Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

selvenz
post Aug 12 2016, 06:41 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(sleepy 1 @ Aug 11 2016, 04:09 PM)
Hi all sifu here, which courier service you guys use prior to migrate to Australia?

Even pos malaysia charge a lot for surface (sea) delivery ///

I sold everything and we started fresh. Furnished my rental property including fridge and washing machine for under aud1500 (most bought from brotherhood of st laurence)

rest bought here because wanted the warranty,

laptops etc brought from my

all clothes bought here in au

total cost cheaper then shipping and quarantine if you unlucky

selvenz
post Aug 18 2016, 05:44 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(wwwah85 @ Aug 17 2016, 07:57 PM)
Hi ezzone,

I'm in the same shoe as you, migrate here for the sake of our next generation. I used to have the same job as you and I moved to aus since march. Couldn't find any job that suit my profession even I lower my expectation. End up work as a chef in a japanese restaurant otherwise wife & kids have to eat grass, get paid 18 dollar per hour and work like cow. But I'm still not yet ready to give up the migration thing. It just a matter of time I can get the job I want.

Good luck and all the best.
Bro where you located

PM me I will assist as much as i can, all my friends manage to find job in their field. Its a matter of how you do your resume and also how you approach the job market. Im not sure about perth or sydney but i can assist if its in melbourne.
selvenz
post Aug 18 2016, 11:26 AM

841 posts

I find this interesting . Weighing the pro and cons i don't regret my decision. My ex work place in Kl , i dont want to sound racist or anything but it will come out that way.

I was a senior position unfortunately i couldn't see any further growth. One i was the wrong colour, 2nd people got promoted or were preferred based along religion not merit.

i foresee in 10 years Malaysia companies will be predominantly one race and the others indians and chinese will have a smaller chunk of the economy or almost shut out.

Malaysia is no singapore.

My daughter had to go to international school , why cause malaysian gov refused to give her citizenship although both parents malaysians ! go figure (She was born in the US so when we returned to malaysia she had to travel on a Us passport) Shes 13 now I had applied for citizenship then Pr and have been waiting for 13 years. Bangla Indon easily can get.

I pay taxes highest percentage and i have no clue where it goes neither do i benefit.

In aussie - daughter goes to a great school , having a blast, her achievements recognized based on merit

I have a similar job although lower in rank but i make twice as much so im happy

My wife is happy at her work place.

Yes we pay high taxes but what we get in return is so much more , My wife recently had a procedure done best doctors best facilities cost us almost zero,

We dont worry about security too much, kid walk to school , weekends were busy with sports, beach etc.

Dont get me wrong I love Malaysia it will always be home but i wished It loved me back equally.
selvenz
post Aug 26 2016, 01:35 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Aug 26 2016, 01:10 PM)
wish me luck on this haha... the biggest headache comes now.
Start doing research now, make sure resume to Aussie standards , spruce up linkedin, get as many recruiters in your field on linkedin. now until November best time for job market
selvenz
post Sep 6 2016, 06:27 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(xoxlifestyle100 @ Sep 6 2016, 01:41 AM)
Yeah i totally understand what kind of mindset i'll require. I have a brother and he's in melbourne for 6 years and PR already. Speaking of starting my career in Singapore, I am considering that, and did apply to the top 20 audit firms and it has already been 3 weeks and no reply from any of the firms... so i'll just pray for the best.. I have a friend who worked as an Assistant Manager in KPMG Malaysia and moved over to KPMG Australia as SA2. But that choice is quite unlikely for me as if i get my visa approved, i'll most likely move over as soon as i can to get a job and settle?
That's giving me some hope there, haha am quite interested in asset management field actually, but currently on accounting path as I think it would probably have better job security when i go to Australia and asset management pathway would be quite specialized already. still not sure how it goes.
I would not worry too much. I have yet to see an accountant PR unemployed . As an accountant I think its easier to get a job in your field. Its much more difficult for IT/Tech or engineering.

This post has been edited by selvenz: Sep 6 2016, 11:27 AM
selvenz
post Sep 7 2016, 06:43 AM

841 posts

Every accountant who complains they cant get a job always trying for the big 4 or the major banks.

those who didn't secured accounting related jobs with smaller firms and other industries
selvenz
post Sep 20 2016, 09:27 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ Sep 20 2016, 09:20 AM)
IT industry is not good.

The best way to get jobs is via networking.

If u r relying on Seek and just online applications, it is extremely unlikely u can get a job.

I mean each recruiter receives hundreds of applications per position from all over the place.

