5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

IwanAGP
post Mar 28 2016, 01:33 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(vincentleong @ Mar 28 2016, 01:12 AM)
Ladies and gents, for work permit application, am I allowed to cross my identification documents such as MyKad and passport scans with the name of the company I'm applying for?
I have done so (If I remember correctly). Even I give my HR scan she also help me cross out.

Just send in and see what they say. Anyway if can't then your HR will revert to you also mah.
IwanAGP
post Mar 31 2016, 07:20 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ Mar 31 2016, 04:43 PM)
Hey, sifus. I have an interview at Jurong at morning 8am ? What is the best way can i reach there on time. Bus ? Plane ? Or should I stay overnight at JB or Singapore ? Any suggestion is certainly welcomed... Thank you
You never tell where you from also. But 8am your best bet is to stay in SG. Else even in JB, you have to wake up like 3-4 am prepare leave home at 5 something. You won't look good at the interview after that
IwanAGP
post Apr 2 2016, 11:11 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(css9028 @ Apr 2 2016, 10:59 PM)
Hmm sp and ep doesnt have any different?in electronic equipment...
Got... Got difference. Like S Pass got quota and levy, then apply some accounts more restricted. Not as free as EP.

What's your highest qualification? Got degree?
IwanAGP
post Apr 3 2016, 12:24 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Apr 3 2016, 11:28 AM)
SP n EP no diff i think .. But EP u may require to have more saving in ur acc .. Perhaps u need at least 1.5k per month in ur saving or else u will b charged SGD2 while SP only 1k and WP 500 .. Thats from POSB ..

Anyway anyone is playing badminton in SG looking for company ..
Nope that's a flat $500 for all passes including EP.
IwanAGP
post Apr 3 2016, 10:58 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ Apr 3 2016, 10:40 PM)
Hey, I am freshie. And my first job will be starting at 15th June 2016, and I may taking leave on 22nd and 23rd June which is just one week after I start working ( due to some family praying ritual ). I know it will definitely yielding a bad impression as a newbie dare to take off for 2 days just a week after joining new company. May I ask for any advice ? Since I have to take leave, is it any alternative there, like can I work 2 day earlier as refer to the date I promised ? Please, I really need your advice, and your suggestion is much appreciated as I am going to sign the employment letter soon. Thanks...
My advice...

When you meet your HR to sign the letter, tell him/her on the spot.

Definitely you can't start working earlier. Worst case should be that you can't go they force you to stay the next second worst case should be that you have to take unpaid leave. The best case will be... You can take advanced leave to cover the 2 days.

It will definitely leave a bad impression and might affect your performance appraisal/review. "Might". Maybe you can overturn that by performing excellently thereafter? biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Apr 3 2016, 11:43 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(saddient @ Apr 3 2016, 11:37 PM)
hi sifus....... did you all exchange sgd to myr every month? thru sg bank to msia bank or outside money exchange ? hmmmmm

and also.... if my whatsapp number is malaysia sim card telco..... if i switch to sg number.... my whatsapp all gone ?
You can change cash and bring over the causeway to bank in (at the same time can go City Square spend like a boss) or use DBS/CIMB to transfer online. Rate normally slightly lower than cash rate though.

No it won't be gone. Nothing will happen. Just that your Whatsapp will still be showing Malaysia number. Your colleagues if they add only your new SG number they won't be able to see Whatsapp account on that number UNTIL!!!! you go into Whatsapp -> Account -> Change number. This will change your account number from MY to SG number. All your chats will remain, all your groups will remain too. All group members will see that you changed your number but personal chat, they won't be able to get you on the same chatbox (MY number). You need to inform them to message your Whatsapp on your SG number. I think that's it.
IwanAGP
post Apr 3 2016, 11:54 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(saddient @ Apr 3 2016, 11:51 PM)
seems complicated..... any idea to remain same chat box from personal number.... hmmmmm but in the same time wanna use both number... i guess have to own 2 phone.... hmmmm
For you it's still the same chatbox (coz they still same number) but for your friends they need to chat with you on the SG number which is a different chatbox d.

If wanna use both then yeah need 2 phones. Buy one Xiaomi cheap cheap brows.gif
IwanAGP
post Apr 5 2016, 07:56 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(bujubomb @ Apr 5 2016, 06:53 PM)
hey guys i applied DBS bank account through online but got rejected as they say my residential address was not dated and they asked for a copy of local phone bill (but i'm using prepaid)/local utility bill (but i'm staying with relative)/local bank statement (but i don't have bank)/letter of offer (but my company wrote my malaysia address sleep.gif)/letter of employment (the same as the letter of offer). what else can i send to them to prove that i'm staying at my current address?
Have you updated your address with your company?

You should'very informed them. I never get such request but I apply at counter la.
IwanAGP
post Apr 6 2016, 10:28 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ Apr 6 2016, 09:30 PM)
Going to sign contract, how should be the dressing ? Same like interview ? Casual ?
Depends much on industry. My company for example. If you wear full formal, you look weird in the office haha

BTW contract as in with minimum employment period or you join as contract staff?
IwanAGP
post Apr 6 2016, 11:18 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(NelsonBoy @ Apr 6 2016, 11:06 PM)
EP , for DBS minimum 1k average in a month , if less, deduct 2sgd. lets say , u hv 4k, 1 week is enough to offsset the 2sgd.
biggrin.gif Just checked both POSB and DBS website.

