Medical Conditions GERD / Heartburn Problems, Anyone suffering this too?

TSjohnseamus
post Nov 13 2015, 12:43 PM, updated 9y ago

831 posts

Hi guys ,Hope you guys can help me out , if not share your experience here too.

I have been suffering from GERD for about 6 months now. Started in mid april this yr and still ongoing till today. Experience heartburn on daily basis (if i dont take a ppi). So my story is, since april i've started to get mild heartburn then went to see gp and got some ppi which helped but the heartburn keeps come back after i stop the drug.

So in july i went to do gastroscope, revealed GERD and small hiatal hernia. Doc said nothing serious but it makes me feel like crap though. Done blood test in april for h pylori and the scope did check for the bacteria , both negative.

So far i have tried : pantoprazole , nexium , omeprazole and famotidine. Omeprazole works best for the heartburn. one pill down and never worry for 1 day but lately it's been giving me side effects (i think?) like muscle pain and mild joint pains. The other drugs do not work as good as omeprazole. Have also tried supplements like calcium magnesium, apple cider vinegar etc.

Any other gerd sufferer here? would like to hear you guys experience too for this 'not serious' but feels like dying condition.
skloda
post Nov 13 2015, 12:46 PM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

doctor prescribe me Nexium
TSjohnseamus
post Nov 13 2015, 12:52 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(skloda @ Nov 13 2015, 12:46 PM)
doctor prescribe me Nexium
How long have you been taking it? Any side effects?

I tried nexium 20mg for 5 days and my stomach area feels painful..
stormaker
post Nov 13 2015, 12:56 PM

3,130 posts

I have suffering from GERD for a year now, only 1st 3 months doctor prescribed me the antacid, but after that they stop it n I'm not on any medication right now.

Doctors also didn't try to diagnose the root cause of my GERD, they only done the endoscopy to confirmed it.

Now, I don't know what to do except drin Rooibos Tea everyday and live with it. sad.gif

skloda
post Nov 13 2015, 01:07 PM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Nov 13 2015, 12:52 PM)
How long have you been taking it? Any side effects?

I tried nexium 20mg for 5 days and my stomach area feels painful..
doctor give me 1 month supply , after that i stopped taking it .. now ok already
TSjohnseamus
post Nov 13 2015, 01:42 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Nov 13 2015, 12:56 PM)
I have suffering from GERD for a year now, only 1st 3 months doctor prescribed me the antacid, but after that they stop it n I'm not on any medication right now.

Doctors also didn't try to diagnose the root cause of my GERD, they only done the endoscopy to confirmed it.

Now, I don't know what to do except drin Rooibos Tea everyday and live with it.  sad.gif
How are u feeling now that u are not on drugs? Is rooibos tea helping the burn n pain?

QUOTE(skloda @ Nov 13 2015, 01:07 PM)
doctor give me 1 month supply , after that i stopped taking it .. now ok already
You must be the lucky ones. I'm tried to stop drugs but the pain is just too much.
SeanVinces
post Nov 13 2015, 02:12 PM

82 posts

Stop having any heavy/spicy/oily/ food, eat more porridge & drink more water, keep it like for 2 weeks & of course rest more! I used to took gaviscon when have heartburn, when i feel stable i took Omesec with empty sotmach.
stormaker
post Nov 13 2015, 02:15 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Nov 13 2015, 01:42 PM)
How are u feeling now that u are not on drugs? Is rooibos tea helping the burn n pain?
You must be the lucky ones. I'm tried to stop drugs but the pain is just too much.
I have most of the GERD symtom ... frequent heartburn, burning sensation on tongue, tooth became sensitive due to enamel erosion, ears sometime feel itchy n sometime pain, throat constantly feel there's something there n sometime feel pain as well.

Rooibos tea helped with my symtoms for very short time, but i hope in long run, it can improve my GERD condition.
ricstc
post Nov 13 2015, 02:27 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

How about consuming a lot of high quality probiotics. Dont care the mlm but get omx hq in subang
SUSslimey
post Nov 13 2015, 02:42 PM

6,914 posts

hiatal hernia does predispose to GERD.

so.........just keep taking the medication for GERD.

eat smaller meals.
don't lie down for at least 30 min from meal, especially at night.
DaydreamV2
post Nov 13 2015, 02:53 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Nov 13 2015, 02:15 PM)
I have most of the GERD symtom ... frequent heartburn, burning sensation on tongue, tooth became sensitive due to enamel erosion, ears sometime feel itchy n sometime pain, throat constantly feel there's something there n sometime feel pain as well.

Rooibos tea helped with my symtoms for very short time, but i hope in long run, it can improve my GERD condition.
I have most of the symstoms you mentioned. Having stomach pain and gastric lately. Taking omeprazole 20mg moring and evening after meal. Its has subsided but still having mild pain. My ENT doc advice me only go to bed 3 hours after dinner. It did help to reduce the reflux. Taking too much spicy food also aggravated the symtoms.

This post has been edited by DaydreamV2: Nov 13 2015, 02:56 PM
TSjohnseamus
post Nov 13 2015, 03:02 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(SeanVinces @ Nov 13 2015, 02:12 PM)
Stop having any heavy/spicy/oily/ food, eat more porridge & drink more water, keep it like for 2 weeks & of course rest more! I used to took gaviscon when have heartburn, when i feel stable i took Omesec with empty sotmach.
Already tried fixing the diet but not much help. Gaviscon works , for like 2hrs then continue burning lol
QUOTE(stormaker @ Nov 13 2015, 02:15 PM)

I think if you have frequent symptoms better see doc again because esophagus damage can come on and become serious over time
stormaker
post Nov 13 2015, 03:07 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(DaydreamV2 @ Nov 13 2015, 02:53 PM)
I have most of the symstoms you mentioned. Having stomach pain and gastric lately. Taking omeprazole 20mg moring and evening after meal. Its has subsided but still having mild pain. My ENT doc advice me only go to bed 3 hours after dinner. It did help to reduce the reflux. Taking too much spicy food also aggravated the symtoms.
How long you have been taking omeprazole ? From what I read, we shouldn't take PPI for long term basis, hence the doctor stop prescribing it after 3 months.

U're right, normally i will wait for 3 hours after dinner before go to bed. Beside that, i'll drink few cups of rooibos tea before go to bed too.

Glad to hear that ur symptom has subsided. Mine too but it's far from feeling comfortable.

retardedgamerz
post Nov 13 2015, 03:08 PM

125 posts

i just endure it..live healthy..and keep working out..
DaydreamV2
post Nov 13 2015, 03:14 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Nov 13 2015, 03:07 PM)
How long you have been taking omeprazole ? From what I read, we shouldn't take PPI for long term basis, hence the doctor stop prescribing it after 3 months.

U're right, normally i will wait for 3 hours after dinner before go to bed. Beside that, i'll drink few cups of rooibos tea before go to bed too.

Glad to hear that ur symptom has subsided. Mine too but it's far from feeling comfortable.
I have taken around 1 year and stop for quite sometime then taking as and when required. I have found out that taking spicy and sour foods will make it worst.
stormaker
post Nov 13 2015, 03:18 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(DaydreamV2 @ Nov 13 2015, 03:14 PM)
I have taken around 1 year and stop for quite sometime then taking as and when required. I have found out that taking spicy and sour foods will make it worst.
40mg per day for a year ? It didnt caused any side effect ? Or make ur stomach over rely on it to get ur GERD under control ?

Yeah, avoid spicy n sour food, n for me cheese n chocolate too ( painful lesson for me).

