33 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Discussion who's dive the most?, EPL players who dive the most in game

madmoz
post Jun 21 2007, 10:24 AM

4,250 posts

Nothing, I mean nothing beats what went on between Drogba and Lehmann during the Arsenal Chelsea game... never seen grown men falling over like that rclxms.gif

Yes, yes, Gerrard dives too shocking.gif

That's why civilised ppl watch cricket (heheh!). In cricket the onus is on the bowler to appeal - if you think you've got the guy out, you make an appeal to the umpire. It's someone akin to saying that no goal is scored unless the goal scorer appeals to the ref that the ball's crossed the line rclxub.gif
Still, as the batsman does not need to prove that he is not out, Adam Gilchrist (an aussie star) got a lot of stick for walking - i.e. walking off the pitch when he feels that he's been bowled out. Ironic isn't it, in footie the focus is on cheaters, in cricket it's on honest players. rclxub.gif

Hey, that was totally OT wasn't it?
air_mood
post Jun 21 2007, 10:49 AM

Randy Marsh, Guitar Queer-O
4,150 posts

QUOTE(Monstar @ Jun 20 2007, 10:51 PM)
I'm just trying to say that speed and falling over does not correlate. There are many other factors as well. Claiming that one falls over because he is too fast is just too juvenile. And ankle tapping only works when you tap the ankle hard tapping the calfs, thighs and anywhere of the leg would yield no result. Probably a good session in the Kangaroo's court but nothing else.

PS: I'm not emphasizing on C....Ronaldo only, I just detest the fact that people try to cover those cheating scum arses by saying that they are too fast and can't help it.

Added on June 20, 2007, 10:55 pm
Nah. I probably try to get them to support MU or Everton. Then I can make fun of the proper fans of those clubs as well. tongue.gif
Do you have friends who plays as a fullback or winger in rugby?? I used to play prop so it does not applpy to me but wingers and fullbacks, they are usually smaller than most...so the ankle tapping thing applies a lot to them, especially against bigger opponents. I dont do ankle tapping cause I'm a big enough bugger but I had it done to me before. And trust me, in my experience of playing rugby usually a slight tap on the ankles will get you falling over when you're running at full speed as it disrupts your balance and there's no point diving in rugby aint there cause you're just wasting time, it's part of the game.. That Lomu comparison is cack because for starters Lomu shrugs people off. If you watch him during his playing days, he does a lot of hand offs, and people rarely gets to his legs unless when they gang up on him. That touchline is like a straight run for him, using his hand offs and momentum to get past people. So the comparison between a running, charging bulldozer and a football winger is far off IMO.

QUOTE(bwan @ Jun 21 2007, 12:57 AM)
I wonder if Ronaldo move to other clubs and dive, will any MU fans will defence him again. BTW, this thread is not about club but it's about certain player. I will accept the fact that Drogba dives a lot and I hate that. But I think someone dives a lot better than him. biggrin.gif
For starters, you dont really find Man United fans saying Ronaldo doesnt dive aint it??? And he is still playing for the club. Most of us are admitting that Ronaldo does dive occassionaly. I'm pretty sure you'll find even more Man United fans saying Ronaldo does dive than Chelski fans admitting that Joe Cole or Drogba does the same. But to say that Drogba dives more or less than him is cock and bull story IMO. The both of them does their fair bit in this diving department. Who's to say this fella dives less than the other one?? You people watch all of their games?? You people take note of every single falling over they make??

This post has been edited by air_mood: Jun 21 2007, 10:55 AM
Monstar
post Jun 21 2007, 10:53 AM

1,895 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jun 21 2007, 09:58 AM)
From ur sentence up there i can conclude ur main point is in the bolded sentence as ur remaining point i dont understand a single bit what u're trying to say..
Get a dictionary or something then.

