10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Lets talk salary v7

Belphegor
post Feb 23 2016, 09:40 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(UnknownDave @ Feb 23 2016, 04:52 PM)
I was jobless for 1 year and 6 months before I got this new job, but after joining I realized my passion to work GONE.

I had very bad experiences in work due to politics previously. Which is confidential and would not be mention here.

Demanded 4500 to 5000 salary but every of the companies rejected me right away. This was part of the reason I was jobless too.

During the time I was jobless I search and countless of trial and error earning money from the internet that would work efficiently, tried elance, freelancer and few other websites that promotes work from home from the united states job, just try to imagine the salary they are offering there if we could work from home here in malaysia that would means quad salary for us, but to no avail I couldn't get a job after months of trying.

I was already doing reseller before I went jobless, good profit gain. Just the rolling money on monthly basis need to be strictly calculated.

Then I found SEO which would require me to have a website to earn commission from my downline. This is all I can reveal for my SEO.

Some part of investment is also needed.

Not everything on the internet is a scam, need to carefully do research.
Sorry for being out of topic. I would actually want to know how you learn SEO. tongue.gif That's my main point. laugh.gif As I checked online, most of em are quite pricey. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Gillius @ Feb 23 2016, 05:00 PM)
I earn 5k every month. I save about 400-500. My end goal is to get my own property, but I don't mind making an investment or two, too.
Good enough. Put in FD and learn those interest, at the same time throw yourself to learn some investments such as shares. It's gonna drain your time like crazy. Also can consult some of your friends who work in bank or insurance line. I believe they have some plans for people who want to invest other than insurance. smile.gif

QUOTE(UnknownDave @ Feb 23 2016, 05:11 PM)
Just reach the 3 series bracket. Haha old already.

Why ah?
I am 1 year short from 3 series bracket. Trying to figure how to earn passive income. It's not easy for person like me without the knowledge of internet. sad.gif
Belphegor
post Feb 24 2016, 10:52 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(mylpjsmy @ Feb 24 2016, 10:28 AM)
Lucky for me i have purchase my own house, cars. At least have a shelter and car to travel around. But of cos every month still require to repay the bank loan rclxub.gif
Saving habit starts from young, no 1 knows when life hit hard on you.
Actually i have tried a few 'COMPANIES' to earn passive income, unfortunately it did not work for me, however i still believe it is the way to earn passive income, just that luck is not with me sad.gif
Good for you to have a house now. Staying with parents in your own house or? My friend been telling me to buy a house as an investment and get the money roll from there. Companies that you tried as in MLM? Haha, MLM only workable if you are one of the pioneer, other than that you won't earn as much as them.

