10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Windows to MAC - Should I?, Seeking opinion & counsel

fortynine
post Dec 5 2006, 07:57 PM

97 posts

ahh.. a peaceful thread with no fanboyism and unnecessary flaming. i like.. biggrin.gif

tinkerbel, i think you'll be just fine switching to mac. it's just a different environment. getting used to it would be just like getting used to windows the first time you use it. i'm not a mac user (soon.. i hope..) but i reckon you can accomplish almost anything on a mac that you could on a pc.

i have to agree with azxel, people have their own reasons for choosing any operating system, be it mac, windows or linux. i'd say engineers who run simulation specific programs like ANSYS, matlab and moldflow would prefer a windows platform, graphic designers would prefer mac for its accurate color reproduction (someone told me this, so do correct me if i'm wrong guys) and open-source activists would of course choose linux.

i'm a regular user who surfs the net, write reports, watch some movies and play some decent games on my notebook. i'm using windows, and soon, Godwilling, a mac. i won't call it a switch, for i'll keep using my windows notebook. i just think it's fun to learn something new... don't you? biggrin.gif oh yeah, besides all that, i think mac is sexy! can't help it, i'm a sucker for anything shiny! hahaha...

This post has been edited by fortynine: Dec 5 2006, 10:58 PM
Acquiesce
post Dec 5 2006, 10:00 PM

355 posts

MB has a slighly powerful spec than SONY etc etc in the market now....with the same price range

for me..if i dont feel like having a Mac OS..might as well just install WINXP in it.

Worth the money!!!! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Acquiesce: Dec 5 2006, 10:02 PM
TStinkerbel
post Dec 5 2006, 10:08 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

*Ugh* I leave for a meeting and when I return I find myself lagging way behind on this thread sad.gif

fortynine,

Most graphic-based designers prefers Mac because the system's faster, plus it gives better 'precision' - ok, that's not entirely the right word but I'm sure u know what i'm talking about. Accuracy in colour reproduction comes mainly from the screen. However, there's quite a big group of graphic design students today who operates from windows-based pc. Perhaps the cost of a Mac is just too high for most. But 'high-flyers' within the Creative Industry are mostly avid Mac users.

allvin,

I suppose since you're gonna wait till next year for the X3000 and "Santa Rosa", u may also want to wait for them to introduce the 888MHz front bus speed. I was told to wait but i figured there's no way of keeping up-to-date with latest technology. My theory, or at least I tell myself there's really no best time to get something laugh.gif Personally, I believe the quad core will be introduced to lappies, they probably be called Core 3 Duo or maybe Core 2 Duo 2/3/4? *shrugs*

Er, what's Hackitosh?

onscreen,

Is OpenOffice compatible with Microsoft Words? I guess I'm asking about Mac Office because my proposals and files need to be shared mainly amongst Windows users.

azxel,

Nah, I've absolutely no intentions of mastering the graphic softwares - leave the professionals to it - i'll stick with what I know best. But would like to know the basics of it - then again, like i said, I have the program installed on my desktop. I just never got into the mood of trying it out wink.gif

The MBP's 2.54kg if I'm not mistaken - I wouldn't say it's light [current laptop of mine weighs 1.7kg] though most 15.4" screens in the market today are averaging 2.8kg.

So, actually-ah, is it possible for me to find bootleg application softwares out there? Don't lah ask me to buy Mac Office - no $ oredi leh cry.gif
TStinkerbel
post Dec 5 2006, 10:11 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Acquiesce,

If gonna get a Mac to install XP, might as well just get the a Windows-based pc. Some more got Vista coming up - but beware, if you're gonna run Vista, make sure you have sufficient RAM otherwise u'll regret even installing it rolleyes.gif
azxel
post Dec 5 2006, 10:36 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 5 2006, 10:08 PM)
Most graphic-based designers prefers Mac because the system's faster, plus it gives better 'precision' - ok, that's not entirely the right word but I'm sure u know what i'm talking about.  Accuracy in colour reproduction comes mainly from the screen.  However, there's quite a big group of graphic design students today who operates from windows-based pc.  Perhaps the cost of a Mac is just too high for most.  But 'high-flyers' within the Creative Industry are mostly avid Mac users.
Actually, for the color accuracy, it's mainly because the Macs were the forerunners for design. There is a difference between using a Mac and Windows for designing. Currently, in my work place, I use a Windows-based machine for designs and I can tell you that it really sucks.