POSB still $500 for POSB eSavings Account, charge $2

DBS, before Sept 2011 $500 after Sept 2011 $1000, charge $2

I always thought DBS & POSB offer their product 1-to-1.

DBS = Visa, POSB = Master. Another interesting difference haha but the DBS ATM card looks more premium tongue.gif
IwanAGP
post Apr 7 2016, 07:46 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(LeslieKenny @ Apr 7 2016, 08:31 AM)
Thanks for your inputs. I have not get the contract yet as the HR told the contract will not been sent thru email due to confidential issue. Hence, I will be only know it after I go for contract review and signing.
But to the least they should've told you whether there's a minimum employment period and what's the penalty if you decided to quit before that period of time.

Do you even know if you will be bonded with the company and whether you enter as contract or as permanent staff and whether there's any benefit entitled for you?

If you never find out, good luck. But most likely it won't turn too bad. SG is relatively well controlled compared to MY.

Make sure you read through every line on the paper before you sign.

QUOTE(css9028 @ Apr 7 2016, 10:37 AM)
i just understood from HR...now getting EP is very hard...sg company need to advertise the job in their government portal for 14 days...after 14 days if decide to apply EP for foreigner they need to submit the documents which indicates how many sporean applied for job,their interview details,details for not selecting them....just one word,sgporean is the priority....and this rules just start on last year 2015 october...
It is October 2014 instead of October 2015. HR has a way around it. Don't worry.
IwanAGP
post Apr 10 2016, 05:40 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Edwardsci @ Apr 10 2016, 05:32 PM)
Oh my god been looking for a room around ibilik and other sites.. can seem to find any == All want gals.. but not boy boy. My working place at Katong.. Help me anyone. Can move in this month.
If you ok with paying half month agent fee, just get one agent and let them look for you. Agents are like sharing a sea of database even from agents of other firms. They can bring you to multiple rooms and let you choose. Can tell them your budget also.
IwanAGP
post Apr 10 2016, 06:35 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Edwardsci @ Apr 10 2016, 06:13 PM)
My budget around 600 only.. if possible. But i heard single room not that cheap. How much does it cost if its shared room. Thank you.
Really depends much on area. Single room can go from 500 to 1000. Shared room can go from 800 to 1200~1500. You can always go North of stated range.

Mine is 650 per month single room with all utilities and aircond included. Near Bukit Merah area.

Ok I know my answer is ambiguous but that's really the case. Depends on area, shared/single & utilities included etc.
IwanAGP
post Apr 10 2016, 08:01 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(vaiouser @ Apr 10 2016, 07:53 PM)
Thanks for the reply bro. If I were to resign before the in principle approval is there a possibilities that I won't be getting my pass?
Every application confirm not 100% guarantee approve. So if you were to resign before getting the approval, the risk is 100% on you.
IwanAGP
post Apr 10 2016, 08:09 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(jonnie @ Apr 10 2016, 08:02 PM)
Thats the reason why I have advised you not to resign before getting the in principle approval.

If your new EP is not approved, you still have your current job and EP pass.

You resignation should not affect the EP application.
But I got one question actually...

If new company apply EP before I resign, current employer will be notified?
IwanAGP
post Apr 11 2016, 12:17 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Apr 10 2016, 11:34 PM)
wont, but you need to make sure your old EP get cancelled on your last day of your current job, otherwise your new employer wont be able to make appointment for your new job EP
100% confirm sure??

Anyway for current employer to check then?
IwanAGP
post Apr 11 2016, 12:30 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Apr 11 2016, 12:19 AM)
Has anyone tried bringing desktop CPU through custom?
Any problem doing that?
Any tax issue or privated window OS issues?
Private car or what? If private car you have less to worry about.
IwanAGP
post Apr 13 2016, 06:05 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(kyone @ Apr 13 2016, 05:53 PM)
Many of my friends earn barely cross over the salary threshold for spass but holding EP. The recuiters get this done by putting the (initial)salary high to issue EP, later tell sg gov that this person is not bringing in transport thus transportation alliwance deducted and salary lower.
Nah no need. As long as you got degree most likely no problem getting EP. My initial salary also lower.
IwanAGP
post Apr 14 2016, 03:37 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(orangbulu @ Apr 14 2016, 03:27 PM)
There is no limit but I think you have to declare If above 30k sgd
Not 10k or 20k? I remember not 30k so high eh

QUOTE(ldhong @ Apr 14 2016, 03:30 PM)
Thanks bro...

Got my IPA and SATA to go in for medical check-up.

Need to bring in some cash to open account and deposit for rooms...

Btw, do you guys normally exchange at the bank itself or at the money changer shop?

Which more worth it?
Bank confirm lower. Just change at money changer.
IwanAGP
post Apr 16 2016, 02:10 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(funkyme @ Apr 16 2016, 12:57 AM)
with the current crisis , what do you guys think of the currency now ?
maybe its time to move some back to malaysia already ?
You sure M'sia doing much better?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.2793sec    1.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:20 AM