4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

Mackiddo
post Feb 15 2016, 05:47 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Feb 14 2016, 11:58 PM)
How do you guys answer this question - Why do you want to come to work in Singapore?

Just want to get some feedback. TQ.

If i didn't hear the word 'money' amongs all the flowery reasons, i will straight dump the resumè in the dustbin.
Mackiddo
post Feb 16 2016, 12:24 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Feb 15 2016, 08:26 PM)
Actually sg economy now is in deflation
which country is not? just curious
Mackiddo
post Feb 17 2016, 08:49 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Feb 17 2016, 12:31 AM)
how come there are so many dates in the slip? which one should i refer to?
the exact same set of numbers is good for 4 draws. if u dunno how to check, just enter those numbers in and they will tell you if you strike.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 17 2016, 08:50 AM
Mackiddo
post Feb 19 2016, 07:05 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Tally33 @ Feb 19 2016, 04:11 PM)
Hi guys, mind sharing what credit cards are you using? I need one with more vouchers redeem,  use for groceries, pay bills, dining out basically for everything.
citibank dividend card. good for cash back. but they gimme S$6k credit only, equivalent to my 3X months salary.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 19 2016, 07:07 PM
Mackiddo
post Feb 23 2016, 12:04 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

dunno if it is appropriate to post. It is a job opening after all. males only.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3875019

deodorant, yeahs4.1 & elvenchou1987 take note.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 23 2016, 12:06 PM
Mackiddo
post Mar 5 2016, 10:21 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Mar 4 2016, 11:20 PM)
I have a question.

If I manage to get another job offer while still working in SG, should I tender first or wait till the EP transfer complete then only tender?
got such thing as 'EP transfer' ?
Mackiddo
post Mar 5 2016, 10:30 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Mar 3 2016, 04:11 PM)
filing tax time, if i got spouse and children stay in msia, can i get deduction for spouse (2k) and children (4k each)?

Just go to IRAS website and read the requirements for tax relief carefully. The penalty, if caught providing false information with the purpose of evading tax is heavy.
On a separate note, if your wife annual salary > S$4k equivalent, then not qualify already.
Mackiddo
post Mar 5 2016, 01:03 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(vincentleong @ Mar 5 2016, 11:47 AM)
Hey guys and gals, quick question. What do I need in terms of documents to drive into Singapore for an interview, apart from a passport? Thanks much in advance for your advice.

Edit: I should make clear this is about documents for the car.

I read on LTA that the following are needed:

1. Road tax disc
2. Insurance policy (I renewed online, would a printout of the digital certificate do?)
3. Autopass card (I gathered this can be purchased on-the-spot at the checkpoint?)
4. In-vehicle unit (also mentioned can be rented at the checkpoint?)

Are these all that is needed? Thanks.
1. Yes
2. Not required
3. Yes
4. Not required. Just pay s$5 per day on the day(s) you entered Restricted Zone thru autopass when you exit Sg

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Mar 5 2016, 01:04 PM
Mackiddo
post Mar 12 2016, 10:27 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jules6002 @ Mar 12 2016, 09:35 PM)
Hello sifus in Singapore, I just wanna ask if i start work at SG in April am i entitle for annual leave for the year 2016? Because my family normally have overseas trips during December to January which last for 7 to 10 days. Sooooooooooo, i was just wondering if i am able to apply for leave smile.gif
http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices...ve/annual-leave
Mackiddo
post Mar 18 2016, 06:53 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(vincent829 @ Mar 17 2016, 09:16 AM)
Hi all,
I will be organizing an Dinner&Dance event for my company.
Can anyone share if you find a good place (in singapore) for such event?
Or you had attend similar event at somewhere?

The crowd is about 500+- pax.

Thank you!
I've attended one Co dinner event last year for almost 1000+ ppl at MBS. Think you don't have much choice.
Mackiddo
post Mar 20 2016, 03:42 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(vincentleong @ Mar 20 2016, 12:16 PM)
Does anyone know of an online marketplace in Singapore that's similar to Malaysia's Lelong?
can try carousel.
Mackiddo
post Mar 20 2016, 03:44 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Mar 20 2016, 06:21 AM)
Nope you will not have that witholding tax type in SG
You don't have a monthly deduction. Only pay the entire amount during tax cycle the following year
or pay by GIRO monthly, interest free smile.gif
Mackiddo
post Mar 21 2016, 08:12 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(WallChecker @ Mar 20 2016, 05:37 PM)
We can opt to pay tax on monthly basis?
yes. you can choose to pay monthly on the amount of tax for the previous year, interest free.
Mackiddo
post Mar 24 2016, 02:10 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Mar 24 2016, 10:24 AM)
financial services
EH, tomorrow is a holiday but air tickets all sold out except for AirAsia - SGD500 return. Euuuwwww.  sad.gif

Starmart express got tickets for tomorrow, but golden mile tower... how to get there? Taxi?
Also, havent taken an express bus before, how is starmart's experience?
can try take Uber direct
Mackiddo
post Mar 26 2016, 08:28 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(WallChecker @ Mar 26 2016, 01:52 AM)
Which area is the nearest (Or the best) to rent a room around Marina Mandarin Singapore?
can try around Bugis.
Mackiddo
post Mar 31 2016, 09:37 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ Mar 31 2016, 08:05 PM)
[ Updated ] Hey, sifus. I am from KL and have an interview at Jurong West at morning 8am ? What is the best way can i reach there on time. Bus ? Plane ? Or should I stay overnight at JB or Singapore ? Any suggestion is certainly welcomed... Thank you
If you want to stay in jb, i suggest you stay near Bkt Indah, should have some boutique hotel. There is a bus (CW3?) from Bkt Indah direct to Jurong East mrt station.

https://causewaylink.com.my/view-local.php?route=cw3

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Mar 31 2016, 09:40 PM
Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2016, 05:06 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Tally33 @ Apr 7 2016, 04:46 PM)
Hi May I know how to renew my driving license if I'm not going back anytime soon.
QUOTE(Tally33 @ Apr 7 2016, 04:48 PM)
I just realised it expired since last September sad.gif

jb is your best option. Else, can ask our vigilante lester1987 help u renew in jb.
Mackiddo
post Apr 11 2016, 09:14 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Apr 11 2016, 12:19 AM)
Has anyone tried bringing desktop CPU through custom?
Any problem doing that?
Any tax issue or privated window OS issues?
how does a privated WindowsOS looks like? Highly customized for your own private needs? smile.gif

Joke aside, no one can advice you on bringing illegal stuff / copyright material into Sg. then again, if you willing to take the risk, then by all means ....

Mackiddo
post Apr 11 2016, 11:18 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(kyone @ Apr 11 2016, 11:15 PM)
Any recommended webs for getting second hand stuff?

So far I only know Gumtree...
carousell ?
Mackiddo
post Apr 14 2016, 08:05 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Freedom1104 @ Apr 14 2016, 05:55 PM)
Nope, no person called me but a letter was send to my brother. it is not me. its my little brother.
thats what i thought of too. but seems like thats not the case.

some replies from other forum i encountered.
anyone with experiencing this kind of situation before maybe can shed some light to me ?
You can write in to your Commanding Officer if you got his email. Can seek for his advice.
Well, I have written a successful NS deferment later for one of my colleague before but that's for reservist and for 6 moths only. Heard it's pretty hard to get,

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0626sec    1.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:16 AM