Not gonna discuss abou t physic or rugby or whatever again.. but last word..

it's related, running with full speed, slight contact BAM u fall down.. it's related.. not all players are balanced enough..

try to see the speed of F1 car.. what happen when the car being 'touch' from behind or anywhere..
Well, even F1 cars does not roll over when they get clipped. Most of the time they lose noses or tyres.

and dont tell me u never saw a player running at full speed then fall down with a slight contact.. that means u never watch football..
I've seen. Most of the time I just call them cheating cun*s

sigh.. if u really a fan of Man Utd and Ronaldo i think u'll understand speed and fall down after slight contact is related..

he's not choosing to fall over all the time.. if he is he never scored the most goals and assist the most goal in Man Utd..
Sorry. Me no MU fans. Me no understand speeds fall fall. Me see you in Beijing Olympic pool next year ok?
RED is the color.

Added on June 21, 2007, 11:00 am
QUOTE(air_mood @ Jun 21 2007, 10:49 AM)
Do you have friends who plays as a fullback or winger in rugby?? I used to play prop so it does not applpy to me but wingers and fullbacks, they are usually smaller than most...so the ankle tapping thing applies a lot to them, especially against bigger opponents. I dont do ankle tapping cause I'm a big enough bugger but I had it done to me before. And trust me, in my experience of playing rugby usually a slight tap on the ankles will get you falling over when you're running at full speed as it disrupts your balance and there's no point diving in rugby aint there cause you're just wasting time, it's part of the game.. That Lomu comparison is cack because for starters Lomu shrugs people off. If you watch him during his playing days, he does a lot of hand offs, and people rarely gets to his legs unless when they gang up on him. That touchline is like a straight run for him, using his hand offs and momentum to get past people. So the comparison between a running, charging bulldozer and a football winger is far off IMO.

Yup. I have friends that plays 14 and 15. But most of the time they rather go in low from the sides. More chance for success. Ankle tapping doesn't work most of the time.

The bolded part: Thats my point exactly! Thats why you see far less players in rugby falling over at contact. Whereby in football, you get rewarded, thus there is a very high tendency to just roll over. The bait is there. And some of the players are seen taking the bait more than once and then they or their fans would defend them by blaming that they are too fast. Which I think is bollocks.

This post has been edited by Monstar: Jun 21 2007, 11:00 AM
Duke Red
post Jun 21 2007, 11:25 AM

6,112 posts

I can attest to the fact that Monstar does play rugby. I do understand the point he's trying to make but when you speak of diving, you are often talking about someone going down without any contact. Comparing rugby to football is therefore a little out of context if you ask me, simply because diving often does not involve contact. It does not therefore matter if a player breaks the sound barrier or if he grows a beard running from his half to his opponents.

Once again, I think a lot of posters are going out of context here. The thread title specifically asks us who we think dives the most. It is natural for supporters of a club to want to defend their players and they do this by diverting the readers attention to other players that also dive (hence the videos and pictures of Gerrard, Viera, etc). The point is that we can only judge based on memory and though I would be the first to admit that I've seen Stevie dive (and when I say dive, I mean go down with zero contact), I also have to be honest to say that there is no way he dives more often than Ronaldo (once again I reiterate, diving to me means going down with no contact). Let's face it, you won't catch many players today bulldozing themselves through a sea of defenders in the manner of 'Big Dunc' Ferguson or even Geoff Horsfield. Most will do the 'smart' thing and do down at the slightest hint of contact, which doesn't necessarily go against the rules of the game. To go down with minimal contact is not nearly as serious a crime as going down with NO contact, which as I posted earlier, is to deceive or cheat. Droga does go down easily but often there is some contact however minimal. Gerrard's most blatant dive was against Hungary in England's pre-World Cup game and I was appalled what I saw that. Critics will also remember how he went down a little too easily against Milan in 2005 when Gattuso tapped his boot. The fact is however that there was contact, regardless of how minimal it was.

Let us first define what constitutes diving then. To me, it is when a player goes down with NO contact. What do you reckon? Going by my definition I find it laughable that anyone can say Gerrard dives more than Ronaldo. There is no really nice way of saying this, and there is no way of making it not sound like an attack. You'll have to take my word for it though, this is not an attack but merely an observation of mine. If anyone can honestly say that Gerrard dives more than Ronaldo going by my definition, then so be it. We are all entitled to our opinions. Do try however to put things in context, this is not an attack against a particular club or player. It is just that the nature of the thread encourages us to find a target.
air_mood
post Jun 21 2007, 11:26 AM

Randy Marsh, Guitar Queer-O
4,150 posts

QUOTE(Monstar @ Jun 21 2007, 10:53 AM)
RED is the color.

