TStinkerbel
post Dec 5 2006, 01:03 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

onscreen,

I hate to have to ask u this but what would the Sony Clear Bright Display monitor be - glossy or matte?

It's hard for me to comment on this but on my next visit, I'll definitely ask them to show me the difference between the gloss and matte screen. Er, could you also enlighten me a little on what u mean by 'environment lighting'?

I move around quite a bit but unless environment lighting here means places not conducive for reading/using a pc, i should be fine. And I guess I can be considered a rather 'hard core' user on this new machine, esp if it's gonna be a Mac. Will prob sacrifice a few nights to figure out the new toy drool.gif
N0eL
post Dec 5 2006, 01:23 AM

1,479 posts

Hey...If you found yourself a sifu,do invite me to join the class. I need help as much as you do.

For glossy screen. When the source of light is behind you, you'll see reflection of the light and probably a shadow of yourself on the screen instead of the display unless you change position. The Mac guy I dealed with recommended a matte screen coz there were cases where customers came back to complain about not being able to see the screen when they are out at cafes and hotspotz area.
onscreen
post Dec 5 2006, 01:30 AM

Nomby
675 posts

ok, time to go step by step.

Sony clear bright must be a display enhancement .. which i am not too into that at all. The screen surface isnt affected.. if i remember correctly.

Its easy to find out the glossy and matte surface which is by the viewing angle. Walk around and look at the screen, matte surface have a reported 176 degrees of viewing angle.. while glossy have way lesser. Maybe the others have other methods to share smile.gif

My definition of environment lighting is the lighting situation of the place you use the laptop.. is it dim? very bright with spotlights? etc etc...
TStinkerbel
post Dec 5 2006, 09:04 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

N0eL,

Will do but until I find a si-fu who's willing to work on teaching me more about Mac, I'm gonna have to call on you - and the rest here cool.gif . You're right about the service and support. Coming from the service industry, I am kinda particular about getting useful support - esp since I probably be using it quite a bit [though I doubt I'll call to ask why the machine isn't functioning when power source is unavailable blink.gif]

onscreen,

The Sony one is probably an enhancement but i really ain't too sure. I'm not too much into monitors either but must admit I've no problems with the Sony Clear Bright Display monitors.

I've no idea what my current Fujitsu is but compare it with the current ones (and the Sony monitor), the screen on my Fujitsu's a little dim for my liking - then again, that was 'ancient' technology but i sure have taken note of this.

I'm assuming the Matte's probably the better one with greater viewing [and since it's available as option on the MBPs]?

Ok, besides screen can someone tell me if there's an equivalent of Microsoft Access on Mac? If my memory doesn't fail me, the last time I checked, I remember someone telling me it's not available though Word, Excel & Powerpoint's available.
aMDCoPPeR
post Dec 5 2006, 09:19 AM

168 posts

Matte vs glossy: there isn't a clear winner, it is usually up to the user. From what I gather, glossy screens have deeper colours hence look a lil better but the problem with glossy is reflection when you use your laptop outdoors. Personally, I use Matte.

And yes, there is NO Microsoft Access on Mac. If you really need to use MS Access then you could try BootCamp, Parallels or CrossOver. If you prefer to work natively on MacOS X then you could try NeoOffice, an aqua port for OpenOffice. So far there's no sign of Access coming into Office 2007 for Mac, reason being the difficulty to port over because Access uses the Jet database that is built into Windows.

Hope this helps, cheers.
azxel
post Dec 5 2006, 09:41 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

Hmm.. so you're worried about things from switching to Mac right till the screens? Weird... but anyway. If you have the time, myMUG has a monthly meet up for Mac Users in BSC and one separate meet up for those who might want to pick up software developing as a hobby.

Personally, I've used both platforms. If you're someone who has common sense, then you really shouldn't have any problems 'switching' at all. After all, it was Apple (who took the drag and drop, point and clicky thingy from Xerox) and it was Microsoft who later took the same thingy and implemented it into Windows. The key is to have an open mind and be willing to learn. A lot of Windows users are narrow-minded. While that statement isn't meant to say that they're bad or they suck, it's just that they're so used to using Windows and having things done a certain way till they find it really hard to learn a new way (and much simpler way) to get things done.