This post has been edited by stormaker: Nov 13 2015, 03:18 PM
TSjohnseamus
post Nov 13 2015, 03:18 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(DaydreamV2 @ Nov 13 2015, 03:14 PM)
Wow one yr already. Do you notice any side effects? Doc warned me will have calcium loss hence recommended calcium supplements .
DaydreamV2
post Nov 13 2015, 03:24 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Nov 13 2015, 03:18 PM)
Wow one yr already. Do you notice any side effects? Doc warned me will have calcium loss hence recommended calcium supplements .
Sure have side effects. Also gain weight as need to eat more meals to prevent stomach discomfort. Also, 3 in 1 coffee mix is too acidic for me. cry.gif cry.gif
TSjohnseamus
post Nov 13 2015, 04:13 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(DaydreamV2 @ Nov 13 2015, 03:24 PM)
Sure have side effects. Also gain weight as need to eat more meals to prevent stomach discomfort. Also, 3 in 1 coffee mix is too acidic for me.  cry.gif  cry.gif
Haha i gained weight too, eating too many meals.

Do you experience muscle ache or joint pain when taking the omeprazole?

40mg daily is quite strong i think..im taking 20mg daily
DaydreamV2
post Nov 13 2015, 04:20 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Nov 13 2015, 04:13 PM)
Haha i gained weight too, eating too many meals.

Do you experience muscle ache or joint pain when taking the omeprazole?

40mg daily is quite strong i think..im taking 20mg daily
Ya. some pain here and there. Another problem I am having now is short breath severe cough. According to GP its due the reflux went into my lung. cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by DaydreamV2: Nov 13 2015, 04:21 PM
TSjohnseamus
post Nov 13 2015, 04:25 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(DaydreamV2 @ Nov 13 2015, 04:20 PM)
Ya. some pain here and there. Another problem I am having now is short breath severe cough. According to GP its due the reflux went into my lung.  cry.gif  cry.gif
Sounds serious bro , have you consulted a gastro specialist before?

Seems like its really hard to find a good doc for gerd. i went to see 2 gastro before and they don't seem to care much although i'm in pain. Most doc just tells me this is 'nothing serious' and dont worry about it just take the pills. If you guys know any good doc pls recommend to us smile.gif
DaydreamV2
post Nov 13 2015, 04:28 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Nov 13 2015, 04:25 PM)

Seems like its really hard to find a good doc for gerd. i went to see 2 gastro before and they don't seem to care much although i'm in pain. Most doc just tells me this is 'nothing serious' and dont worry about it just take the pills. If you guys know any good doc pls recommend to us smile.gif
Lol. A GP once told me that I will not die due this this. rclxub.gif
SUSslimey
post Nov 13 2015, 04:52 PM

6,914 posts

Have you spoken to a surgeon to discuss about surgical option of hiatal hernia repair plus fundoplication?
barium
post Nov 13 2015, 07:30 PM

159 posts

basically all the specialist doctor out there will just say the same..am gerd patient here too. have it almost 5 years. keep coming on and off. Seen alot of specialist and most of them just like you mentioned, "never care". They just cant understand how suffering this is to us. I cant eat, cant sleep nicely. And they can just easily say its not serious, just eat your medicine. Everytime when they say this to me, the moment i walk out their room, i pray to god hope that they get GERD just like me... So that they understand the feeling of "not serious" that they said to me.. mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
TSjohnseamus
post Nov 13 2015, 08:43 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Nov 13 2015, 04:52 PM)
Have you spoken to a surgeon to discuss about surgical option of hiatal hernia repair plus fundoplication?
When I did the scope , the specialist advised not to do anything about it since its just small hernia and my symptoms can be controlled by PPI.

QUOTE(barium @ Nov 13 2015, 07:30 PM)
basically all the specialist doctor out there will just say the same..am gerd patient here too. have it almost 5 years. keep coming on and off. Seen alot of specialist and most of them just like you mentioned, "never care". They just cant understand how suffering this is to us. I cant eat, cant sleep nicely. And they can just easily say its not serious, just eat your medicine. Everytime when they say this to me, the moment i walk out their room, i pray to god hope that they get GERD just like me... So that they understand the feeling of "not serious" that they said to me.. mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
Yes exactly , I need one good doc that cares too. Most of them seems like they just want to make a quick one. I have read a lot online and it seems like there could be a dozen possible supplements one can take to solve the heartburn.

I've tried some of them , will be trying HCl supplement and licorice root next to see if it works for me. Some western researcher believe gerd is caused by less acid not too much acid.
alicia
post Nov 13 2015, 10:24 PM

206 posts

I'm a very serious gerd sufferer for at least 3 years. Was on nexium 40mg or pariet 40mg with ganaton daily.

My gerd was so bad until I would suddenly vomit and have to be admitted for few days. It happen few months once.

I went through surgery and the reason because it starts affecting my throat. It was so severe that I was attended by a respiratory specialist that couldn't do much as the acid kept coming up. I was on double maximum dose of nexium but it still couldn't help.

I even went to Singapore to seek treatment as my uncle is a doctor in SGH but yet I still suffered

Luckily my doctor doesn't give up on me. Few gastro that I've consulted already giving up. Just lucky that its been fully cure and I'm happy that at least its a year now I'm still gerd free. However, I still see my Dr at least few months once to follow up.

This post has been edited by alicia: Nov 13 2015, 10:26 PM
stormaker
post Nov 13 2015, 10:43 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(alicia @ Nov 13 2015, 10:24 PM)
I'm a very serious gerd sufferer for at least 3 years. Was on nexium 40mg or pariet 40mg with ganaton daily.

My gerd was so bad until I would suddenly vomit and have to be admitted for few days. It happen few months once.

I went through surgery and the reason because it starts affecting my throat. It was so severe that I was attended by a respiratory specialist that couldn't do much as the acid kept coming up. I was on double maximum dose of nexium but it still couldn't help.

I even went to Singapore to seek treatment as my uncle is a doctor in SGH but yet I still suffered

Luckily my doctor doesn't give up on me. Few gastro that I've consulted already giving up. Just lucky that its been fully cure and I'm happy that at least its a year now I'm still gerd free. However, I still see my Dr at least few months once to follow up.
I couldn't imagine how suffer you 're in that 3 years, but glad to hear that u're finally gerd free.

May I know what surgery u went through ? And do u mean the surgery cured ur gerd ?

Thanks!
barium
post Nov 13 2015, 10:47 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Nov 13 2015, 08:43 PM)
When I did the scope , the specialist advised not to do anything about it since its just small hernia and my symptoms can be controlled by PPI.
Yes exactly , I need one good doc that cares too. Most of them seems like they just want to make a quick one. I have read a lot online and it seems like there could be a dozen possible supplements one can take to solve the heartburn.

I've tried some of them , will be trying HCl supplement and licorice root next to see if it works for me. Some western researcher believe gerd is caused by less acid not too much acid.
My case is definitely too much acid.

