2 grille-slots at the bottom - does it mean the phone has 2 speakers? I can't find any mention of 2 spreakers in the specification. Would appreciation if anyone could confirm. Thank you.
The right side is the speaker while the left side is the microphone, if I'm not wrong.
xperiaDROID
post Mar 14 2016, 02:50 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(icemessenger @ Mar 14 2016, 02:48 PM)
Seriously, why such premium phone comes with so many ads...

Can't disable it? Are you using the China version? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Mar 14 2016, 02:52 PM
xperiaDROID
post Mar 14 2016, 02:55 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(icemessenger @ Mar 14 2016, 02:53 PM)
No lah. I got it from gemfive. Dun scare me leh...
Impossibru, international version shouldn't have ads on it.
xperiaDROID
post Mar 14 2016, 03:03 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(icemessenger @ Mar 14 2016, 02:57 PM)
I tried but cannot leh.

When I'm charging the phone and open the cover of the book case, I will see this thing (but with different ads). Gosh. Is it because of the apps that I installed in the morning?

Go keyboard, google keyboard, swiftkey, etc...
I think it might be one of the apps you installed.

Even for China version, they will not dare to put ads into their phone/system.
xperiaDROID
post Mar 14 2016, 03:11 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(icemessenger @ Mar 14 2016, 03:10 PM)
b4 that, do you have such screen pop-up when you open you cover while charging the phone (maybe without the ad?)
Uh, I don't have the phone yet. sweat.gif
xperiaDROID
post Mar 15 2016, 02:21 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(icemessenger @ Mar 15 2016, 02:08 PM)
[attachmentid=6172671]

no plan included for this price
Choose your rate plan first, and then see the total amount at the bottom.

Hell no I'm not gonna switch back to Maxshit, fark Maxshit.
xperiaDROID
post Mar 15 2016, 04:39 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(ykmykm @ Mar 15 2016, 04:32 PM)
is Maxis the only telco that is offering the Mate8 with a plan?
So far, yes.
xperiaDROID
post Mar 16 2016, 08:56 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(xisan @ Mar 16 2016, 08:47 PM)
That's great though. I wonder why Nexus 6P can't be this great. Maybe no battery saver from Huawei itself?
Thank you for the info
Because Nexus 6P is using Snapdragon 810, it's not as power efficient as the Kirin 950 on the Mate 8.

The Mate 8 would've been a godphone if it had Mali T880 MP12 GPU instead of the weaker MP4 GPU.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0410sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:06 AM