QUOTE(bchin3 @ Jul 27 2017, 09:12 AM)
i am your age & i'm earning almost 8k for my latest payslip  brows.gif
Good for you. wink.gif
Belphegor
post Aug 4 2017, 02:11 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(zhaf91 @ Aug 3 2017, 09:52 PM)
Personally i also think its not worth it but when we see the current situation where rate of unempoyment is high, i just decided to stick with this job till i find a new one.
First time I see engineer earning so little. I believe there are many other jobs that can pay alot better than your current employment.

Go hunt for it.

Good luck!
Belphegor
post Aug 8 2017, 02:24 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Just successfully gotten my double degree certificate after many years of dragging. Bach Degree in Psychology and Communication.

But currently working in marketing field, event related.

Job Title : Mall Promotional Event & Marketing Executive
Job Desciption : Reports and plan events for malls
Years spent in company : 11 months
Company : MNC
Industry : Retail industry, FMCG
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : 3 Years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bach Degree
Salary : few ringgit short from RM4000. doh.gif

Any idea I can bring up my salary since I already obtain my degree? Previously work without a degree or certificate as I only SPM finisher. hmm.gif
Belphegor
post Aug 8 2017, 05:18 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(AJeeJee @ Aug 8 2017, 03:08 PM)
you finish 1 year at the company and then try jump ship.. keep jumping jumping until your salary higher.. hahaha
I have already jump, but then want to get higher. Keep on jumping also not that good la laugh.gif
Belphegor
post Aug 15 2017, 10:37 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(theeastdevil @ Aug 15 2017, 10:14 AM)
I used to receive such amount back then from my first job, year 2007. Same job scope as you but with degree qualification. Fast forward 10 years after that, im getting 14k now.
Continue your professional education will take you further.
Still under IT field?

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Aug 15 2017, 10:37 AM
Belphegor
post Aug 28 2017, 10:42 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Aug 27 2017, 05:39 PM)
Posted before so here is a quick update
Job Title : Senior Accounts Executive
Job description:GL
Years spent in company : 3+
Industry : Retail/wholesale
Employment Level : Junior Exec(I think)
Experience before joining : non
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree,in progress CPA
salary : RM 3300
Can consider to jump. I believe you can take more than 4k with 3 years experience.

QUOTE(mklovestephy @ Aug 27 2017, 06:26 PM)
62.5% to be exact haha. taking around 4k+ currently
hopefully this is the wise decision for me as to learn newer thing
That would be stupid not to take the increment of 62.5%. laugh.gif
Belphegor
post Sep 12 2017, 05:28 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(BigFatUglyGuy @ Sep 12 2017, 12:09 PM)
Job Title : Graphic designer cum admin
Job Desciption : Doing graphic for social media purpose ( such as facebook, instagram). A little animation. ( self taught ). Sometime do packaging, logo, label, branding ( for own product ). At least 8 to 10 task per day. Working From monday to saturday 8.30 to 5.30. 
Years spent in company : almost 2 years
Company : skincare company
Industry : healthcare
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : dont understand
Experience before joining : 5 years +
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Giatmara Professional Certificate
salary : RM 1600 (-epf socso = 14++)

please help me guys . is it reasonable salary? with all the works. so stressful. confused.gif
Please move on. I believe you can get alot higher in KL. you got almost 7 years of experience. What's stopping you from moving to another level? hmm.gif
Belphegor
post Sep 19 2017, 12:25 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(BigFatUglyGuy @ Sep 19 2017, 11:46 AM)
because i speak bad english + i only got certificate from giatmara. i dont have any higher cert. some company rejected my application just because of that. last, most of the designing house wont pay designer more than 2k ( i guess )
show your portfolio to them, don't just show them your resume. What you did was far more important than what you learn during studies.
Belphegor
post Sep 20 2017, 12:39 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(arize @ Sep 20 2017, 12:07 PM)
Well I'm sure some are real ma, there really are ppl earning that much at young age. of coz some are lying
Take these reference as a pinch of salt. You can take it seriously for all the comments made here, to push and motivate yourself to go higher. It's really entirely up to you to decide. I choose to believe some, and ignore some. wink.gif
Belphegor
post Oct 16 2017, 10:40 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Oct 14 2017, 01:31 AM)
Job Title : English Lecturer
Job Description : Teach diploma and degree students business and academic English
Years spent in company : 1 year 8 months + previously 1 year as part-timer
Company : Private college
Industry : Education
Employment Level : Junior
Experience before joining : 0 years (tertiary level); 3 years (lower levels)
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Was doing Master's, salary paid based on degree qualification
Basic salary : around RM4000, with extra pay if teach more classes or assigned extra work (marking papers, invigilation etc); will be paid extra RM400 = basic RM4400 upon completion of Master's degree

