Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

lilfire
post Dec 7 2015, 10:33 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Dec 7 2015, 01:16 PM)
seems like there's quite a few of us here heading to WA eh.. any reasons for WA, if you all don't mind sharing?

My reason is because I used to study in WA 4 years back so I'm familiar with the place, and almost all of my friends/ex uni mates settle down in WA.
My family is there smile.gif

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Dec 7 2015, 05:35 PM)
Nice. I'll be heading to WA in 2 weeks to sort some stuff out, and then back here, and likely permenantly by 2017/2018. I've some research pending and need to finish all that first.

But your EOI stuff was really quick, quicker than mine I believe! I submitted 19 June, got invited 29 June & visa granted 24 Sept. tongue.gif

Yay for WA  rclxms.gif (although I'm state sponsored by SA)
Ya i know right!
My agent is superb! Both of us were so shock that visa granted so fast!
lol so you bond in SA for 2 years? hope to catch up with you in WA then!

QUOTE(Soony @ Dec 7 2015, 01:14 PM)
Yeah sure! I'm currently staying in the city area! Which area are you looking at?
I'll most probably rent near my family in thornlie SOR.
many asian there and there is spencer food court easy to dapao!
lilfire
post Dec 7 2015, 10:37 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Dec 7 2015, 06:44 PM)
Should be lah, somemore I've submitted my EOI dy so during this waiting period there's nothing much I can do from my side.

My agent quoted me RM22k sometime around March when it was still RM2.8 = AUD1.
At first i also 60 pts zhun zhun under Accountant which ppl said no hope ady coz accountant only invite 70 pointers now.
But then my agent is really good that he try so hard and get me approve under 190 visa and +5 points.
Then everything just happened so fast that now i'm a PR ady.

You might want to check with agent if you can apply under 190 provided you dont mind spending 2 years in certain state.
lilfire
post Dec 7 2015, 11:22 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Dec 7 2015, 10:40 PM)
Yeah my friends struggling with 60 points accounting now. With 65 points you get invited so much quicker, I got invited within 15 days when I applied with 65 points.
Apparently for Accounting you need at least 70 points. If not you can only wait.
So 190 is really good as it supersede the quota as well.
lilfire
post Dec 8 2015, 10:49 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Dec 8 2015, 05:44 PM)
LOL mahal la to keep tarpauing food. Buy & cook- much, much cheaper. Saved more this way tongue.gif

Ooooh Thornlie is nice. I was in Maddington, which isn't too far.
Lol that food court is quite cheap compared to outside.
Sometimes lazy to.cook ma ;p

Thornlie is not too bad la.maddington is even better...
Still secure area...

My WA 190 have a contract to sign will need stay in WA 2 years.
But i suppose it's not a big thing. Since you can fly in n out easily nowadays.
lilfire
post Dec 9 2015, 10:42 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Dec 9 2015, 04:53 PM)
WA and their contracts. And NSW also I heard are a difficult lot. Thank god SA is so lax tongue.gif

Didnt even have to submit any accounts statement etc (unlike ACT)
Yea i know right...
WA need show AUD 30k account statement also...
So struggle!

lilfire
post Dec 25 2015, 05:31 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Dec 25 2015, 12:43 AM)
sorry my mistake for using wrong term or wrong choice of word
i dont mean "travel" like having a vacation or holiday but instead "travel" means afor work or live there

i've browsing through the page since it was mentioned in the first thread Version and also in first post in V2 but i do not understand any
the website is so broad and i dont even know which category i fall in
is it Visa? is it individual traveller? is it trade professionals? do i need to log in or signup anything?
really dunno where to start

i've read somewhere in last pages someone mentioning that the younger u are, the higher chance u get the point
or did i misunderstood the statement? rclxub.gif

**UPDATE** found this table. very informative and now i m getting better understanding on the merit system.
http://www.migrationdesk.com/threads/point...immigration.24/
Hi mate, glad that you've take the initiative to run through the website so at least you have an idea on these.
In order to work and live in Aust, you can either go work visa or PR. (In Aust, no visa no work).

Work visa 457 - get an employer to sponsor you. valid for 4 years. But once visa approved, if you work for the same employer who nominate you for 2 years, they can sponsor you for PR. However, some boss changed once you get 457 as you're bond by them. Just like my case... sad.gif
PR - you entitled every right like citizen except for voting.

