4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Renault Fluence - Paper Board For Soundproofing?

TSDwango
post Nov 17 2015, 04:33 PM, updated 11y ago

491 posts

Just saw this. Apparently a Fluence owner is not happy with the rain noise on the roof of the car. And when he opened up the roof, he found that paper board is used for soundproofing the roof.

Does anyone have any idea if this is a "standard" practice in using this material for this particular model, whether the overseas model only used this paper board, or is it Renault Malaysia (or Tan Chong) that used this paper board for soundproofing?

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=102...size=1600%2C900
newmaster
post Nov 17 2015, 04:35 PM

97 posts

VIVE LA FRANCE!!

This post has been edited by newmaster: Nov 17 2015, 04:36 PM
calvin_ng
post Nov 17 2015, 04:37 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

Paper is a good sound absorption... just not so fireproof laaa...not to mention ant love it

This post has been edited by calvin_ng: Nov 17 2015, 04:37 PM
TSDwango
post Nov 17 2015, 04:41 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 17 2015, 04:37 PM)
Paper is a good sound absorption... just not so fireproof laaa...not to mention ant love it
Let's leave the opinion whether paper is good, average or bad soundproofing material, although I for one wouldn't be too pleased to see that being used for soundproofing.

Back to the question, does anyone know if this is "standard" practice in using this material for this particular Fluence model, whether the overseas model only used this paper board, or is it Renault Malaysia (or Tan Chong) that used this paper board for soundproofing?
calvin_ng
post Nov 17 2015, 04:47 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Nov 17 2015, 04:41 PM)
Let's leave the opinion whether paper is good, average or bad soundproofing material, although I for one wouldn't be too pleased to see that being used for soundproofing.

Back to the question, does anyone know if this is "standard" practice in using this material for this particular Fluence model, whether the overseas model only used this paper board, or is it Renault Malaysia (or Tan Chong) that used this paper board for soundproofing?
Will never know... also depends... some japs model dont even have paper just bare steel...
SUSskyblu3
post Nov 17 2015, 04:56 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Nov 17 2015, 04:41 PM)
Be thankful that Renault/TC didn't give you this 3M "soundproofing" tongue.gif

yamato
post Nov 17 2015, 05:13 PM

stop calling me yameteh =.=|||
760 posts

some might be suprised when they 1st know about corrugated paperboard used as automotive material, its can be found in many low end models mainly for interial purposes.

1. your sunvisor is made of corrugated paperboard taped to a piece wire frame, before wraped by pvc sleeve.
2. certain portion of the roof and boot is glued with the same material not only as sound absorbent but primarily as a filler agent between "headlining-and-panel" or "carpet-and-panel" in preventing the flapping noise.
3. you can find the corrugated plasticboard in 1st gen vios, where it seperates the rear seats with the car boot.
etc..

This post has been edited by yamato: Nov 17 2015, 05:24 PM
Drian
post Nov 17 2015, 05:33 PM

4,999 posts

not the best soundproofing but it's cheap

Volkswagen2
post Nov 17 2015, 06:02 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Nov 17 2015, 04:33 PM)
Just saw this. Apparently a Fluence owner is not happy with the rain noise on the roof of the car. And when he opened up the roof, he found that paper board is used for soundproofing the roof.

Does anyone have any idea if this is a "standard" practice in using this material for this particular model, whether the overseas model only used this paper board, or is it Renault Malaysia (or Tan Chong) that used this paper board for soundproofing?

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=102...size=1600%2C900
You will likely get this in lower range or cheap Japanese cars, though you won't be seeing this in more premium continental cars. Surprising that they used paper boards rather than proper soundproofing sheets which won't cost much anyway. Might as well they don't put anything in the roof if they thought of using paper boards, but then they don't expect owners to open up the roof to have a peek.

Certainly doesn't look too good or "professional". More to a cutting-cost exercise that they have to resort to using paper board as a soundproofing medium? Don't think the difference will be too significant anyway when compared to bare (without anything in the roof).
zweimmk
post Nov 17 2015, 06:35 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Volkswagen2 @ Nov 17 2015, 06:02 PM)
You will likely get this in lower range or cheap Japanese cars, though you won't be seeing this in more premium continental cars. Surprising that they used paper boards rather than proper soundproofing sheets which won't cost much anyway. Might as well they don't put anything in the roof if they thought of using paper boards, but then they don't expect owners to open up the roof to have a peek.

