Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

Nemesis1980
post May 26 2016, 01:56 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ May 26 2016, 11:34 AM)
The grass is always greener.

1. People in MY got no work life balance. End up chasing the RM at the expense of the family.
2. People in MY dont see a future there what with the race politics, "donation" mentality and cronyism.
3. People in MY cannot afford to send their kids to uni or worried about aged care/health costs.
4. People in MY sick of crime and everything money mentality.

Meanwhile ppl in Oz want to retire in MY/Thailand:
1. Less perceived govt control
2. Lower costs of living (esp after converting AUD to RM/THB)
3. Can be waited on head and foot because of (2).
4. Can eat CKT/pad thai 24x7.
5. Can travel to Asia just like that.
6. For divorced/single/separated men, additional incentive of chasing skirts in Thailand.

The system in MY will not change so easily. Even if whoever wins the next GE, it will take another generation to change everything around. And a lot of ppl will have to suffer for it.

Humans are never satisfied with what they have is the short of it.

Anyway just my 2c.
Won't change in another 10 years for sure.

Nemesis1980
post May 26 2016, 01:58 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ May 26 2016, 12:31 PM)
Are u sure u can get a job with that salary with no local experience? Just asking, dont know yr exact circumstance.

In Hunter Street, OK, city centre, $200++ for a SHARED room. $400++ for a single room. PER WEEK.
Eat out: ultra budget: AUD5 per meal. Standard AUD15 per meal. Suggest u learn to cook if want to save money. No cheap Bangla to make u wantan mee.
everyday penang har mee......lol
ipohnoel
post May 26 2016, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(petirbuas @ May 26 2016, 01:56 PM)
Hi guys,
I need some info on expenses and cost of living in Sydney. Specifically Hunter Street area.
This is to gauge expected salary should one move from KL to Sydney. The goal is to maintain similar quality of life. Will stay there for 2 or 3 years.

- Late 20 single male
- Zero cooking skill(eat out all the time)
- Zero entertainment(no drinking, movie)

##

Question
Lets say he
i) Earn RM8k in KL, what is the equivalent in Sydney?
ii) Earn RM10k in KL, what is the equivalent in Sydney?

Based on Numbeo comparison info
i) ~AUD8.5k
ii) ~AUD11k
Does this sound about right?
Are these figures pre tax or post tax? Aus tax is high it might be better to talk in terms of net take home pay which is what you will get to spend. My first thoughts are those equivalent figures are high, as other people have alluded to local experience is preferred here so the equivalent is expected to be lower at your earlier years but you would catch up eventually and can go higher assuming you work hard and smart.
ipohnoel
post May 26 2016, 06:04 PM

Petirbuas, does it have to be Hunter Street specifically? Seems like you're just after Sydney CBD area, Surry Hills is a nice place and very close to the city as well, I can recommend the apartments opposite Harmony Park as a good spot. Rent is going to be really expensive however unless you can share.
shazam7
post May 27 2016, 09:39 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(ipohnoel @ May 26 2016, 09:04 PM)
Petirbuas, does it have to be Hunter Street specifically? Seems like you're just after Sydney CBD area, Surry Hills is a nice place and very close to the city as well, I can recommend the apartments opposite Harmony Park as a good spot. Rent is going to be really expensive however unless you can share.
I think maybe he just got the address of a few big financial companies, their offices on that street.
Living in Hunter St is equivalent to living in KLCC.
You can do it, but u either sacrifice privacy or pay a huge sum.

Example:
1 bed in shared room in CBD = 150
1 private bedroom in say, Strathfield, 4 stops from CBD = 200
ipohnoel
post May 27 2016, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(shazam7 @ May 27 2016, 11:39 AM)
I think maybe he just got the address of a few big financial companies, their offices on that street.
Living in Hunter St is equivalent to living in KLCC.
You can do it, but u either sacrifice privacy or pay a huge sum.

Example:
1 bed in shared room in CBD = 150
1 private bedroom in say, Strathfield, 4 stops from CBD = 200
Yea, I think you are right and agree with you big money or split the big money through sharing.

I'm in the Sydney CBD area, renting for $650/week; not sharing. Higher end cause it's a brand new apartment and it's close to 60sqm. I've seen a few other rooms in my building sharing with multiple people so I reckon $150-$200 is doable too.
Nemesis1980
post May 27 2016, 12:04 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(ipohnoel @ May 27 2016, 11:40 AM)
Yea, I think you are right and agree with you big money or split the big money through sharing.

I'm in the Sydney CBD area, renting for $650/week; not sharing. Higher end cause it's a brand new apartment and it's close to 60sqm. I've seen a few other rooms in my building sharing with multiple people so I reckon $150-$200 is doable too.
i remember when i live in petersham for a year, renting a place from a greek owner. it's an old big house but split into half. that half split into 3 rooms with a kitchen of it's own. sharing toilet and bath outside the room.
renting at 200/week. very quiet and nice place, walking distance to station.
prophetjul
post May 27 2016, 12:32 PM

12,267 posts

Expensive area! That's more than $30K per annum on rent alone!
shazam7
post May 27 2016, 12:41 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(ipohnoel @ May 27 2016, 02:40 PM)

One bed in a shared room could mean 4 beds (2 bunk beds).
Salute these ppl, like that also can live.

http://www.domain.com.au/news/100000-fine-...0160526-gp3syi/
ipohnoel
post May 27 2016, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(shazam7 @ May 27 2016, 02:41 PM)
One bed in a shared room could mean 4 beds (2 bunk beds).
Salute these ppl, like that also can live.