My advise is if you really planned to migrate, is always better to start planning now instead waiting for 30.
As the whole migration process dont normally happen fast and smooth. and migration process always changes.
And once you secured your visa is not like you need to go there straight away. U can totally take your time and go there when everything here settle.

So based on the point table, i would say you at least have 55 points handy with you without IELTS or any state nomination.
To qualify yourself to submit EOI, you will need 60 points.
According to my agent, migration visa normally takes 1-2 years (from scratch to approve). However, it also depends on your occupation etc.
So no harm to start prepare now. Gather info, do research and really ask yourself are you prepared for migration.
It is not always beautiful on the other side, we are not here to give pretty picture.
And definitely i'm not a migration agent whos trying to make big bucks...lol... doh.gif

This post has been edited by lilfire: Dec 25 2015, 05:36 AM
lilfire
post Dec 31 2015, 02:13 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(Jealousy @ Dec 31 2015, 01:59 PM)
Hi, all the pros in this topic.... May i enquiry , how to I start apply as automobile tech either in Melbourne or Sydney... What is the requirements to lodge a visas.... Any good agent can recommend? Thank you and really appreciate the help...
Hi, please find below link for your perusal...
https://www.border.gov.au/
lilfire
post Jan 7 2016, 10:36 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Jan 6 2016, 01:51 PM)
Alright.
assuming a max of AUD1000, makes it a rough estimate would be AUD4600 then... I see.
Dear just for sharing, all is approximate amount as i'm too lazy to go through my bank statement. So just based on my memory

My skill assessment for CPA around AUD 450
Meds check up RM 290
English Exam (Ielts) AUD 330/ RM 750
Pearson AUD 320 / RM650
Police clearance Aust: AUD 45
Malaysia cert good conduct: RM 20
Birth cert i get it translated at the Seremban High Court @ translator: 4 copies for RM 50 including certified (quite pricey for Seremban small town)
All my other documents is certified by my migration agent so it is free.
If it is not mistaken if you are in Msia only limited occupation can certified documents.
However, if you are in Aust quite a lot of occupation can certified for you.
Migration agent, Pharmacist, Doctor, Bank Manager, police officer, post officer or etc.
If you have friend you can get it for free too.

lilfire
post Jan 8 2016, 10:39 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Jan 8 2016, 10:50 AM)
How is the Pearson exam if compared to IELTS since my agent suggesting to try that. I have google it and the feedback was mixed as some said it was tough while some said it is easier than IELTS. Can you share your experience since you did both IELTS & Pearson
My IELTS result always ended up shorting 0.5 point in writing.
normally my R+L is 8.5-9 and my speaking is 7.5-8.
writing 6.5

Saw many review saying PEARSON is damn easy and everyone seems like scoring high points then decided to give it a go.
When i first tried pearson, i get 79 for writing, R+L around 73, but my speaking 61...
Tried few times, speaking points is even lower sad.gif
And the worst part is, my points for R+L also declining...
ended up going back to Ielts...and passed my writing finally...

i would really think that it is purely based on individual.
If writing and time is not a problem for you, you can go for IELTS.
However, if you stuck in writing all the time and short of time then try pearson.

I personally think that IELTS is actually easier in terms of overall test.
Unlike pearson, each and every section is related and will effect the points for each sections.
And have a lot of question types which i personally think is rather confusing.

Also over the few attempts my IELTS points is quite stable. definitely more than 7.5 for other sections and only need to practice in W.
However, PEARSON points variance a lot everytime. And i actually sat for my PEARSON test in AUG, where they held the test in a very small room and literally the candidates beside you can be really distracting sad.gif
Also dont forget there are many preparation materials available for IELTS compared to Pearson.

I would suggest probably try IELTS first. Then if couldnt get the desire score then only try Pearson.
I can give you the book and CDs for PEARSON if you want. Just PM me.