What's your occupation now? Working? Got part time as well?
Belphegor
post Feb 25 2016, 11:18 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Feb 25 2016, 11:15 PM)
Honestly after seeing All the salaries input, mine was the lowest. Haih stuck in the same wheel forever. Feel like a loser. Having an early mid life crisis. Dunno what i am doing and dunno where should i head too. Cant identify my strenght nor skill in my current job. Yeah i understand talk is cheap, no one can help if one self doesnt want to change and move forward.
Work in Ipoh hard to compare with KL le. Maybe you can learn something extra in your field?
Belphegor
post Feb 25 2016, 11:27 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Feb 25 2016, 11:22 PM)
Thanx. U have good memory i must say since u remembered me from ipoh. What should i learn ? What skill is valuable nowdays ? So lost here sad.gif
Only remember you from ipoh but can't remember what position you are currently in. wink.gif My bad. laugh.gif
Belphegor
post Feb 26 2016, 08:24 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Feb 25 2016, 11:41 PM)
Lol probably coz i whinned too much 😅 Is okay for forgetting. My position is so so only. The position i have is merely a name. I have been doing all sort of task which was out of scope.
Maybe you can focus on one area of skillsets that you think you can control and expand from there? Like marketing, you can learn SEO, SEM SES to further enhance your marketing skills in online area. For accounting is ACCA, CFA. Maybe you can look for one within your job scope? wink.gif
Belphegor
post Feb 26 2016, 02:25 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Feb 26 2016, 01:45 PM)
My skills are rojak and beginner level. Im in marketing department. From websites, ecommerce, retail, promotions and campaigns all are covered. Seo is within it smile.gif
Same lo.. I also in marketing department. I also do all the ad hoc task assigned. Trying to learn more marketing related skills can increase the chance of getting employed with higher salary. laugh.gif
Belphegor
post Feb 26 2016, 08:31 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Feb 26 2016, 06:42 PM)
U havent jump yet ? Or u r already in new environment ? 😆
I have been in my company for 4 years. And the ad hoc task consumes more of my time to really focus on how to plan and strategize the marketing plan. haha
Oh yes I resigned from the current company. New company starts 15th March. Had 20% increment. tongue.gif
Belphegor
post Feb 27 2016, 03:04 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Feb 26 2016, 08:53 PM)
Congrats on ur new offer. May you have smooth sailing years ahead in ur next company smile.gif Wish i could make a choice like you but is so hard here.
Hard as in no offer or not many companyrequire your skill? Ever thought of moving to another city?
Belphegor
post Feb 28 2016, 12:16 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Feb 27 2016, 04:23 PM)
Can say nobody require my skill here. Ipoh needs more sales ppl. Everywhere is looking for sales ppl. Try to land a job in a bank but openings all sales ppl. Not picky but even there is a similar job in Ipoh, I dun think I can hardly survive with the nett salary. I'm lucky currently I have commission from the online sales generated recently. It doubles my salary for 4 months straight. but yeah, I can't be too dependent on the commission as it is not fixed  sad.gif
No plans on moving to another city? Maybe your skillset can earn you better living in another city.
Belphegor
post Mar 4 2016, 12:19 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Mar 4 2016, 10:32 AM)
Job Title : Marketing Support
Job Desciption : visual merchandising cum marketing support
Years spent in company : 7months and still counting
Company : MNC (i guess) largest retails in its industry @ Malaysia 
Industry : Retails
Employment Level : junior executive
Experience before joining : 1.5 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Diploma in Business
salary : RM 2500
is my salary consider OK? or underpaid or overpaid?
if increment i ask till rm3000? will it be over?
btw now this company no allowances or whatsoever just normal claim only
Consider alright. Mind if I ask for your age? I think with 2 years experience you can have at least RM3000 job. But I wouldn't recommend to ask in this company cause you have not pass the one year mark. I think you have higher chance of getting the salary you request by hopping to another company.

As for no allowance, what kind of allowance you mean? Do you require to travel? Work in weekend? I am in marketing, retail industry as well. But I have RM100 for phone allowance, and a slight higher pay compare to yours.

QUOTE(randomname999 @ Mar 4 2016, 11:57 AM)
Asking this on behalf of my husband as I wish he get another job...

Job Title : Sales Manager (Small Branch)
Job Desciption : Head of branch, leading 15~20 salesmans/admin, manage branch daily operating work
Years spent in company : 4 years in logistic department, 4 year in sales department (total 8 years)
Company : Chinaman company
Industry : Automobile
Experience before joining : 0 years (first full time job after he graduate)
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Oversea Degree in Supply Chain Management
salary : Basic RM 4000, allowance (500~1000), no commission, side income (1000+-)

Other info (which I dislike):
Have to work on weekend (both Saturday & Sunday)
One month only rest 1~2 days
Need to work on Public Holiday but can come late and go home slightly early
Company like to hold meeting after working hour  or on public holiday
Have to entertainment bosses (pub & clubbing) (about 2~3 times a month)
-----------------------------------------------------------

I felt he is underpaid for his long working hour, and I dislike his company culture..

Is it normal for people working in Sales Line to have this kind of working culture? And is it hard to get a better job nowadays with he qualification & experience?
Normally sales are having like those that you dislike; especially when comes to manager level. But pub & clubbing I am not too sure about it though.