Last time I was on Nexium 40mg, but the medicine gave me severe headache. Then later on i changed to dexilant 60mg. Works good for me without any side effect. Have been keeping this medicine with me all the time in case GERD attacks again. As for supplement, I'm taking Nuvapine A320 daily. can see some improvement. Also, I've totally cut off all spicy food. Spicy food is the biggest enemy to us GERD patient. so dont take it. i miss nasi lemak cry.gif cry.gif

stormaker
post Nov 13 2015, 11:05 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(barium @ Nov 13 2015, 10:47 PM)

Last time I was on Nexium 40mg, but the medicine gave me severe headache. Then later on i changed to dexilant 60mg. Works good for me without any side effect. Have been keeping this medicine with me all the time in case GERD attacks again. As for supplement, I'm taking Nuvapine A320 daily. can see some improvement. Also, I've totally cut off all spicy food. Spicy food is the biggest enemy to us GERD patient. so dont take it. i miss nasi lemak  cry.gif  cry.gif
Nuvapine A320 ... interesting ... might try it but abit pricey for me sad.gif

Thanks for the sharing !
TSjohnseamus
post Nov 13 2015, 11:54 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(barium @ Nov 13 2015, 10:47 PM)

Last time I was on Nexium 40mg, but the medicine gave me severe headache. Then later on i changed to dexilant 60mg. Works good for me without any side effect. Have been keeping this medicine with me all the time in case GERD attacks again. As for supplement, I'm taking Nuvapine A320 daily. can see some improvement. Also, I've totally cut off all spicy food. Spicy food is the biggest enemy to us GERD patient. so dont take it. i miss nasi lemak  cry.gif  cry.gif
Yes spicy foods triggers me too but strangely sour foods like ketchup/lemons dont trigger me. I can eat a whole bk whopper meal feeling normal but just abit of chilli and it burns.

Just take nasi lemak without the sambal then i've been doing that for sometime now lol

How old are you guys if you don't mind me asking? i'm only 26 this yr..

This post has been edited by johnseamus: Nov 13 2015, 11:56 PM
samowong
post Nov 14 2015, 12:00 AM

269 posts

My advice:
1. If taking PPIs long term, please monitor your renal function and creatinine regularly as incidences of acute interstitial nephritis have been reported

2. I've encountered a case with painful gynaecomastia after prolonged intake of PPIs.

3. Food to avoid (on top of all that's been suggested) - alcohol, caffeine, "lemak" food, and smoking. Eat frequent small meals.

4. Lose the tummy (if present) and / or tight jeans - they cause increased intra abdominal pressure which may delay gastric emptying and cause more reflux.

5. Focus when eating - the gastrointestinal tract is lined with smooth muscles. Smooth muscles are controlled by the autonomic nervous system, which is beyond our control. But what's on our mind affects the motility of the stomach and the intestines.
I.e when you're munching on something while rushing through your work, your body is in sympathetic overdrive which slows the gastric motility, but the gastric needs to work to digest the food you're munching, so, go figure.

6. De-stress - Similar to No.5, stress hormones put your body in a sympathetic state. Even a short walk does wonders. I find a lot of people who are under stress do not know that they are in fact stressed.

TSjohnseamus
post Nov 14 2015, 12:13 AM

831 posts

QUOTE(samowong @ Nov 14 2015, 12:00 AM)
My advice:
1. If taking PPIs long term, please monitor your renal function and creatinine regularly as incidences of acute interstitial nephritis have been reported

2. I've encountered a case with painful gynaecomastia after prolonged intake of PPIs.

3. Food to avoid (on top of all that's been suggested) - alcohol, caffeine, "lemak" food, and smoking. Eat frequent small meals.

4. Lose the tummy (if present) and / or tight jeans - they cause increased intra abdominal pressure which may delay gastric emptying and cause more reflux.

5. Focus when eating - the gastrointestinal tract is lined with smooth muscles. Smooth muscles are controlled by the autonomic nervous system, which is beyond our control. But what's on our mind affects the motility of the stomach and the intestines.
I.e when you're munching on something while rushing through your work, your body is in sympathetic overdrive which slows the gastric motility, but the gastric needs to work to digest the food you're munching, so, go figure.

6. De-stress - Similar to No.5, stress hormones put your body in a sympathetic state. Even a short walk does wonders. I find a lot of people who are under stress do not know that they are in fact stressed.
Thank you, very helpful advices there.

Stress definitely does play a big part in the cause of gerd. In fact most if not all docs i seen told me my gerd is caused by stress. My stress is alot lower now than few months ago and have noticed i can tahan 1-2 days without omeprazole now.

I have tried manuka honey before , it helps the stomach alot if you're on ppi but doesn't really help the heartburn for me.

Apple cider vinegar - it's like gaviscon effect. Few hrs of relief then burning comes back.

Calcium supplements - No difference for me, but for those on long term ppi should consider taking as ppi is known to reduce calcium absorption.
barium
post Nov 14 2015, 10:01 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Nov 13 2015, 11:54 PM)
Yes spicy foods triggers me too but strangely sour foods like ketchup/lemons dont trigger me. I can eat a whole bk whopper meal feeling normal but just abit of chilli and it burns.

Just take nasi lemak without the sambal then i've been doing that for sometime now lol

How old are you guys if you don't mind me asking? i'm only 26 this yr..
I'm also 26 years old : ). Dont whop a whole lot of food at one time. its not good. you need to practice to eat small and frequent meals. especially at night time.

You gotta be really patient with GERD. you're only having it for 6 months. Many of us have it for years. the longer you have it, the better you know how to cope with it, the non medication way. It requires a strict discipline on food intake and some lifestyle changes.

QUOTE(samowong @ Nov 14 2015, 12:00 AM)
My advice:

+1.

totally agree. I took my dexilant PPI only when necessary. like once or sometimes twice a week.

the fact that gaining weight will only worsen the situation, i've then started working out just to make sure i dont get fat. biggrin.gif

sembilan
post Nov 14 2015, 05:56 PM

644 posts

I had this pain for the past three weeks and due to my low tolerance of pain, I went to see a gastroenterologist and went for an upper endoscopy procedure today. Negative for h. pylori but positive for hernia and GERD. Will have to visit the doctor again next week for further consultation, which I think will most probably be useless.

I feel as if I am losing it soon, eating bland soupy stuff for the past three weeks.
TSjohnseamus
post Nov 14 2015, 06:13 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(barium @ Nov 14 2015, 10:01 AM)
I'm also 26 years old : ). Dont whop a whole lot of food at one time. its not good. you need to practice to eat small and frequent meals. especially at night time.

You gotta be really patient with GERD. you're only having it for 6 months. Many of us have it for years. the longer you have it, the better you know how to cope with it, the non medication way. It requires a strict discipline on food intake and some lifestyle changes.
+1.

totally agree. I took my dexilant PPI only when necessary. like once or sometimes twice a week.

the fact that gaining weight will only worsen the situation, i've then started working out just to make sure i dont get fat.  biggrin.gif
Yes i guess i still have more to learn from this. You're 26 too? How long have you been suffering for?

QUOTE(sembilan @ Nov 14 2015, 05:56 PM)
I had this pain for the past three weeks and due to my low tolerance of pain, I went to see a gastroenterologist and went for an upper endoscopy procedure today. Negative for h. pylori but positive for hernia and GERD. Will have to visit the doctor again next week for further consultation, which I think will most probably be useless.

I feel as if I am losing it soon, eating bland soupy stuff for the past three weeks.
Bro i know how you feel. Did they tell you how big the hernia was?

You can try to do this simple exercise every morning to find some relief - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qu2MQqS2ucY

But don't do it after eating, before eating in the morning works best for me. I drink 2 full cups of water and do the dropping down action.

This post has been edited by johnseamus: Nov 14 2015, 06:16 PM
sembilan
post Nov 14 2015, 06:20 PM

644 posts

Not yet, I guess that's what the consultation next week is for.