The whole opening of files by double clicking it is really scewed up. An Illustrator EPS file is often opened in Photoshop because of the .eps extension. If it's changed to 'Use Illustrator' to open, then Photoshop EPS files are then opened on Illustrator... it's really frustrating. Also, on Photoshop (Mac), I distinctly remember that I can Use Command +/- to enlarge the size of the image and the image will increase in size, as would the window which the image is within but... on Photoshop (Windows), the image enlarges but the window remains the same size, meaning I've to manually increase the window by dragging it... that really sucks.

There are also several other issues that really sucks. Can't recall. hehe... but know this, mouse tracking on a Mac is really (or rather feels) accurate, compare to that of Windows. There's a certain feel when you move the mouse around on a Mac. I can't really explain it but it simply feels more 'solid' and robust.

It is however true that most supplier these days use a PC to RIP the files, especially large format printing but majority of those in color separation all use Macs for DTP.
artyca
post Dec 5 2006, 10:56 PM

53 posts

i made my first plunge into the world of Mac OS X with the MacBook, when it first hit our shores a few months back. The Core 2 Duo has recently been launched, and i can't help but feel proud to be a Mac convert. Heck, i've even convinced some of my friends to take the plunge too!
It's just so much easier to use... and there's not spyware / virus etc. to be worried about. For everyday applications - surfing internet, watching movies, online banking etc. it's 100% perfect!

azxel
post Dec 5 2006, 11:20 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 5 2006, 10:08 PM)
Is OpenOffice compatible with Microsoft Words?  I guess I'm asking about Mac Office because my proposals and files need to be shared mainly amongst Windows users.

The MBP's 2.54kg if I'm not mistaken - I wouldn't say it's light [current laptop of mine weighs 1.7kg] though most 15.4" screens in the market today are averaging 2.8kg.

So, actually-ah, is it possible for me to find bootleg application softwares out there?  Don't lah ask me to buy Mac Office - no $ oredi leh  cry.gif
Open Office is compatitble with MS Word.

1.7kg? What laptop are you currently using? Lemme guess... one of those Fujitsu? A fragile looking 13" Vaio? Both cost a bomb... and only comes with integrated graphic chip?
TStinkerbel
post Dec 5 2006, 11:24 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

azxel,

Apologies. I meant to say the accuracy in colour reproduction has all to do with the monitor screen in use when viewing the document - maybe, just maybe the accuracy on an Apple screen's better than the usual LCD monitors. If i'm not mistaken, CRT monitors are way better when it comes to colour accuracy - can someone confirm this?

Ah, you described my term 'precision' in the most accurate manner [well, then again u ARE a Graphics Professional!] tongue.gif . I think most people are trying to get away with using Windows-based applications in the Creative studios due to it being cheaper than the Macs but ah well, it hasn't been easy finding new blood who's trained on a Mac. Most can use the CS2 programs but functions mainly on windows-based and when they change to Mac, I find them seriously slow. Well, at least they can operate a Mac - then again, if you can use Illustrator on a PC, u probably be able to adapt to using Illustrator on a Mac. I just don't know how to use Illustrator only mah. Give me Office and I bet I be able to adapt quickly too whistling.gif
TStinkerbel
post Dec 5 2006, 11:29 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

artyca,

Any problems with the MB getting too hot? I thought I read that, and that's an issue I haven't quite addressed yet. Also, what about battery lifespan?

And since I'm talking about batteries here, what is the rough lifespan of a Mac battery? And what's the 'replacement' cost of one? Also, I know the MBP comes ready with a Video Adapter [or whatever u call it] but the S-Video cable is not bundled along with it. Is this particular cable special for Mac or can we use just any S-Video cable? Ok, I basically need to know how much that's gonna cost as I probably be using that too.
TStinkerbel
post Dec 5 2006, 11:38 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

azxel,

Open Office is compatible with MS Word? Even the formatting remains? Okie, that ought to be good enough to know. I do know sometimes when I export my Word documents to a Mac machine, the apostrophes (') comes out looking weird, as in some ASCII character.