Benefits:
Flexi hours- work only 30 hours per week; can clock in and out anytime I like
31 days of leave per year
Season parking paid by company
Good medical benefits- can claim up to RM1400 per year
Got 3 months bonus & increment & promotion due to excellent KPI in 2016 (1st year of work)
Definitely no OT needed

With plenty of free time and flexibility, I get to do many other jobs as well, just to gain experience and earn extra income = total monthly income is RM6000-RM8000.

However, I'll be working in Singapore from November 2017 onwards; was headhunted by a talent acquisition specialist from a well-known 5-star hotel MNC. It's a corporate job based in office, so yeah, I'm moving from one industry (education) to another (hospitality), performing a new role that has nothing to do with teaching as I'm hired for my other skills.

My new company really likes me, coz I did well in the written test and stress/ case interviews. The management is willing to wait for me as I need to serve 2 months' notice. I am also the only new staff they're hiring, according to HR, though the position was open to the public (on their official website & Jobstreet etc)... AFTER I was hired. There was no competition & the whole process was fast and smooth--my work pass was approved in 5 hours.

Teaching is okay, but it's more suitable for people who prefer stability. My current boss and colleagues all feel sad that I'm leaving, so we're having a farewell lunch soon. I must thank my boss who convinced me to be a full-time lecturer, and my senior colleague who recommended me to boss. Yeah, I was recommended to join as a lecturer while I was working elsewhere. The two of them became the references for my new job, as requested by my new employer, and both gave their highest commendation.

I'm 28 this year and the 2nd youngest lecturer in college; was hired at the age of 25 (was the youngest back then). I like my current workplace and my job, & I'm not a job hopper, but well, since 2016 till today, I've been headhunted 15 times in 1.5 year. I have said no too many times to different offers from different companies, but this time, I said yes... coz MYR can't beat SGD, and my bf is there in Singapore, plus I love the hospitality & tourism industry. I'll get to enjoy staff discounts on room rates and other benefits & facilities at company's 5-star hotels worldwide; would really love to travel more & work in a dynamic industry.
Extra sharing:

Indeed what you have shared here does inspired few of us, or it was only me. I am also not interested in climbing corporate ladder despite all the traditional teaching passed on by our seniors (teachers, lecturers, parents, elders), but I am forced to as of now as I am very money oriented at this moment. I do hope to have some side business or some income that I can do during my free time so that I can be financially independent instead of relying on one source income.

Just wondering, was your CGPA or your college grades good during your studies? I am actually interested in being a lecturer as well but I have fears on moving to another industry as I have made similar decision (retail industry marketing to water industry marketing), sadly it did not work out well. Not sure if is my boss punya issue or if is me. I am again being offered an opportunity to join construction industry as marketing again, however I am quite feared that I might be repeating steps that I do not wish to go through.

Any kind advice you could give me in terms of joining lecturer force or moving from an industry to another? Many thanks. notworthy.gif
Belphegor
post Nov 1 2017, 04:50 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Marine.Umi @ Nov 1 2017, 10:15 AM)
May I confirm the salary calculation for the month of September 2017.

Example:
Employment Status: Permanent Staff
Salary: Monthly
Period of Work: 05 September 2017 - 30 September 2017  (26 days)
Basic: RM1,000.00

May I know what is the formula to calculate the salary for the above staff?
Based on my HR knowledge, the correct formula is basic/no of day in a month x no. of days worked. (1,000/30x26 days)

But, one of my old single lady boss insisted and forced me to accept her formula:

basic/26 x 22 days (26 - 4 Saturdays).

really pissed me off!
Even if we think your formula is the correct way, there's no way you can change the "old-single-lady" boss of yours to accept it. Just think this way, is it wise to jeopardize your career path in this company for the x amount of money difference?