I have lost 2kg since this started and have been taking a break from working out. I finally felt better and went yesterday but didn't manage to do much because I didn't have any energy. Over the course of three weeks, the thing I find most troublesome is the amount of food intake, eat too little, pain, eat slightly too much, pain. And by the way, I took Zantac 150mg and it's working like a charm, but it's giving me diarrhea.
alicia
post Nov 14 2015, 08:29 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Nov 13 2015, 10:43 PM)
I couldn't imagine how suffer you 're in that 3 years, but glad to hear that u're finally gerd free.

May I know what surgery u went through ? And do u mean the surgery cured ur gerd ?

Thanks!
I went for fundoplication and hiatus hernia repair. Yes, the surgery cured my gerd.

I was an extreme case. I've refrained from a lot of food that can trigger gerd but it just couldn't help. No coffee, spicy food etc for 3 years. And the cost of medication are getting higher as well. One box of nexium/pariet only for 1 week and on top of that I'm taking Ganaton and probiotics.

I'm glad that I really did the surgery as it was getting extremely bad and now, I can take whatever I want including coffee.

Whatever remedy that everyone said help, I've tried but it just couldn't work for me.
alicia
post Nov 14 2015, 08:33 PM

206 posts

I was lucky that I found a really caring Doctor. I've also seen a few and had bad experience. Support and encouragement from the dr is really important.
yashin
post Dec 25 2015, 10:29 PM

152 posts

Tried similar to everyone here, famotidine, zantac, nexium. Nexium seemed to me the best but also very expensive. It was good though, for a while when j was taking it about once a week. Then sometimes one per day.

Also tried probiotics, different types but I found it had little effect.

Dietry changes proved more difficult and not always easy to figure out.

Recently read that many gerd sufferers had low levels of cacium and vit D, started taking a supplement and not had a tablet since. I read some calcium types can make gerd worse so look into it.

It seems there may be a link between acid reflux and these mineral ions being low. Am willing to continue to try a supplement if it easea my symptoms and stops me needing the pills.

Positive effects so far. Type calcium and gerd into Google, lots of articles

TSjohnseamus
post Dec 26 2015, 12:22 AM

831 posts

QUOTE(yashin @ Dec 25 2015, 10:29 PM)
Tried similar to everyone here, famotidine, zantac, nexium. Nexium seemed to me the best but also very expensive. It was good though, for a while when j was taking it about once a week. Then sometimes one per day.

Also tried probiotics, different types but I found it had little effect.

Dietry changes proved more difficult and not always easy to figure out.

Recently read that many gerd sufferers had low levels of cacium and vit D, started taking a supplement and not had a tablet since. I read some calcium types can make gerd worse so look into it. 

It seems there may be a link between acid reflux and these mineral ions being low. Am willing to continue to try a supplement if it easea my symptoms and stops me needing the pills.

Positive effects so far. Type calcium and gerd into Google, lots of articles
Mind to share which calcium supplement that worked for you?

I've taken calcium - magnesium supplements before but didnt helped much
yashin
post Dec 26 2015, 09:31 AM

152 posts

I'm taking caltrate 600 plus I think it is calcium citrate. This is the one referred to in the articles. There is some concern that it would make the reflux worse but the key with calcium is to have it in the evening and straight after a heavy meal.

Only been trying a month but I was popping either nexium 20mg/40mg or famotidine on a daily/regular basis.

My doctor was OK up to a point, told me to cut out coffee and she was convinced dairy was a major cause of reflux especially cheese. I tried but I do enjoy a cup of coffee. Cheese was easier to give up.

I'm not convinced about the calcium yet but it seems to make sense and like I say give it a go. Just stick to the dose as calcium is also a problem for kidney stones in this heat.
TSjohnseamus
post Dec 26 2015, 08:42 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(yashin @ Dec 26 2015, 09:31 AM)
I'm taking caltrate 600 plus I think it is calcium citrate. This is the one referred to in the articles. There is some concern that it would make the reflux worse but the key with calcium is to have it in the evening and straight after a heavy meal.

Only been trying a month but I was popping either nexium 20mg/40mg or famotidine on a daily/regular basis.

My doctor was OK up to a point, told me to cut out coffee and she was convinced dairy was a major cause of reflux especially cheese. I tried but I do enjoy a cup of coffee. Cheese was easier to give up.

I'm not convinced about the calcium yet but it seems to make sense and like I say give it a go. Just stick to the dose as calcium is also a problem for kidney stones in this heat.
Thanks , might buy it to try myself.

I've been and still taking omeprazole almost daily right now. Tried to switch to zantac last week but failed miserably , too much burning lol

Do you guys know any good doc for gerd in kl/PJ area?
yashin
post Dec 26 2015, 11:18 PM

152 posts

Yeah zantac and famotidine dampen the fire but within hours it comes back. Not been to a specialist myself. Doctor has offered to do scope colon and throat but I wonder if it just a money making scam since it will cost a lot.

I have gerd and IBS and have had it for about 20years- sometimes go periods where I take nothing for months other times I take a tablet evry day.

They always want to do some test whether for bacteria pylori and then 2 weeks of strong antibiotics - this did not work even though I came out positive for pylori. Then they offer digestive bacteria and my doc wanted rm 180 for this.

Am sure like IBS it is related to lifestyle and diet to an extent . I have stressful job- not easy to change job and reduce stress.

Right now I am reducing caffeine and dairy. No cheese especially. No fizzy drinks. Seems to help.

Let me know how you go on with the calcium.

This post has been edited by yashin: Dec 26 2015, 11:27 PM
vectorian
post Jan 11 2016, 01:10 AM

377 posts

I have Gerd too since Sept last year (about 5 horrible months). Went to see a Gastro specialist and was scheduled for endoscopy and colonoscopy at the same time in late Oct. Results came back as positive for Gerd but negative for everything else thank god.

The doctor then prescribed Dexilant 60mg for about 1 month with Ganaton and then lowered down to Dexilant 30mg with Ganaton for 2months. Even with these PPIs, I still consume Gaviscon Advance twice every single day (after lunch and before bed).

I just saw my doctor last week and was given Dexilant 60mg again but this time he told me to take it only when I need it instead.

Due to me feeling like crap, loss weight and being weak, I felt I may need to find another solution. Googling these past few days lead me to the concept that I may be having low acid instead.

So johnseamus, have you tried the low acid healing methods yet?
TSjohnseamus
post Jan 11 2016, 08:18 AM

831 posts

QUOTE(vectorian @ Jan 11 2016, 01:10 AM)
I have Gerd too since Sept last year (about 5 horrible months). Went to see a Gastro specialist and was scheduled for endoscopy and colonoscopy at the same time in late Oct. Results came back as positive for Gerd but negative for everything else thank god.

The doctor then prescribed Dexilant 60mg for about 1 month with Ganaton and then lowered down to Dexilant 30mg with Ganaton for 2months. Even with these PPIs, I still consume Gaviscon Advance twice every single day (after lunch and before bed).

I just saw my doctor last week and was given Dexilant 60mg again but this time he told me to take it only when I need it instead.

Due to me feeling like crap, loss weight and being weak, I felt I may need to find another solution. Googling these past few days lead me to the concept that I may be having low acid instead.

So johnseamus, have you tried the low acid healing methods yet?
Hi

Yes ive tried herbal supplements and home remedies for low acid before and they worked to certain extent. You can try apple cider vinegar with some water or dgl licorice or even betaine hcl supplements. These are good for low acid and healing of the stomach. I find dgl really useful for me as it could make my stomach feel like normal again (with growling and a lot less reflux)

I used to take omeprazole 20mg + gaviscon normal twice a day when my gerd is at its worst. Now with my stress gone down and my stomach going back to normal , I'm doing pantoprazole 20mg daily only. Would advice you not to take too much drugs especially PPI as they have vast side effects down the road if you take too much.

