Hedgehog Corner V3, I love Quills!!!

crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 11 2007, 10:16 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Tumours happen.... like human can get cancer and tumours.... even dogs.... so nothing external can caused it.... it could be genetic since Pickle had it on the leg... if say a tumour on the internal organs, then it could be something that caused it.

Yes, the vets here have no idea how to treat exotics... even sugar gliders, the vets can preform normal check ups but if were to bring in a sick glider then the vets would not know what to do buy try some antibiotics. Only a small amount of local vets are learning how to treat exotics... so far I have only met 2 vets that have interest in exotics....
TShao
post Mar 11 2007, 01:18 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

That's why there's a risk when buying exotic. Just pray that your exotic pets won't fall sick otherwise it'll be suffering for them.
faerie
post Mar 14 2007, 02:18 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(hao @ Mar 8 2007, 03:36 PM)
After some times of fighting with the tumour, Pickle has been put to sleep to end his suffers today and he was buried under a tree just outside my window. Hope he'll meet new friends at the Rainbow Bridge.

Dear Hao, am sorry for your loss. Don't worry, Pickle had a wonderful life with you and i'm sure he's watching over you from the Rainbow Bridge. And Miwako is with him, right now (haha). Jokes aside.

Hey guys, yea this is my first post after a long hiatus from the internet business. Just a quick glance on the thread, am still shocked about the news. Anyways, Hao and maybe some other (mayb) remember my baby girl Miwako. She died on 12th March.I assumed she had some kinda disease for the past 3 weeks (she's been with me only for the past 3 weeks, she was under my boyfriend's care before).I assumed its WHS, cause i saw her in a rather funny position almost all the time.She always slept sideways, and walked funny. It was hearbreaking saw her, but nothing else I cud do.She succumbed on Monday morning, and I knew the time's coming when I poked her g'morning.Anyways, we noticed she had a lump under her chin..which no one can really explains wht or why.I'm glad she killed her only baby (back then on Dec, she gave birth to a baby but the hog died after 3 days). If not, the baby might have the same disease. (and thats if its true she really had WHS)

anyways, thanks to hao for the info about WHS. Hao told me about the disease before, but we nvr expected Miwako had it.If am not mistaken, months ago a someone's hog died of WHS too.

on the other hand, yakuza-wannabe Arashi is alot friendlier (but only to certain ppl. He's a picky chap).

on a quick note, I really hope no one here boldly breed hedgehogs like there's no tomorrow.If you do not know a shit about hedgehog or how to take care of 'em, pls dont ruin this species.Only kiasu ppl will breed their own pets for profits.dont agree with me? drop me a pm.

and hello to new owners.

This post has been edited by faerie: Mar 14 2007, 02:19 PM
TShao
post Mar 14 2007, 02:37 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

QUOTE(faerie @ Mar 14 2007, 02:18 PM)
Dear Hao, am sorry for your loss. Don't worry, Pickle had a wonderful life with you and i'm sure he's watching over you from the Rainbow Bridge. And Miwako is with him, right now (haha). Jokes aside.

Hey guys, yea this is my first post after a long hiatus from the internet business. Just a quick glance on the thread, am still shocked about the news. Anyways, Hao and maybe some other (mayb) remember my baby girl Miwako. She died on 12th March.I assumed she had some kinda disease for the past 3 weeks (she's been with me only for the past 3 weeks, she was under my boyfriend's care before).I assumed its WHS, cause i saw her in a rather funny position almost all the time.She always slept sideways, and walked funny. It was hearbreaking saw her, but nothing else I cud do.She succumbed on Monday morning, and I knew the time's coming when I poked her g'morning.Anyways, we noticed she had a lump under her chin..which no one can really explains wht or why.I'm glad she killed her only baby (back then on Dec, she gave birth to a baby but the hog died after 3 days). If not, the baby might have the same disease. (and thats if its true she really had WHS)

anyways, thanks to hao for the info about WHS. Hao told me about the disease before, but we nvr expected Miwako had it.If am not mistaken, months ago a someone's hog died of WHS too.

on the other hand, yakuza-wannabe Arashi is alot friendlier (but only to certain ppl. He's a picky chap).

on a quick note, I really hope no one here boldly breed hedgehogs like there's no tomorrow.If you do not know a shit about hedgehog or how to take care of 'em, pls dont ruin this species.Only kiasu ppl will breed their own pets for profits.dont agree with me? drop me a pm.

and hello to new owners.
OMG!!!!! You gave me a shock!!!!!! RIP Miwako. Pickle and Miwako are playing happily together now at the rainbow bridge I guess.
No problem. At least you know what's happening to Miwa and I'm glad I told you b4 smile.gif
Wah... Arashi is a lot friendlier d ar? good good... hahaha... no more samseng d...
Too bad I got see a lot of ppl breed hedgies like there's no tomorrow. Nvr let the female hedgies rest after each birth. And a lot of ppl though they know what they're doing but they are doing the wrong way actually. I oso got no eyes to see d...