But I worked in 3 companies, they are indeed using the basic/24-26 days. I never heard any company using basic/30x24-26 days.
Belphegor
post Nov 6 2017, 10:54 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Double J Jamal Jefri @ Nov 5 2017, 05:34 PM)
I know right. Furthermore, I just quit my shitty job last month.

I went for an interview at DRB Hicom two weeks ago. Not sure I can secure the job or not.

Still haven't receive any respond from them. Sigh...
How long you were with the company? hmm.gif
Belphegor
post Nov 6 2017, 11:39 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Double J Jamal Jefri @ Nov 6 2017, 10:58 AM)
Almost 6 years. I worked at DF Electronics Sdn Bhd.

Here's my thread to the company - DF ELECTRONICS SDN BHD.
Then why didn't tahan for few more months before you secure another job? hmm.gif Since already in the company for 6 years, can tahan for another few months to make sure you get the other job ma. blush.gif
Belphegor
post Nov 6 2017, 12:01 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Double J Jamal Jefri @ Nov 6 2017, 11:43 AM)
I quit because I cannot "tahan" anymore.

I just have to leave bro. Because it started to affect me physically and emotionally.
Then better go more interviews now since the main source of income is already not available. Good luck to you! flex.gif
Belphegor
post Nov 29 2017, 12:19 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Job Title : Event & Marketing
Job Desciption : Mostly office bound work. Design, seek approval, deal with multiple department like legal, finance, etc.
Years spent in company : 1 Year+
Industry : Retail
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : 3 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : degree in Psychology / Mass Comm
salary : Close to RM4000 with 1 month bonus

I am currently looking out, to seek for higher position, AM or M for my next job. But it is quite hard to find the position I wanted as I think many people still waiting for their bonus before moving to next job. hmm.gif

What are my options? Want to try to request 20% raise on my current paycheck from my current. Any comment? hmm.gif
Belphegor
post Nov 29 2017, 12:07 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 29 2017, 11:48 AM)
about 4 years + experience in total. started working around 25+ or 26?

what did you do before that? study till 25?
late bloomer. didn't really find the importance of studies that time.
Belphegor
post Nov 29 2017, 12:20 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 29 2017, 12:14 PM)
indeed, at least a couple of years late. at the age of 30 or early 30s, many have already break into the middle management level already with salary breaching 5 figures or should be close already.

but it's never too late. however, on your asking salary, no one can judge whether 20% is fair or not, only the potential employers and yourself. so it's up to you. if you think you're good, you can even ask for more.... like 30-40%?
Yeah, thinking of taking up some courses to brush up my resume to add more value to my skillsets. Thinking to pick up languages since that's the easiest and cheapest alternative options compare to digital marketing and stuff. hmm.gif
Belphegor
post Nov 29 2017, 03:28 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 29 2017, 03:05 PM)
no doubt, you can do it.

but the E stuff will take over the world in the future.
Yes trying to find courses to take but E-marketing is so darn expensive! doh.gif Can't really afford it. cry.gif
Belphegor
post Dec 3 2017, 07:12 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(djvixx @ Dec 3 2017, 12:48 PM)
What is the right percentage of salary increment that would make us jump the ship ??
I'd say minimum at least 20%. I did once and got around 28% increment.
Belphegor
post Dec 3 2017, 10:24 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(RoastedChicken @ Dec 3 2017, 07:38 PM)
Hi guys, i just beng jobless for a week or 2. SO i planning to brush my resumes, and i wanted to join companies that are doing Marketing not sales. Im from sales background previously. My degree is Business Mangement. Any hint on what i shud really pursue? im confuse myself. thank you
Do aware that the possibility of your salary restart when you switch expertise.

There are many companies that offer marketing positions. Can always go to linkedin/ jobstreet to explore more.

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0988sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:47 AM