Try to understand your stomach and symptoms more and find the root cause of reflux rather than taking pills to rid the symptoms. Also ,do not stop taking PPI all of a sudden . you will experience bad rebound acid as these drugs cause it. You need to reduce the dose to let your stomach get used to higher acid over time too.

And yes , those doc advice's like eating on time, avoid spicy food sour food, sleeping with elevated pillows definitely helps a lot.
rippein
post Jan 11 2016, 08:23 AM

36 posts

Don't waste money on prescription medicine. I used to have terrible GERD. I started consuming Apple cider vinegar. Mix it with lukewarm water and honey and drink it every morning. Now its gone.
TSjohnseamus
post Jan 11 2016, 09:05 AM

831 posts

QUOTE(rippein @ Jan 11 2016, 08:23 AM)
Don't waste money on prescription medicine. I used to have terrible GERD. I started consuming Apple cider vinegar. Mix it with lukewarm water and honey and drink it every morning. Now its gone.
That's nice. I tried apple cider before and couldn't continue as it kinda made my throat swelled up . did you take any PPI before trying the apple cider?
Ramjade
post Jan 11 2016, 10:01 AM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Jan 11 2016, 09:05 AM)
That's nice. I tried apple cider before and couldn't continue as it kinda made my throat swelled up . did you take any PPI before trying the apple cider?
If you want to take apple cider vinegar take it with sodium bicarbonate to neutralise the acid. That way, your teeth won't spoil.
vectorian
post Jan 11 2016, 06:43 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Jan 11 2016, 08:18 AM)
Hi

Yes ive tried herbal supplements and home remedies for low acid before and they worked to certain extent. You can try apple cider vinegar with some water or dgl licorice or even betaine hcl  supplements. These are good for low acid and healing of the stomach. I find dgl really useful for me as it could make my stomach feel like normal again (with growling and a lot less reflux)

I used to take omeprazole 20mg + gaviscon normal twice a day when my gerd is at its worst. Now with my stress gone down and my stomach going back to normal , I'm doing pantoprazole 20mg daily only. Would advice you not to take too much drugs especially PPI as they have vast side effects down the road if you take too much.

Try to understand your stomach and symptoms more and find the root cause of reflux rather than taking pills to rid the symptoms. Also ,do not stop taking PPI all of a sudden . you will experience bad rebound acid as these drugs cause it. You need to reduce the dose to let your stomach get used to higher acid over time too.

And yes , those doc advice's like eating on time, avoid spicy food sour food, sleeping with elevated pillows definitely helps a lot.
Thanks for the advice John. I think its high time I give the Betaine HCL and ACV a try since nothing else works. Even my gastro doctor tells me he's perplexed about my condition cause he said I am perfectly healthy.

Should I wean off this PPI first before starting on Betaine HCL + ACV regime?
Ramjade
post Jan 11 2016, 07:34 PM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(vectorian @ Jan 11 2016, 06:43 PM)
Thanks for the advice John. I think its high time I give the Betaine HCL and ACV a try since nothing else works. Even my gastro doctor tells me he's perplexed about my condition cause he said I am perfectly healthy.

People said you should not straight away atop it if you are on it for a long time.slowly cut down.

Slowly introduce acv + sodium bicarbonate and see. Do update us whether it works or not. You should buy the one with the "mother" (cloudy) in it. Just in mind that prolong acv can cause depletion of potassium. Just be sure to take lots of potassium food like bananas. smile.gif
TSjohnseamus
post Jan 11 2016, 08:20 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(vectorian @ Jan 11 2016, 06:43 PM)

Yes definitely wean yourself off the PPI . it will take some time but this gerd tests all our patience. Docs said I look good too but we all know better how terrible this disease feels like.
vectorian
post Jan 11 2016, 08:58 PM

377 posts

Thanks guys.. Guess the question now is where do you guys purchase the HCL?
TSjohnseamus
post Jan 11 2016, 09:44 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(vectorian @ Jan 11 2016, 08:58 PM)
Thanks guys..  Guess the question now is where do you guys purchase the HCL?
Got mine from iherb.com
vectorian
post Jan 15 2016, 10:11 PM

377 posts

Ok just to update, I stopped my PPIs for since Wed and drank a warm cup of ACV with a bit of honey in the evenings. Cap that off with Gaviscon at bedtime. Hoping to continue this till Monday and see how it goes.

Will consider HCL from iHerb next week. Thanks for the recommendation John!
TSjohnseamus
post Jan 17 2016, 10:05 AM

831 posts

QUOTE(vectorian @ Jan 15 2016, 10:11 PM)
Ok just to update, I stopped my PPIs for since Wed and drank a warm cup of ACV with a bit of honey in the evenings. Cap that off with Gaviscon at bedtime. Hoping to continue this till Monday and see how it goes.

Will consider HCL from iHerb next week. Thanks for the recommendation John!
So how are you feeling so far?

Can i ask if you could buy dexilant from a pharmacy or does it need a prescription? I usually get my ppi without any prescription from normal pharmacies
tchtax
post Jan 17 2016, 02:11 PM

638 posts

I used to have what you guys have. Difficulty in sleeping as well due to the acid backflow when I lie down. 2 supplements I would recommend :-

Colostrum powder to heal the digestive tract and stomach lining (this could take awhile depending on how damaged your tract and lining is,)

Digestive enzymes to aid your digestion ..this one really works for me

vectorian
post Jan 18 2016, 10:25 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(johnseamus @ Jan 17 2016, 10:05 AM)
So how are you feeling so far?

Can i ask if you could buy dexilant from a pharmacy or does it need a prescription? I usually get my ppi without any prescription from normal pharmacies
For Dexilant, the first few times was from the doctors clinic. After that, Doctor gave me a prescription so I can purchase it at any pharmacy. I bought it from Caring I think.
Heroicage
post Jan 20 2016, 05:16 PM

265 posts

a) you should ease down on the PPI and reduce them...you cannot just take it off...

b) long term GERD might either cause erosion in your esophagus area...and inflammed it....

c) part of the reason is your LS lower splincter muscle is relaxed state...where it is unable to close when you are processing food.
So retraining your eating habit time is important.

d) food diet...know what you eat , how you eat them, when you eat them.

e) alkaline food...dont overdose if you are low on acid already...but you can do a simple inaccurate test using "baking soda".

Am i all talk?..No..I had GERD 10years+, ...quit a stressful job, took a short pay cut, did contract work, change my lifestyle and my eating habits...and resolve them in < 1 year.

The PPIs and etc....they don't help you recover...it just elevates your symptom.
I also did chinese medicine from Tung Shin.

The rest is your decision. All the best.
suprnova-refugee
post Jan 20 2016, 11:09 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(Heroicage @ Jan 20 2016, 05:16 PM)
a) you should ease down on the PPI and reduce them...you cannot  just take it off...

b) long term GERD might either cause erosion in your esophagus area...and inflammed it....

c) part of the reason is your LS lower splincter muscle is relaxed state...where it is unable to close when you are processing food.

e) alkaline food...dont overdose if you are low on acid already...but you can do a simple inaccurate test using "baking soda".

Am i all talk?..No..I had GERD 10years+, ...quit a stressful job, took a short pay cut, did contract work, change my lifestyle and my eating habits...and resolve them in < 1 year.

The PPIs and etc....they don't help you recover...it just elevates your symptom.