What would make the recruiter shortlist or even, look, at your resume?
The other good way is to find a good recruiter , present yourself and take any short term role they offer be it 3 days or couple of weeks and build from there.

selvenz
post Sep 23 2016, 07:20 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(azrb.com @ Sep 22 2016, 11:16 AM)
Does anyone here have experience in sponsoring a work visa and what's involved in the process?
Have a few work packages and able to claim $45-65/hour labor rate from contractor.
I'm thinking to set up my own company here in Aus, will need to get public liability insurance and workers compensation.
If I can sponsor visas to some guys from China, I can pay them an hourly rate of $25/hour which is attractive to them.
Or even workers from Singapore or Malaysia, in Singapore I believe workers get around $8-10/hour.
Mate see a migration lawyer , if you want to embark on this best to get proper advice.
selvenz
post Sep 23 2016, 07:34 AM

841 posts

80 k after tax is 65k
selvenz
post Sep 26 2016, 10:44 AM

841 posts

option 6 - obtain a student visa while studying for SOL-related courses, work 20 hours a week

Risky, as the job code can be removed from the SOL.
selvenz
post Oct 4 2016, 04:29 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(Justin Wong @ Oct 3 2016, 09:03 PM)
Mate, just wanna share my view:

First, it is true that Asian experience is not well recognised in Aus - It doesn't only affect Asian who are keen to look a job in Aus, Aussies who spent years working in Asian markets such as HK or SG also suffer similar predicament because Aussie business are pretty parochial with the exception of international companies or professionals service firms. This issue was reported in a newspaper article in fact.

In terms of recruitment, what you know and how good you are are secondary - yes technical knowledge is important but it is a given, what they look for are generally 2 things - whether they are going to like you as a person and if you fit into their culture, and if they think you are going to stay long. Generally it becomes a subjective exercise. Subconscious bias happens because you are from overseas and you do not speak in the way they do - Just imagine someone from for example, Bangladesh or Brazil applying for a job from you and you are interviewing them, as much as we want to be objective, we might ask ourselves if we can get someone locally first before we offer them a job because we are afraid that we have hard time working with them because they will need time to adapt to our own environment, although they might be willing to work harder. I think only companies in Sydney or maybe Melbourne are more open about recruiting internationally because people are so used to a multi-cultural environment, still they need to "feel good" about you.

Unfortunately I do not have a solution for you other than keep trying. I myself tried looking for a job for almost a year offshore but then again I was applying for Big 4s (and in Sydney), which they are more receptive about international candidates. Honestly, it took me almost 2 years to really understand the culture and finally communicate effectively with the local counterparts. I think what is important is the need to present yourself confidently and speak loud, even with broken english. Local Aussies focus a lot on perception and they tend to view confident people highly - I might be biased but that is why Indians have an advantage over Chinese in general because they are confident when they speak and they tend to be very chatty as well.

In terms of discrimination, I have yet to encounter critical discrimination but I know it happens. Then again, that is mainly because my company is a global company and my team in Sydney is very global minded and they worked with an international team. In fact, local Aussies in my team acknowledge discrimination happens and they detest it too. You will realise people in Sydney are very different from people in Brisbane or Perth and generally based on my short working experience in Brisbane, smaller town Aussies (like Brisbane) do not like Aussies from Sydney or Melbourne because they tend to be pushy (A competitive environment shapes the character) and they think differently too. So as you can see, even Aussies see each other differently depending on where you are from as they are very parochial. So racism do happen because if they never encounter an Asian before, they do not know how to communicate with them,there is nothing much you can do about it really.

Just FYI, I worked in SG before and there are discrimination as well in SG - where SG people will prefer SG and secondly, Msian candidates over candidates from other nations like China or India. It just happens everywhere mate, nothing personal.

Wish you all the best
Well Said,

regarding jobs i can say finance is a challenging, but accounting should be easier. To be honest I have yet to meet any Malaysian more then 6 months jobless. If you are extremely picky in position then tough luck.

selvenz
post Oct 5 2016, 10:20 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Oct 5 2016, 09:56 AM)
the disposable 1 will do. Make sure you bring the soup paste from asian store. I regret that i didn't bring bak kut teh soup paste that day. I guarantee you having hot pot soup outside cold nite is totally awesome experience where you have a bunch of mates with some beers.  rclxms.gif
Cant wait for the weekends now. Always heading out to the peninsula or GOR for picnics and overnight stays. The best kids have a blast , low crime rate dont have to worry . DIY makan.

selvenz
post Oct 6 2016, 05:16 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Oct 5 2016, 06:44 PM)
Obviously when you complain, the fairwork people would come and query and investigate, right? So bukak file and then go over to employer to interview. Obviously the employer would know who the fairwork people are talking about when there is a complain right?

If fairwork people come and say so and so for example - (example ah) Mr Nemisis come over and complain racism because ozzy boss call him a yellowbelly. Then the ozzy boss remember, oh I call this guy yellowbelly. I give as an example lah. Then they can identify mah. You don't tell me that there is a case and potential fine 25k the company won't know who the complainant is?