I reckon he can opt for other industry but he had to start fresh. Does he happy with his job or only you are unhappy? Sometimes it's all about give and take. But with his experience he definitely can get higher salary than current. I am in retail industry as well, but I only doing marketing back end support. I'm hopping to another company and my basic is close to his. 2 years experience here. :/

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Mar 4 2016, 12:21 PM
Belphegor
post Mar 4 2016, 12:46 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Mar 4 2016, 12:31 PM)
just turn 24
ofc i wont directly ask for rise 500 haha, just asking if even i ask for 3k is that consider over.
ady did appraisal but still no news from HQ regarding increment,, but this year ady no bonus so i guess also no hope ady la but jump ship i guess still too soon,
as for allowance is such as petrol card as stuff like that but company do provide me phone.
for travel on and off need to visit shop can claim mileage

btw mind share urs? how much is ur salary? exp? ages?
I shared previously but I think it sank down the drain. laugh.gif

Job Title : Event & Marketing Executive
Job Desciption : Basically "bao kah liao". laugh.gif What also need to do. From marketing to accounting, dispatch, operation, coolie, driver, designer also involved.
Years spent in company : 1Y5M
Company : Chinaman company
Industry : Retails
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : 4 months
Highest paper qualification/ education background : SPM
salary : RM 2800+ allowance

I am serving my resignation notice and next week would be my last. Have a raise of more than 25% increment on next job and I have no complains. laugh.gif Total experience would be around 2 years plus. Many forumers here said is close to impossible to have more than 20% increment on job switch, but I guess what you can do is to prove to them that you have the skill sets that they are looking for. icon_rolleyes.gif

My plus side would be the events I did during free time. Been running charity events since 2011.

My ultimate target
- Have at least RM5000 in two years time
- Passive income of at least RM1000 per month (Before 35)
- Involve in business
- Savings for future
- A HOUSE!

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Mar 4 2016, 12:49 PM
Belphegor
post Mar 4 2016, 09:03 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Mar 4 2016, 12:55 PM)
sry mind i ask? 29y/o only hv 2years exp?
but some work at small company also not bad la

so ur next job will be around rm3.6k/month?
Yes, I had a late bloom. laugh.gif

QUOTE(happy_berry @ Mar 4 2016, 12:56 PM)
What have u been doing previously? why didnt you conform to the trend and get a degree?
I did, I didn't do what I expect and I had some financial difficulties. So I end my college life without a cert. Currently looking for college that accept part time and have my major. Wanna complete it. laugh.gif

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Mar 4 2016, 03:10 PM)
Good on you. To those forumers who say it is impossible to get 20% for a jump, why do you even bother to move then?
Is all about confident. If you don't have the confident when you ask for the x% increment and provide some evidence, it's hard for them to justify as well.

QUOTE(randomname999 @ Mar 4 2016, 05:06 PM)
I guess maybe I am the only one unhappy about his job, else he wont stay with this company for so long right?
Well, it might not be the reason. Maybe he couldn't find any other suitable jobs? I guess you need to talk with your partner about it, let him know your feelings and thoughts and see what's his.

QUOTE(UnknownDave @ Mar 4 2016, 08:10 PM)
You are still in the standardize bracket ranged of salary, go to jobstreet and see how many people are offering 1.5-2.5k 3.5 - 5k example of the salary they are offering.
Indeed I am. It is hard to jump out of the "box" as salary range is quite transparent and a company has certain budget they need to keep in order to maintain their healthy budgeting. With 2 years of experience, starting from RM2000 to what I have now, I guess I am quite lucky as well la. laugh.gif
Belphegor
post Mar 10 2016, 09:11 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(simonlee94 @ Mar 10 2016, 12:31 AM)
Job Title : Assistant QS
Job Desciption : qs job lor
Years spent in company : 
Company : Local famous company in klang valley
Industry : construction
Employment Level : fresh graduate
Experience before joining : 3 months of intern in same company
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Higher national diploma in QS (HND)
salary : RM 2500

this salary is what I being offered. I will be joining on april this year. Is the salary good enough? SInce i have found a tread saying that a Fresh Graduate for QS can have about rm 4k ( i think it is too much lar). any advises?
I assume you moving to Klang Valley from Johor or? If moving from state to state, RM2500 definitely is going to be a hard living for you.
Belphegor
post Mar 11 2016, 12:31 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(simonlee94 @ Mar 10 2016, 10:53 PM)
Actually I am from Sarawak, but then my college is in negeri sembilan. 3 months ago, i joined this company's project in JOhor as a trainee. Since I have completed my HND, thus they offered me to continue and work for them in Johor. Is rm 2500 high enough for a HND(UK's higher national diploma) graduate?
For fresh graduate, RM2500 is consider average I would say. Many people starting salary with RM2800, 3000 also got. But I'd say the first few years just learn as many as you can, then jump ship and demand more. The more things you pick up, the more bargain power you have. wink.gif
Belphegor
post Mar 17 2016, 01:43 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(plain21 @ Mar 17 2016, 12:44 PM)
Updating my status now. Very happy with my job as a fresh grad.

