39 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Studying in the UK V4

eddydo
post Aug 26 2018, 03:23 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(ConfusedWriter @ Aug 26 2018, 12:09 AM)
Thanks so much for the replies everyone! smile.gif

For the SIM card, I received a free GiffGaff SIM card from UCAS. Should I use this? If I use the free SIM I’m supposed to activate it and go for whichever plan I prefer right? Or should I order one from their website (https://www.giffgaff.com/sim-only-plans) and get them to send it to me?

Also on an unrelated note, did any of you work part-time or intern while you were in the UK? How did you apply for your National Insurance Number?
I was part timing in some Chinese supermarket. NI is easy to apply for.
Eurobeater
post Aug 26 2018, 02:16 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

QUOTE(ConfusedWriter @ Aug 26 2018, 12:09 AM)
Thanks so much for the replies everyone! smile.gif

For the SIM card, I received a free GiffGaff SIM card from UCAS. Should I use this? If I use the free SIM I’m supposed to activate it and go for whichever plan I prefer right? Or should I order one from their website (https://www.giffgaff.com/sim-only-plans) and get them to send it to me?

Also on an unrelated note, did any of you work part-time or intern while you were in the UK? How did you apply for your National Insurance Number?
Giffgaff SIM cards can be activated anywhere and are the same. You just need to put a small amount of money in it and choose a plan that fits your purpose best. For me, I always go for their £10 goodybag with unlimited calls and text to other giffgaff subscribers and a 3GB monthly data plan. A full list of their plans can be found here.
https://www.giffgaff.com/sim-only-plans

There are many other service providers in the UK as well. Last I heard, Three was offering a similar £10 package but with 4GB of data instead of 3GB. Do hunt around for better rates if you do find them.

I never really worked in the UK mainly because I was more involved in voluntary student organisations. But it is a good source of money, the min wage for 18-20 y/o in the UK is around £5 - 6 per hour, but employers usually pay a lot more than this. A friend of mine was able to get paid up to £1000 while working almost full time in a restaurant in London.

I've never gotten a NIN, primarily because its only needed if you engage in part-time or full-time employment. So, I'm not too sure how to apply, but this link may help https://www.gov.uk/apply-national-insurance-number

tpleong
post Aug 28 2018, 06:00 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 25 2018, 09:30 PM)
I think they check those documents randomly. Did they requested this documents later or was it during submission? If it was during submission and you did furnish them that time, there shouldn't be any delay.
Later by email

tpleong
post Aug 28 2018, 06:04 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 23 2018, 10:26 AM)
Or still processing it smile.gif The only way to get confirmation when they've done processing is when you get a notification via sms or email saying it has arrived and processed. Many universities seem to have online connection to UKBA SMS system which let you see your CAS status.
My son received a sms that they have received my son processed visa ……...does it mean that it is ready for collection ?
wiraone
post Aug 28 2018, 06:16 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Aug 28 2018, 06:04 PM)
My son received a sms that they have received my son processed visa ……...does it mean that it is ready for collection ?
Yes sir, it's ready for collection.
tpleong
post Aug 28 2018, 06:17 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 28 2018, 06:16 PM)
Yes sir, it's ready for collection.
wildprincessx
post Aug 28 2018, 06:44 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Aug 28 2018, 06:04 PM)
Roughly when did you son apply and did he apply for priority visa? Just curious as I haven't received an email or notification and starting to get worried sad.gif
tpleong
post Aug 28 2018, 06:50 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(wildprincessx @ Aug 28 2018, 06:44 PM)
Roughly when did you son apply and did he apply for priority visa? Just curious as I haven't received an email or notification and starting to get worried  sad.gif
Applied on the 20/8 and was even asked for additional documentations .
wildprincessx
post Aug 28 2018, 06:57 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Aug 28 2018, 06:50 PM)
Applied on the 20/8 and was even asked for additional documentations .
I see thank you! Did you apply for the priority visa or the standard postal visa?
tpleong
post Aug 28 2018, 07:08 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(wildprincessx @ Aug 28 2018, 06:57 PM)
I see thank you! Did you apply for the priority visa or the standard postal visa?
Just standard
ch3eseburger
post Aug 28 2018, 09:50 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(wildprincessx @ Aug 28 2018, 06:44 PM)
Roughly when did you son apply and did he apply for priority visa? Just curious as I haven't received an email or notification and starting to get worried  sad.gif
I submitted mine on the 10th, received the email yesterday night, collected today.

Got asked for additional documents as well. Just relax and wait (I can only say this after collecting my passport, I was anxious during the waiting period as well) wink.gif

This post has been edited by ch3eseburger: Aug 28 2018, 10:09 PM
wildprincessx
post Aug 28 2018, 10:04 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(ch3eseburger @ Aug 28 2018, 09:50 PM)
I submitted mine on the 17th, received the email yesterday night, collected today.

Got asked for additional documents as well. Just relax and wait (I can only say this after collecting my passport, I was anxious during the waiting period as well)  wink.gif
Were you priority or standard? Thanks!
ch3eseburger
post Aug 28 2018, 10:07 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(wildprincessx @ Aug 28 2018, 10:04 PM)
Were you priority or standard? Thanks!
Standard.

Edit: Just noticed i got my dates wrong, I submitted on the 10th.

This post has been edited by ch3eseburger: Aug 28 2018, 10:08 PM
97fangkhai97
post Aug 29 2018, 03:12 AM

64 posts

I applied on 10 aug until now no email. My friends all gotten already smh
wildprincessx
post Aug 29 2018, 07:32 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(97fangkhai97 @ Aug 29 2018, 03:12 AM)
I applied on 10 aug until now no email. My friends all gotten already smh
Were you priority or standard? Assuming your friends were priority? I haven't received an email either haha
tpleong
post Aug 29 2018, 08:23 AM

803 posts

I think they sent out email pretty late .
ch3eseburger
post Aug 29 2018, 10:02 AM

39 posts

I received my email late too. The email only came in on the night of 27th, informing me that my passport has been received on the 24th.

Either way, nothing much you can do but wait. VFS is just an agent, they can't update you the status as they have no visibility as well.
wiraone
post Aug 29 2018, 11:12 AM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

If you don't subscribe to SMS, then I believe either you wait for the email or try your best going to the VFS and check there. Previously, the email came pretty on time, right after the SMS.

This post has been edited by wiraone: Aug 29 2018, 11:24 AM
wildprincessx
post Aug 29 2018, 12:50 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(ch3eseburger @ Aug 29 2018, 10:02 AM)
I received my email late too. The email only came in on the night of 27th, informing me that my passport has been received on the 24th.

Either way, nothing much you can do but wait. VFS is just an agent, they can't update you the status as they have no visibility as well.
When you submitted on the 10th- was that the biometrics or the application itself? I thought it was 15 working days from submission of biometrics?
ch3eseburger
post Aug 29 2018, 02:44 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(wildprincessx @ Aug 29 2018, 12:50 PM)
When you submitted on the 10th- was that the biometrics or the application itself? I thought it was 15 working days from submission of biometrics?
Both were done on that day. Submission followed by biometrics. Was it different from you?

I was informed that it will be 15-17 working days starting on Monday (the next working day after my appointment). My understanding is that they send our applications to be processed in Manila.

39 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:10 AM