Er, Open Office got MS Excel also? Er, or to make things easier, can get uhm... much much cheaper Mac Office from around or not ah? Would that be safe?

Yes, I'm currently using the 1st Generation of Centrino introduced laptop by Fujitsu. Fujitsu's weight's pretty standard at 1.7kg for the 13.3" and 1.8kg for the 14.1". And YES, cost me a bomb too but I was looking for a light-weight one then due to frequent outstation travelling. You seem to be pretty familiar - wanna tell me what screen that is? I find it a little too dim... be it matte/gloss/watever it is [doubt it's gloss though!] blush.gif
goldfries
post Dec 6 2006, 12:12 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Dec 5 2006, 10:36 PM)
Actually, for the color accuracy, it's mainly because the Macs were the forerunners for design. There is a difference between using a Mac and Windows for designing. Currently, in my work place, I use a Windows-based machine for designs and I can tell you that it really sucks.

The whole opening of files by double clicking it is really scewed up. An Illustrator EPS file is often opened in Photoshop because of the .eps extension. If it's changed to 'Use Illustrator' to open, then Photoshop EPS files are then opened on Illustrator... it's really frustrating. Also, on Photoshop (Mac), I distinctly remember that I can Use Command +/- to enlarge the size of the image and the image will increase in size, as would the window which the image is within but... on Photoshop (Windows), the image enlarges but the window remains the same size, meaning I've to manually increase the window by dragging it... that really sucks.

There are also several other issues that really sucks. Can't recall. hehe... but know this, mouse tracking on a Mac is really (or rather feels) accurate, compare to that of Windows. There's a certain feel when you move the mouse around on a Mac. I can't really explain it but it simply feels more 'solid' and robust.

It is however true that most supplier these days use a PC to RIP the files, especially large format printing but majority of those in color separation all use Macs for DTP.
it works differently on different OS, that doesn't make it SUCKS. for example, if i'm a Windows photoshop user switching to Mac - i'd probably say it sucks too. and vice versa.

IMO it's not a matter of MAC or PC. photoshop is still photoshop, the color output IMO relies pretty much more on a quality display panel more than anything else - in this case the Mac is great, i like their monitors.

however i'm using Windows for my design work most of the time and now the unit is equipped with my Dell 2007WFP - very happy.

btw check this out - DELL vs APPLE display panel
http://anandtech.com/displays/showdoc.aspx?i=2400

QUOTE(azxel @ Dec 5 2006, 11:20 PM)
Open Office is compatitble with MS Word.
is it 100% compatible? smile.gif

oh btw i'm not a Windows fanboy. i'm a user of both (and bring in Linux too!!), just haven't tried photoshop on Mac cos you know la. $$$$$. i like my Mac, i like my PC.
artyca
post Dec 6 2006, 12:28 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 5 2006, 11:29 PM)
artyca,

Any problems with the MB getting too hot?  I thought I read that, and that's an issue I haven't quite addressed yet.  Also, what about battery lifespan?

Tinkerbel... initially, the MB ran rather hot... but after getting the firmware updates from Apple, the fan runs more regularly and i do notice that it runs cooler these days.
Battery lifespan?? Err... i'm plugged into the AC adaptor 90% of the time so i can't really comment. I do believe that it should last for about 3 hours on a single charge...

Overall lifespan?? Who cares?? Use it, throw away and get a new one biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Your other question regarding S-Video out... err... gotta get back to you on that! whistling.gif
allvin
post Dec 6 2006, 12:47 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(fortynine @ Dec 5 2006, 08:57 PM)
ahh.. a peaceful thread with no fanboyism and unnecessary flaming. i like.. biggrin.gif

I like this thread as well.. Personally, when comes to open a thread like this, there's surely got fanboy (either win or mac side).. Hate most

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 5 2006, 11:08 PM)
allvin,

I suppose since you're gonna wait till next year for the X3000 and "Santa Rosa", u may also want to wait for them to introduce the 888MHz front bus speed.  I was told to wait but i figured there's no way of keeping up-to-date with latest technology.  My theory, or at least I tell myself there's really no best time to get something  laugh.gif  Personally, I believe the quad core will be introduced to lappies, they probably be called Core 3 Duo or maybe Core 2 Duo 2/3/4? *shrugs*

Er, what's Hackitosh?