http://www.domain.com.au/news/100000-fine-...0160526-gp3syi/
Lol, reminds me of one property I inspected before I got my current one. It was priced at $600+/week but the place was absolutely wrecked as about 8 people stayed in it without the landlord's approval (they got kicked out hence vacant), 2 double deckers and 2 queen matts. I think the highlight of the damages were *burnt* the benchtop despite having a large kitchen and there were big holes in the wall (fighting maybe?).
kael90
post May 27 2016, 01:03 PM

576 posts

Are you renting a room or a whole unit? I've no idea where am i gonna stay when i touchdown in Sydney. Was thinking to rent a room via Airbnb first for the first month until i found my own place.
ipohnoel
post May 27 2016, 01:14 PM

QUOTE(kael90 @ May 27 2016, 03:03 PM)
Are you renting a room or a whole unit? I've no idea where am i gonna stay when i touchdown in Sydney. Was thinking to rent a room via Airbnb first for the first month until i found my own place.
It's a 1 bedroom apartment, so the whole unit. If you saw a place you really like maybe you can get some of your family or friends to inspect for you?

Otherwise, Airbnb or a temp accomodation would be a choice for u
kael90
post May 27 2016, 01:30 PM

576 posts

QUOTE(ipohnoel @ May 27 2016, 01:14 PM)
It's a 1 bedroom apartment, so the whole unit. If you saw a place you really like maybe you can get some of your family or friends to inspect for you?

Otherwise, Airbnb or a temp accomodation would be a choice for u
Ah nice. I think i need to be there personally first as I do not have any friends and family over there. Currently i'm looking at the range of 300-400 per week, where could i possibly stay?
shazam7
post May 27 2016, 01:53 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(kael90 @ May 27 2016, 04:30 PM)
Ah nice. I think i need to be there personally first as I do not have any friends and family over there. Currently i'm looking at the range of 300-400 per week, where could i possibly stay?
Many areas. Suggest near a train station and the city, so u can move around easily. Use Google Maps and the train map at transportnsw.info as a guide.
For 300pw on airbnb, it may be harder to get near the city. Plug in the dates and search.
Other websites are roommates, gumtree. But gumtree is less safe than airbnb.
You can also look at private hotels. Typically a single room fully furnished with shared facilities 250 or so.
kael90
post May 27 2016, 02:35 PM

576 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ May 27 2016, 01:53 PM)
Many areas. Suggest near a train station and the city, so u can move around easily. Use Google Maps and the train map at transportnsw.info as a guide.
For 300pw on airbnb, it may be harder to get near the city. Plug in the dates and search.
Other websites are roommates, gumtree. But gumtree is less safe than airbnb.
You can also look at private hotels. Typically a single room fully furnished with shared facilities 250 or so.
How about flatmates.au? Is this site reliable? I had been searching for a room in flatmates for quite some time and found some decent rooms.
And i think i m gonna go like a week earlier of my starting date to walk around the town and familiarise with the place first. Don't wanna be late on the first day. A bit of adventure for me since its my first time.
shazam7
post May 27 2016, 02:50 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(kael90 @ May 27 2016, 05:35 PM)
How about flatmates.au? Is this site reliable? I had been searching for a room in flatmates for quite some time and found some decent rooms.
And i think i m gonna go like a week earlier of my starting date to walk around the town and familiarise with the place first. Don't wanna be late on the first day. A bit of adventure for me since its my first time.
Flatmates is **MORE** reliable than others but airbnb is still the safest. Do NOT use FB groups.
With airbnb u dont need to pay deposit. Others u will need abt 2-4 weeks + 1 week advance when u move in.
No need to go one week earlier. A few days enough. Make sure yr smartphone has data on it, u will need to rely on Google Maps. Load in an app called Tripview, this is yr public transport bible. Worth to pay the $3++ for full version.
Nemesis1980
post May 27 2016, 04:59 PM

1,066 posts

just hardly imagine how to live in sydney with the rent skyrocketing compared 15 years ago...

DarReNz
post May 27 2016, 10:15 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 26 2016, 10:43 AM)
Okok....my fault.  Sorry about that.
Just met up some malaysian and Singaporean lately who's super rich and the attitude gone insane.

U won't get detained unless u bring 10k cash or drugs. Make sure no smoking marijuana b4 u enter....lol. They'll use a device to gosok ur body later to check or ask a dog to sniff or lick ur body...

Anyway, 1st landing no problem. Btw, make sure u do the following....pls write down:

1) open bank account. Use ur friends add.
2) get a ozzie mobile number
3) get ur medicare card done
4) TFN maybe
5) centrelink

Once u get these things done, u ask ur fren to keep the medicare and bank card for u until u permanently arrive.
These things will took u a mth to hv it so make use of ur time.

1st landing no holiday ar.... Plenty of time having barbecue or fishing when u arrive permanently
probably need to mention that after he activate his medicare he only have 1 year to get private insurance otherwise he kena loading if he is above 31 years old
shazam7
post May 27 2016, 10:50 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 27 2016, 07:59 PM)
just hardly imagine how to live in sydney with the rent skyrocketing compared 15 years ago...
Unfortunately it is the city with the most opportunities. I mean u can pay bugger all rental in places like Wagga Wagga but unless yr skills r in specific areas like healthcare u will struggle to get a decent paying job.
lansi_raju
post May 31 2016, 10:03 AM

203 posts

Hi all,
any agents or agency who able to intro some jobs in aussie? I would like to migrate there as well.
any blue or white color jobs are fine,
i do have a degree and 3 years of working exp.

262 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0376sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:00 PM