Unifi What is a good TM unifi router to speedup 1 mbps?

TS004
post Nov 20 2015, 05:59 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 20 2015, 05:37 PM)
A problem with apartment is there are a lot of routers nearby clogging up the 2.4Ghz band causing interference.

The Asus RT-AC68U is a good choice. If the signal is weak at a particular room, add a powerline extender there.
I want to ask your & everyone opinion, Is this combo okay:-

RT-AC68U + tp-link tl-wa850re repeater

or can you recommend me some good repeaters/extenders that can go well with RT-AC68U

Thank You
blacktubi
post Nov 20 2015, 06:33 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(004 @ Nov 20 2015, 05:59 PM)
I want to ask your & everyone opinion, Is this combo okay:-

RT-AC68U + tp-link tl-wa850re repeater

or can you recommend me some good repeaters/extenders that can go well with RT-AC68U

Thank You
It's alright but I am not a fan of repeater as the performance is not good.

If you are looking for performance and stability, installing a second AP is recommended.

Take a look at TP-LINK WPA4220KIT powerline wireless AP.
TS004
post Nov 20 2015, 07:20 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 20 2015, 06:33 PM)

If you are looking for performance and stability, installing a second AP is recommended.

Okay, Thank You. I will look for it smile.gif
beyond430
post Nov 21 2015, 10:55 AM

-----
1,325 posts

Hi all sifu, anyone using D-link router for Unifi?
for example DIR-820L, DIR-850L...

How the signal performance compare to TM stock router?
I got budget constraint so looking on those affordable...
jolmy
post Nov 21 2015, 10:58 AM

Meow
1,182 posts

Go for Asus RT-N12HP or RT-N14UHP. And if that still does not help, use HomePlug technology.

QUOTE(4 @ Nov 20 2015, 01:35 AM)
I use TM's Unifi 30Mbps and I use a router/modem supplied by TM (As shown below), at my apartment

but because my laptop is far from the router TM, my internet is slow and sometimes none at all.
Please refer image below to get a clear picture.

The highest internet speed that I can get from my room is 5 mbps but even then rarely and sometimes if everyone in my family use their laptop (5 people inclu me) I can only get 1 mbps and sometimes can't get at all.

So, I want to ask what is the good/best router for speed up my internet speed in my room (budget RM500-RM800?)
and is there any other option to make to speed my internet connection ( other than changing router)?

Thank You
pot
post Nov 21 2015, 01:30 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ Nov 20 2015, 01:38 PM)
now days best router Asus RT-AC68U
i using Asus RT-AC68U very stable

my area not available unifi so i using 4mbps streamyx

wifi signal strong
May i know how to use Asus router with streamyx? Seller ask to buy DSL -ac68u not RT-ac68U.
TQ
SUSpakji
post Nov 21 2015, 02:13 PM

1,386 posts

QUOTE(pot @ Nov 21 2015, 01:30 PM)
May i know how to use Asus router with streamyx? Seller ask to buy DSL -ac68u not RT-ac68U.
TQ
seller noob asking buy DSL -ac68

i use ADSL MODEM connected asus router wan port
ADSL MODEM 1 PORT Recommend connect Wan port asus router

This post has been edited by pakji: Nov 21 2015, 02:13 PM
pot
post Nov 21 2015, 04:08 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ Nov 21 2015, 02:13 PM)
seller noob asking buy DSL -ac68

i use ADSL MODEM connected asus router wan port
ADSL MODEM 1 PORT Recommend connect Wan port asus router
TQ for ur info. rclxm9.gif So using tplink 8970 just switch the operation mode to modem only? others asus router handle?

SUSpakji
post Nov 21 2015, 05:56 PM

1,386 posts

QUOTE(pot @ Nov 21 2015, 04:08 PM)
TQ for ur info.  rclxm9.gif  So using tplink 8970 just switch the operation mode to modem only? others asus router handle?
ur is tplink 8970 i see its adsl router its cannot

u need buy ADSL MODEM Without wifi and without lan port 4x
must be 1x lan port only can be use asus router
pot
post Nov 23 2015, 01:19 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ Nov 21 2015, 05:56 PM)
ur is tplink 8970 i see its adsl router its cannot

u need buy ADSL MODEM Without wifi and without lan port 4x
must be 1x lan port only can be use asus router
Noted and thank you for ur advice. thumbup.gif
Khalid21
post Nov 23 2015, 02:05 PM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 20 2015, 06:33 PM)

i interested on this dlink Dap 1665... new AP from dlink.... any review on this..
TS004
post Dec 18 2015, 11:09 PM

32 posts

Earlier this month I buy ASUS RT-AC66U + TP-LINK WPA4220KIT , I got problem to setupAsus but manage to find someone to help me. This is my lttle review about it:

The speed is (slightly) faster than before. But it will be more faster (30Mbps +) if you use the ASUS RT-AC66U + TP-LINK WPA4220KIT.

I've also tried the D-Link DIR-615 (TM default router) + TP-LINK WPA4220KIT, it is also effective (speed can reach to 25-30mbps).

But the disadvantages of TP-LINK WPA4220KIT is, if you use more than 1 hour, TP-LINK WPA4220 will be a hot ...... it is still usable, but I'm not comfortable with the hot situation.. So, solution I cool it with a usb fan (you can use any fan) and it worked, it cool the TP-LINK WPA4220KIT. I'm only use TP-LINK WPA4220 if I object want to donwload a big files, if not I'm not using it.

To those who suggest I use RT-AC68U, I'm sorry, can't afford it, over my budget. I have checked all the shops and online shop like; rakuten, 11 streets and Lazada. They sell at RM1000 + where it over my budget (most do not update their prices: sometimes the price of constantly change ...).

I know there's low price at lelong.com, but my own reasons why you do not want to buy there.

I'm very happy with it performance, I want to thank you to all people who reply & help me. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by 4: Dec 23 2015, 11:55 AM

0.0205sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:15 AM