Added on June 21, 2007, 11:00 am
Yup. I have friends that plays 14 and 15. But most of the time they rather go in low from the sides. More chance for success. Ankle tapping doesn't work most of the time.

The bolded part: Thats my point exactly! Thats why you see far less players in rugby falling over at contact. Whereby in football, you get rewarded, thus there is a very high tendency to just roll over. The bait is there. And some of the players are seen taking the bait more than once and then they or their fans would defend them by blaming that they are too fast. Which I think is bollocks.
Going low from the sides usually only happens when you get sidestepped and the probability of being handed off by going from the sides is very high. Hence why you see a lot of people getting handed off when they go against the man mountain that is Jonah Lomu. Hell, even the likes of Nonu, Rokococko and Umaga does that a lot. Ankle tapping is the most simple solution and is usually a last resort but it is very effective irregardless of the size of opponent the problem is the need of timing or to actually make sure you swipe the ankles. A slight swipe will you get you falling over. So yes, minimal contact when you're going at full speed still get you over. Like I've said I had it done to me before cause when I used to play rugby, stopping me head on might be a bid of a problem cause I use mybody and momentum a lot to knock people over.

I have no idea who came up with this quote but was told to me by my rugby coach. "Football is a gentlemen's game, played by hooligans. Rugby is a hooligan's game, played by gentlemen."

In the issue of takign baits, what's your take on Gerrard's winning the penalty against Sheffield in both games??
maxizanc
post Jun 21 2007, 11:36 AM

5,909 posts

Duke Red
post Jun 21 2007, 11:41 AM

6,112 posts

maxizanc
post Jun 21 2007, 11:46 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jun 21 2007, 11:41 AM)
You didn't happen to be referring my post? I think I made pretty poignant points and it took some effort. I'd feel hurt if you simply dismissed it the way you did. I do think I dismissed going down with minimal contact as 'diving'. I did clearly state a few times that to me it is when a player goes down with no contact.

Anyway if you say you won't bother arguing, why are you trying to get the last word in? Why not just ignore the issue completely and post something else?
nop.. i didnt read ur post yet before posting the vids.. i was refering to the post before means i spent big time trying to find the vids.. btw, ur post is helping as usual.. same as air_mood..

and now, no more post from me.. this is my last post..

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Jun 21 2007, 12:03 PM
faris21
post Jun 21 2007, 12:02 PM

Newbies
4,453 posts

first,some member bring in rugby theory,then some bring F1
i`m rclxub.gif
this really hot thread

This post has been edited by faris21: Jun 21 2007, 12:03 PM
befitozi
post Jun 21 2007, 12:05 PM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(Monstar @ Jun 21 2007, 03:28 AM)
And did I say otherwise?  shakehead.gif
Well, then that would be at least 10% or 33% of the time he would actually simulate (don't you just love that word  tongue.gif ) in order to gain an unfair advantage depending on which sentence of yours I choose to believe in. And considering he gets fault quite frequently, I should able to safely say he dives a minimum of 1 time a game. This is on a very safe side of assumption. So there you go, when someone at least dives once every game, he is a serial offender and deserves to be on the diving team thats representing the EPL consortium next year in Beijing.
You obviously havent been watching manutd matches

i bet all you watch were news reports and video compilations of how much ronaldo is a 'cheater' bla bla bla'

to add to all that , of all of ronaldo's past dives , he NEVER ONCE feign injury to get others sent off , unlike some others whistling.gif

no point i continue here , bye

This post has been edited by befitozi: Jun 21 2007, 12:09 PM
Duke Red
post Jun 21 2007, 12:10 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(faris21 @ Jun 21 2007, 12:02 PM)
first,some member bring in rugby theory,then some bring F1
i`m  rclxub.gif 
this really hot thread
Well there is some relevance lah. In the end, I do agree it's easier to get knocked off balance when momentum is carrying you in one direction. Going into more detail will lead us to go out of context given the variables of each specific sport.
akRia
post Jun 21 2007, 01:57 PM