Perhaps, it would help as to why you wanna switch to using a Mac? If you have a purpose, it's easier to point you into the right direction. Everyone has their reasons for using a Mac. Some, because it simply looks good. Some, because of the OS. Others because whatever reasons.
TStinkerbel
post Dec 5 2006, 02:16 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

azxel,

Will definitely get into myMUG as soon as I can find the time. Nah, the matte/gloss screens aren't part of me worry - it was just a topic that came up.

Well, I like to think I've got common sense and I'm the type who likes changes; especially for the better. My only and main worry is not being able to do my own troubleshooting, and knowing which or what programs to use but i think the latter can be easily resolved; esp with the availability of forums here.

I'm definitely a willing student, just need to find a very patient and willing teacher that's all biggrin.gif

I was considering the iMac last year mainly because I wanted to learn the graphic applications [Adobe CS2], plus obviously the iMac would enhance the look of my room as compared to d usual 'box'. However, I made my final decision based on price and thus got the usual 'box' instead.

This time however, it was a mere fluke. I didn't look at Mac initially because my perception was that it's premium priced but after having made the price comparisons with the pc-based notebooks (as detailed above), it was quite at par.

I guess my only reason for considering this switch is due to the price vs its specs. Admittedly, I'm driving myself crazy giving myself so many options; I'll like a big screen but I don't like the weight rclxub.gif

Guess I'm just being a typical 'woman' here, ain't it? sad.gif
carpathia
post Dec 5 2006, 02:32 PM

2,619 posts

Myself was a PC to Mac user- all i can say is, you would have wished you got the mac sooner. here are some pro and cons in your 1st 2 weeks using macs

Pros
1-U get into wifi zone using one click only
2-Stable OS and zippy response

Cons
1-u will scour the net to find all the necessary apps you had when u were using windows
2 - u keep looking for the scandisk and defrag tool
3 - all ur apps dun close as u keep minimizing them into the dock
4- not easy to connect to a windows/office network
TStinkerbel
post Dec 5 2006, 02:46 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

carpathia,

It's a good thing I'm not running too MANY applications [or at least I don't think i am!]. I prob hope to use whatever software that comes bundled with the Mac - other than for the rest. Speaking of which, I do know there are limitations when it comes to applications for Mac but I don't think there'll be an 'oh-so-common-application' today that won't have an equivalent for Mac users, right?

Yes, I am aware after having gone through MAC 101 that applications are minimised to dock unless you command quit it.

Er, just how difficult would it be to connect to my office network - which is primarily windows based? It's a one-time off config or do I have to re-map drive each time?

Appreciate your reply thumbup.gif
goldfries
post Dec 5 2006, 02:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 5 2006, 02:16 PM)
I was considering the iMac last year mainly because I wanted to learn the graphic applications [Adobe CS2], plus obviously the iMac would enhance the look of my room as compared to d usual 'box'.  However, I made my final decision based on price and thus got the usual 'box' instead.

Windows laptop usually come with practically nothing.

in the Mac, wow so many things. biggrin.gif i just got my macbook and it was great!! of course, it's not my 1st time using, cos i've used ibook before but only this time i get to explore it deeper and i really like it.

furthermore, there's terminal!! tongue.gif being a linux user, mac OS isn't that much of a problem.

if you want it for entertainment - macbook has it all, a lot of cool apps in there already.

not sure about pirated mac os apps cos i never look for them anyway, you'd probably be able to get student price of MS Office / Adobe apps.
carpathia
post Dec 5 2006, 02:56 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 5 2006, 02:46 PM)
carpathia,

It's a good thing I'm not running too MANY applications [or at least I don't think i am!].  I prob hope to use whatever software that comes bundled with the Mac - other than for the rest.  Speaking of which, I do know there are limitations when it comes to applications for Mac but I don't think there'll be an 'oh-so-common-application' today that won't have an equivalent for Mac users, right?

Yes, I am aware after having gone through MAC 101 that applications are minimised to dock unless you command quit it.

Er, just how difficult would it be to connect to my office network - which is primarily windows based?  It's a one-time off config or do I have to re-map drive each time? 