I don't have the statistics, but I heard many migrants are struggling to find permanent job in Australia. Even if they can find, its either a part time job or for those who really darn lucky, get a job but usually its a job that hardly able to pay the rent plus tax. Maybe 1 out of 10 are able to fnd a job within 2 weeks. Anyways, those odds are really good, you sure people can find job in 2 weeks? Even for me, in Malaysia, I apply job first week, get interview 2nd week, then only 3rd week they consider asking you to join. 2 weeks? What kind of job is that?
Its difficult situation . I know 6 guys who migrated all withing the same time frame as me which is mid 2015, to melbourne 1 Business analyst 1 Data Analyst 3 networking 1 building engineering all manage to find jobs in their field within 2 months the quickest is 1 week. Although all of us in terms of position its a step down but still the same field so there is room to grow.

Yet I have heard stories of many who are unable to get jobs etc so not sure what the real situation is.
selvenz
post Oct 6 2016, 12:36 PM

841 posts

I feel bad for your friend. Which place is he at ?
selvenz
post Oct 7 2016, 12:47 PM

841 posts

I am one that went from 2 month contracting straight to permanent , and I am the only non angmo in my business unit. Interestingly my bosses made sure i got offered the permanent position even they had to interview other ang moh for the position due to company policy . So to say racism i dont see it. maybe im lucky i count my blessings everyday.

To be honest I was never treated like this in MY there was more racism in my previous workplace.
selvenz
post Oct 10 2016, 05:04 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 8 2016, 08:42 PM)
then we are in a similar situation laugh.gif

one-to-one without conversion mar, i cannot raise a family alone with RM7k take home pay, but am i able to do it with AUD7k what's more in Melbourne?
a blardy donut next to the hotel i stayed costs AUD3.50 leh doh.gif
Its more then enough for sure.

No one drives to the city public trasport.

Groceries is cheap and if you buy from markets like victoria and preston etc even cheaper.

Staying 15 km out of CBD rent will be 1400 amonth

Electricity quarter 250
Gas quarter 300 almost zero in summer
Internet 99 amonth
Handphone whole family 120 amonth depending on plans i put maximum
Car rego anually 750
car insurance depending 1300 a year
medical whole family about 3k a year

selvenz
post Oct 10 2016, 12:46 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ Oct 10 2016, 12:14 PM)
It all depends what yr endgame is. When ppl migrate, they take a huge risk. They forgo their comfort zone, leave their family and friends behind, 24x7 mamak, Pama free babysitting service, Kak Minah basuh seluar dalam etc.

I only know too many who have sacrificed their careers, v v high income jobs to live here. For them the key reasons are work life balance, cleaner and cool air, and education for the kids.

Ultimately u hv to weigh the risks and determine whether it is worth it or not.

If there seems to be so much doubt and worry, I suggest do not come over. This will potentially put stress on yr marriage and family.

As I said I found the living in Mel to be significantly cheaper than KL (with the exception of rent). When I return to KL I am shocked at the price of things, groceries, eating out etc. For example, $50 a week would get me reasonable amt of groceries a week for 1 person and inc. fish, meat and veg. Compare that to RM50 and what that buys u.
Well said,

For me its the kids , their quality of life now is priceless.

Family security Priceless

selvenz
post Oct 10 2016, 12:46 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ Oct 10 2016, 12:14 PM)
It all depends what yr endgame is. When ppl migrate, they take a huge risk. They forgo their comfort zone, leave their family and friends behind, 24x7 mamak, Pama free babysitting service, Kak Minah basuh seluar dalam etc.

I only know too many who have sacrificed their careers, v v high income jobs to live here. For them the key reasons are work life balance, cleaner and cool air, and education for the kids.

Ultimately u hv to weigh the risks and determine whether it is worth it or not.

If there seems to be so much doubt and worry, I suggest do not come over. This will potentially put stress on yr marriage and family.

As I said I found the living in Mel to be significantly cheaper than KL (with the exception of rent). When I return to KL I am shocked at the price of things, groceries, eating out etc. For example, $50 a week would get me reasonable amt of groceries a week for 1 person and inc. fish, meat and veg. Compare that to RM50 and what that buys u.
Well said,

For me its the kids , their quality of life now is priceless.

Family security Priceless

selvenz
post Oct 11 2016, 10:48 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 11 2016, 10:25 AM)
so its better not to expect the same contract rate after converting to permanent right?

thanks so much for the info, you seem to know a lot, are you from HR/employment agency? tongue.gif

by the way, in Malaysia, some of my contract friends register a company name and have the salary paid to the company for tax deduction purposes, any idea if this practice is common in Aussie?

we can continue in PM if this is inappropriate in a public forum
yes its common, register an ABN and they employer pays that. this is only for contracts. then accountant will deduct almost everything
selvenz
post Oct 13 2016, 12:28 PM

841 posts

I moved when i was 39 , settled in quite comfortable.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1905sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:49 PM