...~+noob+~...
1,998 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jun 21 2007, 03:47 AM)
Are u comparing this:

to this?

oh come on! u do know the different betwen them arent u? Lomu is waayyy bigger than Ronaldo.. it's like comparing KLCC building with KL Tower (apart from the height) u know.. in football it's like comparing Gattuso with Ronaldo.. Ronaldo is not really a physical player compared to Gattuso.. Ronaldo and Lomu are speedy player but Lomu is a physical player, Ronaldo is not.. so speed and weight is related and weight is related to balance.. if Ronaldo has both i call him as a perfect player coz he has both speed and balance ..

why so overreacted???i think mosntar's point apply on ALL player but not focusing on ronaldo.FYI , cars are build from steel, we can adjust our body according to our will and limit,have u seen car that can move the wheel 270degree according to the driver?im not saying ronaldo is diver or anything,im just saying u compare a car which running at average 270km/h and a man at around 50-60km/h is pointless.so maxizanc u cannot go jogging in normal road with small stone/hump/tree/anything ? coz u will fall so easy whenever u step/hit/block by a something

edit: i don agree that most player is diver too,unless it's with a very solid evidence that he fall without any contact,otherwise i'll just take it as part of modern football.if he can get awarded with something after a certain fall without contact, i'll just blame it on the referee

This post has been edited by akRia: Jun 21 2007, 02:00 PM
faris21
post Jun 21 2007, 02:24 PM

Newbies
4,453 posts

QUOTE(akRia @ Jun 21 2007, 01:57 PM)
why so overreacted???i think mosntar's point apply on  ALL player but not focusing on ronaldo.FYI , cars are build from steel, we can adjust our body according to our will and limit,have u seen car that can move the wheel 270degree  according to the driver?im not saying ronaldo is diver or anything,im just saying u compare a car which running at average 270km/h and a man at around 50-60km/h is pointless.so maxizanc u cannot go jogging in normal road with small stone/hump/tree/anything ? coz u will fall so easy whenever u step/hit/block by a something

edit: i don agree that most player is diver too,unless it's with a very solid evidence that he fall without any contact,otherwise i'll just take it as part of modern football.if he can get awarded with something after a certain fall without contact, i'll just blame it on the referee
which man can ran at 50km/h??
100m world record holder only can ran max 36km/h
Duke Red
post Jun 21 2007, 02:27 PM

6,112 posts

You are missing the point of his post.
Monstar
post Jun 21 2007, 02:57 PM

1,895 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jun 21 2007, 11:26 AM)
Going low from the sides usually only happens when you get sidestepped and the probability of being handed off by going from the sides is very high. Hence why you see a lot of people getting handed off when they go against the man mountain that is Jonah Lomu. Hell, even the likes of Nonu, Rokococko and Umaga does that a lot. Ankle tapping is the most simple solution and is usually a last resort but it is very effective irregardless of the size of opponent the problem is the need of timing or to actually make sure you swipe the ankles. A slight swipe will you get you falling over. So yes, minimal contact when you're going at full speed still get you over. Like I've said I had it done to me before cause when I used to play rugby, stopping me head on might be a bid of a problem cause I use mybody and momentum a lot to knock people over.

I have no idea who came up with this quote but was told to me by my rugby coach. "Football is a gentlemen's game, played by hooligans. Rugby is a hooligan's game, played by gentlemen."

In the issue of takign baits, what's your take on Gerrard's winning the penalty against Sheffield in both games??
OK. Lets continue the first and second paragraph in the Rugby thread instead.

As for Stevie, I think he overreacted to the challenges. I wasn't the happiest when we got the penalty. Of course, I still love Stevie mainly because of my heavily tinted red glasses.

QUOTE(befitozi @ Jun 21 2007, 12:05 PM)
You obviously havent been watching manutd matches

i bet all you watch were news reports and video compilations of how much ronaldo is a 'cheater' bla bla bla'

to add to all that , of all of ronaldo's past dives , he NEVER ONCE feign injury to get others sent off , unlike some others  whistling.gif

no point i continue here , bye
No. You think I am that free? Go around watching compilations of Ronaldo diving. Mate I have better things to do.