I choose to wait it's because of the spec, especially GMA950. On the other hand, MBP is definite out of my budget. I just want a descent GC mobility which can perform a bit better in gaming. I'm not a hardcore gamer. When i heard about X3000, which impress me. It support HDR & SM3, which is more powerful than my current 9550 engine which only SM2 sweat.gif And hopefully the new chipset also using DDR3 ram. wub.gif Darn crazy... Anyway, *if* by that time, macbook price is similar like now but with all those goodies, i'm so eager to get it. At least it suit for me biggrin.gif

Hackintosh AKA OSx86 can be install in our current machine. But don't expect about the performance. It will be darn slow than a real mac. I have been using or testing OSx86 since last year ago. More details

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 6 2006, 01:12 AM)
oh btw i'm not a Windows fanboy. i'm a user of both (and bring in Linux too!!), just haven't tried photoshop on Mac cos you know la. $$$$$. i like my Mac, i like my PC.
I second that. I'm not sure about now, i know apps like autocad which only for win. Even you are a macfanboy, and if let say you need use autocad, you still need go winxp. No choice, but to live with it. After all, mac os, winxp and linux, all three are just tools for human biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Dec 6 2006, 12:47 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(artyca @ Dec 6 2006, 12:28 AM)
I do believe that it should last for about 3 hours on a single charge...

depends on what you're running of course, and there's a setting for batteries in system preference.
supafreak
post Dec 6 2006, 01:17 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(artyca @ Dec 6 2006, 12:28 AM)
Tinkerbel... initially, the MB ran rather hot... but after getting the firmware updates from Apple, the fan runs more regularly and i do notice that it runs cooler these days.

Your other question regarding S-Video out... err... gotta get back to you on that!  whistling.gif
For the strangest reasons, when u work the processor like mad, ie. encode a bunch of videos, etc... the fan kicks in real strong n the machine is super cool... on a separate note, like wat artyca said, the firmware updates is really good... now i can put the MB on my lap!... hahah...

Thr're no S-Video output.. wat u wanna get if u wanna connect to the TV is the Mini-DVI to Video Adapter... mind u, no apple retailers carry this product in KL... which is real crap if u ask me.. i got my friend to get it for me frm Sg... costs SGD34.. and it works FANTASTIC!... but the thing is, u wont get the full screen on TV... wat i mean is tat if ur TV's 29 inches, wat u'll see is 28inches... no loss in quality tho...

n if u create some shortcuts in ur movies folder to ur external hdd, u can hook ur MB to the tv.. power up FrontRow.. n lean bacck in ur couch n enjoy..
TStinkerbel
post Dec 6 2006, 02:30 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

artyca,

Guess I'll just have to tell the shop to ensure the necessary 'whatever'-wares are updated when I make my purchase.

Well, I do care about the overall lifespan of battery - first 'chiplak' laptop I used [dun even remember the brand.. Twinhead I think] had very lousy battery lifespan. The following ones; being Fujitsu is great!

Ok, I got the ansewr on the S-Video oredi. It's apparently a generic cable so can get from anywhere; thank God it's not proprietorship to Apple. Apple too many propriertorship stuff... worst than Sony vmad.gif

Took me quite a while to figure out what fanboyism is but after reading allvin's reply my suspicions been confirmed biggrin.gif

allvin,

You sure seem to know quite a bit about the hardware stuff - U sent to Pluto after reading your reply but well, must admit i did learn something out of it. Though, I probably won't be able to guess what HDR & SM3 is so, be good if u can shed a light on that? Just keep it simple will do. I'm just curious that's all *gulps*

You sure have my utmost notworthy.gif for being so patient waiting for the new technologies to be introduced. Actually, I'm wondering if I should hold back buying the Mac until Leopard's been launched? When is it expected to be out anyways? Some say not sure, some say it might be in Jan 07? What'd u experts out there think?

goldfries,

Assuming only the typical work programs (iMail, Safari, Words, etc) are being used, the battery charge should last a little longer right? Then again, it also depends on screen settings and preferences.

