May 2 2016, 10:25 AM
841 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: PJ |
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 2 2016, 10:07 AM) below are the overall:- Nemesis - gas 250 fortnight ?electricity = 250 fortnight gas = 300 fortnight water = 250 fortnight car loan = 350 per mth house = 2000 per mth food = 150/week fuel = 100/week (both cars more than enuf) kids daycare = 350/week entertainment = 100/week eating out = 100/week miscellaneous = 50/week the rest is savings hope this helps elec 300 Fortnight ? thats really high - do you mean every quarter As i am only paying 350 elec and 300 gas every quarter the rest are all good and i would say accurate. Best Regards |
May 2 2016, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 2 2016, 10:16 AM) if your wife not working, she can get 300 to 500/mth. if u didn't own a house, there's rental allowance say 50/week "if your wife not working, she can get 300 to 500/mth" your kids will get almost 50% deduction on daycare. medicare covers the most but there's a queue going on. dental care is cosmetic here. medicare covers it BUT the ubat bius you need to pay which may cost you almost $1000. that's why some of us here went back Malaysia to do which is very cheap. If you and your wife have stable income, can think about private insurance. this insurance is far different from malaysia. not to disrespect to malaysian insurance agent, the package backhome is blood sucking. in KL, i paid almost RM6000/annum for whole family. where else over here i paid AUD187/mth for family of four. got a dental floss service free, glasses for free each year, massage....worthwhile to get. Which is this ? FTB ? or is this something else |
May 4 2016, 06:07 AM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 3 2016, 10:57 PM) FYI the guy who wrote the book is still in AUSSIE and so is his family. His new book is about success stories in AU LOL ( Draft stage).But he sure made alot of money from those malaysians who bought his book. |
May 4 2016, 08:30 AM
Key to migrating successfully
1. Be humble 2. Drop all expectations 3. Prioritize whats actually important to you and family 4. What do you want out of life 5. ASSIMILATE My general thoughts is many who bitch and moan about migrating or the bad of this and that when they migrated is because they want the exact same lifestyle as in Malaysia with all the creature comforts. If anyone has these thoughts don't even thing of migrating cause you will be depressed and disappointed from the day you land . The ones i have met here who always complain have their expectations set to high . MD in kl come here also want to be MD and don't even want to try anything else. |
May 5 2016, 12:22 PM
As soon as we landed my wife had medical issue, visited doctor, straight away doctor send to MRI , this scan that scan all FOC
Yes there is a que, but it depends on area and also priority, they dont give a f if you black white blue or particular religion. i have no complains because without private health insurance in malaysia i would not have received similar treatment from my birth country gov hospital |
May 9 2016, 01:48 PM
Oversupply depending on area !
Still the most sort after areas (best school zones) it will be tough to get a rental property. |
May 13 2016, 05:14 AM
I migrated primarily for a few things.
1. Kids school 2.kids lifestyle (security) 3.family security 4.job and career advancement 5.lifestyle My daughter lived a sheltered life in kl ...never alone anywhere , here she walks to school (priceless) experience. 90% of the women in my family a victim of crime in kl. My wife has regained her confidence to venture on her own (priceless) |
May 13 2016, 10:48 AM
May 13 2016, 02:47 PM
plumber highest ,
my plumber AUD 180 ph - minimum 3 hr per call out CBD high performance building |
May 17 2016, 10:19 AM
dont come no job
May 17 2016, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(z21j @ May 17 2016, 10:48 AM) But this is the best time foreigners could get job here because the local Australians are also looking for opportunities elsewhere. Grass (lifestyle) is greener but yes, not always the fact. This morning I met a young man in his late 20's in the station (he's from Singapore). He said he "came to Aus too early". I told him that he can always go back to his own country first. His friends who come over Aus few yrs later than him - able to own a landed property and have a nice MPV. In Aus, we can hardly save enough. Bro thats because those coming from Sg are on SG D savings ...which is almost 1 to 1, hence Singaporean migrants i would say better off then from malaysia.Food for thoughts for whoever plan to come over Aus. Earning capacity in Singapore is much higher and also savings. From malaysia i seriously doubt you can migrate here with similar amount in savings unless you're from a well to do family and your early days are already debt free. Or from a high paying senior job or a businessman. For a malaysian , i say come as early as you can get the opportunity, cause your earning capacity based on age is better here then in MY |
May 19 2016, 10:23 AM
May 19 2016, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(z21j @ May 19 2016, 11:10 AM) Is A$70k p.a (include super), in your opinion; sufficient for a family of 3 to settle down comfortably there? yes cause for a famlily of 3 you should be getting around additional 800 a month from center link in the form of FTB.Disposable should be around $40k+ (i.e A$3.5/mth) This post has been edited by selvenz: May 19 2016, 12:24 PM |
Jun 1 2016, 06:03 AM
Realistic ? there are not many M&E engineering jobs for foreigners cause there is way to many here already.
Plus doesn't matter where you worked or what profile you start almost from zero unless its an internal transfer from major consultants like ARUP, NDY WSP etc Ballpark numbers entry 60k mid tier 80k plus senior 120k plus |
Jul 13 2016, 07:44 AM
My advice, while studying , volunteer as much as possible and get a part time job. This will help a lot after graduation.
Jul 27 2016, 05:05 AM
Before IELTS get your education and work experience assessed. That is the most difficult stage.
You think you have degree but after assessment might be equivalent to AU diploma. You think you have 10 years experience, yet after assessment probably only 5 years. Your points will change drastically. |
Aug 3 2016, 08:25 AM
Interesting observation , my work place is where immigration is located. I use to see many malaysians in the foyer.
decided to ask one why they are here, interestingly they told me they have been here on tourist visa working at the fruit farms, but because visa expire and they still want to stay they go to DIPB and file for protection visa i.e refugee. what happens is DIPB will reject the initial application and you have the opportunity to seek solution at the courts which can take anywhere from 6 months to years . this gives them the opportunity to stay legally* note you still cant work but they all carry on working. |
Aug 9 2016, 08:04 AM
It really depends if you are single or married and married with kids, all three will have different expectations here.
Single - Life here might not be what you expected if you are comparing with back home, going out , mamak etc Married no kids - Life here can be interesting as you plant your roots , settle in with work and generally have each other to rely on. Married with kids- Life here is the best, kids adapt quickly with schooling, security concerns are low . Your child's quality of life and experience will be at its peak. Never a dull day or weekend with tons of activities for both kids and adults. I have not a single day of regret moving here. My kid walks to school just seeing how happy she is is priceless compared to the sheltered life she had . My wife does not clutch her purse or look over her shoulder when she walks day or night. This is priceless. What we earn allows us to achieve our own goals a lot quicker, although tax is high i get to see my tax dollars being spent on essentials everyday. Good parks all over the place, public transportation etc. My kid goes to government school and i can tell you the facilities and staff are much much better then most private schools in KL. I guess it all depends on what stage you are in life, status etc...migration is not for everyone and if you decide to take the plunge like the thousands yearly then give it your best and manage your expectations. |
| Change to: | 0.1861sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:33 PM |