Appreciate your reply  thumbup.gif
APPS - This is good news! - unless u r using some special apps from your company, then u r outta luck.

each windows network will require a one time off setting- u dun have to remap the drive each time/

azxel
post Dec 5 2006, 02:59 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Dec 5 2006, 02:32 PM)
Myself was a PC to Mac user- all i can say is, you would have wished you got the mac sooner. here are some pro and cons in your 1st 2 weeks using macs

Pros
1-U get into wifi zone using one click only
2-Stable OS and zippy response

Cons
1-u will scour the net to find all the necessary apps you had when u were using windows
2 - u keep looking for the scandisk and defrag tool
3 - all ur apps dun close as u keep minimizing them into the dock
4-  not easy to connect to a windows/office network
blink.gif so.. for you, it's a con that your apps don't close when you minimise them into the dock? Doesn't that happen to when you minimise your apps into that task bar thingy on windows? tongue.gif

erm.. why do you keep lookin for scandisk and the defrag tool? we don't need it!! laugh.gif
carpathia
post Dec 5 2006, 03:06 PM

2,619 posts

azxel- its not really CONS but more of what the user will encounter in his/her 1st 2 weeks of using mac.

Tinkerbell- go and get your mac already! u can thank us later!!!
azxel
post Dec 5 2006, 03:08 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

Hmm.. learning Graphic Software is one thing but mastering is another. I do hope that you're a graphic design student or at least in advertising or graphic designing.

There are alternatives to Microsoft Office such as Think Office which I hear is about RM100+, Neo Office, Open Office and even AppleWorks. hehe

I believe that the Macbook Pros are quite light. Even the Macbook was rather light (I helped carry a box that contained it the other day and was wondering if there was even a Macbook in it.)
onscreen
post Dec 5 2006, 03:10 PM

Nomby
675 posts

bah.. buy Quad Mac Pro.. just like me tongue.gif
onscreen
post Dec 5 2006, 03:12 PM

Nomby
675 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Dec 5 2006, 03:08 PM)
Hmm.. learning Graphic Software is one thing but mastering is another. I do hope that you're a graphic design student or at least in advertising or graphic designing.

There are alternatives to Microsoft Office such as Think Office which I hear is about RM100+, Neo Office, Open Office and even AppleWorks. hehe

I believe that the Macbook Pros are quite light. Even the Macbook was rather light (I helped carry a box that contained it the other day and was wondering if there was even a Macbook in it.)
Open Office is the best.. been using it for 2 yrs now and still loving it.
azxel
post Dec 5 2006, 03:23 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(onscreen @ Dec 5 2006, 03:10 PM)
show off la you Leo... tongue.gif
come, PM me your address... I come RAMBO your Quad Mac Pro... rolleyes.gif
onscreen
post Dec 5 2006, 03:26 PM

Nomby
675 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Dec 5 2006, 03:23 PM)
show off la you Leo... tongue.gif
come, PM me your address... I come RAMBO your  Quad Mac Pro... rolleyes.gif
Easy la, have to obey the rules of LYN forum... i go back to mymug and resume this chat there tongue.gif Since now i have less burden now.. can spam i mymug again cool.gif
azxel
post Dec 5 2006, 03:53 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

oh.. you can spam here... easier for me to report you and have you banned.. hehehe tongue.gif hardly see you at mymug also.. ish...

anyway, threadstarter for more mac news and info.. check out www.macsurfer.com the only place I go to for mac news.
allvin
post Dec 5 2006, 06:24 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(onscreen @ Dec 5 2006, 04:10 PM)
Btw, Quad Mac Pro is for desktop version. TS looking for lappie sweat.gif

Well, i will get myself a macbook by next year, hopefully the next generation macbook will be equip with X3000 (Intel next generation integrated graphics) just like next generation of Centrino Lappie (codenamed "Santa Rosa") ). Personally i hoping macbook will equip with Quad-core, but don't think it's possible cos' it will be too hot and battery issue. Right now i just playing with Hackitosh whistling.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: Dec 5 2006, 06:24 PM

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0149sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:34 PM