Job Title : Construction Engineer
Job Desciption : Plan, review, supervise, etc
Working environment : Dangerous,dirty and sweaty haha
Years spent in company : 2 months
Company : Korean MNC
Industry : Construction
Employment Level : Professional
Experience before joining : None
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Civil Eng Degree
Salary : Base RM3k + allowance 1.5k,if got OT, tomorow off.

My resume was so so, I did not have cables. I was just lucky and would like to say dont give up if u have low cgpa (mine below 3.00). Jobhunt like hell and u will be rewarded.
I bet you hard sell yourself during interview? laugh.gif But congratz on securing a job that has high entry level salary. It's not easy and your hard work is definitely paid off.

Just wondering, the allowance is under what? car? petrol?
Belphegor
post Mar 17 2016, 02:33 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(plain21 @ Mar 17 2016, 02:29 PM)
I did not actually, i think I just got lucky haha. The allowance is for tol,petrol,parking and night work compensations.
I'd say you have above average kind of allowance there. That's awesome. laugh.gif
Belphegor
post Mar 17 2016, 09:47 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Craos @ Mar 17 2016, 09:43 PM)
Good day everyone,
This is my 1st post in LYN
This thread has given me a lot of insight. So, thanks everyone.
Just wanted to post a bit about myself.

This year age: 27
Graduated late of 2012 in comp eng degree

2013: doing unrelated job and decided to take programming cert.

2014-2015: got my first job in IT industry. Work in local small company.
Salary: rm2000, last drawn rm2200

2016: bump into a lot of LYN thread about career. Decided to change company. I went to interview and got an offer into American MNC company. Starting this april.
Salary: rm3800+500 fixed allowances and other benefit that i never had. Dental, medical and etc.

Just my 2posen. I still think that i am underpaid for my age, after reading all the other excellent high achievers salary.

Any thought?
Can't really define you are underpaid because of your age. You started working since 2013, even then you were doing unrelated jobs. Some people are much elder than you aren't even earning half of your salary. Consider yourself lucky. Throw yourself to learn more, money will come eventually with the experience you gain throughout the years.
Belphegor
post Mar 18 2016, 12:30 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(best.toaster @ Mar 18 2016, 12:04 PM)
Job Title : IT
Job Desciption : Support
Years spent in company : 2.5
Company : Private
Industry : Consumer Product
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Junior
Experience before joining : Fresh
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
salary : RM3450
bonus : 4-5 months (As per last year)

Am I underpaid?
Since this is your first job, I assume you are around 24-25? I guess is good enough with the 4-5 months bonus. Perhaps you can look for better pay else where while you are still in this current job. laugh.gif No harm trying. wink.gif
Belphegor
post Mar 23 2016, 10:23 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(bettachick @ Mar 23 2016, 09:33 AM)
All the big pros above..feel like I'm still so behind. sad.gif Need to jump ship soon..sad.gif

Job Title : Customer Service Associate
Job Desciption : Support internal post-sales service (i.e. repair and calibrate arrangement to overseas hub)
Years spent in company : 1.5yrs
Company : MNC
Industry : Electronic
Employment Level : Entry
Experience before joining : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Overseas Masters
salary : RM2.6k not incl allowance
Full package how much? Can grow la, but depending on how you sell yourself. Try to pick up some skillsets that can generate higher salary for you. What's your major for your oversea master?
Belphegor
post Mar 23 2016, 02:08 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(bettachick @ Mar 23 2016, 11:19 AM)
Full package 3.2k  +meal allowance +insurance+ medical coverage +annual bonus (last year I got 10% increment)

I guess I need to start taking up Japanese or German language class..

MBA
Yes, Japanese customer service can fetch you higher salary. In customer service line, the more language you speak the better. wink.gif

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:53 PM