What kind of diet you took? so now you are cured and can take any food you want?

Heroicage
post Jan 21 2016, 08:34 AM

265 posts

Can't recall.
I basically off anything you know are obvious....fried, processed and dairy...

Once i was getting better, and the symptoms reduced... I slowly introduce dairy back...

It is a very long, slow and difficult process.
You also have to be focus on getting better....less stress and aggravated....

It impacted alot of my work... I worked less and tried finding jobs that were less stressful.

Ramjade
post Jan 21 2016, 09:48 AM

24,341 posts

QUOTE(Heroicage @ Jan 21 2016, 08:34 AM)
Can't recall.
I basically off anything you know are obvious....fried, processed and dairy...

Once i was getting better, and the symptoms reduced... I slowly introduce dairy back...

It is a very long, slow and difficult process.
You also have to be focus on getting better....less stress and aggravated....

It impacted alot of my work... I worked less and tried finding jobs that were less stressful.
Mind sharing what's this simple inaccurate baking soda test about?
Heroicage
post Jan 21 2016, 10:36 AM

265 posts

baking soda test

http://scdlifestyle.com/2012/03/3-tests-fo...w-stomach-acid/

Let me warn you that it is also not accurate. It is just a school chemistry assumption.

vectorian
post Jan 27 2016, 05:36 PM

377 posts

Update: 27th Jan (15days after stopping PPIs)

Surprisingly and happy to report that I've been feeling 80-85% back to my old self. Been trying to add tiny portions of different things like dairy, spicy food, tea and even my beloved coffee back to my diet (again super small portions). I feel so much better and my jovial self again.

The only effects I sometimes feel would be bloated stomach after dinner and burping after meals.

I still do the following everyday so far:

- Drink my ACV in the morning
- 1x Probiotics tablet after lunch
- 1x Vitamin D tablet after dinner
- 3x teaspoon of Gaviscon just before bed
Py80
post Feb 29 2016, 01:30 AM

66 posts

I'm not sure is anyone is still following this or maybe everyone has cured their GERD, but in case anyone else comes across this post, I would like to contribute from a professional point of view.

GERD can be associated with dietary patterns and food types to some degree. It is also a condition that is known to fluctuate with anxiety or stress. It's basically a condition where there is reflux from the stomach into the oesophagus. It is usually stomach acid - which is why PPIs work. In some cases it may be bilious or liquid/food contents, which is why some they don't respond to PPI very well. Other medications may be useful for this group of people.

I notice that some of the forum members have mentioned persistent severe GERD symptoms, or GERD that is dependant on PPI usage long term. Many GPs and even some gastroenterologist will just tell you to take the medications long term and live with it. I know that this is not a solution for some people, particularly younger patients where they will have to take medications for decades or limit their lifestyle.

Assuming the symptoms are not caused by something else, this group of people may be suitable for minor surgery to treat their GERD. The results are very good actually. Obviously prior to this, further tests need to be done to confirm the GERD... you'll be surprised how many people actually have functional GERD (no actual reflux even though they feel the symptoms).

If there are any questions I will try to answer them here. Please don't PM as I think everyone should benefit from the questions and answers.

p/s: all this is assuming GERD is the right diagnosis. There are many other causes of chest and stomach discomfort.

This post has been edited by Py80: Feb 29 2016, 01:32 AM
alicia
post Feb 29 2016, 03:00 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Py80 @ Feb 29 2016, 01:30 AM)
I'm not sure is anyone is still following this or maybe everyone has cured their GERD, but in case anyone else comes across this post, I would like to contribute from a professional point of view.

GERD can be associated with dietary patterns and food types to some degree. It is also a condition that is known to fluctuate with anxiety or stress. It's basically a condition where there is reflux from the stomach into the oesophagus. It is usually stomach acid - which is why PPIs work. In some cases it may be bilious or liquid/food contents, which is why some they don't respond to PPI very well. Other medications may be useful for this group of people.

I notice that some of the forum members have mentioned persistent severe GERD symptoms, or GERD that is dependant on PPI usage long term. Many GPs and even some gastroenterologist will just tell you to take the medications long term and live with it. I know that this is not a solution for some people, particularly younger patients where they will have to take medications for decades or limit their lifestyle.

Assuming the symptoms are not caused by something else, this group of people may be suitable for minor surgery to treat their GERD. The results are very good actually. Obviously prior to this, further tests need to be done to confirm the GERD... you'll be surprised how many people actually have functional GERD (no actual reflux even though they feel the symptoms).

If there are any questions I will try to answer them here. Please don't PM as I think everyone should benefit from the questions and answers.

p/s: all this is assuming GERD is the right diagnosis. There are many other causes of chest and stomach discomfort.
I agree with you. I myself is an example of someone suffers severe GERD and the best decision that I've ever made is to go for surgery. Of course, the vital part is that you have to get the right surgeon as well to ensure that you enjoy the benefit of GERD free.
Py80
post Feb 29 2016, 05:54 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(alicia @ Feb 29 2016, 03:00 PM)
I agree with you. I myself is an example of someone suffers severe GERD and the best decision that I've ever made is to go for surgery. Of course, the vital part is that you have to get the right surgeon as well to ensure that you enjoy the benefit of GERD free.
Hi Alicia,

Good to hear you are doing well.

Did you have your oesophageal manometry and pH testing done prior to surgery ?

alicia
post Feb 29 2016, 06:04 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Py80 @ Feb 29 2016, 05:54 PM)
Hi Alicia,

Good to hear you are doing well.

Did you have your oesophageal manometry and pH testing done prior to surgery ?
Yes, its a MUST test esp manometry according to my surgeon. If the esophagus is not strong enough, he won't do the surgery for me.

As for the pH test, did it trice. Once is off medication & the other is while ON medication to confirm the acid level. Even with medication, my acid level is still very high during the 48hrs of the test.

Third time, is I went and see a professor who was giving me all negative comments & I did one with double dose medication.
Py80
post Feb 29 2016, 07:30 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(alicia @ Feb 29 2016, 06:04 PM)
Yes, its a MUST test esp manometry according to my surgeon. If the esophagus is not strong enough, he won't do the surgery for me.

As for the pH test, did it trice. Once is off medication & the other is while ON medication to confirm the acid level. Even with medication, my acid level is still very high during the 48hrs of the test.

Third time, is I went and see a professor who was giving me all negative comments & I did one with double dose medication.
Its true you should always do manometry studies beforehand. Its to exclude other motility disorders prior to surgery. It would be a disaster to do a fundoplication on oesophagus with dysmotility.

You did the Bravo 48hr pH study i take it. Its not done here anymore.

If you don't mind me asking, which centre was it at ?

My center offers the newest high resolution manometry and pH studies as well. If anyone thinks they may need it, they can PM. Its actually a very useful study to investigate GERD. Or to rule out GERD.
ahtom82
post Jul 27 2016, 12:56 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(alicia @ Feb 29 2016, 06:04 PM)

Hi Alicia,

Can I know how much does the surgery cost? I'm looking if this can solve my acid reflux problem then it will be great for me...
DrBarbarian
post Jul 27 2016, 01:37 PM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

hmmm... apparently I have GERD.... no s&s though... found out when I had my endoscopy done... now on meds for 2 weeks...
BlaBlaBoy
post Oct 30 2016, 01:13 PM

Make Malaysia a peaceful land
1,028 posts

Apple cider vinegar solved my problem..

Gerd problem caused by low acid level in stomach.