3hrs is a little 'short' but well, if that is it, that is it. Besides, I'm pretty much used to lugging along the adaptors and power cords with me. Speaking of which, are the adaptors usable without any 'convertor' in MY?

supafreak,

There's NO S-Video adaptor? But But But how's that so when I'm pretty sure I got that information straight out of one of the Mac sites and noted it down as one a question to ask.

Anyhow, I guess I'll just have to figure out how to get it plugged to the TV - but that's probably a little too advance for me at this stage. Will definitely look you up if i need to. If gotta get the Mini-DVI to Video Adaptor then gotta get lor but i think the MBP comes bundled with uhm a DVI adaptor or something like dat - i'm assuming it's for a different purpose?

So, when are u inviting us over for a movie? laugh.gif
goldfries
post Dec 6 2006, 03:09 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

tinkerbel, you don't need to reply 4 times to reply 4 persons. biggrin.gif there's always the edit button. i've merged your posts already. biggrin.gif easier to read.......for the rest of us. tongue.gif

regarding battery life, IMO 3 hours is long for a notebook. smile.gif i've tested my macbook - best way to really drain it's power is to play stuff like Big Bang Chess. biggrin.gif leaving it on desktop just won't drain the battery fast enough, neither does playing DVD.

naturally - the more resources you use, the faster the battery drains.

as for the adaptors, i just use the default power cables that came with the goods. works fine. just change the connection head.

as for the TV output. i didn't realize macbooks use mini-DVI. thought they'd have DVI already tongue.gif now i end up have to order some mini-DVI adapter.

i'm still thinking of which adapter to get. biggrin.gif

allvin, looking for the X3000 with SM3? smile.gif the thing is, i wonder how fast would applications with SM3 work on the X3000. sure it supports SM3, but how's it's performance in relativity to ATi / nVidia offerings?
TStinkerbel
post Dec 6 2006, 03:21 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,

Thanks for merging the replies - I tried to do that in one of my previous replies but this time guess i forgot *oops* blush.gif

I'm assuming 3hrs are estimated based on 'hardcore' stuff? In that case, normal usage say just for surfing purposes at 'dimmer screen' preference should give it up to about 4+hrs? Anyhow, guess it's really not too important though I'll like to have peace of mine knowing I won't need to change batts every year or so. Any ideas anyone?

I think MBP uses DVI, not mini-DVI. Dunno what the difference is, nor have I gone into such advance usage for now laugh.gif

I don't know about u but I'm going to bed now... Nite nite...
artyca
post Dec 6 2006, 03:48 AM

53 posts

tinkerbel... u can get more than 3 hours on a single charge. Just make sure all necessary peripherals are switched off when not used e.g. Bluetooth connection etc.
Anyhow, the power adaptor that comes with the MB is compatible with most plugs. I'm using mine in Germany and it works just fine...
goldfries
post Dec 6 2006, 04:08 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 6 2006, 03:21 AM)
I think MBP uses DVI, not mini-DVI.  Dunno what the difference is, nor have I gone into such advance usage for now  laugh.gif

MB uses mini-DVI biggrin.gif that's the annoying part - arrgghh i have to spend for the proprietary parts just to output to bigger display units.

http://www.apple.com/macbook/specs.html
Video - Built-in iSight camera; mini-DVI output port with support for DVI, VGA, S-video, and composite video (requires adapters, sold separately)

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 6 2006, 03:21 AM)
I'm assuming 3hrs are estimated based on 'hardcore' stuff?  In that case, normal usage say just for surfing purposes at 'dimmer screen' preference should give it up to about 4+hrs?  Anyhow, guess it's really not too important though I'll like to have peace of mine knowing I won't need to change batts every year or so.  Any ideas anyone?

last i saw, on a full charge the battery was calculated to last 3 - 4 hours.

the 3 hours i mentioned was on minimal usage, eg Safari and other non-draining activities. if no WiFi or any other stuff is needed, you can disable them to conserve more power.

however with games running, the battery could last an hour or 2. biggrin.gif games = processors, processes = heat, heat = faster fan, faster fan = more drain. something like that.........

This post has been edited by goldfries: Dec 6 2006, 04:11 AM

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0160sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:33 PM