And welcome back wink.gif

This post has been edited by hao: Mar 14 2007, 02:37 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 14 2007, 09:02 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

OMG.... sorry for your lost too faerie... really sad to hear about that.... Well, like Hao said, Miwako and Pickle are playing happily up there in rainbow bridge.

Sigh.... shocking news indeed....
Reanne
post Mar 14 2007, 09:40 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

Arh? Pray both Miwako and Pickle journey safely in the afterlife. Sad to see such wonderful creatures go, but I'm sure their worries and suffering is beyond them and they are happy they had such great owners. smile.gif

RIP Miwako & Pickle.
akachester
post Mar 14 2007, 10:31 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(faerie @ Mar 14 2007, 02:18 PM)

and hello to new owners.
Seems like this disease are very dangerous.Anyone care to explain to me what might have caused it and is there any prevention?And what is the symptom we could see if its coming and any way to cure it?

@hao, just wondering will you be getting a new hedgie in the near future?
TShao
post Mar 14 2007, 10:38 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Mar 14 2007, 10:31 PM)
Seems like this disease are very dangerous.Anyone care to explain to me what might have caused it and is there any prevention?And what is the symptom we could see if its coming and any way to cure it?

@hao, just wondering will you be getting a new hedgie in the near future?
The only way to prevent it is by buying from responsible breeder that has knowledges on hedgies. It is said that it's a genetic disease but it's not 100% confirm by the researchers. The sympton is the hedgehog will walk like a drunken man. You'll know if you watched "1 litre of tears" before, it's the same case. So far, researchers is still looking for a cure.

Actually i got adopt another hedgehog. The previous is bz with his work so i just volunteer to adopt it rather than letting it neglected.
akachester
post Mar 14 2007, 10:41 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(hao @ Mar 14 2007, 10:38 PM)
The only way to prevent it is by buying from responsible breeder that has knowledges on hedgies. It is said that it's a genetic disease but it's not 100% confirm by the researchers. The sympton is the hedgehog will walk like a drunken man. You'll know if you watched "1 litre of tears" before, it's the same case. So far, researchers is still looking for a cure.

Actually i got adopt another hedgehog. The previous is bz with his work so i just volunteer to adopt it rather than letting it neglected.
IC, so its basically no way of preventing it since its being born with it?That must have been a very dangerous one i guess...Well, maybe you could post a photo of that hedgehog here?wanting to see it as well...
TShao
post Mar 14 2007, 10:43 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Mar 14 2007, 10:41 PM)
IC, so its basically no way of preventing it since its being born with it?That must have been a very dangerous one i guess...Well, maybe you could post a photo of that hedgehog here?wanting to see it as well...
Yeap, must get from responsible breeder that know what he's doing, that's all i can advise lor. This one ar... very fat worrrr... hahahahaha
akachester
post Mar 14 2007, 10:52 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Haha..well, at least the hedgehog have a great owner in you right now..But for breeders, how do they detect it whether the hedgehog have disease or not?any thing such as medical checkup or not?
TShao
post Mar 14 2007, 10:58 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Mar 14 2007, 10:52 PM)
Haha..well, at least the hedgehog have a great owner in you right now..But for breeders, how do they detect it whether the hedgehog have disease or not?any thing such as medical checkup or not?
From the symptoms lor. They won't go breed the hedgehog when they suspect something is going wrong. Some they don't care, just care about the profit only. Some don't even know what's happening to the hedgie, even worse.
akachester
post Mar 14 2007, 10:59 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(hao @ Mar 14 2007, 10:58 PM)
From the symptoms lor. They won't go breed the hedgehog when they suspect something is going wrong. Some they don't care, just care about the profit only. Some don't even know what's happening to the hedgie, even worse.
IC...Then we really must make sure the hedgie we get are from good breeders first.Not those cheap cheap simply breed ones..
TShao
post Mar 14 2007, 11:02 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Mar 14 2007, 10:59 PM)
IC...Then we really must make sure the hedgie we get are from good breeders first.Not those cheap cheap simply breed ones..
Aiya, a lot just cincai breed one. The only knowledges they know about breeding hedgies is to put the opposite sex together then wait for the money to go into their pocket.
faerie
post Mar 16 2007, 02:09 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(hao @ Mar 14 2007, 02:37 PM)
OMG!!!!! You gave me a shock!!!!!! RIP Miwako. Pickle and Miwako are playing happily together now at the rainbow bridge I guess.
No problem. At least you know what's happening to Miwa and I'm glad I told you b4 smile.gif
Wah... Arashi is a lot friendlier d ar? good good... hahaha... no more samseng d...
Too bad I got see a lot of ppl breed hedgies like there's no tomorrow. Nvr let the female hedgies rest after each birth. And a lot of ppl though they know what they're doing but they are doing the wrong way actually. I oso got no eyes to see d...