I took one week of PPI and threw all away. PPI will make you malnutrition as lower your gastric acid to 10%

www.earthclinic.com/mobile/cures/gerd/apple-cider-vinegar/8
heavensea
post Oct 30 2016, 08:35 PM

9,616 posts

do some scope make sure it's only gerd not something bad..
got oral medication can improve this, doctor will prescribe u.

it reduce the acidity of your stomach + improve the digestion?
I forgot abt the name ad, go consult with good doctor.
Kaka23
post Dec 10 2016, 01:11 PM

8,259 posts

Eat less... Eat more nutritious food
Blofeld
post Dec 10 2016, 02:30 PM

4,700 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jul 27 2016, 01:37 PM)
hmmm... apparently I have GERD.... no s&s though... found out when I had my endoscopy done... now on meds for 2 weeks...
What are the symptoms of GERD?
jutamind
post Dec 10 2016, 04:26 PM

2,429 posts

Been getting bloaty stomach, feeling gaseous and nauseous twice in a month already.Vomitted few times alreadyOccasionally feel acidic in the mouth especially if coughing while lying down at night. Are these GERD symptoms? Otherwise, don't feel much pain in the stomach area.
az89
post Dec 10 2016, 09:55 PM

QUOTE(jutamind @ Dec 10 2016, 04:26 PM)
Been getting bloaty stomach, feeling gaseous and nauseous twice in a month already.Vomitted few times alreadyOccasionally feel acidic in the mouth especially if coughing while lying down at night. Are these GERD symptoms? Otherwise, don't feel much pain in the stomach area.
Could be gallbladder problem also example Cholecystitis ( mild, acute), gallbladder stone.
Better see a gastroenterologist. Need to do colonoscopy and stuff.

Working in hospital I seen a lot of patient with GERD or gallbladder issue.

Almost all had same lifestyle...stress, eating time schedule not fix...u know the drill...work so busy till no time to eat...just eat whenever can...skip breakfast, skip lunch....drink mountain of coffee just to get that boost. Drink beer on empty stomach...late night eating then straight go bed sleep.

oily food..dairy product, spicy food oso can trigger all that GERD symptom. basically eat simple steam fresh food better.

Medication won't help fix whatever damage been done. All that medication such as :

abeprazole (Aciphex)
Esomeprazole (Nexium)
Lansoprazole (Prevacid)
Omeprazole (Prilosec, Zegerid)
Pantoprazole (Protonix)
Dexlansoprazole (Dexilant)

it's only help you for short term..its like painkiller...at one point it won't have effect. Some medication of coz won't work on certain people and perhaps 1st time take was okay..second time suddenly got allergic reaction. ( my wife given nexium, 1st time okay....2nd time kna gerd get nexium again tiba2 allergic plak. )

At the end...You still need to fix your lifestyle.

I myself oso got this GERD thing...once in a while I really feel nausea ....occasional heartburn increase burping especially after taking food...and coffee( not even finish one cup already felt gassy..need to burp.)

Even got 2 time I got projectile vomit puke.gif ..really bad gastritis attack...last year I go hospital...get iv drip and medication. 1st time in my life.

The other time this year,I kept quiet from my wife...don't want to worry her. sweat.gif Really feel good after vomit though.

Symptom before those gastritis attack : sweating,bloated stomach, you really want to burp a lot, heartburn, nausea,and when that vomit happen...you stomach like spams edy..cramping n pumping out whatever inside ur stomach...of coz u lost lot of body fluid..gonna felt tired.. thats why need IV drip..need to replace that lost body fluid.

Both of those attack happen at late evening(after finish work) i so busy work didn't take breakfast n skip lunch oso..maybe just take coffee n plain water. brain oso like no signal stop feeling hungry edy. once finish work got home only felt need to eat. Stomach so full of acid and gas edy..baru makan sikit sudah explode vomit.

laucy.my
post Dec 11 2016, 09:56 AM

161 posts

Did a scope few weeks ago. Doctor said I've got GERD and need to take care of myself. I am put on medication for 6 months, with monthly visit to the doctor. Currently on dexlansoprazole 60mg for 1 month then 30mg the next and so on. Pain getting more frequent these days, sometimes after just 2 hours of eating will feel pain again and need to eat somemore.
DrBarbarian
post Dec 11 2016, 11:55 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Dec 10 2016, 02:30 PM)
What are the symptoms of GERD?
I din have any s&s.... was a chance discovery when i went for a routine scope
Kaka23
post Dec 12 2016, 08:18 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Dec 10 2016, 04:26 PM)
How is your eating appetite?
jutamind
post Dec 12 2016, 07:30 PM

2,429 posts

Getting normal now... But trying not to over eat

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 12 2016, 08:18 AM)
How is your eating appetite?
TSjohnseamus
post Sep 17 2017, 12:43 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(aloha2017 @ Sep 17 2017, 12:39 PM)
Did anyone here stop dexilant or nexium after sometime get acid rebound for the first few weeks?
Yes I myself experienced acid rebound after stopping ppi. What I did was cutting down the dosage over weeks as advised by the doc . You can try to first cutting your dose to half of what you're taking now.

Then cut to taking a dose every other day , then every two days until there's no more rebound. That's whats working for me.
TSjohnseamus
post Sep 17 2017, 12:53 PM

831 posts

QUOTE(aloha2017 @ Sep 17 2017, 12:47 PM)
How long it took you?

I been on zero PPI for 7 days.. feeling better but still too much acid at night
About 8 weeks to cut down to one dose every 3-4 days

I took pantoprazole which the doc said is a 'weaker' ppi. Not sure how true this is.
Justlcc
post Oct 18 2017, 06:07 AM

Can I know which Chinese doctor you went to Tung Shin?

Justlcc
post Oct 18 2017, 06:09 AM

QUOTE(Heroicage @ Jan 20 2016, 05:16 PM)
a) you should ease down on the PPI and reduce them...you cannot  just take it off...

Can I know which Chinese doctor you went to Tung Shin?

Justlcc
post Oct 18 2017, 06:10 AM

What type of surgery? Is the surgery available in Kl?

Justlcc
post Oct 18 2017, 06:15 AM

QUOTE(ahtom82 @ Jul 27 2016, 12:56 PM)
Hi Alicia,

Can I know how much does the surgery cost? I'm looking if this can solve my acid reflux problem then it will be great for me...
Hi Alicia, I am a Gerd sufferers and it's killing me. Can I know what type of surgery ie. name of the surgery? Which hospital or centre can I get it done? Is it available in Kl? Which doctor is good? Please help!
Justlcc
post Oct 18 2017, 06:18 AM

Can I know what type of surgery? Name if surgery? Been to 4 gastro Specialist and they still can't cure me. It's been killing me. Done everything necessary, it did get better a little but the b pain is killing me. Which hospital or center available for this surgery? Is it available in Kl?

Heroicage
post Oct 18 2017, 08:53 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(Justlcc @ Oct 18 2017, 06:10 AM)
What type of surgery? Is the surgery available in Kl?
Dr. Song. But it does not really work for everyone, the meds given is purely to recover your regularity of stomach activities... I was able to ease off PPIs within 5-6 months slowly, which wasn't helping me>70% .

b) I suggest you start changing your diet, to focus on alkaline foods in majority (not saying you eat just that )
c) There are some cases...people tries juicing cabbage and drinking them regularly ( google for that ). If bitter, mix with other juices
There are cases people supplement with zinc to help your stomach lining ( but google it ).

d) Confirm yourself tested that you do not have H.pylori bacteria in your stomach
e) do light exercises, and stop sleeping or sitting down right after meals....or even when you work...do more standing/walking.
f) tilt your bed upright a bit, to reduce acid reflux to your esophagus, and try to sleep to your left side. ( google for sleeping positions ).