This post has been edited by lilfire: Jan 8 2016, 10:44 PM
lilfire
post Jan 9 2016, 08:34 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Jan 9 2016, 01:52 PM)
Thanks for the detailed explanation. I took IELTS twice, one in 2013 and the second time last year because I was trying to get more points in order to qualify for SA high points. For IELTS, it is always writing section which I fear the most. The other sections are fine for me as my score is between 8 to 9. I have watched some YouTube videos on Pearson and the part which I worries the most is the speaking part on summarising the lecture played. Another concern which you have mentioned also is the close proximity between candidates which can be distracting as you would be able to hear each other and affect your listening exam.
For me summarising of lecture is quite ok. The part that i hate the most is describe the chart/picture.
I always dont have enough time to skim through and end up dont know what to say or say too much useless thing sad.gif

Then just give Pearson a go.
But probably try other center but not AUG.
It is very distracting. It is literally just like 10 cm beside you.
So far all the candidates that i knew through AUG pearson didnt managed to pass their speaking. Even after few attempts.
I'm not sure is it the mic problem because everyone speak well and all also stuck in IELTS for W only but score flying colour in S.

And they will give u a time to test your mic for Pearson.
When i took pearson in Aust, the mic sounds ok.
But in AUG, the mic will sounds horrible with a lot of background noises from other candidates and also the mic seems unable to capture if you are loud but if you are speaking at normal volume other candidates voice will over you sad.gif
My advise will be if you really intend to take Pearson in Aug, maybe can discuss with them to at least start a little bit later compare to other candidates at least can reduce background noise...

This post has been edited by lilfire: Jan 9 2016, 08:36 PM
lilfire
post Feb 6 2016, 05:51 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jan 29 2016, 12:35 PM)
Majority are male. Malaysian is benefit on bilingual or trilingual.
Be good on your skills and talent. Think out of a box. Be more creative then you'll survive thru the hardtime.
Salary not that great now. Living cost is skyrocketing especially utilities.
groceries, cars, gadgets and internet is good.
rental or mortgage, council fees, utilities is shit.

Wonder how many members here are heading down under this year? hmm.gif
cry.gif heading down April time
lol...
lilfire
post Feb 8 2016, 07:45 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 8 2016, 10:52 AM)
Good Luck to you! brows.gif
Just got my PR granted Dec 2015.
Even though i do have Aust experience, but is also aware that the job market is very bad now. Especially in Perth.
Finger crossed sweat.gif .

lilfire
post Feb 10 2016, 09:06 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 10 2016, 04:42 PM)
Thing`s are tight but hey! keep the heads up.

Good Luck lilfire
Thank you so much dear!

lilfire
post Mar 2 2016, 10:30 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(eligible @ Feb 24 2016, 12:45 PM)
Hi there. I'm new here getting started to research and really into PR for AUS. May I know any agent are available in malaysia for such PR processing ?
Hi there,
Sorry for not able to reply earlier as m busy with work and packing smile.gif

If your case is straight forward then yes it is cheaper to do it yourself.
As for me as i'm an accountant with 60 points sad.gif So i've decided to pay more to get it done!
My agent is located in Perth and he charged me for AUD 4500 for agent fees only.
Pay AUD 2200 when engaging him and AUD 2300 when PR granted.
However, this is the price 1 year back.
But then i can totally have a peace of mind as he is do everything for me.
The only thing that i need to do myself is body check up XD

Many people have the wrong mind set here that the sooner you get a case officer assigned means you'll get your PR faster.
Many agent also quote that they can get a case officer assigned fast or whatsoever.

But the truth is if everything you submitted is correct then you dont even got the chance to know who is your case officer coz they will just approved your case without even needing to contact you.

As for me, I lodge my eoi on the 6th Nov,get invite on 11th Nov,submit everything (health check,cert of good conduct etc) by 26th Nov,pr approve in 1st Dec.
Dont even have any case officer XD

This post has been edited by lilfire: Mar 2 2016, 10:31 PM
lilfire
post Mar 3 2016, 04:24 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Mar 3 2016, 09:29 AM)
you're one of the quickest i heard so far rclxms.gif
I know right!
Really lucky. My agent was shocked too coz i'm also one of the quickest among his other clients.
He actually told me that the process might take few months or even 1-2 year.
I actually go and interview for job as do not wanted to waste time.
I join the bank and throw resign letter literally the 2nd day on floor XD

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Mar 3 2016, 09:36 AM)
May I ask which qualifications you used for your application ? Thanks.
What you mean by qualifications?
The skill assessment? i used my degree result for CPA.