Certainly doesn't look too good or "professional". More to a cutting-cost exercise that they have to resort to using paper board as a soundproofing medium? Don't think the difference will be too significant anyway when compared to bare (without anything in the roof).
I hate to say it, but even the Volkswagen Passat has the same sort of cardboard on the top of its roof. It's bigger though but still very disappointing when you see it.
Baconateer
post Nov 17 2015, 06:37 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

maybe special kind of cardboard??
kadajawi
post Nov 17 2015, 06:58 PM

544 posts

I've asked Megane owners on a German forum, maybe they can say something about how their car looks like.

But yeah, at least got sound proofing, compared to the Vios. biggrin.gif

How do other cars look like? What material is used there?

This post has been edited by kadajawi: Nov 17 2015, 06:58 PM
ironfolic
post Nov 17 2015, 07:22 PM

Most of you might be surprised. Car manufacture will find way to cut cost. U think save RM500 for a car is little? If one month they can produce 500 cars that will be RM250k saving.
My previous company supply sealant to most car manufacture in Malaysia. Too bad they can't get into P1. The same sealant P2 used could be the same as your so call import cars. thumbup.gif
kadajawi
post Nov 17 2015, 07:32 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(ironfolic @ Nov 17 2015, 07:22 PM)
Most of you might be surprised. Car manufacture will find way to cut cost. U think save RM500 for a car is little? If one month they can produce 500 cars that will be RM250k saving.
My previous company supply sealant to most car manufacture in Malaysia. Too bad they can't get into P1. The same sealant P2 used could be the same as your so call import cars.  thumbup.gif
RM 500? Huge savings. Car manufacturers would go for even smaller savings. I've even heard that for example the engines VW produces that go to Audi, VW, Skoda and Seat can be different despite supposedly being the same. The engines that go to Skoda and Seat may have less neat cable arrangements, cheaper cables, maybe higher manufacturing tolerances, or maybe parts that don't pass quality standards for Audi and VW go to Skoda and Seat. etc. Source is someone who IIRC has talked to someone working for VW.
Volkswagen2
post Nov 17 2015, 09:13 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Nov 17 2015, 06:35 PM)
I hate to say it, but even the Volkswagen Passat has the same sort of cardboard on the top of its roof. It's bigger though but still very disappointing when you see it.
Really? Have you seen it? Perhaps the CKD version here has skimped on some of the fine parts such as the soundproofing material.

The Volkswagen is not a really premium brand to begin with when compared to Mercedes and BMW.
Volkswagen2
post Nov 17 2015, 09:18 PM

439 posts

To be frank, if car manufacturers chose to use cardboards as soundproofing material, they might as well don't put anything and just leave the roof or other parts of the car empty as it is. It's rather hilarious to see cardboards used as soundproofing when the raw material of the soundproofing isn't too costly. Maybe around RM100 thereabouts.
kadajawi
post Nov 17 2015, 09:23 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Volkswagen2 @ Nov 17 2015, 09:18 PM)
To be frank, if car manufacturers chose to use cardboards as soundproofing material, they might as well don't put anything and just leave the roof or other parts of the car empty as it is. It's rather hilarious to see cardboards used as soundproofing when the raw material of the soundproofing isn't too costly. Maybe around RM100 thereabouts.
What if it works? I mean, yes, it rather cheap looking, but pragmatic. I haven't tried it, I haven't compared it, but what if it just simply works? What's wrong with it then?
Volkswagen2
post Nov 17 2015, 09:31 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Nov 17 2015, 09:23 PM)
What if it works? I mean, yes, it rather cheap looking, but pragmatic. I haven't tried it, I haven't compared it, but what if it just simply works? What's wrong with it then?
You are not getting the point which is comprehensible judging from your previous silly posts. Anything works. Even if you use some old clothes or newspapers, you stuck those things in the roof of the car they will work. It's only the magnitude of difference will be rather insignificant.
kadajawi
post Nov 17 2015, 09:55 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Volkswagen2 @ Nov 17 2015, 09:31 PM)
You are not getting the point which is comprehensible judging from your previous silly posts. Anything works. Even if you use some old clothes or newspapers, you stuck those things in the roof of the car they will work. It's only the magnitude of difference will be rather insignificant.
Erm, that is obvious. doh.gif I mean, maybe cardboard does work well. Maybe it isn't ordinary cardboard. Who knows. All we have is a low res photo of some material that looks like cardboard.
adamhzm90
post Nov 17 2015, 10:00 PM

1,388 posts

http://hasnizamsamat.blogspot.my/2010/10/a...-proof.html?m=1

Check out the link..alza only using cardboard tong ikan for insulation..lol

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:53 PM