Bold: Ermm, winky winky?

What I am trying to say is, defending a diver by saying he is just too fast has has no balance is plain stupid. Yes, they would lose balance, but flying like he just got hit by a truck? No way.

PS: I am not talking about Ronaldo only. Fans of CR, don't be so sensitive.

lilredridinghood
post Jun 21 2007, 03:32 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

Without a doubt, most fans would always defend their own players and I will never deny that fact exists inside my heart. However, having a diver or a cheater or a deceiver or whatever you guys call it in a team is not something to be proud off. I'm surprised to see something like 'CR maybe a diver but he is the Player of the Year'. It just shows that how shallow and how desperate we are nowadays to own a year long of bragging rights.

As for my opinion about a car's balance, yes it does affect when you're driving fast especially when the engine is in the middle of the car where it will upset the traction more whenever slowing down or just a slight contact. But it has nothing to do with a player's traction where a car's balance is upset based on the weight distribution to the front or side tires whereas a player's pace has nothing to do with what you've stated.

Duke Red
post Jun 21 2007, 03:40 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Jun 21 2007, 03:32 PM)
Without a doubt, most fans would always defend their own players and I will never deny that fact exists inside my heart. However, having a diver or a cheater or a deceiver or whatever you guys call it in a team is not something to be proud off. I'm surprised to see something like 'CR maybe a diver but he is the Player of the Year'. It just shows that how shallow and how desperate we are nowadays to own a year long of bragging rights.

Like I said before, I was appalled the Gerrard dived against Hungary and it's not something I condone. I hated Diouf for the very same reason. I agree with you on the bold bit though. It's the reason I don't go over the top when we win because of a dodgy decision. It's part of the game but I'd much rather win it fair and square.

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Jun 21 2007, 03:32 PM)
As for my opinion about a car's balance, yes it does affect when you're driving fast especially when the engine is in the middle of the car where it will upset the traction more whenever slowing down or just a slight contact. But it has nothing to do with a player's traction where a car's balance is upset based on the weight distribution to the front or side tires whereas a player's pace has nothing to do with what you've stated.
I see your experience in street shootouts has come in handy. Let me know the next time here is an open track day at Sepang mate.
shah_ho_nam2
post Jun 21 2007, 03:43 PM

らき☆すた
4,242 posts

i laugh a lot when i saw a news cliping from STAR newspaper showing C.ronaldo with diving pose and diving underwear with MU crest. so funny. they really make it funny
maxizanc
post Jun 21 2007, 03:49 PM

5,909 posts

ok.. i cant stand this.. have to post it anyway.. why only look at my F1 car comparison.. is it just because i posted the Kubica car accident.. eh dont need to write a long post responding to my F1 car comparison la.. if u read what i tried too say in the beginning, my point is speed and balance and weight are related to each other.. that's all. and i know u not talking about Ronaldo only.. i realize that..
lilredridinghood
post Jun 21 2007, 03:53 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jun 21 2007, 03:40 PM)
Like I said before, I was appalled the Gerrard dived against Hungary and it's not something I condone. I hated Diouf for the very same reason. I agree with you on the bold bit though. It's the reason I don't go over the top when we win because of a dodgy decision. It's part of the game but I'd much rather win it fair and square.
I see your experience in street shootouts has come in handy. Let me know the next time here is an open track day at Sepang mate.
I suppose you do know that some of the Liverpool fans actually would like to have someone like CR. Guess football has evolved, from a man's game to a girl's game where players fall down easily without considering his or should I put it this way, her pride and ego. And I'm not saying that CR is a serial diver. Diouf in my opinion was worse than the current portuguese winger.

I do remember that there're pacey but not so strong players who has the ability to dribble past opponents without going down easily such as John Barnes, Steve Macca, Owen and many more, I'm only stating these players as I pay more attention towards Liverpool. I thought Thierry Henry was decent too although he did dive b4 but not frequent enough to be consider a diver.

These players aren't heavyweight, Michael Owen especially.

This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: Jun 21 2007, 03:56 PM

33 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0491sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:32 PM