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 3 2016, 10:39 AM)
your agent must be really good... even faster than those who DIY notworthy.gif
Of course by using agent (a good and reliable one), you can have a piece of mind/enjoy the benefits to get things done fast and straight forward.
Thats what you are paying for. If not who want to waste money on something you can do it yourself?
They know what forms need to be filled and when to do the right thing.
But i do mean a good and reliable one...coz i've heard many terrible things from a lot of Malaysia agent from the people i meet during ielts.

lilfire
post Mar 3 2016, 04:46 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(kiumo @ Mar 3 2016, 04:34 PM)
The speed of immi aus processes your application really varies. i think its completely dependent on luck. if any agents tell you that they have the "backdoor" or privilege to a fast application, it is very likely its just a marketing line.

I concur to the statement that, making use of a good and reliable agent will grant you a peace of mind.

They will know what to prepare, the thorough procedures etc. This completely eliminates the possibility of missing out on an important document or rather filling the incorrect information.

I have heard from friends who have submitted the wrong information, their application timing really took a blow and it really slowed down the application process. But at the end of the day they still got it after they sort out the necessary.
Yes exactly!
By using an agent doesn't mean that they have backdoors or shortcut! XD
It is just means that they will tell you upfront what you need and how they can get it done!
But then of course scenario will be much different between good agent and normal/bad agent.

Like my case, my agent told me upfront no ielts he cant do anything.
Give him money also useless.
The peace of mind i mentioned is that the agent know how to save time and do thing quick. When the 1st thing almost done then he already organised for the next thing and straight do it. So i no need to waste time waiting or chasing him etc. He will update me constantly and let me know what he need from me despite of me checking with him. When i get invited only he immediately apply online for my certificate of good conduct using all the documents he collected from me during the first meeting. He already get everything sorted without even needing me to provide anything again!

Like people i know from IELTS who engaged to some agent, surprisingly they will still accept the case even though the candidates has not pass their IELTS or even not on the list.
And then keep on dragging them or kick them like a ball to different colleagues. Or like ask them go ielts get all 7, after they get all 7 then ask them go get all 8?!
Then when they go consult my agent for second opinion, my agent straight tell them that they better dont waste their money. mad.gif

lilfire
post Mar 3 2016, 04:56 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 3 2016, 04:39 PM)
frankly is not exactly that difficult... but i am curious... don't you need to actively participate when he's filling in form80?
I'm a very careless person and i do not want to risk my application.
Even though it is not difficult, but i think it is totally up to individual if they want to do it themselves DIY or use an agent.
For me, if money can settle why need to troublesome yourself right? Such a waterfish XD

My agent have collected all my details already.
So he filled up most of the form 80 for me.
I just need to go through and touch up if required.

lilfire
post Mar 3 2016, 04:58 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 3 2016, 04:56 PM)
i got to know one from the IELTS workshop i attended... his application was pending for 2 years because he couldn't get all 7s even after 3 attempts...and yet his agent kept pushing him

he was a sad confused guy who kept telling me i need 7 for subclass 189 sweat.gif
You can get your mate to try Pearson.
My agent straight tell me upfront that i need to get all 7s by Oct if not he will not accept my case XD

lilfire
post Mar 3 2016, 05:08 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 3 2016, 04:59 PM)
no lar, its just personal preference... i'd go with an agent too if i can find a good one and if have 12-13k to spare tongue.gif
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Mar 3 2016, 05:00 PM)
you don't get that kind of honesty in Malaysia laugh.gif
I know right!

I actually very heartache about the agent fees also one ok? cry.gif
But i'm actually under great pressure at that time and just wanted to get away from it.
So i actually engaged agent and just dont want to know about it.

But after all the PR approved and hearing stories about malaysia agents, i really felt that my agent is superb and i decided to pay him extra.
He eventually returned the extra saying he is doing his job only XD

lilfire
post Mar 3 2016, 07:39 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Mar 3 2016, 05:21 PM)
Qualification as in your university degree or you used any professional accounting qualification to qualify ?
Nope.
Just purely using my university degree.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1840sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:08 PM