And welcome back wink.gif
Yea, am glad we had the conversation about WHS months back. Least I'm prepared for the worst. Hey, mayb u cud paste the link to the site/video here ? Btw, I thot you were really brave.I wudnt dare to do the same..I mean, yea its sad to see our hedgies suffering, but to put 'em to sleep forever..it takes lotsa guts.Hope you're fine!
We buried Miwa in my garden, under a tree and a "tombstone" heh.

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 14 2007, 09:02 PM)
OMG.... sorry for your lost too faerie... really sad to hear about that.... Well, like Hao said, Miwako and Pickle are playing happily up there in rainbow bridge.

Sigh.... shocking news indeed....
QUOTE(Reanne @ Mar 14 2007, 09:40 PM)
Arh? Pray both Miwako and Pickle journey safely in the afterlife. Sad to see such wonderful creatures go, but I'm sure their worries and suffering is beyond them and they are happy they had such great owners. smile.gif

RIP Miwako & Pickle.
Thanks girls. On the same day Miwako died, a friend of Connie lost his/her hedgie too. Am not sure because of wht but Connie told me its mites problem. Seems the poor fella had mites under his skin. Wonder how cud that be possible and it sounds really scary..

QUOTE(hao @ Mar 14 2007, 11:02 PM)
Aiya, a lot just cincai breed one. The only knowledges they know about breeding hedgies is to put the opposite sex together then wait for the money to go into their pocket.
Thats so true!whts up with that attitude? anyways, Miwa's baby happened by accident I'd say. We didnt knew they mated, I thot the plan to "not wasting Arashi's sperms" failed heh.But after that, we just let it go.Sigh..if only ppl will realize not to breed boldly, MAYBE we cud prevent this genetic disease among the hedgies in M'sia.

Btw, Hao..not planning to get any hedgie soon ? or you're waiting to finish your studies?

This post has been edited by faerie: Mar 16 2007, 02:10 PM
TShao
post Mar 16 2007, 02:44 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

QUOTE(faerie @ Mar 16 2007, 02:09 PM)
Yea, am glad we had the conversation about WHS months back. Least I'm prepared for the worst. Hey, mayb u cud paste the link to the site/video here ? Btw, I thot you were really brave.I wudnt dare to do the same..I mean, yea its sad to see our hedgies suffering, but to put 'em to sleep forever..it takes lotsa guts.Hope you're fine!
We buried Miwa in my garden, under a tree and a "tombstone" heh.
Thanks girls. On the same day Miwako died, a friend of Connie lost his/her hedgie too. Am not sure because of wht but Connie told me its mites problem. Seems the poor fella had mites under his skin. Wonder how cud that be possible and it sounds really scary..
Thats so true!whts up with that attitude? anyways, Miwa's baby happened by accident I'd say. We didnt knew they mated, I thot the plan to "not wasting Arashi's sperms"  failed heh.But after that, we just let it go.Sigh..if only ppl will realize not to breed boldly, MAYBE we cud prevent this genetic disease among the hedgies in M'sia.

Btw, Hao..not planning to get any hedgie soon ? or you're waiting to finish your studies?
It looks brave but i took a few weeks to come up with that decision. I can said that was the most difficult decision that I need to make in my life. I'm fine and even glad that Pickle doesn't need to suffer anymore, he can even enjoy his afterlife at the rainbow bridge, making new friends, eating more food, I hope there's wheels for him to run, it's his favourite toy afterall, hahaha... The gene pool in Msia is very limited, that's why breeding good quality hedgehogs here is very challenging.

Actually I have another hedgehog, mentioned in the previous post. I adopted the hedgehog cos the previous owner is bz with his work so i just volunteered to adopt it rather than letting it neglected.
faerie
post Mar 16 2007, 03:49 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(hao @ Mar 16 2007, 02:44 PM)

Actually I have another hedgehog, mentioned in the previous post. I adopted the hedgehog cos the previous owner is bz with his work so i just volunteered to adopt it rather than letting it neglected.
heh i saw la your post about your adopted baby, I meant not planning to have your own soon ? tongue.gif anyways, I found the link:

http://www.angelfire.com/wa2/comemeetmyfamily/wobblyhs1.html

they are adorable, and pityful babies..
TShao
post Mar 16 2007, 03:54 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

Not going to at this moment, in the future maybe...
akachester
post Mar 16 2007, 06:46 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(faerie @ Mar 16 2007, 03:49 PM)
heh i saw la your post about your adopted baby, I meant not planning to have your own soon ?  tongue.gif anyways, I found the link:

http://www.angelfire.com/wa2/comemeetmyfamily/wobblyhs1.html

they are adorable, and pityful babies..
Great info here..And extremely pityful as well...
TAGreptiles
post Mar 16 2007, 09:22 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

Alicia Horsley's hedgie died a few days ago also. thru severe mite infection. by the time i took him to the vet for her, the vets only gave him 2 days to live. he died the next day. alicia was too pregnant to look after him also. thats why she only noticed him like that after a while. she was not in her shop also. the sister and mother knew next to nothing bout hedgies.

anyways. she gave birth to a healthy 4kg ++ baby boy called Cain David Horsley Ling a few days ago smile.gif

124 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:26 AM