Again,I am not a medical expert... so, make your own judgements/decisions . All the best to you.

fin8Ex
post Dec 3 2017, 05:26 PM

202 posts

anyone still using nuvapine A?

how many minutes before meal we take it?
jutamind
post Dec 17 2017, 03:14 PM

2,429 posts

been having acid reflux like 3 times this year...which i thought are mild symptoms such as feeling bloated, nausea feeling, acidic taste in mouth especially if lying down at night. after getting some meds from GP, the acid reflux will be gone. no pain whatsoever experienced for the acid reflux symptom and i dont take acid reflux meds if i dont have the symptom.

GP has been asking me to do endoscopy, which I'm a bit resistant of.....is it advisable to do endoscopy, which to me just to confirm whether has GERD etc as i dont think there's a permanent cure for GERD?

Appreciate some insights as well as sharing of experience of doing endoscopy
mushigen
post Dec 19 2017, 09:39 PM

4,952 posts

I know of someone with episodes of acidic taste at night (especially after having oat cereal in milk) where bits of cereal and sometimes rice was found in the mouth.
Then had gastric-like feeling in the stomach. The gastric symptoms appeared after a stressful and busy period at work where meal times were also inconsistent.

GP prescribed omeprazole which magically cured the gastric symptoms. It was supposed to be for just a few weeks but unfortunately gastric attack would come 24hours after the last omeprazole was taken.

A specialist did endoscopy and saw that patient has hiatus/hiatal hernia which contributes to the "backflow" of food bits and stomach juice. Patient was advised to lose weight as it would help due to less stomach fat exerting pressure on the esophagus.
Specialist said that the hernia and gastric attacks were not related, and stress is one of the main contributors of gastric attacks where the stomach produces more acid to digest food in order to provide energy.

The patient then tried to wean off omeprazole by:
1. taking probiotics (apparently, high stomach acid content will harm these little fellows)
2. having small meals and having food like biscuits on standby so that he does not go hungry.
3. chewing gums, which apparently helps to produce saliva which is supposed to be beneficial for him.
4. changing job (yes, to one that is less stressful albeit lower paying).
5. increasing physical activity and reducing weight.

He has stopped taking omeprazole for more than a year with only very isolated cases of minor discomfort, if at all. Of course, spicy food is out, or there will be discomfort.

kevynlow
post May 5 2018, 08:15 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(fin8Ex @ Dec 3 2017, 05:26 PM)
anyone still using nuvapine A?

how many minutes before meal we take it?
3time daily before meal of 30miniutes
fin8Ex
post May 6 2018, 11:49 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(kevynlow @ May 5 2018, 08:15 PM)
3time daily before meal of 30miniutes
does it heal ur gerd?
Dnise
post Jul 2 2018, 12:39 PM

QUOTE(fin8Ex @ May 6 2018, 11:49 AM)
does it heal ur gerd?
How long did it take to heal ur gerd?
Im taking nuvapine A as well, but i keep feel like vomiting after taking the med. is that normal?
fin8Ex
post Jul 3 2018, 04:14 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Dnise @ Jul 2 2018, 12:39 PM)
How long did it take to heal ur gerd?
Im taking nuvapine A as well, but i keep feel like vomiting after taking the med. is that normal?
am not too sure about vomiting feeling.

did u take 30 minutes b4 meal?

my gerd not sure its healed.
i thk occasionally after wake up i will feel throat like, sore throat or mayb the acid went up to throat area.

i stopped taking it long time already

i suggest u speak to the pharmacist where u bought ur nuvapine
danise22
post Jul 23 2018, 06:44 AM

In my case, I wouldn say I am healed. But I have lesser attack (hearrburn) even still comsuming sensitive drinks. For a period of time i was drinking apple cider vinegar (1 soup spoon acv + 1 soup spoon honey together with 350ml water), it helps to neutralize the acid hence lesser hearburn. I drink before going to bed.
GPK1311 P
post Apr 29 2020, 10:00 PM

Probation

GPK1311 P
post Apr 29 2020, 10:01 PM

Probation

[quote=alicia,Nov 13 2015, 10:24 PM]

Do you mind to recommend which doctor you went ?

Kilohertz
post Jun 1 2020, 10:28 AM

2,173 posts

Can recommend which doc you seek? was it in KL?
cheahoy
post Jun 24 2020, 11:08 AM

The most effective GERD solution is live unpasteurised sauerkraut that can reduce acid reflux, bloating, heartburn symptoms.

https://vintageprobiotics.com/
augusta23
post Aug 2 2020, 11:02 PM

329 posts

I have a bloated stomach almost every time after a meal, even a small meal and difficulty in burping due to the bloated stomach. Don't have most of the other symptoms of GERD though occasionally antacids can solve my problems. Tried to make dietary and life style changes but the problem still persists. May I know if anyone else face similar problems?

Thank you.

optprime
post Aug 3 2020, 11:29 AM

349 posts

[quote=GPK1311,Apr 29 2020, 10:01 PM]

[/quote]

Just wanna share that my girlfriend has the same issue for many years affecting her studies. Saw many GPs/gastro dr and given various medications but didn’t help much. It is only until recently she saw a very patient and nice gastro dr and was informed to have hiatus hernia as the root cause of her bad gerd. He was very thorough with his explanation after the gastroscopy and was given a medication which i have never seen before. It’s been one month and she has never felt better.

optprime
post Aug 3 2020, 11:30 AM

349 posts

[quote=GPK1311,Apr 29 2020, 10:01 PM]

[/quote]

Just wanna share that my girlfriend has the same issue for many years affecting her studies. Saw many GPs/gastro dr and given various medications but didn’t help much. It is only until recently she saw a very patient and nice gastro dr and was informed to have hiatus hernia as the root cause of her bad gerd. He was very thorough with his explanation after the gastroscopy and was given a medication which i have never seen before. It’s been one month and she has never felt better.

danny_sp15
post Aug 7 2020, 09:29 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(augusta23 @ Aug 2 2020, 11:02 PM)

I have  a bloated stomach almost every time after a meal, even a small meal and difficulty in burping due to the bloated stomach. Don't have most of the other symptoms of GERD though occasionally antacids can solve my problems. Tried to make dietary and life style changes but the problem still persists. May I know if anyone else face similar problems?

Thank you.
I had same problem, then started taking Yakult regularly. My gastritis improved a lot after a month or so. No more pain, no more bloated, no more burping, no more nauseous. Not cured, but very much improved, just like 1-2 mild attacks per year. Used to be like every other day also got symptoms.
optprime
post Aug 10 2020, 07:48 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(augusta23 @ Aug 2 2020, 11:02 PM)

I have  a bloated stomach almost every time after a meal, even a small meal and difficulty in burping due to the bloated stomach. Don't have most of the other symptoms of GERD though occasionally antacids can solve my problems. Tried to make dietary and life style changes but the problem still persists. May I know if anyone else face similar problems?

Thank you.
Have you gone for an endoscopy? Sometimes it could be something sinister sitting in there that contributed to all these symptoms.
19exr97
post Feb 4 2021, 12:12 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(optprime @ Aug 10 2020, 07:48 AM)
Have you gone for an endoscopy? Sometimes it could be something sinister sitting in there that contributed to all these symptoms.
just curious, are you feeling now since your surgery? is it linx or fundoplication. would you mind sharing more info?

0.0535sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:03 AM